Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is a Paranormal Forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

I didnt propose anything, i gave my view on the topic, and on how i see this particular forum.

But you said this:
    Wasnt the whole point of the paranormal forum to indulge in the paranormal and speculate on it,

And I was just wondering if that meant that you were proposing that no non paranormal explanations should be allowed - for example - if poster A posts a photo they think is a ghost then anyone wishing to discuss or speculate on this as a ghost would be allowed, anyone who thinks it's a smudge/dust/lighting etc should just ignore the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

Interesting :) Where I'm living is surrounded by the good shepherd convent, the gaol and our lady's hospital. I have had no experiences myself thankfully but a friend of mine and his family have had many over the years and live in the same area. I think this area is definitely 'active' on some level.

You're right - that whole area has a reputation for paranormal activity alright. North Mall, Shandon and Sunday's Well. A lot was said about that whole area and the buildings you mentioned on the 'Haunted in Cork' thread before. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054867101

I never experienced anything unusual around the area myself either but I've heard a lot of stories from others about it. The Good Sheperd Convent is supposed to be very 'active', according to various local paranormal investigators. Same thing with Our Lady's Hospital. I could tell you a fair few second-hand stories about those places but that's for another thread. :)

pH wrote: »
    But you said this:

And I was just wondering if that meant that you were proposing that no non paranormal explanations should be allowed - for example - if poster A posts a photo they think is a ghost then anyone wishing to discuss or speculate on this as a ghost would be allowed, anyone who thinks it's a smudge/dust/lighting etc should just ignore the thread?

Well, I think it's perfectly acceptable to suggest that a 'ghost' in a photograph might be a speck of dust or a flare of light as long as you aren't being insulting about it.

Make your point but don't write it like it's gospel/the definitive explanation of all time either.

Tomk1 wrote: »
    [...] It's like UFO's as I'm into astronomy and know other's who spend quite a bit of time outside at night, none of which have ever reported ufo's we're use to seeing odd lights, sometimes initial response is 'what on Earth is that' but after observing for 5mins see it's a low flying plane with it's landing lights on, I have been caught out by this, in one way feeling silly afterwards, but from the initial info had no way to determine what the object was, untill it started passing by, seeing the lights from the windows and eventually hearing the sound of the engines.

On the subject of UFO's according to link there's been a 70% increase in UFO reports across Ireland.
    www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/website-reports-70-rise-in-ufo-reports-533897.html

Honestly, I don't know why there isn't a specific UFO sub-forum or something. I know a lot of people who are avid UFO enthusiasts, yet they dismiss, or they're uninterested in, all the other paranormal stuff (hauntings, ghosts, spirits, etc). The threads here about UFOs, aliens, 'strange lights in the sky' and all the rest could be transferred to the UFO forum.

I don't have anything against UFOs and aliens, but I've noticed that there are people who are specifically interested in UFO-related subjects only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

my mother gave me this photo a few months ago that she took down in mayo ballyhaunas and I was looking at it and noticed an orb thing and a few others floating around but I wonder does someone have a high quality professional software that can make out what they are. i'm just curious as to what the ball things are. she said it was taken in the summer 2011... this is the original photo.

MayoIreland2011.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

pH wrote: »
    But you said this:

how is that a proposition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

i got into a long-winded back and forth argument with another member here before about the same kind of thing...more specifically about belief though but still the same buzz

basically the bottom line is respect...i think the paranormal forum should be a place where people can share thier experiences and ideas, safe from the kind of ridiculing that comes from supposed adults when presented with something a bit out of the ordinary in every day life (particularly it seems in this country)...otherwise whats the point of having the forum at all?

there is a level of vulnerability involved in expressing these things...even from the safety of a computer, it seems that people who are taking a chance to step outside the box in a small way become easy targets to those who make mocking their business

there is a big difference between pointing out possible explanations for something and taking the piss out of someone but then taking the piss might mean different things to different people and there in could be the problem...........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I completely agree with you. Anytime I post something on here, I word it carefully just because I'm expecting attacks in response (which has been borne out by previous experience and observation), and I usually get either snide, smart remarks or outright dismissal in response.

You can disagree with someone's point but you don't have to be a complete smart arse b@stard about it either.

If someone were to respond to me in reality in the same caustic way they can respond on here, I'd respond more 'proactively', if you know what I mean.. Nothing but keyboard hardmen online.

I know. I remember when I first started posting on this forum, I thought I had made a wrong turn because I was being attacked for expressing a belief in anything at all that was 'beyond the norm'. I felt like a fresh turd in a paddock being overtaken by swarms of aggressive flies.

