Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Cork people on RTE

• 17-01-2012 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭

Just had to mute the television again because Jennie O'Sullivan was on the news reporting from Cork. Listening to her is like a form of torture.

Between her, Paschal Sheehy (Plastic Sheeting to Gift Grub fans) and the awful Brendan O'Connor, unsuspecting RTE viewers are regularly subjected to aural assault.

Is this effective use of our TV license fee!? I think not. I call for a ban on broadcasters from Cork unless they undertake extensive elocution lessons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Yeah, they should speak in the standard, neutral Irish accent!

Oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

How can anyone be so bored as to write ****e like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Craebear wrote: »
    How can anyone be so bored as to write ****e like this?

Eh you're replying to it - I presume you're equally as bored!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

paschal sheehy isn't from cork, he's from Kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

..."pascall sheehy...RTE news"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Partition?

Worked before.

sam34 wrote: »
    paschal sheehy isn't from cork, he's from Kerry

Really? Always thought he was Cork. His accent is still septic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Now OP admit you were wrong and edit the title to Kerry people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

hardybuck wrote: »
    Really? Always thought he was Cork. His accent is still septic though.

he's a kerryman for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Pascal is a lot taller than I would have thought and is actually fairly handsome

O boy the pascal

Now OP admit you were wrong and edit the title to Kerry people.

Brendan O'Connor and Jennie O'Sullivan still make it Cork people who should be the focus. I'll also throw John Spillane into the mix, but at least he can sing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

solution to a carrrrrrk accent: a good pull through with a christmas tree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Yes ,that cork fellow with the annoying cork accent, on the telly.

Hes an annoying cnut alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

You can add Miah and Cha to that list. . .:D

Perhaps if I include Pat Spillane I can equal it up and make it a joint Cork/Kerry vendetta.

The period during which he presented the Sunday Game was among the darkest moments in GAA history. "Coming up we've got action of Meat v Dublin and Lout v Offaly"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

George Hook does the rugby on RTE and he is annoying and from Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

I'll also throw John Spillane into the mix, but at least he can sing.

Indication of troll in bold. Thread dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Can you get non-annoying Cork people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Annoying people have always been on TV/Radio and the media in general.
    Due to the nature of their job you'll get to know some aspects of their personality. Some people you will like, some you will despise. Others may disagree with your opinions :eek:

sgb wrote: »
    George Hook does the rugby on RTE and he is annoying and from Cork

I find him entertaining though, I'll give him that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Any accent is better than those stupid false accents.

Annoying people have always been on TV/Radio and the media in general.
    Due to the nature of their job you'll get to know some aspects of their personality. Some people you will like, some you will despise. Others may disagree with your opinions :eek:

Hook aside, it's more the annoying nature of their voice and accent as much as their personalities that I dislike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

brummytom wrote: »

The Bould Tadhy Quill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

ejmaztec wrote: »

At least she turned up to the Dail, where are the rest of the lazy fuekers?!

The Cork accent is the accent of Kings I tells ya.

Soupy Norman!

ICANN wrote: »
    At least she turned up to the Dail, where are the rest of the lazy fuekers?!

The Cork accent is the accent of Kings I tells ya.

They all fecked off just as she got up to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Anon2020

Fake accents are the worst, in any country:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Yep.

Being a blow in to Cork, kinda looking from the outside in, I have to say there are plenty of decent Cork folks around.

There is a slight problem with the Cork-is-the-best-city-in-the-world people who are just completely deluded and embarrassing for less insular Cork folk.

Cork is a lot more than just Cork City too. There are vibrant little coastal towns like Clonakilty and Schull, loads of fantastic beaches, and beautiful scenery.

/rambling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Sindri wrote: »
    Partition?

Worked before.

I don't think you'd get much objection to that proposal down here. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Generally speaking Cork people dont put on a fake accent,the same cant be said about alot of Dubs Ive met.

