I got held up at gunpoint today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 ANAPOLIS

xzanti wrote: »
    Fcuker probably has a Medical Card and all.
    i cant see how a medical card would be of any use in a hold up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

bleg wrote: »
    He just shouted "Zimovane!" with a gun in my face. I wasn't going to argue.

Actually at the start I couldn't see the Zimovane but I saw Stilnoct... something similar so I said "Stilnoct are the same!!
    Should have gave him Senokot.http://www.senokot.com/html/main/index.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Out of curiosity,if he had demanded solpadeine would you have asked him if he's tried paracetamol first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

A terrifying experience, given that there are so many crazies around and you never know what irrational things they might do.:)

You handled that difficult situation well, OP, and at the end of it still had the only thing that really matters to you and your loved ones - your life.:cool:

Sooner or later, that scumbag will be caught, and you will have the last laugh when he is rotting in jail.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

He just shouted "Zimovane!" with a gun in my face.

Some people are just soooo cranky without sleep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Sooner or later, that scumbag will be caught, and you will have the last laugh when he is rotting in jail.:p

Jail ? I just presumed the OPs story was based in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Jail ? I just presumed the OPs story was based in Ireland.

Somehow I'd say he has been in and out of jail a few times already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

My local pharmacy has a section near the counter that has medication for pets, stuff for ringworm and all kinds of mad things. If you guys stock the same, take the pills out of one of these containers and leave them near the counter for the next junkie scumbag.

Just picture Anto and his buddies eating ringworm medication or something for constipated horses :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Bookworm85

Hi OP,

I hope you are doing ok. Was held up a few times when I worked in a newsagents (never with a gun though :eek:).

Take it easy for the next few days, and go to the doc for a chat if you feel anyway unwell.

Take care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Down with this sorta thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What a cunt.

I concur.

I did, however, rip off the place mercilessly for a year or so after so I received compensation of sorts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jesus Bleg, that's a right bloody scary situation to have to deal with. Junkie scum. Fair play to you for keeping your head and getting him out of your face and the shop as quick as. I'd have needed the adult nappy section during and afterwards.
    Yea, I don't want to end up with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder so will be making arrangements on Monday.
    Hopefully that won't be the case B, but one thing to bear in mind http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posttraumatic_stress_disorder#Management "A review of multiple studies, involving a number of different post-event psychological interventions structured to prevent PTSD "...did not find any evidence to support the use of an intervention offered to everyone", and that "...multiple session interventions may result in worse outcome than no intervention for some individuals.". A one off session just to get it out may well be beneficial, but maybe avoid thinking this will affect you long term or become a condition for you. While stovelid's boss may well have been a cúnt(sounds like it TBH), he or she may actually have done him a favour.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

Hope you have some company tonight to just chill out with and chat to. Well done on keeping calm.

Ah yea, I'm taking it pretty positively to be honest. Laughing at some of the things I said to him with my mates "It's my first day here so I dunno where they keep the cash, and I'm not the best with that till," all the while with a gun in my face. Just want to know what steps to take. I've a fairly positive outlook to be honest and whilst I'll recognise that it was a fairly shocking and traumatic event, that's all it was, an event. I'll get over it, have had a lot of support from family and friends today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You'll have to find out who you can sue now! :) (joking!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Should've given him viagra instead.

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Should've given him viagra instead.

1 gun in my face is enough thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Ellis Dee wrote: »

we're talking about Ireland here bud in case you have'nt noticed. ;)
    a 3 month suspended sentence, after his team of free legal aid lawyers had pleaded that he sufffers from ADHD,is on the margins of society,was never given a chance in life and all the other usual bullsh1t that comes with it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Its happened to me twice. Am almost getting used to it!

Well he did have a bad upbringing like but in fairness earlier on in the day I was after counselling a few people in the area (on their meds), listening to their problems etc... Seemed like genuine people who were just from a lower class, I've no problem with them. They didn't choose a life of crime, or to terrify people for their own benefit. This ****er made the conscious choice to come in and point a gun at my face to get what he wanted. I'm quite liberal and would feel pity for many of these people who, in fairness, haven't had a chance.

But not this guy. Scumbags like him are different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Fair play for keeping the head bleg. Hope you're doing ok after the whole situation...the exciting life of working in a pharmacy!

Happened to me in a forecourt as well. I believe it was arranged by teachers at my old school, St Clements, here in Limerick to teach me a lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Until you are in a situation like this you don't know how you are going to react. You did the right thing, you are able to let people know what happened. 'Don't get caught up in "what if's" they don't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭air assault

Ronin247 wrote: »
    With the recession you should be glad to have a job,gun in the face or not.I blame the civil service.

wow a person is robbed at gun point at work and all you can say is lucky to have a job, FFS

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Fair play again for keeping the head. Thankfully I've never been in that situation but know of a few people who were. From what I've heard, it's crazy what goes through your head at the time.
    My mother had a slashhook held to her neck during a holdup and remembers thinking 'at least the blade's rusty so it won't slice all the way through'. A friends mother had a gun held to her head during a bank robbery and was trying to decide whether to try and jump out of the way or drop to the floor if she thought he was about to shoot.
    OP you should take it easy for a while because it can take a while for the severity of the situation you were in to hit you. In my mothers case, she was fine for a few weeks but nearly had a breakdown eventually. And 15 years later she's still terrified of people in balaclavas.
    Hopefully your employer isn't a cnut like stovelid's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

I was threatened at gunpoint in Kells, Co Meath @ 6.30pm approximately on Friday 31st, October 2008, in the course of what might have been either a kidnap by criminals or an arrest by the guards of a guy in a UK reg 5 Series BMW.

This happened on the Dublin Rd into Kells, between the Courthouse and the frontage of Eureka College, just short of the filling station.

The entire experience was the most sickeningly frightening five minutes I've ever been through.

The assailants acted with extreme efficiency.

No one wore uniforms. as such.

Is there anyone on here who may have any knowledge of this event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Ronin247 wrote: »
    With the recession you should be glad to have a job,gun in the face or not.I blame the civil service.
    wow a person is robbed at gun point at work and all you can say is lucky to have a job, FFS

I honestly don't know if Ronin was making a joke or not.
    If they were joking fair enough :) ... if not? good god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Wereghost

Glad to hear you're ok, OP. Hope CCTV ruins the stupid cnut's whole day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

LighterGuy wrote: »
    I honestly don't know if Ronin was making a joke or not.
    If they were joking fair enough :) ... if not? good god!

Of course he was making a joke. Jaysus, you spend enough time on AH - you ought to know when someone is being sarcastic.

OP- fair play, etc, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Ficheall wrote: »
    Of course he was making a joke. Jaysus, you spend enough time on AH - you ought to know when someone is being sarcastic.
    OP- fair play, etc, etc.

Haha, maybe I do spend too much time here :P
    But honestly, some of the things I read are shocking comments that are not a joke. Hard to tell some times. :o