Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

cant wait for the irish players getting lads banned for being called a paddy or a mick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

K-9 wrote: »
    #15 wrote: »
    There is no chance that I am going searching for all the old articles. If you missed the articles in the papers, the LFC statement on their website after the game, the Suarez interview, the quotes from Dalglish on the case, etc., then fair enough.

The Suarez interview was in the S. American press, nothing to do with Liverpool. Any Kenny interviews were just Liverpool defending the player when asked about it.

Apparently Kenny backing the players appeal is disgraceful. Jaysus, I wouldn't want to be in court on a serious charge with some of ye commenting on it!

I wouldn't call it disgraceful. I'd call Kenny a hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Nuttzz wrote: »
    cant wait for the irish players getting lads banned for being called a paddy or a mick...

All jokes aside that's the can of worms the FA are opening up tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

amiable wrote: »
    It was mentioned earlier but i thought it would be worth another mention.

Vote Suarez

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11096/7388855/Player-of-2011

I saw this earlier on RAWK, and honestly, I think its childish to just vote for a player because he plays for your club. Van Pierse IMO has been better this calender year
    Iang87 wrote: »
    why should he? Suarez wasn't.

Because two wrongs don't make a right. Just because the treatment Suarez received from the media and fans prior to being found guilty was wrong, does not mean others should be subjected to the same abuse or prejudice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

J. Marston wrote: »
    Here's the link to his Twitter. Now, pay very close attention and read what it says at the top of the page....

Mario

Is the joke that its not actually his twitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Actually, it's worse than that....generic insults should now result in 4 game bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Wow just wow. Just got in home about 20 minutes ago, logged on and saw the news for the first time.

Still somewhat stunned by it. Spotted a slickric post about 15 or 20 pages back as I skimmed this thread that pretty much sums up my initial reaction to the news.
    Terry had better be banned now.

fair enough, the FA felt they had to take a stand on this issue, but what better way to make a stand than to also ban the England captain.

i won't be holding my breath.

i accept the decision...i still think it's harsh. i don't think it was meant maliciously, i think it was a stupid moment from Suarez. but now he'll be labelled a racist, and taunted horrendously around England after this.

i hope the FA are absolutely sure Suarez deserved a ban. i know there are laws to abide, which is why i will accept the decision, but Suarez will have to live with this tag for a long, long time, so he better have deserved it.

Huge decision by the FA, and if it is genuinely the right decision, then I can only applaud them, however they have now set a precedent so I hope they stick to the standard they have now set for themselves.

Still think that this case has legs though and that the appeal may led to some attempt to bring a case before the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The Suarez interview was in the S. American press, nothing to do with Liverpool. Any Kenny interviews were just Liverpool defending the player when asked about it he didn't drip feed information and said no comment a couple of times. If you want to interpret that as drip feeding, well you can, its bull though. Thats 2 posters making these type of claims and no back up, I call bull****.

Apparently Kenny backing the players appeal is disgraceful. Jaysus, I wouldn't want to be in court on a serious charge with some of ye commenting on it!

The one comment I remember from Kenny over the course of the case is "We wouldn't like to prejudice anything"....some people will see things however they want though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Even after suarez was found guilty, people are still trying to defend him. The committee deliberated long and hard and took their time but still decided he is guilty. As the great rafa would say "FACT";)

You of all people are in no position to criticise biased posting.

If Suarez was found not guilty, would you immediately assume that Evra had lied, or would you wait to see whether it was found in the report that he had lied, or if it was simply unproven?

A rational person would certainly wait to to read the findings of the report before jumping to conclusions. Similarly, that's what certain people are doing regarding Suarez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,870 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

The FA have to await the outcome of the police investigation , if he is charged they will then have to wait for the court case ,

If he isnt charged by the CPS its more than likely the FA wont be able to charge him either

Sure there is different rules for the FA he broke their rules so should be charged no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

I'm not joking, any player who either isnt white or is born outside England is could have a field day with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Le King wrote: »
    I wouldn't call it disgraceful. I'd call Kenny a hypocrite.

Hypocritical about what?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Kess73 wrote: »
    Wow just wow. Just got in home about 20 minutes ago, logged on and saw the news for the first time.

Still somewhat stunned by it. Spotted a slickric post about 15 or 20 pages back as I skimmed this thread that pretty much sums up my initial reaction to the news.

