Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is a Paranormal Forum

• 15-12-2011 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

Just an observation of my behalf , but it appears to me that anyone posting a thread regarding what they belief to be a paranormal experience is immidiately ridiculed , and accused of "smoking weed" etc . In case people have forgotten this is a Paranormal forum . A while back the Moderator asked where everyone was gone, Well I think that is self explanatory with such comments and attitudes.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Paramad wrote: »
    Just an observation of my behalf , but it appears to me that anyone posting a thread regarding what they belief to be a paranormal experience is immidiately ridiculed , and accused of "smoking weed" etc . In case people have forgotten this is a Paranormal forum . A while back the Moderator asked where everyone was gone, Well I think that is self explanatory with such comments and attitudes.
    Posts like that are not allowed, and I think that one you mention got infracted. Do you report posts you find offensive? Mods are not omnipotent, we need the assistance of regular users to spot all issues, its not guaranteed we will catch everything. I cant guarantee that everything you think is actionable will turn out to be so, but we do our best to make this a good place for all.

This is not my forum, it belongs to you, to the users. It is meant to be a comfortable place for everyone to post, and the charter is written with that in mind. If this is not happening, we need to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

I've always had an interest in the 'paranormal' and unknown, I use to get 'the unexplained' mag back in the '80s. Probably that mag eventually turned my skeptical brain on.

I would never throw abuse at someone (it's not AH) but I like getting facts clear and offering a natural explaination if I can, is this ok? as I see on the thread 'lights over Dublin' one explaination is of Chinese lantrens as the poster was looking for an answer, but if the poster stated it was an alien UFO are we suppose to say yep deffo & agree 'unsacasticly' it's a UFO.

Skeptics/Astronomers do come arcoss a lot of stuff that can be explained which leaves the more interesting unexplained stuff to be explored further, I do enjoy spooky stories.

I don't want to be breaking the forum-charter, if skeptics are not allowed to post.

Of course explanations are welcome. Thats part of the reason the forum is here, to provide different explanations and theories. The only time that might not be the case would be if the op wanted to discuss something without skeptical input. Say for example, a psychic thread, if they didn't want to have to fend off points like 'theres no such thing' and just discuss actual points on psychic ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭rubbledoubledo

Hi all
    Totally agree with Paramad.
    Was going to post on the same issue. No need to now.
    Reading the posts on this forum, i have came to the conclusion, that do paranormal exist at all, going by the replys a person get.

I have pity on some of the posters, the replys they get.
    Like (A) Are u taking something (B) U coming from a pub etc.
    No one is an expert here.
    This is my first post here, really love this forum.
    Im a believer any way

You do understand that if something has an obvious explanation, people are going to offer that? If you want to discuss something in a certain way, then say so at the outset. And report the nonsense posts if you feel youre being got at by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Paramad

The reason there is so little traffic on this site , as compared to say two years ago , is because of people being ridiculed by others when they bring up something that could possibly be of a paranormal nature . I am all for people have a sophisticated debate , but moderators you need to do your job better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

i respectfully disagree. i think the mods are doing a bang on job to be honest ... most of the cynicism goes on in the Skeptics Forum - terribly misnamed but handy all the same in keeping it all under the one sub forum.

I think the reason this forum has gone down in popularity is because the paranormal fad has (thankfully) died down in recent years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

Paramad wrote: »
    The reason there is so little traffic on this site , as compared to say two years ago , is because of people being ridiculed by others when they bring up something that could possibly be of a paranormal nature. I am all for people have a sophisticated debate , but moderators you need to do your job better

Well, two years ago would have been a time when we had the tail-end of the flurry of 'ghost-hunting' TV shows, so it isn't surprising that that would impact on the general public's interest in the paranormal (including viewing this forum).

From what I saw, this forum used to be far more unhinged in terms of discussions quickly turning into blazing arguments. The trolling used to be pretty bad compared to recent times. It was common for a thread to start out as a fairly reasonable, sophisticated debate, before descending into general dissention and personal attacks, e.g. "You believe the dead can talk to the living? You should see a psychiatrist."

Tbh, I thought at the time that the mods did their best to rein it all in and punish where applicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭meryem

I agree with your views. Decrease in user participation might be result of latest public interest(fad), negative unproductive response to the genuine queries and partly for some decrease in traffic referrals from the big search engines like Google for it's continues search for better results for it's user base.

though I must say that the slowdown on this paranormal forum isnt reflected in the number of people contacting our local research group for help. In fact its increased in the past few months. Must be Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

i totally agree with the OP i havent posted here for ages because i feel every time i do i may as well be going onto richard dawkins site and declaring 'i believe in god'...thing is i would expect to be verbally mauled on that site, one would think that wouldnt happen here!

i think the moderators try to do as good a job as they can but they are far out-numbered by skeptics who hold a firm presence on the forum, despite having their own sub-forum.

Well guys, its up to you now. Two new mods have been appointed, Riamfada and MrMojorisin, so there is a good mod presence here. So report stuff, and give us feedback. Dont be afraid to post what you want, if you need to check it out beforehand for suitability, pm one of us. If yo state in your opening post that you would not like a skeptical response, that will be respected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

i find it very funny that so many people are unwilling to believe in the paranormal,and spirit activity,life after death ect,yet will go into a church and pray to other souls than god,i am rather lucky in the fact that i am constantly aware of spirit and residual activity about , it not just a fantasy to me

getz wrote: »
    i find it very funny that so many people are unwilling to believe in the paranormal,and spirit activity,life after death ect,yet will go into a church and pray to other souls than god,i am rather lucky in the fact that i am constantly aware of spirit and residual activity about , it not just a fantasy to me

I know, I've always found that quite funny as well. Some churchgoers proclaiming their belief in the Holy Spirit aloud and then balking at the idea of spirits and ghosts outside that setting.

Having said that, I know quite a few people who either don't believe in God, or do believe in God but never attend mass, but believe in paranormal phenomena. It varies. Personally, I just about fall into the latter category, but I'm not a Holy Joe. Christmas Eve is the day (or night, rather) for my annual trip to mass.

I remember a few months ago, when I took a taxi home after a night out, and, God knows how it all started now, but the taxi driver (who must have been in his early 60s and was married, by all accounts) started talking to me about miracles and the devil. Talk about surreal. The guy had rosary beads hanging from his rear-view mirror and a little picture of Padre Pio on the dash, so he was a clearly a bit of a 'Holy Joe'. He was a nice, normal fella though.

Anyway, he was telling me a story about how his sister, who had advanced breast cancer, went out to Saint James Church out in Medjugorje to receive blessings and, within five weeks of returning home, the cancer had gone into remission. It could be a coincidence, but the taxi driver firmly believed that God spared her life.

