Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I got held up at gunpoint today.

• 07-01-2012 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

At around 1630 today I was working in a pharmacy in clanbrassil st. Guy walks in with a scarf over his face I think "here we go." Next thing I know I have a gun in my face and the scumbag is demanding drugs, sleeping tablets. I nearly **** myself but stay calm and just give him what he wants. The whole thing is over in 4 minutes I'd say. Absolute scumbag. Anyway I'll be back, that ****ing junkie isn't going to stop me doing my job.

Saying that though I cannot describe the pure terror of having a gun pointed in your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Just glad you survived to tell the tale :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

you gave me the wrong sleeping tabs :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Maybe he just didn't want to fill out the forms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

You did the right thing thing and you felt the way anyone would. You're OK and that is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

bleg wrote: »
    At around 1630 today I was working in a pharmacy in clanbrassil st. Guy walks in with a scarf over his face I think "here we go." Next thing I know I have a gun in my face and the scumbag is demanding drugs, sleeping tablets. I nearly **** myself but stay calm and just give him what he wants. The whole thing is over in 4 minutes I'd say. Absolute scumbag. Anyway I'll be back, that ****ing junkie isn't going to stop me doing my job.

Saying that though I cannot describe the pure terror of having a gun pointed in your face.

That's the stuff.

Did he get much? Were the Gardaí any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

How many drugs did you take for yourself? Y'know, to calm your nerves.

Glad you didn't get hurt OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Did you tell the gardaí?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Pics etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

He only wanted condoms, but he was nervous and bottled out. He robbed you to cover his shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,963 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Did he have a medical card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Hope ya gave him a dose of the shíts. Theiving bastid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

You should have just given him a pile of laxatives.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

good to hear you're alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Off to the doctor with ya now and get a dose of relaxers, take 2 weeks paid off work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

With the recession you should be glad to have a job,gun in the face or not.I blame the civil service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Have done all the gardai stuff. Pressed the panic button and they were there within 3-4 mins. Not really sure. After he left there was a customer with her young daughter so I was making sure they were ok til the guards arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Armed with a gun and only asked for drugs. Why not ask for the money in the
    till as well??? Don't understand the logic there.

Anyway, glad you're ok bleg. Can't have been a fun experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Jaysus, you can get all sorts of things with a gun, why just stop at the sleepy pills. It's like robbing a bank for spare some spare change. In for a penny and all that...

Glad you are ok though, not a nice thing to happen. Make sure you nick plenty of Xanax for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Don't understand the logic there.
    Junkies dont think much past the next fix.

Well done OP, you came out of it in one piece so you did everything the right way.

He looked for the money but I was only in the pharmacy for the day and didn't know where it was kept. The girl I was working with was in the bathroom. I also didn't know how to open the till without a sale and while I was fiddling with it he ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Trader1991

Off to the doctor with ya now and get a dose of relaxers, take 2 weeks paid off work.

two weeks, where do i sign up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Dundalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Fair play to ya OP for keeping cool. I would've shat myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Good on ya OP. Hope your co-workers dealt with it as well as you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

he only wanted some Nurofen Plus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

You did the right thing by remaining calm and handing over the drugs. I hope you can maintain this strong philosophical approach to dealing with the event, because anyone who has been through what you have experienced is likely to suffer some anxiety after the event, no matter how well you played the part on the day. You should not be embarrassed or afraid to seek some emotional counselling to deal with this.

Ultimately it sounds as though you have already decided that you won this encounter (and you did!). I applaud and admire you for that. Don't let the experience lead you to curtail your life in any way - other than the normal sensible precautions that everybody should take.

Well done!

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Junkie scum, put them all down!

Hope you're not too shaken up, OP

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I TOLD YOU NOT TO TALK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Armed with a gun and only asked for drugs. Why not ask for the money in the
    till as well??? Don't understand the logic there.
    I don't think a junkie desperate enough to hold up a pharmacy for benzos is going to be too hot on the whole "logic" side of things.

Sorry to hear about it OP, how are you feeling now? Something similar happened to some lads I know though they were actually tied up by the robbers. They had to get a counselling session, though some of them didn't really need. Not sure if this is a legal requirement or company policy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Worked in a petrol station years ago and got held up at gunpoint. When the police had gone, the manager made me finish the shift and lock up by myself.

In fairness, I thought I would be freaked out working there after that but it was grand so hopefully you will be ok, OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

You deserve and award mr pharmacy worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

stovelid wrote: »
    Worked in a petrol station years ago and got held up at gunpoint. When the police had gone, the manager made me finish the shift and lock up by myself.

