Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl allegedly raped on Brazilian Big Brother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

After reading the first ten pages of this thread, I now realise why some of the best contributors are closing their accounts.

You new here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭Belly_Dancer

Millicent wrote: »
    Are you seriously suggesting that men cannot help themselves? Thankfully, most of the men I know can still "control" themselves, even when drink- or testosterone-fuelled.

Most of the men you know can still control themselves eh?
    therefore a minority cannot.

This is exactly why girls need to take more responsibility for their own safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

amacachi wrote: »
    You new here?

Indubitably, my dear Watson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Johro wrote: »
    Probably not for certain.. But to me it definitely seems to be about overpowering someone, maybe I'm wrong. You'd think that if it was just about sexual release you'd be able to get that without resorting to rape.

I think is an definite sexual release to rape, especially one that would be similar to the story in the OP. If rape is about control and power I just can't see how raping a girl who is passed out would fulfill those kind of desires. I think the sexual release element is more in terms of oppurtunistic rapes, i.e at a party and find a girl in a room passed out and the guy is horny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

This is exactly why girls need to take more responsibility for their own safety.

What the hell, I thought you were banned?

I think is an definite sexual release to rape, especially one that would be similar to the story in the OP. If rape is about control and power I just can't see how raping a girl who is passed out would fulfill those kind of desires. I think the sexual release element is more in terms of oppurtunistic rapes, i.e at a party and find a girl in a room passed out and the guy is horny.

i know of a girl who was near comatose thru drink at a house party when about 10 of the male teens present lined up and "gave her one".
    it had nothing to do with control/violence.
    it was probably their only chance of having intercourse, so they took it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 onedaysoon

Some load of stuff running out of her after that!!

the girl in question was known to be fairly promiscuous around town, so she was seen as "fair game" i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 onedaysoon

Dirty auld ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Are you not banned? I've already answered your point. Read the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I know it's AH and ****e posts are to be expected, but some of the ****e here IS sick.

It's probably just as well that there was no "alleged rape" (as per the girl's own words)

But Christ if there was it'd be a different story with some posts turning my stomach.

And that, as I said, is even knowing the AH "standard"

I'm out.

i know of a girl who was near comatose thru drink at a house party when about 10 of the male teens present lined up and "gave her one".

That must have been her fault too.

ETA: Just saw your "She was promiscuous" post. Apparently, you still refuse to get the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Yeah, sounds like she definitely deserved the gang raping she got, eh?

If you think that's normal teenage behaviour for boys, I pity you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Big_Evil wrote: »
    I saw a reference made to a young lady in Kerry where a whole town rowed in behind the offender (I believe he was found guilty in a court of law for the crime)

There is a widespread attitude to rape in Ireland that is shocking in this day and age and should not be tolerated.

It's about who you know and the connections count for a hell of a lot. The same morons don't realise this is part of what is going on in a rapists mind, its just back up.

Younger generations aren't much different either.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

the girl in question was known to be fairly promiscuous around town, so she was seen as "fair game" i suppose.

Your thread ban still applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I've seen forum bans for less.

The stuff he's writing is unhinged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Victim blaming is wrong. Its always the rapists fault.

The problem is its gone so far that you cannot even criticise victim behaviour without being accused of being a victim blamer. I hope this never leads to people taking silly risks and getting raped

Sort of ironic in a way. Blame Shamers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus Fecking Christ lads, I hadn't read the first few pages and comments were deleted!

I never believed in the ignore function. Jaysus, it's a great thing.

Great place to have a rape debate.

I'm sure if it happened Georgia Salpia we'd be as open minded.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I know it's AH and ****e posts are to be expected, but some of the ****e here IS sick.

Some of the comments were wrongheaded and some downright contemptible views were expressed for sure. While others trying to be funny/troll were silenced (such users were banned from posting in the thread) but have to say, I fail to see what's causing all the outrage. In fact, I would say such reactions to trollish posts do more harm than good., they are in fact the very reason that trolls exist. Emotional outrage and anger is their lifeblood, is it not.

This is After Hours and as far as I can see, this thread has been well moderated with the forum's ethos in mind. You will always get some maddening views posted here, that's the nature of the place but you can't just expect AH moderators to ban every user that expresses their reprehensible opinion. They have to strike a balance between allowing users to post controversial viewpoints but yet jump in when it's clear flaming/trolling (which is not always an easy call - especially on a forum as busy as this one).

To be fair I think that balance was, and still is being struck so far on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Rape is such a harsh word

I think he was just giving her the old "Struggle Snuggle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

What if it was a guy who was 'near comatose thru drink at a house party when about about 10 of the male teens present lined up and "gave him one".'

Would he be fair game too?

Although why am I bothering.

Not sure why people are jumping on him over that comment, I think what he said is pretty valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

lol, nothing quite like making **** up on the internet.

I know a guy who can knock out a cow just by slapping it with his cock.

Mental, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,748 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Some sick people in here these days.

EVENFLOW

Not sure why people are jumping on him over that comment, I think what he said is pretty valid.

What exactly about it is pretty valid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Jeez! We still talking about this. Debating the merits, rationality and condemnation of alleged televised sexual assault.
    Why? its the same type of people here discussing, dismissing and condemning it that are the same sad perverts who watch this porn.
    Mad Feckers who sit around a crime scene and give creedence to the debate itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I know a guy who can knock out a cow just by slapping it with his cock.

Mental, right?
    You know me?

That fella should be castrated.

The girl was doing the responsible thing. She got drunk and went to bed in what is technically her home. She couldn't have been any more cautious.
    The crew on the show should also be arrested for seeing it happen and not stepping in. They're basically as bad as the alleged rapist imo

cursai wrote: »
    Jeez! We still talking about this. Debating the merits, rationality and condemnation of alleged televised sexual assault.
    Why? its the same type of people here discussing, dismissing and condemning it that are the same sad perverts who watch this porn.
    Mad Feckers who sit around a crime scene and give creedence to the debate itself.

As this thread proves, there's cause for debate. If it was a rape, that's horrible, but the discussion that has followed on here is worth having.

seanybiker wrote: »
    You know me?

That fella should be castrated.

The girl was doing the responsible thing. She got drunk and went to bed in what is technically her home. She couldn't have been any more cautious.
    The crew on the show should also be arrested for seeing it happen and not stepping in. They're basically as bad as the alleged rapist imo

I saw the video. It was all over in two and a half minutes. In fairness to the crew, given the time of night and the length of the event, they probably wouldn't have been able to stop anything. I'd say it was almost over by the time they might have realised anything untoward was happening.

Millicent wrote: »
    What exactly about it is pretty valid?

That plenty of people(especially teenagers) would view a girl who is promiscuous as fair game.