I wouldn't (openly) dismiss those kinds of things where there was a positive outcome because 1) faith is a powerful thing, 2) it's important to have some respect for people who are going through a tough time and have little else but faith to cling on to, and 3) the desired result is the most important thing and not the 'method' to achieve the result, IMO. Another thing is that people's experiences are very real and authentic to them. Unless you're them, how can you know anything about what they perceive?

As for the part of the conversation with the taxi driver about the devil.. He was telling me, in very concerned tones, that he believed there were people, in his local pub, for instance, that were involved with the devil in some way. He was telling me he could see it in their eyes and 'feel' it.

He was saying he often had to leave premises because of those kinds of people and was wondering what he could do to protect himself. I'm hardly well-versed in this sort of thing, but I just told him (seeing as he was well into God) to ask for God's protection whenever he felt 'under threat' and he'd be grand.

I wish I was making this up because it sounds hilarious when I type it out, but the man was normal. He looked and sounded a bit like the farmer played by James Cromwell in the film 'Babe' actually. :D

Anyway, the point of all this is that you can get Holy Joes who dismiss the paranormal and Holy Joes who believe in the paranormal as well. Oh, and that, until you start talking to people, you can't judge them on appearances.

lolo62 wrote: »
    i totally agree with the OP i havent posted here for ages because i feel every time i do i may as well be going onto richard dawkins site and declaring 'i believe in god'...thing is i would expect to be verbally mauled on that site, one would think that wouldnt happen here!

i think the moderators try to do as good a job as they can but they are far out-numbered by skeptics who hold a firm presence on the forum, despite having their own sub-forum.

I completely agree with you. Anytime I post something on here, I word it carefully just because I'm expecting attacks in response (which has been borne out by previous experience and observation), and I usually get either snide, smart remarks or outright dismissal in response.

You can disagree with someone's point but you don't have to be a complete smart arse b@stard about it either.

If someone were to respond to me in reality in the same caustic way they can respond on here, I'd respond more 'proactively', if you know what I mean.. Nothing but keyboard hardmen online.
    lolo62 wrote: »

I know. I remember when I first started posting on this forum, I thought I had made a wrong turn because I was being attacked for expressing a belief in anything at all that was 'beyond the norm'. I felt like a fresh turd in a paddock being overtaken by swarms of aggressive flies.

They have their own forum, yet they appear to spend more time here shooting down any thought that doesn't fit into their own sceptics handbook. It used to be far worse (which probably scared a lot of people, like yourself, away), but the way I look at it is that the paranormal area would be really boring and stagnant if everything was dismissed instantly. Sure, there's a lot of valid evidence to disprove certain phenomena, which I accept, but that isn't true in all cases.

For instance, I had a friend who told me he was experiencing strange activity in his (semi-detached) house a few months back. He said he was hearing knocking on doors and footsteps outside his bedroom while he was in bed, he saw black shadow figures, his dog was growling at thin air and the TV was coming on by itself at random times despite there being no timer and the thing being plugged out. I went over there one day and saw the TV come on and the dog growling at feck all inside his kitchen. All this activity was new because the guy had been living there in peace for two years initially.

I bought some holy water and white sage, we burned the sage (a bit like incense really, except it stinks) in every room in a clockwise direction, and sprinkled the water, all the while telling the thing to leave 'for the light'. It sounds daft altogether, but he hasn't had any strange activity in his house and he's a lot happier ever since.

You don't know until you see things for yourself.

I think the catholic church make it a bad thing to believe in ghosts, since if they werent in heaven, werent in hell and werent in purgatory, then they must be evil (or something along that line). Makes no sense at all to demonise ghosts when you consider the ideas religion is based on - but thats how it went.
    I know, I've always found that quite funny as well. Some churchgoers proclaiming their belief in the Holy Spirit aloud and then balking at the idea of spirits and ghosts outside that setting.

Having said that, I know quite a few people who either don't believe in God, or do believe in God but never attend mass, but believe in paranormal phenomena. It varies. Personally, I just about fall into the latter category, but I'm not a Holy Joe. Christmas Eve is the day (or night, rather) for my annual trip to mass.

I remember a few months ago, when I took a taxi home after a night out, and, God knows how it all started now, but the taxi driver (who must have been in his early 60s and was married, by all accounts) started talking to me about miracles and the devil. Talk about surreal. The guy had rosary beads hanging from his rear-view mirror and a little picture of Padre Pio on the dash, so he was a clearly a bit of a 'Holy Joe'. He was a nice, normal fella though.

Anyway, he was telling me a story about how his sister, who had advanced breast cancer, went out to Saint James Church out in Medjugorje to receive blessings and, within five weeks of returning home, the cancer had gone into remission. It could be a coincidence, but the taxi driver firmly believed that God spared her life.

I wouldn't (openly) dismiss those kinds of things where there was a positive outcome because 1) faith is a powerful thing, 2) it's important to have some respect for people who are going through a tough time and have little else but faith to cling on to, and 3) the desired result is the most important thing and not the 'method' to achieve the result, IMO. Another thing is that people's experiences are very real and authentic to them. Unless you're them, how can you know anything about what they perceive?

As for the part of the conversation with the taxi driver about the devil.. He was telling me, in very concerned tones, that he believed there were people, in his local pub, for instance, that were involved with the devil in some way. He was telling me he could see it in their eyes and 'feel' it.

He was saying he often had to leave premises because of those kinds of people and was wondering what he could do to protect himself. I'm hardly well-versed in this sort of thing, but I just told him (seeing as he was well into God) to ask for God's protection whenever he felt 'under threat' and he'd be grand.

I wish I was making this up because it sounds hilarious when I type it out, but the man was normal. He looked and sounded a bit like the farmer played by James Cromwell in the film 'Babe' actually. :D

Anyway, the point of all this is that you can get Holy Joes who dismiss the paranormal and Holy Joes who believe in the paranormal as well. Oh, and that, until you start talking to people, you can't judge them on appearances.

For instance, I had a friend who told me he was experiencing strange activity in his (semi-detached) house a few months back. He said he was hearing knocking on doors and footsteps outside his bedroom while he was in bed, he saw black shadow figures, his dog was growling at thin air and the TV was coming on by itself at random times despite there being no timer and the thing being plugged out. I went over there one day and saw the TV come on and the dog growling at feck all inside his kitchen. All this activity was new because the guy had been living there in peace for two years initially.

This is not an attack, but my house does alot more then this yet it is not haunted.

