Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

if u must go to the cinema, try at least a week after a film comes out, and early in the morning to lunchtime. Hopefully it's too early for the kids. But damn, it's annoying as hell when some tweens decide to add their own brand of comedy or start having a chat......that's really the people's fault, not the cinema lol.

it'll just drive you one step closer to getting a projector :D well it does me anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I must admit there's nothing better than going to a children's film and halfway through it some dickhead will start booing. Is this only a Galway thing? I'd expect it to be common in Dublin.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

The most I want in crowd interaction in the cinema is laughter at bits that are funny. Last time I went to the cinema was for the last Harry Potter movie, and I had to listen to three moronic kids at the start talk about how they only read the last few pages to find out who died :mad: Irritating hearing them ask was a pixie supposed to be Dobby, the painting of Dumbledore's sister Moaning Myrtle, or who Bill and Fleur were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I must admit there's nothing better than going to a children's film and halfway through it some dickhead will start booing. Is this only a Galway thing? I'd expect it to be common in Dublin.

Worse is when you get to a cinema, nobody is their which is lovely as you should be free to enjoy the film in absolute peace, and then a couple of others enter and have a full blown conversation forgetting their are other people their:(

Worse was united 93...

" Jaysus, I remember where I was when the towers went down etc..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Worse is when you get to a cinema, nobody is their which is lovely as you should be free to enjoy the film in absolute peace, and then a couple of others enter and have a full blown conversation forgetting their are other people their :(

Yeah when every seat in the Room is empty and someone comes in and sits beside you and tries to talk to you. Or when people eat loud at quite moments, making aing,aing,aing noises like a hungry dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

When people started signing along to Michael Jackson songs in the 'This Is It' movie, that was a real 'What the f*ck are you doing?!' moment for me.

Anyway I think we should combat this cinema-annoyance by implementing our brand of wrestling chants into movies.

Such as when we get an amazing action scene or swerve, that calls for a "Holy $hit, holy $hit" moment.

When the villain/heel of the movie is shooting the good guy and repeatedly misses, then we chant "You f*cked up, you f*cked up".

Or if the good guy of the movie has taken a dozen gun shots to the body but is miraculously still walking and fighting, that is a definite "Let's go Cena, Cena sucks"

A 8 match ban for Suarez I am f*cking gutted. He'll miss the 3 City games now without Lucas they were very hard without Suarez its impossible. I've got a sickening feeling that Terry is going to get a lighter ban even if their is evidence of him.
    4th is gone too unless Andy Carroll goes on a Goal scoring run.....more of a chance of Lesnar outstriking Cigano in stand up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

GTR63 wrote: »
    A 8 match ban for Suarez I am f*cking gutted. He'll miss the 3 City games now without Lucas they were very hard without Suarez its impossible. I've got a sickening feeling that Terry is going to get a lighter ban even if their is evidence of him.
    4th is gone too unless Andy Carroll goes on a Goal scoring run.....more of a chance of Lesnar outstriking Cigano in stand up.

Thing is, with Terry, there's video evidence so it's gotta be higher than an 8 match ban.

He's English captain and will get a softer ban and charity work or some **** like that. Steve Kean is getting some amount of heat at the moment Hbk in Canada has nothing on it but the Bolton fans are acting like smarks chanting "there is only one Keano".

I figure the FA have strong Ghanaian ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭Ridley

That's very understandable though. People go on planes who are frightened to **** of dying so their relief is met with applause for the pilot. People make a massive deal out of nothing for that IMO.

Should replace it with everyone lining up to say

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Well oxegen is gone! For 2012 at least, I dunno if they really will bring it back in 2013 though!

Who cares, ive stopped going to oxegen the past 2 years, its too much of a scum hole with shít weather.

Yeah, I wouldn't consider Oxegen anymore, a wretched hive of scum and villainy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

Never went to oxygen, thankfully. Although I was planning on going to see Jay z only for the girlfriend decided to get pregnant.

I havn't got a problem with the 'happy clappers' at the end of a long flight, it's a respectful way of showing your appreciation and saying thanks to not only the pilots but also the stewardesses for taking care of you for the last several hours.