They have their own forum, yet they appear to spend more time here shooting down any thought that doesn't fit into their own sceptics handbook. It used to be far worse (which probably scared a lot of people, like yourself, away), but the way I look at it is that the paranormal area would be really boring and stagnant if everything was dismissed instantly. Sure, there's a lot of valid evidence to disprove certain phenomena, which I accept, but that isn't true in all cases.

For instance, I had a friend who told me he was experiencing strange activity in his (semi-detached) house a few months back. He said he was hearing knocking on doors and footsteps outside his bedroom while he was in bed, he saw black shadow figures, his dog was growling at thin air and the TV was coming on by itself at random times despite there being no timer and the thing being plugged out. I went over there one day and saw the TV come on and the dog growling at feck all inside his kitchen. All this activity was new because the guy had been living there in peace for two years initially.

I bought some holy water and white sage, we burned the sage (a bit like incense really, except it stinks) in every room in a clockwise direction, and sprinkled the water, all the while telling the thing to leave 'for the light'. It sounds daft altogether, but he hasn't had any strange activity in his house and he's a lot happier ever since.

You don't know until you see things for yourself.

This is a genuine question, how do people know what to do as in the instance you describe, where has the information come from to show it works,

my self I do believe in something, to many times stuff has happened me, several times I would call to see someone who I have not called to for quite a while,

and while I am there they become sick or get a call something has happened and because I was there we were able to get it sorted, (tip of the iceberg)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 echo2010

I work with a group of paranormal investigators in Cork called Echo Ghosthunters. We would believe that most orbs are in fact dust, moisture or insects. If you were to get something like talc or powder n throw some in the air & then take some photos the place would be alive with orbs. I think if you were to see a ball of light in a darkened room flying in a random pattern of movement with your own eyes, then maybe that could b an orb. You can check us out on the web if you like at www.echoghosthunters.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 echo2010

work with a team of paranormal investigators in Cork called Echo Ghosthunters & were all skeptical believers...lol.

zenno wrote: »
    my mother gave me this photo a few months ago that she took down in mayo ballyhaunas and I was looking at it and noticed an orb thing and a few others floating around but I wonder does someone have a high quality professional software that can make out what they are. i'm just curious as to what the ball things are. she said it was taken in the summer 2011... this is the original photo.

MayoIreland2011.jpg

I had a close look at your photo and all I could tell was that the object to the right of the photo is distinct and separate from the sky around it. That's all. So, yes, there's something there, but I have no idea what it is.

Despite zooming in and increasing the contrast and sharpening that part of the photo, I couldn't discern what the object is.

Maybe someone else will be able to shed more light on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Looks to me (the lay person) like it's something on the lens - a drop of water/moisture or something?

Try the Photography forum, they might have a more educated guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

can you send me the original file of that image and ill see what i can do in phoroshop. also the details of the camera

lolo62 wrote: »
    basically the bottom line is respect...i think the paranormal forum should be a place where people can share thier experiences and ideas, safe from the kind of ridiculing that comes from supposed adults when presented with something a bit out of the ordinary in every day life (particularly it seems in this country)...otherwise whats the point of having the forum at all?

Ridiculing and questioning are needed otherwise this forum would turn into a big old circle jerk in which everything is paranormal and everybody is has a "gift" which is all very common in the paranormal community. We all get it , i get it , i give it out. Keeps people on their feet. :)

Dave! wrote: »
    Looks to me (the lay person) like it's something on the lens - a drop of water/moisture or something?

Thats what it looks like to me. I actually have a great photo of me as a child with a 1 foot beetle crawling on the wall beside my head. Just happened to be a tiny thing on the lense.

Dave! wrote: »

I'm not sure if it is on the lens but it just looks further away than close imo. well i sent it to the mod just to see can it be enhanced somewhat just to be sure. the other one on the right of the big one when zoomed in looks the same shape as well. like i said though i'm not sure what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭dyer

interesting photo.. while the bigger 'object' could be put down to a water droplet or something.. i counted 6 other objects which look like they are distinctly in the distance closer to the horizon (2 are small and hard to see but are closer to the tree line to the right of the 3 dots that form a triangle above the man in the red jumper) could be birds maybe? if you can.. take another picture of a clear sky to see if there might be dust on the inner lens of the camera, or even better.. view some photos taken during the same day to see if the anomalies still exist.

160alh0.jpg

there was many photos taken directly after this one and the objects are not in any of the other pictures this is the only picture from about 12 taken that look like this. all told there was about 200 photos taken with the camera so far and none of them have this orb shaped image.

