If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

WeightWatchers & "How Many ProPoints?" Thread MkII

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Monife wrote: »
    That analogy sounds like exactly what happened. They owe you €30.

Yeah I'm just hoping it can be sorted without any drama. I don't want anyone to think I'm accusing them of anything. I just don't get why she didn't say anything when there are prepays on my card. Surely if someone is handing you cash when they still have prepays left you'd at least mention it to them?? Don't get me wrong, she's a really nice girl, I'm just a bit miffed at the potential mess.

I wonder if they can show when you attended class/used prepays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Taz1

MaggieMay2 wrote: »
    This happens to me all the time, I'm a pro at STS at this stage :p

You said it's the first time it's happened since you joined. Are you at it long. I'm wondering as if you have been doing the same thing for a number of weeks i.e eating all the same foods, doing the same amount of exercise?

If this is the case mix it all up. Change alot of foods and try some new ones. Have bigger meal as in dinner at lunch or a big breakfast. If you always walk, go swimming or cycling. You may need to shock the body back into it.

You could also be being too good and if your not using all of your points your body is hanging onto it. Also go back to scratch and start weighing and portioning food again. You hvae no idea how easy it is for the hand to slip when pouring/measuring and they all add up.

Hope some of this helps!

I joined the first week in Decemeber and I'm a pound off losing a stone, which I've lost easily enough each week which further added to the disappointment! I was away for 1 night and 2 days as a treat with my friend so I didn't track over those 2 days but I had saved my 49 weeklies for those 2 days and still tried to be as good as I could, opting for a sandwich from O'Briens both days instead of McDonalds/Pizza Hut etc! Did drink a bot but nothing major.
    Everything else I've been doing pretty much the same, usually go for few walks during the week but probably wouldnt have gone out for one as much as I normally would. Also, I forgot my points had changed from 29 to 27 so I was counting for 29 each day, maybe thus had something to do with it?
    Thanks for the tips I'll bear them in mind, maybe my body is getting too used to the routine! I'm hoping its all of the above rather than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭BaileyPants

Just back from my WI and am down 3lbs! Delighted! Yeay!

Sorry to everyone that was disappointed, Iv no doubt it'll be me someday soon as I'm only on week 2. Anyway you know that you're being healthier for yourself and the weight loss will eventually show if you keep it up. Best of luck to us all for the coming week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ali85

Sorry to everyone that was disappointed, Iv no doubt it'll be me someday soon as I'm only on week 2. Anyway you know that you're being healthier for yourself and the weight loss will eventually show if you keep it up. Best of luck to us all for the coming week!

Delighted for you hun!!! fair play to you!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

well done bailypants :) keep it up! off to a great start.

I guess we can all be disappointed some times over a gain, sts, but as long as we keep at it we are the winners

Just wondering how many PP should a man be on! how do you work it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

My two recipes are up on the Weight Watchers YouTube Page :D

LASAGNE 11PPTS
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPVzxAWOAdA&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

CHICKEN PASTA BAKE 11PTS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Eabhabear

For those that sts or gained, my leader gave me a great piece of advice on my first day. She told me to draw a line after every 4 weeks on my tracker card and look at my total loss for those 4 weeks. It helps you stay positive as you may have a sts one week but a 4lb loss over 4 weeks. Its a slow process but if we keep up the hard work we'll all get there eventually :)

Jwacqui wrote: »

LASAGNE 11PPTS

CHICKEN PASTA BAKE 11PTS

Thanks for sharing, great video!
    Ill be having a go of that, Ild nearly use wholemeal pasta as well, I prefer chicken breast as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

Baby75 wrote: »
    Thanks for sharing, great video!
    Ill be having a go of that, Ild nearly use wholemeal pasta as well, I prefer chicken breast as well :)

Its a great recipe, very filling, the lasagne one is also a staple in our house!

Just finished watching it now, I will be trying that as well looks really good lovely with some nice salad on the side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

ladysaint wrote: »
    Hi All,

Just wondering if anyone knows of any links that have a recipe for a beef stir fry.