We get the knocking, but its wood and its also due to an extension that was put in before we moved here, alot of the heating was re-routed all over the house, causing the wood to expand at times. It is actually that extreme at times we cannot even lock the front door as the wood has expanded so much

The dog growling at nothng, as you mention its at nothing and dogs do this. My dog gets horney at nothing , is it a ghost ?
    Also remember dogs have better hearing then you or i , and could be barking at somthing your friend cant hear.

TV switching on and off. Happens all the time , just the right signal needs to be sent and tv will turn on. UPC box's can do it too , as well as xbox's as they do not need line of sight. Some Blu Ray players do this.

Black Figures at the end of the bed, my girlfriend gets it i have a friend who gets it. Its a shadow and these are very common at night time :P Some people say this is also sleep paralysis. But that is used to describe alot of things in the paranormal world.

The only thing there that you mentioned that sounds out of the ordinary is the fact the TV came on and its not plugged in. There again you have to question Human Error and if this is really the case how come nobody in the world has been able to harness this "free energy" and sell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

I haven't posted in her in a while mainly because I felt the replies were pushy, but I can see where the mods are coming from, they can't really act on posters who are set in their opinions!! I just found the condescending replies a bit off putting, as Dre as in Dray said the sleep paralisis thing was thrown at me a few times as if its the only way anything paranormal can be explained. Skeptics need to at least take people at their word, if they say they were awake dont tell them they were asleep!!!!!!!!!!!:p

The dog growling at nothng, as you mention its at nothing and dogs do this. My dog gets horney at nothing , is it a ghost ?
    Also remember dogs have better hearing then you or i , and could be barking at somthing your friend cant hear.

I agree and disagree with this, I've had dogs for years and they have different levels of alertness, I can tell when my dog is listening to something outside the house as opposed to inside the house. Years ago I watched my dog growl and snarl at the stair case, he wasn't responding to something outside, what ever threat he sensed/seen was right in front of him, I couldn't see anything.

In saying that my cat recently started getting freaked out and staring at the corner of the room, when we muted the tv for a while we could hear something in the wall (it backs onto our shed so probably mice) he could hear them over the tv. That could have easily been one of the threads on here only for the fact that the mice moved and we realised what it was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

Black Figures at the end of the bed, my girlfriend gets it i have a friend who gets it. Its a shadow and these are very common at night time :P Some people say this is also sleep paralysis. But that is used to describe alot of things in the paranormal world.

Your eyes can play tricks on you. Especially if you're tired. Or sometimes it's hard to know what you've seen.

A few nights ago, I was walking up the steps of my houses (I live in a creepy old house in the centre of Dublin). And at my feet something whitish shot along the ground and disappeared over the railings. Whatever it was, it looked really strange - whatever it was moved really strangely. When it caught my eye first I thought it was a rat - then when I looked at, it was white and formless. I'm not sure if it was my eyes playing tricks on me.

Last night I woke at about 4, after a really bad nights sleep and went for some coffee. That was spooky in itself. The streets were more deserted than usual for that time of the morning, and there were a few homeless people walking around like zombies. (and people queuing overnight for Clery's sale - god love them). It was eery. I came across two little blackbirds on the path around Stephen's green - which was strange at the time, when I think of it later it was stranger, as they shouldn't have been out at that time of the morning.

When I was getting back to my house - near my door. I could see something approaching me - a fox. He wasn't the slightest bit afraid of me - I think it's the same fox, I've seen around my house a few times in the last few weeks. He was familiar in really creepy way. While I was looking at him, some dark shape appeared on the ground and rushed up nearly into my face and then disappeared over the hedge row.

If I was superstitious enough, and suggestible, I might think there are ghosts hanging around outside my house.

One of the dreams I had last night, was me struggling with some kind of shapeless figure in my bedroom. It was holding both my hands and squeezing them very hard, literally mashing them up. I woke up slowly, and I had both my hands clasped tightly together. The shadow monster squeezing my hands was me.

maccored wrote: »
    I think the catholic church make it a bad thing to believe in ghosts, since if they werent in heaven, werent in hell and werent in purgatory, then they must be evil (or something along that line). Makes no sense at all to demonise ghosts when you consider the ideas religion is based on - but thats how it went.

That's true. Because they can't put ghosts into a little 'home', i.e. hell, or category, then they must be extensions of the devil. :rolleyes: The Catholic Church as a whole dismisses the paranormal/occult but you do get individual priests and clerics who have their own personal views that differ from the church.

A few years ago, there was a priest in my parish who was living in the house they usually assign to parish priests but, after only a few months, he requested to be housed elsewhere. The reason for it was because there was 'activity' in the place and the guy was very open about it too. In fairness, people did take him seriously. I think it was because there was a story attached to the house where a priest had hanged himself inside there years ago.

This is not an attack, but my house does alot more then this yet it is not haunted.

I see where you're coming from and, essentially, I do agree with you, but the only reasons my friend's activity was strange was because it started all of a sudden and it had never occurred before.

I know that new floorboards can creak so loudly, it's as if someone else is actually there. I've heard the sounds myself. My friend hadn't had new floorboards fitted in his place though. He hadn't done anything new to the house.

Another thing is that there's a little backstory to this that I didn't want to mention to start with because he was embarassed talking about it. I don't think he reads this forum though, so it should be alright. Plus I'm not naming him either.

Right, about three weeks before all the activity kicked off in his house, he said he was staying in a very old hotel in New Orleans and he had a freaky experience there. He said he woke up during the night feeling as if he was being choked by a rope, but when he put his hands to his neck, there wasn't any rope there and the choking sensation suddenly disappeared. Suddenly, he happened to look straight across at the mirror facing his bed and he said he saw a 5ft.-tall yellow-grey figure bending over him in the reflection. For a second, he thought he must be either dreaming or imagining it, so he looked away, shook his head and looked back at the mirror again but the figure was still there.

Then, totally freaked to f**k, he leaped out of the bed, hid in the adjoining bathroom for 5 minutes, emerged and saw that the thing was gone. He was convinced he wasn't imagining it. I think this was the first time he had ever 'seen anything', so it was terror X 10 for the guy.

Then, after he returned home, he said he felt that something had 'followed' him home and, within a week, all that stuff started happening in his house. It started small and intensified as the weeks went on. He'd see the black shadow figures during the day and at night. He said he woke up one night (this was in September) with this overwhelming, sick feeling of dread that didn't feel like it was 'his' feeling, and then looked up and saw a black shadow figure move past his bedroom doorway at an inhuman speed. He also was saying he could feel a presence - like something else was there - in his house the whole time as well.

