Annoying Cork people on RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Well, there are 518,128 Cork people resident in Cork and probably quite a few more resident elsewhere in Ireland so at least 11.3% of the population of Ireland are Corkonians. So, you're going to find quite a few of them on the telly and the radio.

There are 1,045,769 people resident in Dublin, roughly 22% of the population so, again, you're going to find a bigger representation of those on the telly too than other counties.

Basically, you're just going to have to put up with Eddie Hobbs and Miriam O'Callaghan types, or else you'll have to stick to watching Offaly Community Telly.

Total population of the Republic of Ireland as per Census 2011 : 4,581,269

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    what about yor man daithi o shea

That twat does my head in, have to change the channel every time i stumble across that clown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

gustafo wrote: »
    That twat does my head in, have to change the channel every time i stumble across that clown.
    Twat = stupid UK slang word. I can't understand why some Irish people have adopted it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Marty Morrissey from Mallow, get off my TV screen

Bill O'Herlihy from Glasheen. If Bill was on boards.ie he'd get banned from trolling. He's a smart man, very smart with the amount of money he's pulling from RTÉ.
    This playing dumb and feigning ignorance is getting very old, all he does is wind up the panel and get them angry.
    Which makes for entertaining TV I suppose

CHealy wrote: »
    Which Cork accent though? Southside?, Northside?, East Cork? West Cork?, North Cork?, whats becoming known as the C4 accent? West City?..... I hate when people put the Cork accent in as the same all over what is a massive county.

Knocknaheeney
    Des Bishop spent a week there and organized a community event.
    It's painful to listen to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

sheesh wrote: »
    unfortunately yes :(:o believe me we feel really bad about that.

Now now, Kerry have apologised for Daithi O Se on several occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Love the Cork accent, its very musical...best heard in Sir Henrys niteclub back in the day :D

Good people of Cork, can you confirm this story or have I been told a tall tale

I was told that there is no maternity hospital in Kerry so Kerry folk have to go to Cork, meaning they could be claimed as Corkonians after all

Is this true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Good people of Cork, can you confirm this story or have I been told a tall tale

I was told that there is no maternity hospital in Kerry so Kerry folk have to go to Cork, meaning they could be claimed as Corkonians after al
    Is this true?

Any Kerry woman going to Cork to have a baby would raise the IQ of both counties spontaneously - even before the birth :p

I think you've been at the sherry again mikemac :D

New Hampshire?

Go have a wash ya liberal hippy :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Spread wrote: »

Any Kerry woman going to Cork to have a baby would raise the IQ of both counties spontaneously - even before the birth :p

I think you've been at the sherry again mikemac :D

The words Kerry and IQ don't belong in the same sentence. This is the county that sees Jackie Healy Rae as some sort of idol.

If I got near you I'd put a snowball down the back of your neck. I'm not a liberal ......... I'm a Republican Tree Hugger with a slight Tea Party bias. Lyons and not Barrys biy! :)

DarkJager wrote: »
    The words Kerry and IQ don't belong in the same sentence. This is the county that sees Jackie Healy Rae as some sort of idol.

Aw Chrischt! Don't be like that ........... look who adopted West Limerick and allowed ye to vote in our county elections. Those very same ex-Limerick people can now rejoice as their adoptive county head for Croke Park every other year. That's a far cry from being there back in 1889. C'mon the Kingdom and Wescht Limerick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

I prefer a good strong Cork accent than those made up accents you tend to hear in and around Dublin and on TV and Radio.

I was listening to Radio Nova the other day and my god...the accents were outrageous, didn't sound Irish a'tall a'tall sure they didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Aw Chrischt! Don't be like that ........... look who adopted West Limerick and allowed ye to vote in our county elections. Those very same ex-Limerick people can now rejoice as their adoptive county head for Croke Park every other year. That's a far cry from being there back in 1889. C'mon the Kingdom and Wescht Limerick!

I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about :D

G'wan our that! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

CHealy wrote: »
    but I'm sorry folks, the Cork accent is the worst accent in the world, let alone just in Ireland. :P

Which Cork accent though? Southside?, Northside?, East Cork? West Cork?, North Cork?, whats becoming known as the C4 accent? West City?..... I hate when people put the Cork accent in as the same all over what is a massive county. For example, I dont know one person who pronounces Cork as 'Caaark', that just sounds like someone from Kerry, anyone I know pronounces it with quite alot of emphasis on the 'or' part.

Anyway, at least its not an American accent, that accent really grinds my gears.
    Generally speaking though, there are only two strong Cork accents - the urban one and the rural one. Outside of Cork, people aren't going to notice variables. There's also the posh "Crosser" one, then there's the neutral one peppered with bits of Cork.

I do hear people saying "Cark" to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Think it was the great Tommy Tiernan that said the Cork accent is like a knacker trying to speak French. His accent is a bit grating at times though.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Think it was the great Tommy Tiernan that said the Cork accent is like a knacker trying to speak French. His accent is a bit grating at times though.

Hey! What have you against knackers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

KKkitty wrote: »

Hey! What have you against knackers?
    Absolutely nothing. Just relaying Tommy Tiernan's thoughts on what the Cork accent sounds like to him. Don't shoot the messenger :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Cork city and county accent can be grating in some cases like every other accent. Two tips, never converse with a tracksuit wearer or someone outside the city and you should be ok :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

omerin wrote: »
    Cork city and county accent can be grating in some cases like every other accent. Two tips, never converse with a tracksuit wearer or someone outside the city and you should be ok :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I bet the OP has never even been to Cork

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

That Cork girl on the Apprentice on TV3 this year was a little annoying..

She lived in that 'breesh rid lipsteek'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I bet the OP has never even been to Cork

Lived there for five years actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

hardybuck wrote: »
    Just had to mute the television again because Jennie O'Sullivan was on the news reporting from Cork. Listening to her is like a form of torture.

Between her, Paschal Sheehy (Plastic Sheeting to Gift Grub fans) and the awful Brendan O'Connor, unsuspecting RTE viewers are regularly subjected to aural assault.

Is this effective use of our TV license fee!? I think not. I call for a ban on broadcasters from Cork unless they undertake extensive elocution lessons!

What about George Hook? Matt Cooper? Two of the best broadcasters on Irish radio.

Maybe it's just RTE that's ****e? Brendan O'Connor isn't annoying because he's from Cork, he's annoying because he's a gowl. Hector and Daithí are just as painful to listen to as is Derek Mooney and Joe Duffy. And Marty Whelan can take himself off to the retirement home and all. Every Little Helps and all that. Whatever happened to greats like Teresa Lowe?

And Sean Moncrieff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

token101 wrote: »
    What about George Hook? Matt Cooper? Two of the best broadcasters on Irish radio.

George Hook? He's fucking brutal. Cuts people off mid-sentence and goes off on a tangent and doesn't return to the original point.

And Sean Moncrieff?

Sean Moncrieff is the best of the lot imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

If I were running the ship up there I'd push for Moncrieff to be brought back to television and replace dlb on the Late Late.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

There are no annoying accents, only annoying people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Definition of a MEGALOMANIAC?
    A Corman who's mother comes from Cahersiveen

Your talking to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

If I were running the ship up there I'd push for Moncrieff to be brought back to television and replace dlb on the Late Late.

dlb???

Yeah that ship wouldn't be sailing long. He's dire. That little intro he does at the start of his show with that horrible music is cringey. I'd give the Late Late to Seany Fitzpatrick before Moncrieff!!!!!