Looked through all the pro points booked from the classes but only can find a turkey one.

It's not something I would usually cook or eat but have stir fry beef in the freezer for ages so thought I may as well use it & try something different.

Thanks in advance

I posted one on my blog last night. Double check the points in the type of beef you are using as mine was steak cut up: http://59lbstogo.blogspot.com/

LASAGNE 11PPTS

CHICKEN PASTA BAKE 11PTS

They look amazing, will definitely be trying them!

Thats brilliant, keep up the good work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

any suggestions for a good fitness dvd, been looking on amazon but im a bit overwhelemed by the choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭shellybelly08

Hello again!

Ok so as I haven't been to a class over here I'm still followin 29 pp a day what's the plan? Cutting points etc?

Also have you ideas for small snack in the evening I'm fine all day wi food (fruit n veg n healthiness) :-) then night time and boom I jus have to have jellies/crisps crap basically!!

Any ideas wud be a great help!

Well done on the losses and to the sts it's a new week hang in there it will happen x

guys any nice warm or cold chicken salad recipes or even just a yummy salad recipe? I make the most boring salads that don't really fill me for very long!

any suggestions for a good fitness dvd, been looking on amazon but im a bit overwhelemed by the choice

I like Davina's. She's a few diff programmes on it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Going out for dinner tonight with the only place in Galway that has ever served me a rare steak when I asked for it. So I will be having the steak tonight. Have nothing else on for the week so anything I go over my dailies will be covered by the weeklies.

They do fondant potatoes but I'm going to bypass them and get boiled. They also have a great selection of desserts so there should be more than one lighter option.

I won't be having the wine either, not for points saving but because I'm on antibiotics and have been told not to drink.

I'm still hoping to have at least a pound off next wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Enjoy your meal out das kitty! Very wise to stay off the wine when on antibiotics, i didnt follow that advice before and the consequences werent good!
    Do any of ye take protein shakes/ supplements? I'm considering taking them because i do lots of weight training but im worried they'll make me gain weight as opposed to just helping with my muscle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dammitj

Hello again!

Ok so as I haven't been to a class over here I'm still followin 29 pp a day what's the plan? Cutting points etc?

Also have you ideas for small snack in the evening I'm fine all day wi food (fruit n veg n healthiness) :-) then night time and boom I jus have to have jellies/crisps crap basically!!

Any ideas wud be a great help!

Well done on the losses and to the sts it's a new week hang in there it will happen x

I try to eat my dinner a little later so I'm not as inclined to snack - not sure if this would work for you but I find it helps!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dammitj

Hi everyone, just wondering did your leaders give you a goal weight at your first weigh in or when did they give it to ye? I had my 6th weigh in yesterday and she still hasnt said anything to me! I see in the book that for someone who is 5ft 7, like me, depending on BMI it could be anywhere between 9 st 2 and 11st 6! disappointed because I only lost a pound this week after lowering my propoints, but think my body is adjusting to my new eating pattern and the weight loss has slowed down a bit! had to happen sooner or later!! :-)

I had lost about 2.5 stone and then started asking my leader what my goal was. She wasn't very inclined to tell me, I think it's because they don't want you to get daunted to be honest.

Anyway, I'm the same height as you and at the moment (weighed myself this morn) I'm 11st 3lbs.
    My leader had told me my goal was about 10.5 st so in the middle of the BMI range - but you can basically set your own goal anywhere within that BMI.

I am fairly happy around the 11st mark, but my plan this year is to get to 10.5st and see how it feels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

Hi Burger! Ask and you shall receive.

http://www.calculator.net/weight-watchers-points-calculator.html

Good luck with your weight loss!

thanks Bailey Pants.