So the above was why we smudged the place and got the holy water. If it had been happening to him frequently for a few years and he was still as happy as larry, then I'm sure he wouldn't have said anything and we wouldn't have bothered doing anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

i think a lot of potential responses on most of the topics here dont happen because of the level of cynicism in general on most if not all threads here. While its all well and good to have a healthy debate about whatnot in the realm of the paranormal, the almost intimidating cynical posts do tend to put people off throwing their tuppence into the forum.

Funny thing is, i thought the skeptics corner was supposed to where all these threads were debunked or clarified with a sense of logic or reasoning.

Wasnt the whole point of the paranormal forum to indulge in the paranormal and speculate on it, rather than disprove and defame others? Wether ye believe in this or that or not should'nt matter so long the topics are not derailed by skeptisism and ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

Wasnt the whole point of the paranormal forum to indulge in the paranormal and speculate on it, rather than disprove and defame others? Wether ye believe in this or that or not should'nt matter so long the topics are not derailed by skeptisism and ignorance.

Unless the charter is updated with a "only paranormal explanations are to be proposed or discussed" how could this work.

I agree that people are put off, but it's not just the "skeptics", many "non paranormal" explanations to various photos and stories are given by posters who normally accept some paranormal phenomena.

Is what you're proposing a change to the charter, for example, where if someone posts a picture of a ghost, or a story, - anyone proposing a non-paranormal explanation would be infracted - no matter who the poster is?

pH wrote: »
    Unless the charter is updated with a "only paranormal explanations are to be proposed or discussed" how could this work.

I agree that people are put off, but it's not just the "skeptics", many "non paranormal" explanations to various photos and stories are given by posters who normally accept some paranormal phenomena.

Is what you're proposing a change to the charter, for example, where if someone posts a picture of a ghost, or a story, - anyone proposing a non-paranormal explanation would be infracted - no matter who the poster is?

I don't think the poster mean't that the only explaination is paranormal; more about how some replies. Some people have responded to posts with one or two words like 'sleep paralysis' or 'Pareidolia' and leave it at that. They throw in these as if they are the answer to everything. Its not helpful to a discussion and its likely to result in someone not bothering replying.

Im sure it can be a bit tiring to explain these terms every time but it comes across as rude and condescending.

There is one thread in here that I think is brilliant and seems to have been left alone by the skeptics, its the one about people's experiences with ghosts. Its nice to hear people talk about what they seen/heard/felt without any judgement. :)

we have to be clear just what the word paranormal means,it covers ,fortune telling mind reading,ect, there are a lot of people out there i class as sensitives ,those who have slight paranormal experiences,in the case of,suddenly knowing when the phone will ring and even knowing who will be on the other end,people may get a feeling that a accident/tragedy is going to happen,or a feeling of happyness/sadness when walking into a old buildings ,so its important to the newbe to keep their minds open before rejecting anything.

sambuka41 wrote: »
    I don't think the poster mean't that the only explaination is paranormal; more about how some replies. Some people have responded to posts with one or two words like 'sleep paralysis' or 'Pareidolia' and leave it at that. They throw in these as if they are the answer to everything. Its not helpful to a discussion and its likely to result in someone not bothering replying.

Because that is what a lot those experiences are. The other night I woke up, in pain. There was a withered old lady standing over me - she cackled, whispered, and hissed at me. I could barely move. She said some name, and that that person was coming to take control of me. - she placed her hand on my shoulder and I was shot through with a freezing cold pain.

It felt very real at the time. But I know it wasn't. And I can go months, or even years, without these experiences. I do not believe dark forces have been released from some place, and I'm on the verge of being demoniacally possessed.
    Im sure it can be a bit tiring to explain these terms every time but it comes across as rude and condescending.

“We’ve been attacked, by the intelligent, educated segment of our culture.” - Pastor Ray Mummert

There's something that really puts me on edge and drives me up that wall.

The dictionary definition of ignorance:
    Pronunciation: /ˈɪgn(ə)r(ə)nt/
    adjective
    lacking knowledge or awareness in general; uneducated or unsophisticated:

But in Ireland it's has a completely upside down meaning. It's what the ignorant call intelligent people, when intelligent people have the cheek to open their mouths and say something intelligent.

The case against intellect is founded on a set of fictional and wholly abstract antagonisms. Intellect is pitted against feeling, on the ground that it is somehow inconsistent with warm emotion.
    It is pitted against character, because it is widely believed that intellect stands for mere cleverness, which transmutes easily into the sly and diabolical. It is pitted against practicality, since theory is held to be opposed to practice. It is pitted against democracy, since intellect is felt to be a form of distinction that defies egalitarianism…. Once the validity of these antagonisms is accepted, then the case for intellect … is lost. - Richard Hofstadter

A thick fat Paddy, with a van and a few buckets and shovels, should be given millins to buy a bog field from a "salt of the earth" Irish bog farmer, to build his "luxury" apartments in the middle of nowhere. Because he isn't "ignorant" like de eejits who read books.

Some people deserve a little rudeness and condescension. And condescension to some people - is just someone more intelligent questioning them, with no insult intended. They know they're stupid, and just have a contempt for anyone they believe to be more intelligent than them.

When stupid people, offer their stupid opinions, they should be told to shut up. The same ignorant Paddy Whacks have no problem telling anyone else to shut up. And they will, ignorantly, tell you to shut your mouth when you say anything they don't like - they'll shut it with a box if they can. It's how we stayed such a backward and stupid country for so long - it's how the country was run into the ground, time and time again. By the same ignorant thicks every time.

There is one thread in here that I think is brilliant and seems to have been left alone by the skeptics, its the one about people's experiences with ghosts. Its nice to hear people talk about what they seen/heard/felt without any judgement. :)

Because these are "experiences". "Experiences" are valid in themselves, whatever their cause. Someone insisting they've seen the Vargin Mary's face appear in a sock, and demanding everyone take their statement as absolute proof of the veracity of a particular kind of rural, agricultural, Irish Catholicism, is something else.

Jesus, I'd love to hear more from that woman, who was in that house where she saw different faces looking back at her from the bathroom mirror.

Extraordinary experiences are valid and interesting as experiences.

With the whole paranormal thing, you will have, liars who are just looking for attention. People who have psychiatric problems - and who are looking for validation of their delusions. And it is absolutely irresponsible to humour these people. And then just the stupid.

I can remember the "moving statues". Every old biddy trying to out do each other with their stories of apparitions, and "messages" from the Vargin Mary. Some scumbag girls I went to school with, milked the faithful for nearly two years, with their performances. And I remember getting smacks in the gob from "adults", when I would tell them what chancers these girls were - and their "donations" weren't going towards a fund to take the girls on a pilgrim to Lourdes. But for fags and under age drinking. The fiasco only ended when one of the girls got pregnant (at 13). Initially, she tried to claim immaculate conception.

