Midnight Mass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

If you dont do mass then cool. relax.

I do mass. Always did then again thats my faith.

If your faith is the x box then cool, enjoy

But feck off and leave me alone. :)

Feck off and leave us alone more like. Non-believers don't tend to litter society with indigenous holidays, icons and architecture in the way that God botherers do. Nor do we have consistent weekly meetups in designated buildings that help us feel exclusive and right. And even if we did, we wouldn't arrogantly dismiss our rivals as mere X-Box apostles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Dad said he was kinda thinking about going around 8 tonight, it started at half 7 alas. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

That tinfoil hat is not working.

Neither is the drink. :(

<checks that it's not non-alcoholic............made that mistake before! Like an eejit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Family are at midnight mass at the moment. I'm here with a cold beer, the internet and "Combat School" on Military History.

Right now they're sitting through hell and I'm in heaven. Funny how that works :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Seachmall wrote: »
    Family are at midnight mass at the moment. I'm here with a cold beer, the internet and "Combat School" on Military History.

Right now they're sitting through hell and I'm in heaven. Funny how that works :D.

You're on boards instead of fapping? Madness. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

chin_grin wrote: »
    You're on boards instead of fapping? Madness. :pac:

Done and dusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

AH is my Midnight Madness every night ..........I mean Mass every night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Jess16 wrote: »
    Feck off and leave us alone more like. Non-believers don't tend to litter society with indigenous holidays, icons and architecture in the way that God botherers do. Nor do we have consistent weekly meetups in designated buildings that help us feel exclusive and right. And even if we did, we wouldn't arrogantly dismiss our rivals as mere X-Box apostles

Yeah. Well you're going to HELL, xbox bitch. We'll leave you alone there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Lads i counted 90 candles in my mass it was ****in class i tried to count the people but i kept losin count :( Class mass all the same communion tasted daycent.

Classmas, better than Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

MagicSean wrote: »
    I'm getting really sick of people giving out about having to go to mass at Christmas because the mammy is making them. I'm talkin about people in their late twenties.

Just don't ****ing go if you don't want to. Grow a pair.

no offence magic sean, but turning down mass on Christmas is like stabbing your mother in the heart.

Ya sure, I know what happens. Jesus is born, its like watching friends repeats. I don't want to do it, but **** it, if it keeps the peace, then why not. plus I get free unleavened bread.

fookin love free bread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The main reason I hate midnight mass is because it is the biggest congregation of nosey people on the planet. I know all atheists will bring up the usual "they're all nosey idiots" stereotype but I genuinely feel uncomfortable when I see people all around me turning their head around exorcism style to see if their neighbour/friend is in attendance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

That rolleyes smiley is really handy, isn't it? It tells you a lot about the people who use it straight away.

Yeah, it does. Normally law-abiding people who don't condone pricks interrupting religious services. Personally, I would have given him a slap on the jaw. Idiot.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Yeah, it does. Normally law-abiding people who don't condone pricks interrupting religious services. Personally, I would have given him a slap on the jaw. Idiot.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Wow, a keyboard warrior, you don't see many of them around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Yeah. Well you're going to HELL, xbox bitch. We'll leave you alone there.

Promise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Your story quoted below was pretty obnoxious in all fairness.
    I was at Midnight Mass back in the day when one of my mates rocked in and walked up to the altar, where he shouted "Father, if we all pull together we'll have a white Christmas", then left to a roomful of half-píssed people trying vainly to surpress their sniggers.

What is simply wrong with people tolerating eachother and leaving things at that.

The anti-theistic bravado posts in After Hours are starting to get tiresome, and hopefully most reasonable people will see that before long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

philologos wrote: »

What is simply wrong with people tolerating eachother and leaving things at that.

The anti-theistic bravado posts in After Hours are starting to get tiresome, and hopefully most reasonable people will see that before long.

Now hey hey hey! I was baptised a Roman Catholic. I didn't start this thread to be atheist or anything of the sort. I just couldn't get my head around the thrill of Midnight Mass.