Anyone know where is a good ethnic store/market in Dublin where I can get a good range of chilli’s and dried chilli’s etc. I love cooking Mexican dishes & watch a load of Mexican food show to get recipes etc, but am finding it difficult to find say chipotles for example which are dried jalapenos that you've to soak for a few mins before using, no sign anywhere, or tomatillos. I was working with a woman from California who's Mum was Mexican so she said she knew a place that she'd found had the best Mexican stuff, but she has since left, much to my dismay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ali85

Anyone know where is a good ethnic store/market in Dublin where I can get a good range of chilli’s and dried chilli’s etc. I love cooking Mexican dishes & watch a load of Mexican food show to get recipes etc, but am finding it difficult to find say chipotles for example which are dried jalapenos that you've to soak for a few mins before using, no sign anywhere, or tomatillos. I was working with a woman from California who's Mum was Mexican so she said she knew a place that she'd found had the best Mexican stuff, but she has since left, much to my dismay!

I don't know if it's any good to you, but I got a few bits at the Temple Bar Food Market... I'm such a wagon for food so i stick my head in every couple of weeks. There is a mexican stall there that I have got chipotles at. The people working there are lovely. I think the wife actually runs mexican cookery classes too.... they might be able to tell you where to get the other ingredients

http://templebar.ie/trader/Sabores_De_Mexico

Any one get those mags from the daily mail, or was that for the UK only they looked so good!

ali85 wrote: »
    I don't know if it's any good to you, but I got a few bits at the Temple Bar Food Market... I'm such a wagon for food so i stick my head in every couple of weeks. There is a mexican stall there that I have got chipotles at. The people working there are lovely. I think the wife actually runs mexican cookery classes too.... they might be able to tell you where to get the other ingredients

http://templebar.ie/trader/Sabores_De_Mexico

That sounds fab! Thanks so much! :D

Taz1 wrote: »
    guys any nice warm or cold chicken salad recipes or even just a yummy salad recipe? I make the most boring salads that don't really fill me for very long!

Salads here a link to some ww ones http://www.weightwatchers.com.au/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=43341&sc=3026

Or what I do is stir fry chicken and some peppers and mushrooms,carrots with some chinease 5spice,i I then add it to salad leaves with tomatoes, onion, any other veg you like I then mix some balsamic vinegar and sweet chill sauce and pour over toss and your ready to go! if im having it for a main meal I add in some low fat feta some sundried tomato and a good handful of fresh basil your good to go.

I made a yummy roasted veg and pasta salad I will try post recipe later if you like

Going bridesmaid dress shopping with with my bestie next Wednesday, so excited to be going. I would have dreaded it a year ago.

Baby75 wrote: »
    Salads here a link to some ww ones http://www.weightwatchers.com.au/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=43341&sc=3026

Or what I do is stir fry chicken and some peppers and mushrooms,carrots with some chinease 5spice,i I then add it to salad leaves with tomatoes, onion, any other veg you like I then mix some balsamic vinegar and sweet chill sauce and pour over toss and your ready to go! if im having it for a main meal I add in some low fat feta some sundried tomato and a good handful of fresh basil your good to go.

I made a yummy roasted veg and pasta salad I will try post recipe later if you like

sounds lovely, definately going to try that! would love to have a look at that pasta salad recipe too, go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭ShindyB

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Going bridesmaid dress shopping with with my bestie next Wednesday, so excited to be going. I would have dreaded it a year ago.

I know that feeling! I went bridesmaid dress shopping with my sister at the beginning of December. Picked the dress but haven't ordered the size yet. It was quite 'snug' the last time, can't wait to try it on again and see if there's a difference! When's the wedding? My sisters is in August so that's my goal!:D

Just in from the gym. Went to gym and zumba last night - trying to get as many extra points as possible for the weekend. Heading away shortly with himself, can't wait!!

ShindyB wrote: »
    I know that feeling! I went bridesmaid dress shopping with my sister at the beginning of December. Picked the dress but haven't ordered the size yet. It was quite 'snug' the last time, can't wait to try it on again and see if there's a difference! When's the wedding? My sisters is in August so that's my goal!:D

It's November, I plan to be 6 months at goal by that time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭lisa_celtic

LASAGNE 11PPTS

CHICKEN PASTA BAKE 11PTS

Iv been wanting Lasagne since september but have not made it cause I would make it to heavy oh and my portion size for lasagne would be huge so going to rob this on you!! Thanks so much xxx