Would you pay the new broadcast charge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I will in my hole!

I can't take much more of this ****e.........they won't be happy until they're taxing us to use the footpaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

TheZohan wrote: »
    I think it's a great idea.

Are you trolling?

Peoples tv habits are changing and due to this RTEs budget has more than likely dropped. Instead of dealing with a reduced budget and their inefficiencies the money is going to be stumped up from the mugs (that's us) of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

This is quite simple lads!

The "elites" in this country are determined to keep their inflated salaries and their noses in the trough at all costs.
    Hence why they are inventing ridiculous taxes like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 coyotefitzy

I don't understand how RTE can spend so much yet provide so little, in comparison with the likes of TV3 which is (and looks to be) on a shoestring budget. They both provide news and current events programs, but they both also show a lot of American and UK TV shows.
    I'd say there are a lot of people who could present on television for a fraction of what Tubbs and Kenny are paid.
    I have a TV license, but only was after a warning being sent to my home, and it was after paying it did i actually buy and install an aerial, so i could see where my money was being spent... I am not impressed.

skelliser wrote: »

The "elites" in this country are determined to keep their inflated salaries and their noses in the trough at all costs.

It's greed pure and simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Are you trolling?

Peoples tv habits are changing and due to this RTEs budget has more than likely dropped. Instead of dealing with a reduced budget and their inefficiencies the money is going to be stumped up from the mugs (that's us) of Ireland.

Well in these economic times we all have to contribute, even the innocent will suffer according to Rev. Kenny, shur what can we do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

TheZohan wrote: »
    Well in these economic times we all have to contribute, even the innocent will suffer according to Rev. Kenny, shur what can we do?

Get rid of the too many over paid heads in RTE - on screen and off!
    Hell, just close down RTE!

I joke about the latter but Michael O' Leary needs to go in there with a big pair of scissors.

I don't understand how RTE can spend so much yet provide so little, in comparison with the likes of TV3 which is (and looks to be) on a shoestring budget. They both provide news and current events programs, but they both also show a lot of American and UK TV shows.
    I'd say there are a lot of people who could present on television for a fraction of what Tubbs and Kenny are paid.
    I have a TV license, but only was after a warning being sent to my home, and it was after paying it did i actually buy and install an aerial, so i could see where my money was being spent... I am not impressed.

When I was renting I lived very happily without a tv and if I was still renting I would have to pay this charge. So I am outraged with this proposal although not directly effecting me, yet!

It's akin to charging all those without a car a motor tax because they are capable of using the motorways on foot.

Why cant RTE exist like other television channels out there ? Make their money off advertisments and subscribers ?

Due to an old outdated law many people pay the license fee yet may not actually watch RTE.

Do people here watch RTE?

Are people happy with RTE - the states broadcastor?

RTE is 50 years old this year. Do you think it's run it's course? How would you feel if RTE was to close?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

It's not just TV.

Newstalk and Today FM provide nationwide news, sport and current affairs analysis that is sufficient IMO. Local stations up and down the country also provide these service.

I actually can't see any practical reason why RTE shouldn't be broken up into different parts and sold off to the highest bidder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Hart wrote: »
    "Pat Rabbitte's told the Dáil that RTÉ is losing €25m a year in licence fee payments because of evasion."

I would argue that RTE is losing so much money because of inept management and the ridiculiously powerful unions in Montrose. Let's not forget this is an organisation that at one stage was paying Pat Kenny almost a million a year.

+1 to that. Overstaffed, overfunded, bloated and grossly overpaid. And now Rabbitte wants to secure his RTE buddies. It is truly a scandal, coupled with everything else that's going on.

Do people here watch RTE?

Very rarely.
    Are people happy with RTE - the states broadcastor?

No. It is unadulterated rubbish. For which we are forced to pay €165 a year.
    RTE is 50 years old this year. Do you think it's run it's course? How would you feel if RTE was to close?

Couldn't give a toss.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

RTE is an outdated concept.

Have a look at the main RTE TV News bulletins. There was some economy-related story on it the other night. Rolled out were an economics correspondent; a business correspondent; etc.

Amazingly Radio News can live without these, and it does not matter one iota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭therealgirl

yet we don't take to the streets to protest...at least not in strong enough unity to get anywhere...
    so this is why the government get away with all these stupid 'taxes'...they'd think twice if we had a habit of REALLY kicking up a fuss instead of just giving out about it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

They can suck my dick if they think they're getting a "broadcast tax"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

All RTE, TV3 etc need to implement is a system like Sky Player do, people who pay the "broadcast charge" can access RTE Player, TV3 player etc while the majority (I'm guessing) who have little interest in using the systems won't need to pay the charge.
    Of course the government will likely wish to charge everyone with a broadband connection, which is absolute bull as no one is forcing RTE to have their Player or TV3 etc open as it is at present

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

If this happens its seriously time to riot because i cant afford any more of this crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

no

Sure we're paying tax as it is on the internet fees so f-em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭greenpilot

skelliser wrote: »

Not according to Bishop Donal over in the Household tax forum...we should shut up and pay up. Seriously people, we are becoming sheep. We should all line up along Merrion Square and bend down and touch our ankles for the shafting we deserve...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Is this a joke?

If you own a computer or smartphone you'll be taxed even tough to watch stuff on it, you would have to have fairly good broadband and not rely on dial up, like some homes do.

There is no internet at home, there used to be one of those mobile broadband yokes but they took the the phone mast down. For some people the only reception to download things is GPRS and even with that it takes about an hour to download a picture. And i know people without tvs, so why ???

I own a laptop and a smartphone but i dont watch tv on it. I dont go to the rte website and watch stuff on the rte player. The only thing i like is fair city (sometimes) and thats not even shown on the rte player.

What exactly is this charge for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

I wonder will this news make Joe Duffys show;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

it's OK people saying no, they won't pay it.. you will get a fine much more than this charge..

Ireland is going the way Britain has gone, screwing everyone over in hidden taxes and massive fines...

you won't be able to fart without getting a fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

yoyo wrote: »
    All RTE, TV3 etc need to implement is a system like Sky Player do, people who pay the "broadcast charge" can access RTE Player, TV3 player etc while the majority (I'm guessing) who have little interest in using the systems won't need to pay the charge.
    Of course the government will likely wish to charge everyone with a broadband connection, which is absolute bull as no one is forcing RTE to have their Player or TV3 etc open as it is at present

Nick

Since when do TV3 receive a portion of the licence fee and the proposed broadcast charge? Its nothing to do with TV3!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Depressing stuff from our so called policitans. Is this really the best idea Pat can come up with? How about restructuring the company. And do we really require a state run tv channel?

yet we don't take to the streets to protest...at least not in strong enough unity to get anywhere...
    so this is why the government get away with all these stupid 'taxes'...they'd think twice if we had a habit of REALLY kicking up a fuss instead of just giving out about it

This is it.

I'd be delighted to see the back of RTE and I'd say there would be many people alike. RTE and the state are using old laws to drain our diminishing incomes to keep the overpaid overpaid.

Now they are going to add to the old law to add on computers and smartphones yet these devices have other functions and many people with these devices probably, more than likely don't even watch tv never mind RTE on them.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Depressing stuff from our so called policitans. Is this really the best idea Pat can come up with? How about restructuring the company. And do we really require a state run tv channel?

Or getting rid of it entirely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

It would not be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I read here that 600,000 are paying for Sky TV and 375,000 for UPC. Obviously none of these can be the same people that say they cannot afford to pay the TV licence.

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/theindex/2011/01/07/will-sky-atlantic-be-a-dealbreaker-for-upc-customers/