Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭Pentecost

[justsaying] The X Factor is very **** but I really want both Geordies in Little Mix. They're too young for me really but they're just gorgeous. [/justsaying]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

And in non X factor related news I did 12 pubs last night and am paying for it today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

And in non X factor related news I did 12 pubs last night and am paying for it today

I'm suffering with you brother beag. I feel like crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

seriously ropey myself. Doing the twelve toilets this morning.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Im doing it next friday and then in work at 10.30am the next day :mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Was at a 20th last night, so stomach is kinda iffy too.. And going to a welcoming home party tonight in Galway, and then another on Sunday.. This'll be a long weekend :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

yeah well im dying sick and have to work tommorow despite it being Sunday and handle 50ish near 4yr old kids infront of their parents during their christmas concert, forehead feels like its burning & cant sleep as ive been passing out all they and now finally feel semi awake and its already officially sunday here... so off to boards to hopefully get drowsy again, what id give to be hungover on a Saturday pre football etc in Ireland right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

My brothers birthday was there during the week I drank for the first time this year and I was dying the next morning. I didn't even drink that much, i'm giving up the drink in the new year for good. Had a terrible dream too Cameron Diaz came into my room asking for a pair of socks, I didn't get it either. Now back to Jericho's book the Fozzy parts are tedious to get through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I went out last night and spent feck all money and woke up this morning early enough with no hassle.
    :cool::cool::cool:

CMpunked wrote: »
    I went out last night and spent feck all money and woke up this morning early enough with no hassle.
    :cool::cool::cool:

It must be lonely up there on your high horse. Only joking any more late nites with me will have to involve women or watching wrestling & ufc.

GTR63 wrote: »
    It must be lonely up there on your high horse.

Yeah. It is. :o
    But no, had to head out to a friends "back for christmas night out", but with feck all money cos of christmas next week and being put back on the dole and waiting for that to come through, it was a lot shorter of a night than it usually is. :(

CMpunked wrote: »
    But no, had to head out to a friends "back for christmas night out", but with feck all money cos of christmas next week and being put back on the dole and waiting for that to come through, it was a lot shorter of a night than it usually is. :(

I'm skint after Christmas too. Have to pick up a tv for my mum with my brother early next week. After buying that I have €10 to my name,€5 of that is going on Power Slam next friday. Maybe something will be on tv over christmas.....NO CHANCE.

Have to go shopping today but also have to watch the rest of the World Club Cup final to see if Neymar scores, watch QPR-United while watching Munster-Llanelli, watch Villa-Liverpool, watch the City match, flick through the Patriots match and watch some Napoli-Roma.

I was somehow expecting Pele to turn up at the award cerimony at the Club World Cup in a CM Punk "best in the world" t-shirt and give Messi a dvd of all his goals. Yeah he'd have the cheek to put in the overhead kick in escape to victory. Barca looked to be a few steps up from Santos on what I seen.

Very proud to be part of a forum that judges a man not on his colour, race, age or political past but on his hurling allegiances solely. God bless you all!

Poor Kim and 2012 is going to be our year. Senior, Minor, U21, Club and Camogie. **** the football. I was flicking through the movie channels earlier was shocked at what I seen Kunis and Portman up to in The Black Swan.

Mila Kunis would be more of the camogie woman herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭Pentecost

GTR63 wrote: »
    Poor Kim and 2012 is going to be our year. Senior, Minor, U21, Club and Camogie. **** the football. I was flicking through the movie channels earlier was shocked at what I seen Kunis and Portman up to in The Black Swan.

When I saw that the first time I was so shocked I had to rewind and watch it several more times just to be sure I saw what I saw..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Why oh why do people bring screaming kids and babies in buggys out shopping especially into small already crowded shops :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Why oh why do people bring screaming kids and babies in buggys out shopping especially into small already crowded shops :(

I doubt they brought them screaming. Some kids are just brats. My little gal can be bribed with white chocolate buttons. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,732 ✭✭✭✭Penn

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Real question is, why do people bring young children to the cinema to see a film the children will have absolutely no interest in and have no hope of sitting down and being quiet for 2 hours and letting everyone else enjoy the film?