Ridiculing and questioning are needed otherwise this forum would turn into a big old circle jerk in which everything is paranormal and everybody is has a "gift" which is all very common in the paranormal community. We all get it , i get it , i give it out. Keeps people on their feet. :)

ok thats your opinion. i disagree because i think having a laugh is fair enough..ridiculing others is just uncool and you dont need to go there to have fun, its immature and cruel.

i havent come across many people claiming to have 'gifts' but then i only click into the posts that im genuinely interested in.

what has been my experience is that there are two groups on the forum..people who want to have genuine discussions about the topics and people who just want to take the piss because they just dont seem to be able to get their heads around the information being shared

what i dont understand is why they would be there if it all seems so ridiculous?

ok thats your opinion. i disagree because i think having a laugh is fair enough..ridiculing others is just uncool and you dont need to go there to have fun, its immature and cruel.

Ridiculing in an attempt to achieve a positive outcome is needed in pretty much everything we do. Its not cruel and its definitely not immature. The failure not to ridicule or to be able to ridicule yourself for example is immature. People ridicule themselves in a way to mush and motivate themselves to achieve something.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I don't mind opposing opinions here. What I do mind is when people of one opinion refuse to allow someone else to express theirs. Posting paranormal experiences can be a sensitive and embarrassing thing to do. I expect a high level of respect for anyone who posts sincerely here. Anyone who is seen to badger or ridicule a poster here, or who is disrupting a thread WILL be banned.

Ridiculing in an attempt to achieve a positive outcome is needed in pretty much everything we do. Its not cruel and its definitely not immature. The failure not to ridicule or to be able to ridicule yourself for example is immature. People ridicule themselves in a way to mush and motivate themselves to achieve something.

ridiculing will never achieve a positive outcome

as for the rest of your post...i just dont even know what to say except for maybe you and i are from different planets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

I'm sorry but you don't ridicule to achieve a positive outcome.

You challenge them with facts and fair responses in order to counter their claims and usually with a bit of respect if their not acting the knob.

ridiculing will never achieve a positive outcome

as for the rest of your post...i just dont even know what to say except for maybe you and i are from different planets!

I was doing exam's i was also doing alot of partying at the same time not getting studie in. I did my first exam and failed miserably. I got so upset with myself for being so stupid. For being a drunken lout , not taking these exams seriosly . My parents were upset with me for wasting their money , lets face it i was a prick of a son for wasing their money for an education that they couldnt achieve when they were my age. I told myself this was not going to happen again and aced every exam since, getting my masters.

I played football for my local team, i did it to pass the time, other people in the team this was their life. We were going into the first leg of a semi final of the game. To me this was just another game i didnt care if we won or lost. All i cared about was the night of drinking that i was later that evening. Sure it would be cool if we won the cup. But i havnt trained for the past 2 weeks.
    Game finishes we loose the first leg 3 - 0 2 of the goals were down to me not having my head in the game. The manager is upset with me said i was slow and could not keep up with their strikers as i had put on weight. He told me he has seen pregnant women with more energy then me. I need to shape up or i am off the team. So i train every day for the next 2 weeks , this time i am more focused then ever. We go into the second leg and we win 4 - 0 putting us into the finals.

Here is a video how ridicule is used during a half time talk in a football game .
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQYuLiuGFyg
    Does contain bad language.

Or if you want to see it in movies, who could forget Rocky

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDCgp6JW8Ug

Dre, that's a completely different situation. Yeah, the underlying principle is the same, but that's where the parallels end.

Constructive criticism is acceptable - not ridicule. If, in your case, a guy a bit more 'sensitive' than yourself had been told he needed to drop weight because he was slower than a pregnant women, he might have taken it badly.

I remember reading a story about a guy in the UK who was shamed by his football coach because of his weight in front of the team, and he went on to develop bulimia that nearly killed him.

One man's medicine is another man's poison.

Dre, that's a completely different situation. Yeah, the underlying principle is the same, but that's where the parallels end.

I was just replying to Lola saying ridiculing will not achieve a positive outcome. When it actually does.

First of all i dont actually think ridicule exisits on this forum and what is constructive criticism is taken as ridicule. Everynow and again you get a lurker that might say somthing as a witty response and thats about it.

What we do get is this ...............

Bob: here is a picture of an Orb i took, i think my house is haunted.

Niall Paranormal: Hey Bob you do know Orbs are most likely dust or bugs, i can take a picture of one any time i want by staming my feet on a carpet and using flash on my camera.

Bob: Thanks Niall Paranormal but i think its haunted because a door closed on its own today. Thats 2 things happen in the space of 3 days.

Niall Paranormal : Hey Bob, doors close all the time on their own. It happens if you have another door open or another window open. Did you check and see ?

