Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midnight Mass

• 24-12-2011 11:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭

Is it like Woodstock for Catholics?

"Look at us.....it's Midnight and we're rocking hard by celebrating mass. Can I get an Amen?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Its so the priests can go on the piss on the 25th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Too much drunken disorder in my town for it to be held anymore. Midnight Mass had to be moved to 7pm. Good job though, I've witnessed people vomiting in the aisles on previous years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'm getting really sick of people giving out about having to go to mass at Christmas because the mammy is making them. I'm talkin about people in their late twenties.

Just don't ****ing go if you don't want to. Grow a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Woah anti-christian thread, controversial for AH:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Woah anti-christian thread, controversial for AH:eek:

You must be new here. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Is it like Woodstock for unhappy atheists?

"Look at us.....it's Midnight and we're rocking hard by celebrating anti-Catholicism. Can I get a pat on the head?"

Sorry, but you might as well have posted that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I was at Midnight Mass back in the day when one of my mates rocked in and walked up to the altar, where he shouted "Father, if we all pull together we'll have a white Christmas", then left to a roomful of half-píssed people trying vainly to surpress their sniggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I was at Midnight Mass back in the day when one of my mates rocked in and walked up to the altar, where he shouted "Father, if we all pull together we'll have a white Christmas", then left to a roomful of half-píssed people trying vainly to surpress their sniggers.

Wow! Such originality and bravery. What a man.:rolleyes:

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Wow! Such originality and bravery. What a man.:rolleyes:

That rolleyes smiley is really handy, isn't it? It tells you a lot about the people who use it straight away.

You sure you're not getting it mixed up with this scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

"Look at us.....it's Midnight and we're rocking hard by celebrating mass. Can I get an Amen?"

Amen my brutha, peace to tha Jebus.

Everyone knows the hardcore go to Christmas mass. People fight for the front row from about 11pm onwards..

chin_grin wrote: »
    You sure you're not getting it mixed up with this scene?

Jesus, yeh, that's it! It's Like it's CCTV from 1987 or something!

Ah alcohol. Turning sarcasm detectors off since........for ever.

Also...........how do you not watch the IT Crowd! Seriously! I mean..........c'mon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Bumblegoose

Lads i counted 90 candles in my mass it was ****in class i tried to count the people but i kept losin count :( Class mass all the same communion tasted daycent.

Also...........how do you not watch the IT Crowd! Seriously! I mean..........c'mon!

I did. WTF has that got to do with an incident 24 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Midnight Mass is at 9pm where I'm from (only in Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

If you dont do mass then cool. relax.

I do mass. Always did then again thats my faith.

If your faith is the x box then cool, enjoy

But feck off and leave me alone. :)

I did. WTF has that got to do with an incident 24 years ago?

Well the similarities in your fictional story and the incident in a popular sitcom are astounding. Don't you think? <puts on tin foil hat>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Haha
    You're silly !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Haha
    You're silly !!!

I know.... So are you.

Oh if only Xbox was a faith............<pew pew pew>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Jesus loves tops! Woohoo! I'm saved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Have been watching Midnight mass here as is our custom.

So pompous, such noble feeling, such delicious ceremony to it all. The only thing Catholics do better than a good Christmas is a good funeral.

But the reason why Christmas is far more enjoyable (apart from nobody having snuffed it, of course) is because it's all so uncharacteristically positive.

For once, nobody's talking about crucifixions or fire & brimstone, or the joy of ascetic poverty. Even many non believers file into little country churches to hear about the vagrant child who was born King. It's the ultimate two-fingers to misery; I don't even care if none of it's true, the message at the centre of it is important.

As a non-Catholic and non believer, it definitely gets my vote. Religion could do with imparting more of this positivity more of the time.

Well the similarities in your fictional story and the incident in a popular sitcom are astounding. Don't you think? <puts on tin foil hat>

The story is not fictional and unless Graham Linehan was there that night, which is possible but unlikely, the similarities are a coincidence. You do know that there are other TV and film scenes in churches, as well as real life events, not all related to each other, yeh?

You know that your mate is an absolute legend! Wow. Wish I could have the balls your mate did twenty odd years ago. I mean. To go up right, go up. Right up to the priest. No. See. Right up to the priest in the middle of a mass. Wow. I mean. What balls!

"Hearsay and conjecture are forms of evidence your honour."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Min wrote: »
    Sorry, but you might as well have posted that.

I didn't mean to cause offence. I was just wondering what the thrill is with having mass at this time of day. What's wrong with having it at a reasonable hour either on Christmas Eve or Day.

From a countryside perspective I can understand it - getting those heathens out of the pub "after hours", it would be the only viable time to save their souls in fairness.

I remember people getting really excited about mass at this hour. It was "An Event"! Maybe I'm looking at it all through Father Ted goggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

No Midnight Mass where I live. I miss it.

Although I do not miss being a Choir Member - they expect Choir Members to attend as many of the masses as possible. With a 5PM mass, a 7PM mass, a Midnight Mass and a Christmas Day Mass, where do you draw the line?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Oh if only Xbox was a faith............<pew pew pew>

Merry xbox
    One and all!!!

You know that your mate is an absolute legend! Wow. Wish I could have the balls your mate did twenty odd years ago. I mean. To go up right, go up. Right up to the priest. No. See. Right up to the priest in the middle of a mass. Wow. I mean. What balls!

"Hearsay and conjecture are forms of evidence your honour."