The "business" of the paranormal is populated by some of the most awful conmen.

If you wake up in the middle of the night. And you can't move, and there is a yellow man standing over you choking you. That is sleep paralysis.

If the same thing happens, but your partner wakes up, and sees a yellow man standing over you and choking you. That is something very different.

The "smell of roses". Rose oil, or floral essence is very powerful. Once it gets in somewhere it never leaves. Something as simple as a change in temperature can release a strong puff. There are fragrances in everything from toilet disinfectant, to nappy rash cream.

If your cousin tells you a story about a dead actress contacting her through an oujia board - they're probably lying.

On the other hand. I do know people, who've had extraordinary experiences, when there was more than one person there. Where it's not explained by drugs, drink, or their imagination - and it's not a vague blob, of most likely condensation on a camera lens. I'm not saying there was anything supernatural involved - but the experiences were extraordinary.

Someone who says their dead mammy has come back as a stray cat, should be told to shut up. Unless the cat can read and write - and communicate with a bit more than a meow.

"Me granny died...den de next day...she came back as a bird and sat in de tree in me back garden....I felt really peaceful.... den me granny flew away...flew away up to heaven".

Maybe it was just bird.

whats was i meant to learn from that post above can anyone tell me? It doesnt seem to tie into the thread at all ... unles its thick paddys believe in the paranormal? I read through it twice and Im stil none the wiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

maccored wrote: »
    whats was i meant to learn from that post above can anyone tell me? It doesnt seem to tie into the thread at all ... unles its thick paddys believe in the paranormal? I read through it twice and Im stil none the wiser
    I understood the post, and no where does it say that. Rather than, an uninformed person replying to an informed person with 'thanks I'll look into that' ,they take the adamant position of being right, defending themself by calling the informed person 'ignorant'.

Now this can be either side of the coin. Say someone who has never believed in paranormal (a skeptic) has an unatural experience and has carefully ruled out all explainations, from their experience & systmatic analyse concludes with a paranormal answer, they're more informed, than a blowin who doesn't know the facts, yet the blowin calls the first person ignorant.

The Mods/charter do have a responsibility to ensure that posts do not in anyway put people's health/life/finance in any danger, or open to abuse by unhonest people. So if someone posts that a demon is talking through a dog and asking for blood, that this would be dealt with appropriately rather than encouraged. Likewise if someone is exploiting money off parents who have lost a child by saying they can speak to the dead child, could be damaging the parents mental health by disrupting the grief-process.

If an OP post says no skeptic comments, fair enough, I'll fully respect that. What's the harm, even if someone as their falling asleep has Elvis appearing evernight at the foot of the bed singing lullabys -no skeptical comments, true-fact but beware of someone exaggerating another's story to such a climax of fictional fabrication, that not only does no one believe it, but under the rules no one (apart from Mods) can object to the post.

Btw I enjoyed the 'New Orleans' story, unplugged tv switching on excellent.

krd wrote: »

If you wake up in the middle of the night. And you can't move, and there is a yellow man standing over you choking you. That is sleep paralysis.

If the same thing happens, but your partner wakes up, and sees a yellow man standing over you and choking you. That is something very different.

krd, I'm guessing from your fairly long-winded post (and this is coming from someone who's prone to composing long-winded posts himself, mind) that you're quite opposed to the paranormal being in any way valid. Fair enough.

I see you referred to the story about my friend's experience in New Orleans. If you take the care to read it again, you'll see that I mentioned he was able to move. He woke up with a feeling like he was being choked and then he was able to put his hands to his neck. So sleep paralysis? No.

And he didn't see a yellow person. It was a yellow figure/entity/spirit of some kind, according to him.

Anyway, it looks like we're still going around in circles here regarding the freedom (or lack of it) in expressing paranormal views.

As I said before though, you can disagree with a poster on here but you don't have to be a smart @rse b@stard about it either.

Tomk1 wrote: »
    Now this can be either side of the coin. Say someone who has never believed in paranormal (a skeptic) has an unatural experience and has carefully ruled out all explainations, from their experience & systmatic analyse concludes with a paranormal answer, they're more informed, than a blowin who doesn't know the facts, yet the blowin calls the first person ignorant.

If you've ever read through the threads here going back over the last few years, you'll find many a post featuring former self-proclaimed sceptics-turned-'believers' as a result of some unusual experience(s) they had.

In any case, how do you know that those who don't announce they're sceptics, but nevertheless had unusual experiences, aren't informed? How can you decipher between the two unless you actually know posters on a personal level? Just because someone doesn't say, "Oh, I was a massive sceptic and I was always prone to find rational explanations for occurrences, but then I saw a ghost and couldn't explain it at all" doesn't mean they don't have sound rational faculties.
    The Mods/charter do have a responsibility to ensure that posts do not in anyway put people's health/life/finance in any danger, or open to abuse by unhonest people. So if someone posts that a demon is talking through a dog and asking for blood, that this would be dealt with appropriately rather than encouraged. Likewise if someone is exploiting money off parents who have lost a child by saying they can speak to the dead child, could be damaging the parents mental health by disrupting the grief-process.

Of course, we would step in if we suspected that someone was promoting or carrying out potentially harmful or exploitative conduct. There's no question about it.

Even in cases concerning a certain medium or psychic who could be disreputable, the posting of first-hand experiences with same can have a powerful effect and prevent vulnerable people from paying money to see such people in future. Just for that reason alone, it's important that people feel free to post their honest opinions and experiences not only here, but on the Psychics and Mediums sub-forum as well.
    If an OP post says no skeptic comments, fair enough, I'll fully respect that. What's the harm, even if someone as their falling asleep has Elvis appearing evernight at the foot of the bed singing lullabys -no skeptical comments, true-fact but beware of someone exaggerating another's story to such a climax of fictional fabrication, that not only does no one believe it, but under the rules no one (apart from Mods) can object to the post.

It's up to each person to have the common sense and good judgement to be able to discern fact from fiction. The Charter/modding only covers so much.

At the same time, people can object to a post, but only in a reasonable and respectful manner. I've often objected to apparently OTT posts myself but I wasn't abusive in doing so.

krd, I'm guessing from your fairly long-winded post (and this is coming from someone who's prone to composing long-winded posts himself, mind) that you're quite opposed to the paranormal being in any way valid. Fair enough.

No, it's not as simple as absolute credulity or total disbelieve.