Went to see Sherlock Holmes 2 on Sunday. Woman sat behind me with her 5 year old son who would not shut the **** up. Kept getting annoyed his mother wasn't giving him attention. Kept playing on the steps. Made his mother take him to the toilet twice in the space of 20 minutes, then 5 minutes later started screaming that he had to go again because he needed to do a poo "THE POO IS COMING, MAMMY!" (which was actually kinda funny). Kicked my chair a few times though the mother made him stop just before I went to turn round and get her to make him stop. And was just a general pain in the hole throughout.

Get a babysitter, or don't go to the cinema. That's the choice you made when you let that man impregnate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

How about "I have to deal with this brat, so everyone else should too"? :pac: The cinema = their babysitter (but :mad:...:p)

Going to a crowded store shopping right before Xmas = c'mon, don't be a bollox! That said, I don't have kids so I don't know how difficult it is to sort out stuff like this.

Amazon and Adverts sorted out Xmas presents for me this year :) No lines, cheaper prices, you just have to wait a week!

A woman's water broke in TK Maxx yesterday. I love a good reason to stand around in a circle of onlookers but I wasn't going to lose my place in the queue.

In regards to the cinema I said I'd never go again after this new craze of clapping and shouting at the screen caught on in Galwayland. What's all that about???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,732 ✭✭✭✭Penn

A woman's water broke in TK Maxx yesterday. I love a good reason to stand around in a circle of onlookers but I wasn't going to lose my place in the queue.

In regards to the cinema I said I'd never go again after this new craze of clapping and shouting at the screen caught on in Galwayland. What's all that about???

Christmas Eve last year a heavily pregnant woman tried to skip the queue in front of me at Smyths. I'd just started growing a beard at that point and had suddenly become very manly, so I told her to f*ck off and get to the back of the queue. Didn't even care she was carrying heavy toys. If she hadn't tried skipping ahead of me, I may have let her in anyway. But f*ck that. You try to skip the queue, your pregnant arse is going to the back

As for the cinema, only came across clapping once, which was at the end of the last Harry potter, so since it was mostly kids (afternoon showing on a Sunday), I let it slide. Haven't seen it anywhere else though. That would annoy me though. Who are you clapping for? The people who made the film aren't there, so you're just clapping the projectionist, who didn't do anything in particular except 'not f*ck up'. I like to imagine these people going home and clapping at their tv at the end of every programme or advert.

Its galway... ;)

But you know when your on a plane and people start clapping when you touch ground? That kinda annoys me.

"Oh, we didnt crash! Yayy!"
    That IS the pilots job?! I never get to my destination in a taxi and shake the drivers hand for a job well done!

That's very understandable though. People go on planes who are frightened to **** of dying so their relief is met with applause for the pilot. People make a massive deal out of nothing for that IMO.

I was on a flight once where it was nearing that time, and a bunch of lads started whistling and chanting "We love the pilot, we do!"
    I think they could have been taking the piss. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I've been on planes where it's a bumpy landing, and the pilot gets a sarcastic applause. Another time with Ryanair's self-pat-on-the-back with "we've arrived ahead of schedule" announcement. Oh, is that why the flight from Dublin to London is scheduled for 2 hours? Cowboys.

Sure there isn't an American infestation in Galway cinemas? It's like that scene in Scary Movie 2 over there!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I've only seen that once, when I went to see the last Batman film. That said, I was in America, so maybe it's more common over there. Anyway, it was the scene where it's revealed
    Gordon isn't dead; he pulls off the mask to reveal he's alive
    and when that happened, the entire cinema erupted into applause and whoops of celebration. Was so surreal.

I've only seen that once, when I went to see the last Batman film. That said, I was in America, so maybe it's more common over there. Anyway, it was the scene where it's revealed
    Gordon isn't dead; he pulls off the mask to reveal he's alive
    and when that happened, the entire cinema erupted into applause and whoops of celebration. Was so surreal.

God that is so sappy and innocent. I remember people roared with Laughter in Galway in LOTR: ROTK when Legolas killed a elephant thingy and Gimli quipped "That still only counts as 1". Who are these idiots infesting the Cinema on a regular basis. I never go there anymore but i'll have to swallow my pride and lower myself by going in to see The Dark Knight Rises next year. As for the plane rides I remember a rocky landing and the pilot played a little diddley diddley do after it to break the tension, it worked.