Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

haha I got the smaller like 7" inch one off my brother

Whats the robocop box in the back there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

haha I got the smaller like 7" inch one off my brother

Whats the robocop box in the back there?

It's a Mcfarlane 3D poster/wall hanger thingy.

http://www.toyglobe.com/details.php?type=115875

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I used to have the movie poster on my bedroom wall back in 87, I would have been 15...
    No wonder I couldn't get any girls in there!

Na the girls nowadays dont really give a **** I dont think. Its all the watching the bing bang theory and **** that they dont know the difference between real H to the C nerds and ironic and trendy "nerds". Or mabye I'm just a new form of hipster with all this stuff, a level beyond...

I have a TMNT 1989 movie poster, face/off poster, Big trouble in little china pictures, macho man randy savage and actually just here's a picture.

DSCN2427.jpg

point is i never had any complaints. Meant to cover the whole wall but never got around to it.

And this is beside my bed

DSCN2429.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Here's a question ...
    Was Boba cooler when he was a white guy, like an ex british army officer turned merc, or now when he's been retconned into a Maori badass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I like that TMNT movie poster, it's kind of a classic design really. It's the same design used for the OST which I had on cassette. :o

Iconic poster nonetheless and certainly a LOT better than the posters for the sequels.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Here's a question ...
    Was Boba cooler when he was a white guy, like an ex british army officer turned merc, or now when he's been retconned into a Maori badass?

Ah definitely british, jake the muss is a tough chap alright but I'd say an ex s.a.s officer turned bounty hunter would definitely be worse. Imagine Captain Price, even if you hate call of duty you cant argue he is a bad mother****er, as a bounty hunter :eek:

Couple of bits arrived today. Picked up a couple of loose Famicom shooting games super cheap, figured I might as well tot postage up a collection in advance of buying a Famicom Twin some time this year.

1. Gundam Encyclopedia [Artbook, Nippon text]
    S5Wdv.jpg

2. 1943 and Twinbee [Famicom, Loose, NTSC-J] and Sun filters for GBP, WS and NGP
    angVs.jpg

3. EDF: Insect Armageddon [XBOX 360, BNIB, PAL]*
    kimmt.jpg

*probably sending it back though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Pyongyang wrote: »
    *probably sending it back though.

Is this the shopto fiasco you mentioned elsewhere?

Yup! They can have it back if they don't acknowledge they are in the wrong. Doubt one poxy customer will do much to their year end takings, but I don't care, their customer service is about as helpful as an underwater hairdryer.

That gundam artbook has some lovely stuff in it I'd say

Aye loads of robots, ships, sketches and details. It's just over half full colour, the rest is a mix of B&W and colour pages. Lovely stuff though nonetheless. :)

It'll sit nicely on my shelf next to Intron Depot 1 and soon, a bunch of Cave art books. I wish/hope their are Darius artbooks. I'd love to have those to go with them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Philips CDi arrived today but the CD drive is broken. Too good to be true. First bad experience on Ebay. Anyone know what the next step is to sorting this out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,405 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I take it you bought it as working?

Here's the annoying thing about your situation - you're due a full refund on the item, but it's not the seller's responsibilty to fork out for return postage. Or even refund postage. Only the item price.

Grand with small items, but a pain for consoles.

A few years ago I bought a 360 on ebay which red ringed. Got a refund for the console itself, but was down about €60 in the end due to posting the damn thing back and forth.

Send it back and get a refund. Just hope the seller is willing to play ball, remember the incident with my Virtual Boy?

What's up with the CDi? Is it aesthetically broken or it won't read discs etc?

EDIT:

@o1s1n: That's what happened to me. I had to pay postage. Though I used Citypost for a cheap rate and absorbed the cost, put it down to experience. It's annoying, but you still get a wedge back. If it's something you paid peanuts for, keep it and repair it or flip it. Or send it back if you bought it from Shopto (who still haven't answered me).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

It powers on but just isn't reading any games or audio CDs I've tried. Do I have to post it back to get a refund? Could end up costing me more than the system itself. Description said it's working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Philips CDi arrived today but the CD drive is broken. Too good to be true. First bad experience on Ebay. Anyone know what the next step is to sorting this out?

Count yourself lucky tbh, & it serves you right for buying such a well known lump of poo.

Joking aside, an email to the seller through Ebay explaining its not as described. If they dig their heels in, lodge a paypal claim which will freeze the sellers PayPal account temporarily. Having funds in there that they can't withdraw normally sorts them out.

o1s1n is right re the postage though, thats out of your pocket unfortunately.

Get onto the seller to pay for a repair? You could always see if you can buy a disk drive off ebay for it and foot them the bill?

Master of the Universe

Different sellers handle these situations differently.

I've had people refund and let me keep the broken item. Refund on return but refunded the postage too (as it was the decent thing to do) and only refund on return but not the postage.