There are many reasons why, even if you did believe in the paranormal, you couldn't be credulous of every claim anyone makes. Some people have experienced nothing extraordinary, only their imagination. Some people are not telling the truth. Some people may have problems. Even if you believe in this stuff, you know you have to be sceptical.

There's long history and culture with this stuff. A lot of the experiences people have had are genuinely interesting.

I see you referred to the story about my friend's experience in New Orleans. If you take the care to read it again, you'll see that I mentioned he was able to move. He woke up with a feeling like he was being choked and then he was able to put his hands to his neck. So sleep paralysis? No.

No, that does sound like sleep paralysis. With sleep paralysis you can sometimes have movement - or the illusion of movement. You can have a great big hag sitting on your chest, and she is so heavy no matter how hard you try to push her off she will not budge. The sensation of choking, or suffocating is very common with sleep paralysis too. If can be a terrifying and incredibly vivid experience. Out of body experiences are common with it too.

It can be a genuinely distressing experience for people, if they don't know what it is. They can feel they're losing their sanity, or having genuine encounters with very unpleasant supernatural beings.

And he didn't see a yellow person. It was a yellow figure/entity/spirit of some kind, according to him.

That experience is common too. The other night I was wrestling with a big grey blob of a monster. I have had the experience where I've been attacked by what looked like a real person, and felt absolutely real. Where it did not feel like dreaming at all.
    Anyway, it looks like we're still going around in circles here regarding the freedom (or lack of it) in expressing paranormal views.

As I said before though, you can disagree with a poster on here but you don't have to be a smart @rse b@stard about it either.

I'm not going to go out of my way to be a smart arse with anyone.

If people want to talk about vague spiritual experiences, let them. If you've noticed, some of these people can get very ratty when anyone challenges them.

Some of this brings back bad memories - school trips to shrines. Rosary beads, sacred heart lamps, holy water, Padre Pio's bandages etc.

many people who have animals can tell you that they have psychic sense,i have always had dogs,one staffy bitch i had, could tell when i was coming home from work, the job i worked in did not have reguular hours,as a manager in the paint manufacturing industry i would be on call to meet deadlines so i would never get home at normal times, my wife would only know i was on my way when my dog would start to get excited, i think many other people have also had experience of this,

No, that does sound like sleep paralysis. With sleep paralysis you can sometimes have movement - or the illusion of movement. You can have a great big hag sitting on your chest, and she is so heavy no matter how hard you try to push her off she will not budge. The sensation of choking, or suffocating is very common with sleep paralysis too. If can be a terrifying and incredibly vivid experience. Out of body experiences are common with it too.

It can be a genuinely distressing experience for people, if they don't know what it is. They can feel they're losing their sanity, or having genuine encounters with very unpleasant supernatural beings.

Again Sleep Paralysis is being thrown about. It exists but science cannot explain why people are having they exact same experiences. How are so many people having the old hag come into the room and sit on the chest ? How can science even explain or even prove this. Yet skeptics who demand proof are happy with it ?

getz wrote: »
    many people who have animals can tell you that they have psychic sense,i have always had dogs,one staffy bitch i had, could tell when i was coming home from work, the job i worked in did not have reguular hours,as a manager in the paint manufacturing industry i would be on call to meet deadlines so i would never get home at normal times, my wife would only know i was on my way when my dog would start to get excited, i think many other people have also had experience of this,

YEah i hear this all the time and its a nice story, but its not psychic. Even for a human to predict it. Also dogs are alot better at reading body language then we give them credit for and can pick it up from the people in the house.

No, it's not as simple as absolute credulity or total disbelieve.

I know - the paranormal has a major grey area but you still get people who assert 'Yes, I totally believe in it all' or 'No, it's a load of cr@p'. I've met both types many times. Then there are the people who are reticent believers or they're so-called 'open-minded sceptics'.
    There are many reasons why, even if you did believe in the paranormal, you couldn't be credulous of every claim anyone makes. Some people have experienced nothing extraordinary, only their imagination. Some people are not telling the truth. Some people may have problems. Even if you believe in this stuff, you know you have to be sceptical.

There's long history and culture with this stuff. A lot of the experiences people have had are genuinely interesting.

I'm well aware of the reality that people who report paranormal experiences could either be owners of a rich imagination, attention-seekers, p*ss-takers or genuinely mentally ill. But, aside from the attention-seekers, liars and p*ss-takers (who are usually fairly obvious), I can't outright accuse people of having psychiatric problems, even if I do believe it.

Again, each person has a responsibility to develop and exercise good judgement when it comes to something as ill-defined and as oftentimes-outlandish as the paranormal - whether it's when you're hearing about or reading stories by others or when you're experiencing something first-hand. Nobody is going to do that for you. You can't expect to be spoon-fed the 'right truth'.

Anyway, who says that such an opinion is correct or 'right'? For example, three different people could be taken to see a film and go away from it with very different opinions of it, which are all perfectly valid to each person. There might be a general consensus amongst them concerning the overall quality of the film, but each person will probably have different views on the intricacies (scenes, the way the ending was constructed, the characters' actions, etc) of the actual film.

Sleep paralysis involves a minimum of several seconds of an inability to voluntarily move the trunk or limbs upon awakening. My buddy said he was able to move his limbs, i.e. his arms, immediately after waking up. Yeah, he felt he was being choked by a rope around his neck but there wasn't any restriction in any other part of his body.

As for that 'Hag Phenomena', nobody was sitting on his chest. When he looked over in the mirror, a figure was bending over him from the side of his bed. Like the way someone would stand at the side of the bed and bend over a person sleeping there.
    That experience is common too. The other night I was wrestling with a big grey blob of a monster. I have had the experience where I've been attacked by what looked like a real person, and felt absolutely real. Where it did not feel like dreaming at all.

Right, well, it happened because you obviously perceived it. Who knows what the hell it was or why it even happened, but it happened nevertheless.

The ins and outs of my friend's own story aren't that significant in themselves - it was more about there being a possible link to that experience he had and the subsequent carry-on in his house after coming home. Might be a coincidence. Who knows? He was just trying to find a cause, origin or trigger for the both the occurrences in his house and the timing of those occurrences. Most people would probably do the same thing.

I know the guy isn't mentally defective, attention-seeking (total opposite actually) or otherwise, so I can rule those out. The most important thing of all is to acknowledge that people do experience these things, to not make them feel bad about it and to help restore calm and normality. That's all.
    Some of this brings back bad memories - school trips to shrines. Rosary beads, sacred heart lamps, holy water, Padre Pio's bandages etc.

