Annoying Cork people on RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Generally speaking Cork people dont put on a fake accent,the same cant be said about alot of Dubs Ive met.

But what really withers my tits, is culchies putting on a Dublin accent.
    Fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Anon2020

From Wikipedia re Cork accent:

The Cork accent displays various features which set it apart from most of the accents used in Ireland. Patterns of tone and intonation often rise and fall, with the overall tone tending to be more high-pitched than the standard Irish accent. English spoken in Cork has a large number of dialect words that are peculiar to the city and environs. Unlike standard Hiberno-English, some of these words originate from the Irish language, but others through other languages Cork's inhabitants encountered at home and abroad.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭PostHack

As a Cork person, what annoys me most is the man-on-the-street type interviews that you see especially on TV3. They always manage to find people with the most stereotypical over the top northside accents too....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Definition of a MEGALOMANIAC?
    A Corman who's mother comes from Cahersiveen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

I'd take any of the Corky folk over Ciaran Mullooooooly RTE News Mullingaaaaaaarrrrrr, anyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭telekon

Yah, I much prefer the sweet velvet tones of Miriam O'Callaghan's accent any day....

Roysh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

John Creedon.

Very fooking annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

hardybuck wrote: »
    Just had to mute the television again because Jennie O'Sullivan was on the news reporting from Cork. Listening to her is like a form of torture.

Between her, Paschal Sheehy (Plastic Sheeting to Gift Grub fans) and the awful Brendan O'Connor, unsuspecting RTE viewers are regularly subjected to aural assault.

Is this effective use of our TV license fee!? I think not. I call for a ban on broadcasters from Cork unless they undertake extensive elocution lessons!

Are you seriously suggesting that Joe Duffy's accent is less grating? Or Miriam O'Callaghan / Marian Finucane's D4 warbling ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

Just had to mute the television again because Jennie O'Sullivan was on the news reporting from Cork. Listening to her is like a form of torture.

Between her, Paschal Sheehy (Plastic Sheeting to Gift Grub fans) and the awful Brendan O'Connor, unsuspecting RTE viewers are regularly subjected to aural assault.

Is this effective use of our TV license fee!? I think not. I call for a ban on broadcasters from Cork unless they undertake extensive elocution lessons!

FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I've no issues with people from Cork or the county itself (apart from the already mentioned 'Cork-is-the-most-amazing-city-in-the-world' people) but I'm sorry folks, the Cork accent is the worst accent in the world, let alone just in Ireland. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

I support the Cork demands for Secession..have your independence if you wish..and take Kerry into your republic as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Lets have more south dubliners, they are totally under represented on tv at the moment:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'd agree with you on Jennie O Sullivan. Her tone is terrible. The woman sounds like she is in considerable pain while delivering her reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭kinvara64

PostHack wrote: »
    As a Cork person, what annoys me most is the man-on-the-street type interviews that you see especially on TV3. They always manage to find people with the most stereotypical over the top northside accents too....

Willing to accept opinions of our accent ,from other counties.There are. many other's I dont like either . But. from one of our own ...BAD form ! What chnce do we have ! Rebel County my arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 zxc1

Has to be Brendan O'Connor - the flipping MACE ads should be enough but to win....... http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/the-smart-ballsy-guys-are-buying-up-property-right-now-1047118.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I can't see how Dubs can complain about any accent :confused: The original dub accent is a knacker accent and the new Dubs have an annoying fake accent as they were too ashamed of their original accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

but I'm sorry folks, the Cork accent is the worst accent in the world, let alone just in Ireland. :P

Which Cork accent though? Southside?, Northside?, East Cork? West Cork?, North Cork?, whats becoming known as the C4 accent? West City?..... I hate when people put the Cork accent in as the same all over what is a massive county. For example, I dont know one person who pronounces Cork as 'Caaark', that just sounds like someone from Kerry, anyone I know pronounces it with quite alot of emphasis on the 'or' part.

Anyway, at least its not an American accent, that accent really grinds my gears.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

O man that me lol so hard, wipes tear away from corner of eye.
    I F***KN hate that Plastic Sheeting C**T - (great nickname - hijacked)

His voice goes through my head like Larry through his victims.
    If I had a voice like that I'd deffo slit out my voicebox

Do you ever notice how his tone goes up then down then up then down as he talks, FFS man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

what about yor man daithi o shea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Is it actually the Cork accent that is so painful or could it be that Cork people, like Yank wimmin, speak through their noses, i.e. their treble is at max while their bass is….off. Either that or they’re speaking at an octave above the rest of the planet.
    Eddie Hobbs? Very eloquent in a showbiz economist kind of way but, Eddie, please, write it down and I’ll read it. Don’t speak it at me.
    George Hook has succeeded in lowering his pitch but still speaks with a mouthful of spit and that unique Cork / Colorado accent. “In the shhhhtewdio dis eeevnang O’ill be giving moy opinions to a host of gasts”.
    Etc., etc. But, let’s be honest. There are other hideous accents available to us, courtesy of RTE, TV3, etc. In fact, I’m the only one I know with no accent whatsoever. Yiz all sound desprah to me.
    But I have a solution – record your normal voice, playback and try to resist saying, Jayzus, do I really sound like that? Morto.
    Someone give Miriam O, Marian F, Joe D, Plastic S, Eddie H, George H, Jedward, Ciaran M a voice recorder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

How people can knock such a lyrical, cultured and wonderful accent is beyond me, after being up the country for any length of time and hearing nothing but the flat monotone accents in "Ireland that is not Cork" it's pleasure to return to music like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    what about yor man daithi o shea

That tool is Kerry I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

All this thread says to me is that Ireland's obsessed with parochial inter-regional in-fighting that almost borders on a form of accent-based racism.

I find in general the Brits are similar too: absolutely obsessed with minor regional variations in accent and dialect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

That tool is Kerry I think.

unfortunately yes :(:o believe me we feel really bad about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

CHealy wrote: »
    Which Cork accent though? Southside?, Northside?, East Cork? West Cork?, North Cork?, whats becoming known as the C4 accent? West City?..... I hate when people put the Cork accent in as the same all over what is a massive county. For example, I dont know one person who pronounces Cork as 'Caaark', that just sounds like someone from Kerry, anyone I know pronounces it with quite alot of emphasis on the 'or' part.

Anyway, at least its not an American accent, that accent really grinds my gears.

Funnily enough the only people who ever seem to say the "Caark" thing are Dubs yet i've never heard anyone down here pronounce it like that.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Slighty off topic but why do 99% of Irish teenagers speak in a quasi-America accent?? Like you know OMG whatever??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

George Hooks' faux posh Corkonian is particularly grating on the radio.

He sounds like he's chewing a bag of wasps half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Accents are great! They're an identity :) I don't know what you're so upset about, OP. I get sick and tired of hearing everyone on TV and radio sound exactly the same. Neutral accents are kinda fake.

More Cork, I say! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Accents are great! They're an identity :) I don't know what you're so upset about, OP. I get sick and tired of hearing everyone on TV and radio sound exactly the same. Neutral accents are kinda fake.
    Is there such thing as a neutral accent though?
    To someone from west Kerry (god love them) who never watched RTE in their life the so called neutral RTE accent would be far from it.
    It's more of a case of what you get used to, to me the accent from where I grew up is totally neutral and lots of people refer to my accent as such but outside Cork the first thing people ask me is, "what part of Cork are you from, boy?"
    More Cork, I say! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Pascal is a lot taller than I would have thought and is actually fairly handsome

O boy the pascal

Looks like a cop. Acts like a cop. Talks like a cop.

Can't stand the ****er.