What a cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 andy3695

lets think of this in a logical way. it was cold out today, he was wearing a scarf, probably a toy gun and he was dying with the flu. this can also make you very confused when your out of your warm bed. i'd say he got mixed up with his words and all he really wanted was uniflu tablets. just a thought.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

If he had a gun in your face for something as pathetic as sleeping tablets then Id say it wasnt real. I would even go as far to say that most robbers just use realistic looking pellet guns. I had one myself. Big heavy metal one, looked like a real handgun.

But I suppose you can't take that chance as you just dont know if it is real or not. Maybe you should prepare and keep a stash of fake goods. Like boxes filled with dud tablets or laxatives or something :D just incase it happens again, then you can dish those out to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

and while I was fiddling with it he ran off.
    Nothing like inappropriate masturbation to scare people off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

What a total scumbag.

I'm really sorry to hear that OP. Many years ago I used work in Xtravision and there were a spate of hold-ups. Literally every few nights. The b@$yards still put us on shifts alone around the place telling us to do regular cash 'drops' obviously figuring the potential money stolen was cheaper. Luckily when my branch was held up it was my scheduled night off but the robber walked my colleague around the till with a knife to his neck. At the time I found the story kind of exciting / entertaining as he downplayed it quite a bit. I met him recently and we were catching up and he told me it was beyond horrific, he didn't admit it at the time but the terror was unimaginable. He said it passed over the next while and he was back to normal but don't understimate how cr@ppy the experience can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Holy **** OP! I'd have had several shades of brown pooling grotesquely around me shoes!

Fair play to ya for keeping calm, and for wanting to go back in, not too sure I'd be that brave... what did the gardai say?

watch out for any shock to kick in later OP
    keep the option open of getting some counselling as well just in case!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

surley he also stole all the opioid narcotic painkillers along with the benzodiazepines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

ScumLord wrote: »
    Nothing like inappropriate masturbation to scare people off.
    Danger ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Should have given him cyanide capsules OP.

Thin the herd a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Well done OP you handled it very well, no point in trying to be a hero for the sake of a few pills, hope the scumbag is apprehended and brought to justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

bluewolf wrote: »
    watch out for any shock to kick in later OP
    keep the option open of getting some counselling as well just in case!

Once the adrenaline rush fades the shock could well kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Well done OP. You did the right thing. Not worth trying to be a superhero.

My own mother was working in a bank for two separate robberies (had gun pointed in face for just one of them). Although she did her best not to let it get to her, she still had the odd anxiety attack for a few years after the 2nd one.

Zen65 wrote: »
    You did the right thing by remaining calm and handing over the drugs. I hope you can maintain this strong philosophical approach to dealing with the event, because anyone who has been through what you have experienced is likely to suffer some anxiety after the event, no matter how well you played the part on the day. You should not be embarrassed or afraid to seek some emotional counselling to deal with this.

Yea, I don't want to end up with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder so will be making arrangements on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Yeah bleg, just to echo others. Keep an eye on how you feel and don't be afraid to get it off your chest with a pro.

What kinda junkie gets high on sleepy pills though? A dozy one I suppose :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Getting very teary at what might seem to you an inappropriate time is entirely normal after a shock such as this or an accident.

Just watch out for men in cardigans asking you do you enjoy jokes. :)

Seriously though, you will have had a bad shock and your head will be full of what ifs over the next few days - be mindful of yourself.

anhedonia wrote: »
    surley he also stole all the opioid narcotic painkillers along with the benzodiazepines?

He just shouted "Zimovane!" with a gun in my face. I wasn't going to argue.

Actually at the start I couldn't see the Zimovane but I saw Stilnoct... something similar so I said "Stilnoct are the same!! Will they do?!"

And I don't care if it was a toy gun or not, he got about €50 quids worth of stuff today. I'm not taking that chance with my life at 24 years of age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

He just shouted "Zimovane!" with a gun in my face. I wasn't going to argue.

Actually at the start I couldn't see the Zimovane but I saw Stilnoct... something similar so I said "Stilnoct are the same!! Will they do?!"

And I don't care if it was a toy gun or not, he got about €50 quids worth of stuff today. I'm not taking that chance with my life at 24 years of age.

Ah yeah there really is no point in trying to act a hero and save the store some cash, sure they are insured anyway. What's the point in taking such a risk for yourself. Handing over what is demanded when there is a gun (or anything else) in your face under calm is really the best course of action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Jesus thats a nasty story.