That tinfoil hat is not working.

Merry xbox
    One and all!!!

<shouts abuse down the mic on live>

And a happy motherf*ckyomommaintheface newb!

Feck off and leave us alone more like. Non-believers don't tend to litter society with indigenous holidays, icons and architecture in the way that God botherers do. Nor do we have consistent weekly meetups in designated buildings that help us feel exclusive and right. And even if we did, we wouldn't arrogantly dismiss our rivals as mere X-Box apostles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Dad said he was kinda thinking about going around 8 tonight, it started at half 7 alas. :pac:

That tinfoil hat is not working.

Neither is the drink. :(

<checks that it's not non-alcoholic............made that mistake before! Like an eejit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Family are at midnight mass at the moment. I'm here with a cold beer, the internet and "Combat School" on Military History.

Right now they're sitting through hell and I'm in heaven. Funny how that works :D.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Family are at midnight mass at the moment. I'm here with a cold beer, the internet and "Combat School" on Military History.

Right now they're sitting through hell and I'm in heaven. Funny how that works :D.

You're on boards instead of fapping? Madness. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

You're on boards instead of fapping? Madness. :pac:

Done and dusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

AH is my Midnight Madness every night ..........I mean Mass every night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Jess16 wrote: »
    Feck off and leave us alone more like. Non-believers don't tend to litter society with indigenous holidays, icons and architecture in the way that God botherers do. Nor do we have consistent weekly meetups in designated buildings that help us feel exclusive and right. And even if we did, we wouldn't arrogantly dismiss our rivals as mere X-Box apostles

Yeah. Well you're going to HELL, xbox bitch. We'll leave you alone there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Lads i counted 90 candles in my mass it was ****in class i tried to count the people but i kept losin count :( Class mass all the same communion tasted daycent.

Classmas, better than Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

MagicSean wrote: »
    I'm getting really sick of people giving out about having to go to mass at Christmas because the mammy is making them. I'm talkin about people in their late twenties.

Just don't ****ing go if you don't want to. Grow a pair.

no offence magic sean, but turning down mass on Christmas is like stabbing your mother in the heart.

Ya sure, I know what happens. Jesus is born, its like watching friends repeats. I don't want to do it, but **** it, if it keeps the peace, then why not. plus I get free unleavened bread.

fookin love free bread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The main reason I hate midnight mass is because it is the biggest congregation of nosey people on the planet. I know all atheists will bring up the usual "they're all nosey idiots" stereotype but I genuinely feel uncomfortable when I see people all around me turning their head around exorcism style to see if their neighbour/friend is in attendance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

That rolleyes smiley is really handy, isn't it? It tells you a lot about the people who use it straight away.

Yeah, it does. Normally law-abiding people who don't condone pricks interrupting religious services. Personally, I would have given him a slap on the jaw. Idiot.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Yeah, it does. Normally law-abiding people who don't condone pricks interrupting religious services. Personally, I would have given him a slap on the jaw. Idiot.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Wow, a keyboard warrior, you don't see many of them around here.

Yeah. Well you're going to HELL, xbox bitch. We'll leave you alone there.

Promise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Wow, a keyboard warrior, you don't see many of them around here.

Your story quoted below was pretty obnoxious in all fairness.

What is simply wrong with people tolerating eachother and leaving things at that.

The anti-theistic bravado posts in After Hours are starting to get tiresome, and hopefully most reasonable people will see that before long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

philologos wrote: »

What is simply wrong with people tolerating eachother and leaving things at that.

The anti-theistic bravado posts in After Hours are starting to get tiresome, and hopefully most reasonable people will see that before long.

Now hey hey hey! I was baptised a Roman Catholic. I didn't start this thread to be atheist or anything of the sort. I just couldn't get my head around the thrill of Midnight Mass.

I'll admit I do not practice anymore but I certainly did for a good 16 years and have no problems with other people's faith. I just don't see the appeal anymore and have never seen the appeal of a mass held at 9pm and calling it Midnight (I know it was held at midnight at some point in time but had to be scrapped because of drunks).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hellfire and damnation.

http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/news/9439055.Mass_brawl_at_Christmas_service/
    Midnight Mass at Southampton's St Edmund's Church stopped after fight

A CHRISTMAS church service had to be halted when a mass fight broke out.
    Chairs were thrown as men punched each other in front of up to 400 shocked onlookers.
    Father Vincent Harvey, the priest at St Edmund’s Church in The Avenue, Southampton, was forced to stop the midnight Mass service until the police arrived.
    A steward received hand injuries when he tried to stop one man throwing a metal chair down an aisle.
    The Mass was eventually able to continue after a 20 minute break because of the alcohol-fuelled fight.
    Police arrested three men in or near the church on suspicion of public order offences.
    The trio - all from Southampton and aged 24, 27 and 31 - were held overnight for questioning at Southampton Central police station but later released on bail, pending further investigations.
    All three must report back to police on Friday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

All the one's in my fam with kids went, its not at midnight anymore and it has become part of xmas.

I don't particularly see anything wrong with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

InkSlinger67: Firstly I'm not a Roman Catholic myself and never have been. Secondly and I'm referring to Kevin Duffy's story which I quoted, it sickens me that people would be so obnoxious about their non-belief.

philologos wrote: »

In your opinion. As it happens, he was a píssed up 16/17 year old made to go to mass. Maybe untwist your knickers a bit.