Don't really get why people do it on a 45 minute Ryanair flight to the UK though. I would prefer if everyone just shouted 'baaa baaa' at the way that they shepherd us across like a flock of sheep.

Liverpool are wearing shirts in support of Suarez tonite, white t shirts even Dalglish who looks every hour of 60 in it. They are really backing him so a appeal and a load of controversy to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

He's English captain and will get a softer ban and charity work or some **** like that. Steve Kean is getting some amount of heat at the moment Hbk in Canada has nothing on it but the Bolton fans are acting like smarks chanting "there is only one Keano".

That just won't happen. They banned Rio causing him to miss a tournament for something far less serious. His ban will be longer than the Suarez one, he will be stripped of the captaincy and he might not play for them again (or at least for a while) if found guilty in court.

Oxegen rarely ever had anybody I'd be interested in seeing. Couple that with the scumbaggery and that's why I always gave it a miss. Foo Fighters were one of the first headliners at it I would actually want to see. I'd rather be poked in the eye by Wade Barrett than see Jay Z or Eminem.

Goodfellas is on Tg4 in about half a hour, great film. I won't miss oxegen never went or wanted to go. Don't talk to me about Liverpool's result, fu*king useless comes to mind.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Yeah, can't say I'd miss Oxegen either. Went once for a day, and only saw 2 bands, Rage Against The Machine and Flogging Molly.

Liverpool are wearing shirts in support of Suarez tonite, white t shirts

Wonder if Man United will wear black t-shirts in support of Evra :D

Went a few years ago and enjoyed the acts i seen although I forgot who they were.:oIts to much of a knacker fest so no matter who they booked I had no interest in ever returning. The one concern all the knackers will flood Electric Picnic instead:(

Charisteas wrote: »
    Wonder if Man United will wear black t-shirts in support of Evra :D

I'm stunned that more at Utd haven't come out to back him up. I have to laugh at Sky though Terry is being investigated for allegations when even the blind know he's guilty. Liverpool are putting their back against the wall defending him i'm expecting Kenny to do a slideshow like in Father Ted "Luis Suarez NOT A RACIST" flashing up in between pics of him watching the Karate Kid, Fresh Prince of Bel Air and the African Cup of Nations.

Was thinking of heading to Oxygen last year to see the Foos and Doves but the stories alone put me off and I'd prefer to have kidneys without stab marks in them.

The racism thread in the soccer forum may be the worst thread in the history of boards.:(

Rjd2 wrote: »
    The racism thread in the soccer forum may be the worst thread in the history of boards.:(

I hear this kind of thing every so often. Makes me glad PW boards is an exemplary forum. Definitely a crasser crowd outside the squared circle ;) These kind of hot-topic debates should be done with your mates or with users you know well, not a free-for-all imo

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I hear this kind of thing every so often. Makes me glad PW boards is an exemplary forum. Definitely a crasser crowd outside the squared circle ;) These kind of hot-topic debates should be done with your mates or with users you know well, not a free-for-all imo

Aye the incident is actually a basis for a fascinating debate but when it turns into a pissing contest and free for all for more disruptive posters (on both sides) then it highlights why the internet can let itself down.

We had something similar with Kane threads a few years ago, good times indeed, no crack for Fozzy who was moderating it though!:pac:

Soccer forum is ridiculous. All the bans and uptight posters really put me off posting there but at the same time there's a few sane heads over there.

Aye, our very own Fla, Gimmick,Parker, Bh don't disgrace themselves to much over their.:p

I hate the majority of the soccer forum with a passion the amount of people that just act the prick more or less is staggering, thats why I haven't joined it. If it happened here I wouldn't be on boards (thankfully it doesn't). How have I not noticed Chelsea's physio before Eva Carneiro (thanks google) another GTR tv crush.

I agree about the soccer forum. I'm a huge football fan but hate posting over there because every little thing turns into an argument.

I'm a united fan but I have a Juventus sig because (I hate using the term "2nd team") but juventus would be my 2nd team and the lads that post in the Serie A thread are fine so if i do ever post its only there I do it but if you post in a PL thread its just ridiculous all the arguing.