As the other lads have said, contact the seller and let them know what's wrong. Fingers crossed they're decent about it.

Master of the Universe

Pyongyang wrote: »
    @o1s1n: That's what happened to me. I had to pay postage. Though I used Citypost for a cheap rate and absorbed the cost, put it down to experience. It's annoying, but you still get a wedge back. If it's something you paid peanuts for, keep it and repair it or flip it. Or send it back if you bought it from Shopto (who still haven't answered me).

So in the end you just posted the whole VB back to him yeah?

The feckin eejit, he should have just given you a partial refund for the damaged box and let you keep the rest!

I doubt I'd have been able to repair the VB. It was in bits. Completely dead.

Think I lost out on about €40 on post to the UK and back. But I got the main wedge back which was fair enough in the end I guess.

Master of the Universe

Oh ****! I thought he'd just folded up the box on you when you were meant to get a nice assembled one? Didn't realize the console was mangled too. :(

Not a game but it is retro!
    Got James Blishes novel "Black Easter" together with the sequel "The Day After Judgement" in the post from Amazon this morning!
    This is the third copy of the book I've owned, I keep lending them out and they go missing!
    And, yes, it's very very good.

Master of the Universe

Black Easter! Now there's something I haven't read in an age.

I stole a copy of it from my secondary school library. Really loved the thing. I've been too afraid to go back and read it since in case it's rubbish.

You're the first other person I've ever heard mention it. Is it fairly well known? I've never given it a google.

edit - seems it's award winning... there you go :D Teenage angsty me had taste.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,573 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

o1s1n wrote: »
    I stole a copy of it from my secondary school library.

First Black Easter, then Duke Nukem Forever...

Next you're going to tell us you stole a Mars Bar from the local newsagent as a wee lad. Just to watch the world burn.

James Blish made a trilogy,
    Black Easter, where the notion of magic is real, with all the consequences there-of, and it's where a wealthy man pays a sorcerer to unleash the demons of hell for a night.
    Dr. Mirabilis, a novel on the life of Roger Bacon, the first western scientist.
    Case of Conscience, where a team of explorers find a world where the native, intelligent lifeforms have no concept of God or original sin, and this causes serious issues for the crafts chaplin, lots of philosophy in that one...
    I have the first and last books in my possession, and now I have the second part of Black Easter which recounts what happens after the end of the world and the domination of Satan over the world, and it's really not what you might think, again you have to assume everything in the texts on the behaviour of the two sides of the battle for mankinds soul are real, and it's pretty cool tbh.
    Dr. Mi

Master of the Universe

First Black Easter, then Duke Nukem Forever...

Next you're going to tell us you stole a Mars Bar from the local newsagent as a wee lad. Just to watch the world burn.

You're a spoiled child of the 90s. Us 80s children had it rough. The only way we could get things was through theft and thuggery! :(
    CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    James Blish made a trilogy,
    Black Easter, where the notion of magic is real, with all the consequences there-of, and it's where a wealthy man pays a sorcerer to unleash the demons of hell for a night.
    Dr. Mirabilis, a novel on the life of Roger Bacon, the first western scientist.
    Case of Conscience, where a team of explorers find a world where the native, intelligent lifeforms have no concept of God or original sin, and this causes serious issues for the crafts chaplin, lots of philosophy in that one...
    I have the first and last books in my possession, and now I have the second part of Black Easter which recounts what happens after the end of the world and the domination of Satan over the world, and it's really not what you might think, again you have to assume everything in the texts on the behaviour of the two sides of the battle for mankinds soul are real, and it's pretty cool tbh.
    Dr. Mi

Cheers for that, I'll see if I can pick up the lot of them!

I might try to sting the seller for a repair. Seems the CD drive is very common and can be replaced with a compatible drive which is easy to find, cheap and far better. There's a tutorial on how to replace the same type of drive on a jaguar CD unit and it's meant to be the same and doesn't look too hard. What are the chances of 1) me botching the repair job and 2) getting the money back, those as the big questions :)

I'm coming round more to Enternows opinion of the CDI :) My version doesn't support RGB scart either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I might try to sting the seller for a repair. Seems the CD drive is very common and can be replaced with a compatible drive which is easy to find, cheap and far better. There's a tutorial on how to replace the same type of drive on a jaguar CD unit and it's meant to be the same and doesn't look too hard. What are the chances of 1) me botching the repair job and 2) getting the money back, those as the big questions :)

I'm coming round more to Enternows opinion of the CDI :) My version doesn't support RGB scart either!

What model of CDi is it?

I've a few of them and I think one is broken but the drive should be ok on it.
    I dont have it here to check as I moved a lot of stuff into private storage a few weeks back and the CDi's went there.

It's a Philips 450. A bit more research and it seems the CD drive I need is available for about 13 euros from hong kong so it won't break the bank either.