Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madden NFL 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Thanks for the hints over the last couple of days lads.

I went back to the drawing board with Berty's fantastic defence guide and went on a 5 game win streak. Faking the blitz, dropping back the coverage, press coverage, etc in different situations have made my defence very unpredictable for the opposition.

On offence I've started getting my O-line to block the way I'm going to run, squeezing tight sometimes, getting aggressive, and changing the routes of the receivers too.

Now, I struggle a bit with the play clock or to get my defence sorted before the opposition start their play but that's only a minor worry and will be sorted with practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Paully D wrote: »
    Thanks for the hints over the last couple of days lads.

I went back to the drawing board with Berty's fantastic defence guide and went on a 5 game win streak. Faking the blitz, dropping back the coverage, press coverage, etc in different situations have made my defence very unpredictable for the opposition.

On offence I've started getting my O-line to block the way I'm going to run, squeezing tight sometimes, getting aggressive, and changing the routes of the receivers too.

Now, I struggle a bit with the play clock or to get my defence sorted before the opposition start their play but that's only a minor worry and will be sorted with practice.

Join the league!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭davetherave

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Bills haven't played the Ravens though, it's not on the schedule

No, you are right...I've made a bags of that :o:(
    In that case it would be their conference record.

Ravens are currently 5-3(.625)
    Wins against PIT, TEN, HOU, PIT, CLE, IND
    Loses against NYJ, JAC, CIN

Bills are 6-2 (.778)
    Wins against KC, OAK, NE, CIN, MIA, TEN, SD
    Losses to NYJ, NYJ.

But all of this is a bit pointless because a win or a lose by the Ravens,Titans,Bengals or the Colts could would make all of this worthless.

Basicly the only things we know so far is that the Jets, Buccs, Packers and Broncos are guaranteed a playoff spot.

NFC East is still open, although a Dallas win this week against the Giants would secure a division victory for Philly as they hold the higher Common Game win percentage by one game.

One more win will make sure that the Bills make an appearance in the Playoffs.

The AFC South battle could, potentially, go down to the last game where Tennessee travel to Houston. It could be a game to decide who wins the Division and keeps the Superbowl Dream alive...or depending on Baltimore's results it could be nothing more than a battle for a better draft pick.

Could people who have had restarts this week please post it here:http://myleaguemanager.net/apps/portal.cfm?CFID=1465966&CFTOKEN=db2ad084ba7a7f08-141F168D-5056-2683-D87A9A1394C141E8 in the discussion part of the LM site where there is a dedicated thread.

Explaining when it happened and the score at the time.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ravens play Bengals in Week Seventeen

Feck the wildcard, Ravens are gunning for the division title :)

Only two games back,

If Bengals slip up once and Ravens beat the Bengals then the Ravens win the AFC North by holding the same W-L record but sweeping the division

Have to beat the Browns first though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭Raoul

SantryRed wrote: »
    Could people who have had restarts this week please post it here:http://myleaguemanager.net/apps/portal.cfm?CFID=1465966&CFTOKEN=db2ad084ba7a7f08-141F168D-5056-2683-D87A9A1394C141E8 in the discussion part of the LM site where there is a dedicated thread.

Explaining when it happened and the score at the time.

Thanks.
    Yeah, its much easier if we keep it all in that thread. We haven't really had many restarts in a long while anyway. Plus we are only concerned with Human v CPU games as if there are restarts in human v human games we expect you to be able to sort it out among yourselves.

A win against the CPU Chiefs next week and I'll be playing the 2nd string for my last 2 divisional games against the Bears and Lions.

I will be hoping by that stage that I will be able to play my second string team too but with my current game being simmed you never know.:(

Reminder to everyone - Gameweek Deadline is tomorrow night!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Raoul wrote: »
    I will be hoping by that stage that I will be able to play my second string team too but with my current game being simmed you never know.:(

Reminder to everyone - Gameweek Deadline is tomorrow night!

I thought it was Monday night?

At what point should I play the CPU, no sign of Shane C rejoining as the cardinals?

We are going back to the way we had it Sunday night/ Monday morning. I think you are safe to go ahead and play against the CPU whenever you want. I will pm Shane and see what the story is but go ahead.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

We are going back to the way we had it Sunday night/ Monday morning. I think you are safe to go ahead and play against the CPU whenever you want. I will pm Shane and see what the story is but go ahead.

Grand, I'll wait until tomorrow afternoon before I play the CPU, let me know if you hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭cena

I have last years madden 2011 one. If someone had madden 12 on the ps3 can I still play against them online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭etloveslsd

Giants beat the Cowboys last night 30-14. Was cruising until some brain farts at the start of the second when a play-action went all wrong ending in a pick six and the LenDale White fumbled on my next possession.

Sacked Peyton 8 times, which was nice, and Asante Samuel got his own pick six.

The Giants and Eli win the first Manning Bowl of the season

cena wrote: »
    I have last years madden 2011 one. If someone had madden 12 on the ps3 can I still play against them online

You can only play madden 12 against people with madden 12.

Just waiting on BPrince and Specsy to play their game. I have sent BPrince a pm to see if this game has been arranged. So hopefully they have done that and get it played asap! :)

I'll advance it after the 9:15 games tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭cena

You can only play madden 12 against people with madden 12.

That sucks. Cousin in the states well have the new one. He just got a ps3 lasts his week

SantryRed wrote: »
    I'll advance it after the 9:15 games tonight.