But what really withers my tits, is culchies putting on a Dublin accent.
    Fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Anon2020

From Wikipedia re Cork accent:

The Cork accent displays various features which set it apart from most of the accents used in Ireland. Patterns of tone and intonation often rise and fall, with the overall tone tending to be more high-pitched than the standard Irish accent. English spoken in Cork has a large number of dialect words that are peculiar to the city and environs. Unlike standard Hiberno-English, some of these words originate from the Irish language, but others through other languages Cork's inhabitants encountered at home and abroad.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭PostHack

As a Cork person, what annoys me most is the man-on-the-street type interviews that you see especially on TV3. They always manage to find people with the most stereotypical over the top northside accents too....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Definition of a MEGALOMANIAC?
    A Corman who's mother comes from Cahersiveen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

I'd take any of the Corky folk over Ciaran Mullooooooly RTE News Mullingaaaaaaarrrrrr, anyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Yah, I much prefer the sweet velvet tones of Miriam O'Callaghan's accent any day....

Roysh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

John Creedon.

Very fooking annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Just had to mute the television again because Jennie O'Sullivan was on the news reporting from Cork. Listening to her is like a form of torture.

Between her, Paschal Sheehy (Plastic Sheeting to Gift Grub fans) and the awful Brendan O'Connor, unsuspecting RTE viewers are regularly subjected to aural assault.

Is this effective use of our TV license fee!? I think not. I call for a ban on broadcasters from Cork unless they undertake extensive elocution lessons!

Are you seriously suggesting that Joe Duffy's accent is less grating? Or Miriam O'Callaghan / Marian Finucane's D4 warbling ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I've no issues with people from Cork or the county itself (apart from the already mentioned 'Cork-is-the-most-amazing-city-in-the-world' people) but I'm sorry folks, the Cork accent is the worst accent in the world, let alone just in Ireland. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

I support the Cork demands for Secession..have your independence if you wish..and take Kerry into your republic as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Lets have more south dubliners, they are totally under represented on tv at the moment:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'd agree with you on Jennie O Sullivan. Her tone is terrible. The woman sounds like she is in considerable pain while delivering her reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭kinvara64

PostHack wrote: »
    As a Cork person, what annoys me most is the man-on-the-street type interviews that you see especially on TV3. They always manage to find people with the most stereotypical over the top northside accents too....

Willing to accept opinions of our accent ,from other counties.There are. many other's I dont like either . But. from one of our own ...BAD form ! What chnce do we have ! Rebel County my arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 zxc1

Has to be Brendan O'Connor - the flipping MACE ads should be enough but to win....... http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/the-smart-ballsy-guys-are-buying-up-property-right-now-1047118.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I can't see how Dubs can complain about any accent :confused: The original dub accent is a knacker accent and the new Dubs have an annoying fake accent as they were too ashamed of their original accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

but I'm sorry folks, the Cork accent is the worst accent in the world, let alone just in Ireland. :P

Which Cork accent though? Southside?, Northside?, East Cork? West Cork?, North Cork?, whats becoming known as the C4 accent? West City?..... I hate when people put the Cork accent in as the same all over what is a massive county. For example, I dont know one person who pronounces Cork as 'Caaark', that just sounds like someone from Kerry, anyone I know pronounces it with quite alot of emphasis on the 'or' part.

Anyway, at least its not an American accent, that accent really grinds my gears.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

O man that me lol so hard, wipes tear away from corner of eye.
    I F***KN hate that Plastic Sheeting C**T - (great nickname - hijacked)

His voice goes through my head like Larry through his victims.
    If I had a voice like that I'd deffo slit out my voicebox

Do you ever notice how his tone goes up then down then up then down as he talks, FFS man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

what about yor man daithi o shea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Is it actually the Cork accent that is so painful or could it be that Cork people, like Yank wimmin, speak through their noses, i.e. their treble is at max while their bass is….off. Either that or they’re speaking at an octave above the rest of the planet.
    Eddie Hobbs? Very eloquent in a showbiz economist kind of way but, Eddie, please, write it down and I’ll read it. Don’t speak it at me.
    George Hook has succeeded in lowering his pitch but still speaks with a mouthful of spit and that unique Cork / Colorado accent. “In the shhhhtewdio dis eeevnang O’ill be giving moy opinions to a host of gasts”.
    Etc., etc. But, let’s be honest. There are other hideous accents available to us, courtesy of RTE, TV3, etc. In fact, I’m the only one I know with no accent whatsoever. Yiz all sound desprah to me.
    But I have a solution – record your normal voice, playback and try to resist saying, Jayzus, do I really sound like that? Morto.
    Someone give Miriam O, Marian F, Joe D, Plastic S, Eddie H, George H, Jedward, Ciaran M a voice recorder.