Huge decision by the FA, and if it is genuinely the right decision, then I can only applaud them, however they have now set a precedent so I hope they stick to the standard they have now set for themselves.

Still think that this case has legs though and that the appeal may led to some attempt to bring a case before the courts.

This and SlickRic's posts are the two most intelligent and rational posts from any fans by a country mile on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Nuttzz wrote: »

That is not racism.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Actually, it's worse than that....generic insults should now result in 4 game bans.

You're assuming its 4 for the personal insult and 4 for the racial insult. I don't think it states that. It could be 1+7.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

You're assuming its 4 for the personal insult and 4 for the racial insult. I don't think it states that. It could be 1+7.

The FA rules are quite clear.

4 games for abuse & ban doubled for making reference to race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

tommyhaas wrote: »
    You of all people are in no position to criticise biased posting.

If Suarez was found not guilty, would you immediately assume that Evra had lied, or would you wait to see whether it was found in the report that he had lied, or if it was simply unproven?

A rational person would certainly wait to to read the findings of the report before jumping to conclusions. Similarly, that's what certain people are doing regarding Suarez

No, people are automatically jumping to suarez's defence and still trying to blame evra for it. The liverpool club statement was a disgusting bile filled load of rubbish. I initially felt it was too harsh a punishment based on the earlier discussions here but after reading the clubs official statement i hope he appeals and gets a further 10 games on top of what he got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Hypocritical about what?

he said whoever was found guilty should have the book thrown at them or something to that effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Technique

Where's the Liverpool fans' famous sense of humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

briankettle Not Brian Kettle

Since Suarez wasn't "racist" - just made "a reference to Mr Evra's colour" - then anyone who calls Kuyt "very pale beige" is in big trouble.

killwill wrote: »
    That is not racism.

It is however making reference to nationality/ethnicity, which is the same as race in the FA's rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

That is not racism.

It appears to fall under the same rule that Suarez was charged with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭anirishlad

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16262537.stm

Probably the most revered figure in the history of Uruguayan football is Obdulio Varela, captain of the side that won the World Cup in 1950. His nickname was "El Negro Jefe" - the black boss.

Among Suarez's team-mates these days is Maxi Pereira, who is known as "El Mono" - the monkey. It is a nickname which, apparently, is given and accepted with no offence meant or taken. It appears to be used in the same spirit that Alvaro Fernandez is called "El Flaco", which means skinny.

Looks like suarez was just so used to using the word in a non-offensive way to black people in uruguay that it just came out naturally.

That is not racism.

Its considered a slur on Irish nationals, not quite racism but its seen as a no no, bit like you British bastard. "You South American" is hardly a term of endearment now, especially in the context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Technique wrote: »
    Where's the Liverpool fans' famous sense of humour?

Awright Awright :pac:

anirishlad wrote: »
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16262537.stm

Probably the most revered figure in the history of Uruguayan football is Obdulio Varela, captain of the side that won the World Cup in 1950. His nickname was "El Negro Jefe" - the black boss.

Among Suarez's team-mates these days is Maxi Pereira, who is known as "El Mono" - the monkey. It is a nickname which, apparently, is given and accepted with no offence meant or taken. It appears to be used in the same spirit that Alvaro Fernandez is called "El Flaco", which means skinny.

Looks like suarez was just so used to using the word in a non-offensive way to black people in uruguay that it just came out naturally.

Unfortunately over here racism is taken a bit more seriously. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭Paleface

My girlfriend is Peruvian and she says it's common for them to call people negro in a non racial manner.

If thats what was said it would be impossible however to determine if Suarez was being sincere or not in this case.

I'm guessing the FA took the moral high ground so as not to open a can of worms and allow negro to become a common phrase in a country where is is not a social nuance.

Paleface wrote: »
    My girlfriend is Peruvian and she says it's common for them to call people negro in a non racial manner.

If thats what was said it would be impossible however to determine if Suarez was being sincere or not in this case.

I'm guessing the FA took the moral high ground so as not to open a can of worms and allow negro to become a common phrase in a country where is is not a social nuance.

kryogen wrote: »
    he said whoever was found guilty should have the book thrown at them or something to that effect

He has a right to appeal or do you have an issue with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Be interesting what neutral fans think of this actually, what say ye?