Jerry from the Abbriviated Research of Monsters Poltergeist Investigation Team (ARMPIT) : Hey Bob it definately sounds like you have a ghosts. I think the ghosts are attracted to you for some reason. You should set up a camera and record the activity. If you need us send us an IM

Bob : Thanks Jerry , i think you are right. I will buy a camera and set it up. Just last night i was walking out of the kitchen and i switched off the light. When i went back in the light was on again !!

AnnyPoop: Wow Bob thats amazing good look i hope you find this ghost.

Niall Paranormal : Again Bob, this is a very common thing that can happen. It happens to me all the time , i go to put the rubbish out and its already out, i dont even remember doing it, i just do it without thinking.

Jerry (ARMPIT) I think he is trying to have fun with you Bob. You have a gift so your light is that much brighter then everything else. You are like a beacon to ghosts and attract them. They are trying to send you a message. I got your PM, the team is looking forward to meeting you. Did you order that equipment from that list i gave you ?

AnnyPoop : I too have this gift. Its trying at first but i have control overit now.

Bob: Niall Paranormal , you seem to think i am lying. I do not have a memory problem. I would remember if i switched off a light or not. Thankyou for your help Jerry(ARMPIT) I ordered most of that equipment. I didnt think it would be that expensive. I dont have a job so will have to wait for next month to buy the K2 meter.

Fergal Skeptic: Jerry you are talking bollix and dont know what you are on about.This person has spent this money on equipment ??? Bob cop the **** on, your problems are not paranormal and maybe you should go see somebody professional even a doctor.

Paranormal Mod: Fergal Skeptic your banned for a month.

This is a very common scenario in the paranormal world. (Except Fergal Skeptic)

But lets take for example .....
    Jerry (ARMPIT). This guy has taken complete advantage of the situation. Normally for his own gain. He now has another follower in his team. Not only that but they have a bit more equipment to add to collection. Not only that but probably made the most damage with the situation

Niall PAranormal: What he says is true but its obvious Bob does not want to listen as its not somthing he wants to hear. He is also getting a bit more attention from Jerry (ARMPIT)

Fergal Skeptic: See's the nice approach is not working, is getting frustrated himself and bluntly tells the truth with a bit of a kick up the arse. Would probably lead to a ban.

Regarding your point about one mans medicine is another man's poison ? Well then ban all criticism if that is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

its not about banning anyone for having an opinion, skeptical or otherwise.

Is it asking too much to have a little bit of respect when you're posting a reply to someones topic/post?

I'm not saying this is you Dre, but i have seen other posters recently on this section be completely abusive on new topics. No wonder nobody posts much here anymore.
    I mean, Ye may as well paint a big fcuking bullseye on your face if you so much as hint at believing in something paranormal on this forum lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Fergal Skeptic: Jerry you are talking bollix and dont know what you are on about.This person has spent this money on equipment ??? Bob cop the **** on, your problems are not paranormal and maybe you should go see somebody professional even a doctor.

Abusive language. Attack the post not the poster. This kind of post would get Fergal banned from any other forum. Fergal could have gotten that point across without resorting to abusive language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭dyer

while i did rofl at his post, i think its extremely narrow minded, but if hes just taking the piss, its comical genius ;)

I laughed at your post as well, Dre, and I know what you mean, but like degrassinnoel pointed out, the replies to threads on here of late have been clearly taking the p1ss out of people and making a mockery of the threads.

Obviously I wouldn't go and ban everyone who was critical of something, but the criticism has to be constructive.

Dre, I find myself wondering what exactly you're seeking on this forum. It's as if all allegedly paranormal experiences need to be immediately and viciously dissected for the purpose of eliminating their potential validity. I think you're too suspicious or maybe even disgruntled or disillusioned because of your own experiences. I'm not intending to 'attack' you by saying that, but the above attitude really comes across in your posts.

You can't just assume that everyone else is mentally inept and incapable of harnessing any shred of realism when it comes to the paranormal. I'll admit I do look at some of the posts on here from time and time and find them a bit 'out there' (even for me), but I'll only post a reply if I think I have something useful to contribute. Otherwise, I say nothing.

People need to have the freedom to reach their own intelligent conclusions - you can't force-feed them with your beliefs.

Maybe I have you all wrong now, but I've seen a lot of the above attitude in general reverberating around the forum of late.

One thing I can tell you is that, if I was someone who had never posted on this forum before and I was thinking about posting about some unusual experience I had, I simply wouldn't post here.

Try to imagine how this forum looks from an outsider's perspective; someone who hasn't ever been involved in anything paranormal and who just happened to experience something that they were baffled by.

It's a sad situation that the forum is only really frequented by the 'old guard' (figurative, not literal), which means things remain stagnant. It says a lot about how people must view this forum.