New aparts for sale for 30 weeks average pay - will property go lower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭noxqs

Some of ye guys have obviously never been in the states, in places like Texas mansions can be had for 250k and most 4 bed homes cost 90k at most.

Ahh shure haven't ye heard? Ireland is different!

*sarcasm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Property prices won't bounce back for a while thankfully. :)

People can't afford heavy mortgages, banks can't run the risk and no one is building houses and driving demand up anymore.

Lesson learned? Nope. But it will be about 5 years before people start making the same mistakes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

noxqs wrote: »
    Ahh shure haven't ye heard? Ireland is different!

*sarcasm*

yip, exactly. "we are the gateway to Europe"
    "we have a talented/educated workforce"
    "we are english speaking"

and any other lines of bulls##t we want to believe....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Yes we have hit the bottom, time to buy because completely worthless properties are cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

kowloon wrote: »
    Let's turn a thread about apartments into another public sector vs. private sector ****about ;).

AKA a 'gigino' thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Those were 2008 figures. Knock 15% off and it will be fairly accurate.
    doulikeit wrote: »
    That can't be right average pub sec wage€ 48 000

It was over 49,000, its between 47 and 48k now, according to the latest government statistics ( they should know ).
    http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/releasespublications/documents/earnings/2011/earnlabcosts_q32011.pdf

According to the cso, average hours worked in the public service is 31.8 hours per week, and average weekly pay is € 906.81 Thats for quarter 3, 2011, the latest statistics available.
    Some of ye guys have obviously never been in the states, in places like Texas mansions can be had for 250k and most 4 bed homes cost 90k at most.
    I've never been to Texas. Its a big place I believe. Would those properties @ 90k + 250 in Texas be 50 miles from civiliisation or in sizeable towns ? Any what are wages like in Texas ? Do people there get an average of the equivalent of 30 euro an hour ( plus pension when they retire of half finishing wage and 18 months tax free lump sum )? There are new 4 bedroom houses being sold in some parts of Ireland for 60k, I wonder how the Texas ones @ 90k compare to them ?

You do know what an average is dont you? You do know that most people in the public service earn nothing like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Those were 2008 figures. Knock 15% off and it will be fairly accurate.
    Doubt that, sure there's been 3 if not 4 increments (pay rises to you and me) since..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

gigino wrote: »
    It was over 49,000, its between 47 and 48k now, according to the latest government statistics ( they should know ).
    http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/releasespublications/documents/earnings/2011/earnlabcosts_q32011.pdf

According to the cso, average hours worked in the public service is 31.8 hors per week, and average weekly pay is € 906.81 Thats for quarter 3, 2011, the latest statistics available.

I've never been to Texas. Its a big place I believe. Would those properties @ 90k + 250 in Texas be 50 miles from civiliisation or in sizeable towns ? Any what are wages like in Texas ?

You dont actually have a job do you?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

You do know what an average is dont you? You do know that most people in the public service earn nothing like this?

Sssshhhhhhh....doesn't suit his arguement.

noxqs wrote: »
    Wait for the price database to go online - then wait a few months and check out the _real_ prices stuff sells for. With no transparency in the market and so much uncertainty - why bother now? It's not like prices will start climbing for years anyways.

There's nothing to loose for waiting longer.

True enough I suppose. I wonder is 29k the lowest price a modern 2-bedroom apartment is advertised for in Ireland ? Anyone know of new apartments which sold for less ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Here's a gaff in Dublin for 40k!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Rent prices don't seem to have come down much around Dublin. I've been looking for a 3 or 4 bed house close to city centre for 400 per person (1,200-1,600) and haven't been able to find anywhere nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Wait a minute. Are you telling me that if don't pay any bills or taxes for the next 30 weeks i can own my very own piece of **** in the middle of nowhere?

Where do I sign up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭CricketDude

I'm not sure about property, but public sector pay will fall. I work on 2 privat jobs for 60 hours a week and my pay per annum is less than 48,000

Jaysus if I worked 60 hours a week id be expecting €150,000 a year at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

That's why for skewed distributions such as civil service pay, the median is often a more accurate estimator of what an 'average joe' gets because the high earners skew the distribution way out of proportion.

For example, nine low deck civil servants get in the reigon of 30 k a year, their boss (head of coillte) gets 400k.

This ten group of people has an average pay of 43k a year, clearly not representative of all the joes at the bottom of the ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Sky King wrote: »
    That's why for skewed distributions such as civil service pay, the median is often a more accurate estimator of what an 'average joe' gets because the high earners skew the distribution way out of proportion.

For example, nine low deck civil servants get in the reigon of 30 k a year, their boss (head of coillte) gets 400k.

This ten group of people has an average pay of 43k a year, clearly not representative of all the joes at the bottom of the ladder.

That is truly awful maths

Begod you;re right, it's wrong, but my point is still right. RIGHT?

what is it 67K average?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Yep, I think its 67k

Nice pay for the bossman there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bordsie

that's fine if you want to buy a place where your neighbours are all toothless simpletons with eyebrows on their cheeks. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭whiteandlight

You should see students faces when you show what an outlier does to the mean lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

an apartment in Longford? it is basically in the middle of nowhere. who what to buy it?:D

bordsie wrote: »
    that's fine if you want to buy a place where your neighbours are all toothless simpletons with eyebrows on their cheeks. :rolleyes:
    is that how you describe everyone outside the Pale ?

Yes, I dont think he gets that though.

revell wrote: »
    an apartment in Longford? it is basically in the middle of nowhere. who what to buy it?:D
    its one of the biggest towns in the midlands. Presumably someone works in the midlands and so lives there too. ;). That never occur to you ?

n.b. a 2 minute trawl on daft.ie brough up other properties in Donegal, Leitrim, Louth, Cork, Laois, Waterford city etc , all under one years salary.

gigino wrote: »
    its one of the biggest towns in the midlands. Presumably someone works in the midlands and so lives there too. ;). That never occur to you ?

Yes but if they were on 48k I think they would buy a house and not a completely worthless apartment.

Why would you live in an apartment in an underpolulated area? Where houses would not be much more. Jesus I am getting a headache from this.

Yes, I dont think he gets that though.

300k afaik. And won;t take a 15% pay cut. The c2nt.

There are approx 300 thousand public servants : the average is the average. Very very few of the 300,000 are on 300,000, never mind 400,000 a year. There are layers of middle management. Of course many people are on less than 48k a year. Something like 35,000 are on more than 80 or 85k a year. An average is an average.
    300k afaik. And won;t take a 15% pay cut. The c2nt.

he could buy 10 apartments in Longford with a years gross pay. And 15 with his retirement "gratuity".
    Thats not right either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

All those properties have the air of sheltered accommodation for Paedopods released under license. Mildew and regret jumping off every page.

Yes but if they were on 48k I think they would buy a house and not a completely worthless apartment.

Why would you live in an apartment in an underpolulated area? Where houses would not be much more. Jesus I am getting a headache from this.
    Yes you can buy a house for not much more than an apartment. However some people prefer an apartment as there is no grass to cut, its sometimes more central etc. Young people on the continent generally live in apartments. The question is ; will houses + apartments drop much further ? Some are less than a years gross average public sector wage now. Will they drop to a few months salary ? When I was small I vagely remember an elderly relative telling me how his house cost x times annual salary at the time.....I think it was equivalent to 5 years wages but I'm not sure.

Its like people complaining about the price of a pint of guinness now. But you can say its e.g. 25 minutes work, same as it took to buy one when it cost 4 shillings.