I'll admit I do not practice anymore but I certainly did for a good 16 years and have no problems with other people's faith. I just don't see the appeal anymore and have never seen the appeal of a mass held at 9pm and calling it Midnight (I know it was held at midnight at some point in time but had to be scrapped because of drunks).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hellfire and damnation.

http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/news/9439055.Mass_brawl_at_Christmas_service/
    Midnight Mass at Southampton's St Edmund's Church stopped after fight

A CHRISTMAS church service had to be halted when a mass fight broke out.
    Chairs were thrown as men punched each other in front of up to 400 shocked onlookers.
    Father Vincent Harvey, the priest at St Edmund’s Church in The Avenue, Southampton, was forced to stop the midnight Mass service until the police arrived.
    A steward received hand injuries when he tried to stop one man throwing a metal chair down an aisle.
    The Mass was eventually able to continue after a 20 minute break because of the alcohol-fuelled fight.
    Police arrested three men in or near the church on suspicion of public order offences.
    The trio - all from Southampton and aged 24, 27 and 31 - were held overnight for questioning at Southampton Central police station but later released on bail, pending further investigations.
    All three must report back to police on Friday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

All the one's in my fam with kids went, its not at midnight anymore and it has become part of xmas.

I don't particularly see anything wrong with it.

InkSlinger67: Firstly I'm not a Roman Catholic myself and never have been. Secondly and I'm referring to Kevin Duffy's story which I quoted, it sickens me that people would be so obnoxious about their non-belief.

In your opinion. As it happens, he was a píssed up 16/17 year old made to go to mass. Maybe untwist your knickers a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

InkSlinger67: Firstly I'm not a Roman Catholic myself and never have been. Secondly and I'm referring to Kevin Duffy's story which I quoted, it sickens me that people would be so obnoxious about their non-belief.

I was just stating where I stood. There were a lot of other comments along those lines in this thread and I'll state it again: I have no problems with anyone's faith in any religion - just in case you think I'm one of those idiots who think religion is part of the system and should avoided at all costs as a result.

Midnight Mass really does crack me up though!

In your opinion. As it happens, he was a píssed up 16/17 year old made to go to mass. Maybe untwist your knickers a bit.

If you post something I'm entitled to tell you how much it repulses me. I would have liked to have thought that most non-believers could live their lives without unnecessarily interfering with the faith of others. If people don't want to believe that's one thing, if people do want to believe, that is another thing.

If pointing out how obnoxious the little story you told is "getting my knickers in a twist" so be it. I would hope that most people would balk at it irrespective of their beliefs.

If you post something I'm entitled to tell you how much it repulses me. I would have liked to have thought that most non-believers could live their lives without unnecessarily interfering with the faith of others. If people don't want to believe that's one thing, if people do want to believe, that is another thing.

If pointing out how obnoxious the little story you told is "getting my knickers in a twist" so be it. I would hope that most people would balk at it irrespective of their beliefs.

Something silly that happened 24/25 years ago " repulses" you? Jaysis, you must have fúck all of any real meaning to worry about so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 almaocarroll

Myself and my family just go on xmas day for my older brother (autistic) who loves to go for the music etc and we don't mind going.
    The priest nicely greeted all his regulars and then he welcomed the "visitors" to the church - at which point my dad turns to me all excited and says
    "That's us! Yeehee!" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

He sounds like a dick. How exactly was he "made" go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Jess16 wrote: »

You've obviously never gone into a Playstation V Xbox thread anywhere online. You xboxest arent tolerant at all.
    And we all know Sony is the one true god.

Far from it my friend. When it comes to an obviously obnoxious prick like the one mentioned, it wouldn't cost me a thought. Scumbag.

Something silly that happened 24/25 years ago " repulses" you? Jaysis, you must have fúck all of any real meaning to worry about so.

It would repulse any normal human being really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The religious wars between the x-boxians and the church of playstationology would put the crusades to shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Yeah. Cos that's what Christians do, tolerate others. The don't push their ideas on how to live on people all over the world. They've never burned anyone at a stake or any crazy stuff like that. They're so laid back and easy going.
    People aren't afraid of the church anymore and it's great. These are great times. :D