Advance it as soon as you can. Specsy didn't get back to BPrince at all on xbox or on here. He has until Wednesday to tell his next opponent when he can play or else he will be kicked from the league until he gives reasons for not making games.

Really hope the Vikings don't beat my Lions :)

Advance it as soon as you can. Specsy didn't get back to BPrince at all on xbox or on here. He has until Wednesday to tell his next opponent when he can play or else he will be kicked from the league until he gives reasons for not making games.

Really hope the Vikings don't beat my Lions :)

Will be done within the hour.

Gameweek has been advanced lads.

Green Bay roll on to 13-1 with a 41-7 win over the Kansas City Chiefs. 1st quarter was a disaster for the Pack as their HC struggled to get used to Madden again. Couldn't get my individual audibles in quick enough as I forgot how to do them. Resulting in Vince Young twice running for huge yards. After that, Green Bay got hold of the game and forced their defensive will on Kansas. One sour note was the injury of Number One Receiver Sidney Rice, but luckily he will only be out for 3 weeks, meaning he's back just in time for the divisional games. One more win and the 1st seed is guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭davetherave

Anyone know what the story with ShaneC is?

I'm playing Arizona this week but there is no sign of him rejoining??

Since the result would have playoff implications for both him and Adrian I'm thinking I should wait and see what the story is??

I think a win this week for me will more or less guarantee my place as a wildcard.

Since the result would have playoff implications for both him and Adrian I'm thinking I should wait and see what the story is??

Yeah it would be good if you could wait until wednesday at least.perhaps send him a pm

He sent me a pm, he should be good to go from tomorrow evening....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

McG you around tomorrow evening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Do me a favour McG, win that game :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

mike when do the ravens play?? want to make sure my voodoo doll is free!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Berty hows your week ? I'm in limerick tomorrow, have the week off work so i can accommodate anytime from Tuesday. Best to field your second string team give them a nice rest for playoffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭BigBadRob83

As we enter the last three weeks of the season, it’s time to take another look at the ever-evolving AFC playoff races:

For anyone looking for details on the tiebreakers, davetherave did an excellent breakdown on page 93 of this thread, and there has been enough detail done on these so I will stick to the broad strokes in this post.

The AFC East looks to be the leading division this year, with two tough teams in the Jets and Bills who both rank in the top 3 in the league in rushing yards, top 5 in total defense and seem to have eschewed modern football, as they are the only two teams with more rushing yards than passing yards;
    Jets 1971yds rushing - 1897yds passing w/ Aaron Rodgers playing his usual efficient football
    Bills 1965 – 911 w/ Tim Tebow, enough said.
    The Jets have locked up a playoff spot and I think we can all safely say they will be the No.1 seed, as Berty’s juggernaut keeps rolling. The Bills look set as the No.5 seed and will probably face the CPU Broncos in the wildcard round.

The Colts and Bengals are still battling No.2 seed and that first round bye, as both 10-3 with the Bengals having the head-to-head advantage after a week 6 victory. However, they are both still looking over their shoulders as the Ravens, Titans and Texans still have shots at the division titles.
    The Broncos are almost nailed on as the No.4 seed, as the AFC West is contractually entitled to a playoff spot.

This leaves the No.6 seed as a three-way battle between the Titans, Ravens and Texans.

Division Leaders
    1. Jets 13-0
    2. Bengals 10-3 *hold tie-breaker over Colts after Week 6 victory
    3. Colts 10-3
    4. Broncos 7-6

Wild Cards
    5. Bills 10-3 (cannot win division, Jets own head-to-head tiebreaker)
    6. Ravens 8-5 (2 games off division lead, own head-to-head tiebreakers over Titans and Texans)

In The Hunt
    Titans 8-5 (tiebreaker off 6 seed, 2 game off division lead)
    Texans 7-6 (1 game & tiebreaker off 6 seed, 3 game off division lead)

A Look Ahead at the Schedule (Might do this each week up until 17?):
    Jets @ Eagles
    Berty has to decide if he is chasing perfection, or to rest up for the playoffs?

Dolphins (CPU) @ Bills
    No playoff implications

Ravens @ Chargers (CPU)
    Ravens need to keep pressure on Bengals, as mikemac1 has pointed out, they need the Bengals to slipup once to make their Week 17 showdown a division decider. Ravens have their playoff fate in their own hands as they can win out and are guaranteed at least a No.6 seed.

Bengals @ Rams
    Bengals need to win to hold onto the No.2 seed and that first-round bye. Can’t let the Ravens back in the North race.

Panthers @ Texans
    After being de-railed by the Bengals last week, the Texans need to bite back to stay alive in the playoff race against the 2-11 Panthers. Texans fate is out of their hands at the moment.

GAME OF THE WEEK - Titans @ Colts
    A win here would lock up the division for the Colts. The Colts prevailed in their previous contest 30-14 as the Titans come looking for revenge and to clean up their mistakes after turning the ball over 5 times in the last meeting. A Titans win would keep them in the wildcard race with the Ravens and put serious pressure on the Colts for the division.

An exciting week ahead in AFC football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Berty44

empacher wrote: »
    Berty hows your week ? I'm in limerick tomorrow, have the week off work so i can accommodate anytime from Tuesday. Best to field your second string team give them a nice rest for playoffs
    :pac: Must remember to do some resting all right.

Probably Thursday evening sometime between 8-10 would be best. If not I am pretty free this week so let me know.