Clearly you've had a lot of religious conditioning that had a fairly strong impact on you. I don't know why you're linking it in with the paranormal so much though, even though religion is obviously replete with supernatural references and symbolism.

I mean, I had a fairly 'Holy Joe' upbringing myself. We had regular masses during primary school, there was a big emphasis on religion, we made advent calendars and St. Brigid reed crosses, we said prayers throughout the school day (morning, noon and afternoon), and like most Irish people, there was Holy Communion and Confirmation as well.

My family's house had big paintings of holy stuff all over the place, too - there was a replica painting of Jesus' Last Supper above my bed, a photo of Padre Pio and a picture of Jesus with a red light below him in the kitchen, a holy water font on the hallway wall and a painting of Holy Mary on my parents' bedroom wall.

Then I attended a CBS secondary school, where we had more religion classes, which involved visits to the school chapel and all that craic. Throw in the external masses (where I often nearly nodded off) at Christmas and during Easter as well. On top of all that, I was hauled to mass every Sunday by my parents.

Despite all that carry-on, I wouldn't consider myself religious at all and I hardly ever associate religion with the paranormal or vice versa. I don't ever really think about it, tbh. Also, I don't have any resentment towards religion and all the rituals associated with it.

Sure, I've had a good laugh at all the moving statues/grottos and the 'worshippers' who flocked there, but I don't obsess about the potential absurdity of much of it either. Maybe some people did see something? Well, at least those moving grotto sightings help local economies by boosting tourism and encouraging money being spent in local hospitality-related businesses. How bad.

A person is free to make up their own mind about these things. Nobody can be harmed when people have the freedom, and take on the responsibility, to think for themselves.

Again Sleep Paralysis is being thrown about. It exists but science cannot explain why people are having they exact same experiences.

There are cultural reasons.
    How are so many people having the old hag come into the room and sit on the chest ? How can science even explain or even prove this. Yet skeptics who demand proof are happy with it ?

A few years back, after I had seen The Ring, instead of having an old hag visit me, it was the girl from The Ring. One time, I woke up paralysed and could see my bathroom sink. Black hair poured over the edges and the girl from the Ring climbed out, then ran, threw herself in the air and landed on me.

Had I not seen the Ring, it would have been a different apparition.

In Asia, where there are folk tales of a young woman with long black hair, that's what people experience. In New Foundland, where the folk tales are of an old hag, that's what people experience there.

There is a scientific answer for sleep paralysis. When you sleep, the brain is flooded with chemicals to paralyse your limbs, so they don't flay about when you're dreaming. Sleep paralysis comes when you wake up partially, and you're limbs are still frozen, or you can't get full movement. It's just a disturbed sleep.

If you've ever watched a person, or even a dog sleeping. Sometimes you'll see their eyes move under their eye lids. They're dreaming - in Rapid Eye Movement sleep. Their eyes are moving but their limbs are not - because the limbs have been paralysed - their eyes are not paralysed. And this is why people can see, and move their eyes during sleep paralysis, but they have trouble moving their limbs.

Cultural reasons explains what people see. In Ireland people have had visions of the virgin mary, in India, they'll have seen lord Vishnu.

I know - the paranormal has a major grey area but you still get people who assert 'Yes, I totally believe in it all' or 'No, it's a load of cr@p'. I've met both types many times. Then there are the people who are reticent believers or they're so-called 'open-minded sceptics'.

The whole thing is it's actually a really vast subject.

Sleep paralyis involves a minimum of several seconds of an inability to voluntarily move the trunk or limbs upon awakening.

It does and it doesn't. I tell you, the first time I experienced it, I more than half believed it was supernatural experience.

You can be lying there full awake, as you can move your eyes and your concious, but your body is complete frozen, and it can go on for a very long time.

Then you can suddenly become unfrozen, and be able to get out of bed - but that might be an illusion/dream. And in reality you're still asleep. And experience I had earlier this year. I was paralysed for a few minutes, then I was able to get out of bed, I went to turn on the light switch, and it wouldn't come on. Then I got suspicious that I might still be dreaming, though everything felt really real - and zap, I was back paralysed in bed.
    As for that 'Hag Phenomena', nobody was sitting on his chest. When he looked over in the mirror, a figure was bending over him from the side of his bed. Like the way someone would stand at the side of the bed and bend over a person sleeping there.

It doesn't have to be a hag. There doesn't have to be anything there. Or it can be anything. For the last few nights I've had very disturbed sleep. One experience over the last few nights, has been an old woman leaning over me. One thing that sets it aside from ordinary dreaming, is it feels more realistic.

I actually do not like to sleep in complete darkness. As I've had the experience of very real people being in my room, when I was asleep doing really weird stuff.

I know the guy isn't mentally defective, attention-seeking (total opposite actually) or otherwise, so I can rule those out. The most important thing of all is to acknowledge that people do experience these things, to not make them feel bad about it and to help restore calm and normality. That's all.

I wouldn't say he was mentally defective. And that's what makes some of these experiences very interesting - whatever the cause.

Because that is what a lot those experiences are. The other night I woke up, in pain.

This is exactly the attitude that I am talking about, you are assuming that because you have experienced these sensations, that all others experiences must be the same. You are not there, so you can never say for certain what has gone on, you can speculate but you do not know for certain. If you are truly interested in science then you would appreciate the dangers of making assumptions, particularly those based on your own biases.

Some people deserve a little rudeness and condescension. And condescension to some people - is just someone more intelligent questioning them, with no insult intended. They know they're stupid, and just have a contempt for anyone they believe to be more intelligent than them.

When stupid people, offer their stupid opinions, they should be told to shut up. The same ignorant Paddy Whacks have no problem telling anyone else to shut up. And they will, ignorantly, tell you to shut your mouth when you say anything they don't like - they'll shut it with a box if they can. It's how we stayed such a backward and stupid country for so long - it's how the country was run into the ground, time and time again. By the same ignorant thicks every time.

This part is pathetic and boring. The people commenting in this thread about their reluctance to post are not 'stupid', nor are you smarter than them. :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    The "business" of the paranormal is populated by some of the most awful conmen.

I agree with you in this respect, but rude and condescending attitudes are not the only way to deal with this.

The whole thing is it's actually a really vast subject.

You don't need to tell me, of all people, that.
    It does and it doesn't. I tell you, the first time I experienced it, I more than half believed it was supernatural experience.

You can be lying there full awake, as you can move your eyes and your concious, but your body is complete frozen, and it can go on for a very long time.

Then you can suddenly become unfrozen, and be able to get out of bed - but that might be an illusion/dream. And in reality you're still asleep. And experience I had earlier this year. I was paralysed for a few minutes, then I was able to get out of bed, I went to turn on the light switch, and it wouldn't come on. Then I got suspicious that I might still be dreaming, though everything felt really real - and zap, I was back paralysed in bed.

Yeah, well, that seems to be sleep paralysis featuring some characteristics of an Out of Body Experience (OBE).
    It doesn't have to be a hag. There doesn't have to be anything there. Or it can be anything.

Okay, grand. In my friend's case, he saw something, except there wasn't any pressure on his chest and his trunk and limbs weren't paralysed. He was able to move his whole body to see what was going on.
    For the last few nights I've had very disturbed sleep. One experience over the last few nights, has been an old woman leaning over me. One thing that sets it aside from ordinary dreaming, is it feels more realistic.

I actually do not like to sleep in complete darkness. As I've had the experience of very real people being in my room, when I was asleep doing really weird stuff.

That's obviously unique to you. Personally, I've never had any 'visions' of things or people that/who felt almost real in my room at night. Funnily enough, I have to sleep in complete darkness, or else I can't sleep right. :)

Well, I've never experienced sleep paralysis myself or woken up to see something extremely strange, but I've had a few nightmares over the years alright. That's about the extent of it.

I suppose some people are just more prone than others to having disturbed sleep and weak boundaries between their dreamlife and waking life. It happens.

No offence now, but what good are cultural reasons and traditions to explain sleep paralysis? They don't explain much, in all fairness.

It's like that thing where, if your nose is itchy, some clown might say, "Oh, that means someone is talking about you," but that doesn't explain why your nose is itchy, does it?

I know that's a really stupid example but I suppose it illustrates the stupidity of trying to use cultural traditions and superstition to explain why physical things happen.

This is exactly the attitude that I am talking about, you are assuming that because you have experienced these sensations, that all others experiences must be the same. You are not there, so you can never say for certain what has gone on, you can speculate but you do not know for certain. If you are truly interested in science then you would appreciate the dangers of making assumptions, particularly those based on your own biases.

This part is pathetic and boring. The people commenting in this thread about their reluctance to post are not 'stupid', nor are you smarter than them. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

That's true. Really, the only stupid people are those who hold fast to their assumptions of people they don't know and the accompanying ignorance.

A few years back, after I had seen The Ring, instead of having an old hag visit me, it was the girl from The Ring. One time, I woke up paralysed and could see my bathroom sink. Black hair poured over the edges and the girl from the Ring climbed out, then ran, threw herself in the air and landed on me.

It still doesnt explain the phenomona. Why does a person come into the room and why does this person sit on chests ? ? Until this is determined Sleep paralasys cannot be used as an explanation.

No offence now, but what good are cultural reasons and traditions to explain sleep paralysis? They don't explain much, in all fairness.

No, cultures do not explain sleep paralysis, but they can explain the kind of visions people have.

People experience sleep paralysis in every part of the world.

I know that's a really stupid example but I suppose it illustrates the stupidity of trying to use cultural traditions and superstition to explain why physical things happen.

Culture can have a big effect. In cultures where there is beliefs in demonic possession, people become possessed. Or if there is tradition of religious experiences where spirits manifest themselves people will commonly have that experience.

Schizophrenia also exists in every country too. Some countries it has been treated as demonic possession.

It still doesnt explain the phenomona. Why does a person come into the room and why does this person sit on chests ? ? Until this is determined Sleep paralasys cannot be used as an explanation.

Why do you have dreams?

A person doesn't come into the room. That person is dreamt up.

Are you trying to tell me that the old withered lady who "woke" me the other night, and told me some man was coming to take control of me was real?

Do you think she was real? When she touched me it felt real. I could feel her freezing cold boney fingers on me - it felt like she was drawing the heat out of my body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭trixie_belle12

That's true. Because they can't put ghosts into a little 'home', i.e. hell, or category, then they must be extensions of the devil. :rolleyes: The Catholic Church as a whole dismisses the paranormal/occult but you do get individual priests and clerics who have their own personal views that differ from the church.

A few years ago, there was a priest in my parish who was living in the house they usually assign to parish priests but, after only a few months, he requested to be housed elsewhere. The reason for it was because there was 'activity' in the place and the guy was very open about it too. In fairness, people did take him seriously. I think it was because there was a story attached to the house where a priest had hanged himself inside there years ago.

Out of interest was this in Cork or in Dublin? I think I read before on another thread that you lived in Cork for some time and am just genuinely interested. Apologies if I got my wires crossed in advance! :)

No, cultures do not explain sleep paralysis, but they can explain the kind of visions people have.

Again Theory !! You have determined that you watched the ring and you then had they girl from the ring. Not cultural but movies, why not freddy Kruger, Darth Vader ?

Out of interest was this in Cork or in Dublin? I think I read before on another thread that you lived in Cork for some time and am just genuinely interested. Apologies if I got my wires crossed in advance! :)

Nah, you're grand. I used to live in Cork before because I grew up there, so yeah, that priest's experience happened in Cork. :)

Again Theory !! You have determined that you watched the ring and you then had they girl from the ring. Not cultural but movies, why not freddy Kruger, Darth Vader ?

Movies are our culture.

I don't get your point about Darth Vader and Freddie Kruger - I'm not really following your logic.

Are you saying the girl who was appearing to me, jumping on me, and trying to suffocate me was real?

Rather than, an uninformed person replying to an informed person with 'thanks I'll look into that' ,they take the adamant position of being right, defending themself by calling the informed person 'ignorant'.

that completely depends on what the 'informed' person is informed about. Many of the 'skeptics' i have encountered on here certainly arent informed in regards to paranormal research. In fact many forgo any kind of 'research' whatsoever and throw around many flawed theories.

The one fact we do know for certain about the 'paranormal' is that theres no experts. we dont know what the story is, so it could be due to very natural things, to unknown things. We dont know. The only way to find out is to go out there and actually try and find out ..... which I have to say I find lacking in skeptics.

You'll find good skeptical people on research teams .... but you'll also find a lot more who prefer to frequent forums like these poo pahing anything they read of a paranormal nature.

Thats of no help to no-one and in fact annoys quite a few.

I think what he was saying was that if you watched the ring and then had a nightmare/paranormal vison/whatever of the girl from the ring trying to kill you, then how come theres no darth vader doing the same thing after watching starwars?

I personally dont understand how you think he was implying the girl in the who appeared to you was real.
    Movies are our culture.

I don't get your point about Darth Vader and Freddie Kruger - I'm not really following your logic.

Are you saying the girl who was appearing to me, jumping on me, and trying to suffocate me was real?