Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

#15 wrote: »
    That's a good point, and stands in stark contrast to the drip feeding of the media that has come out of Anfield over the last few weeks.

When the negrito story came out, it did seem as if the story came from Liverpool, however if its a case that the negrito claim was untrue, its unlikely that it was Liverpool drip feeding the media
    This talk of Evra getting punished for "abusing" Suarez is really bottom of the barrel stuff. There is no evidence that what he said went beyond the typical football banter, referring to a South American as a South American isn't racist.

Nor is referring to a black person as a black person. Isolated, its descriptive, however as part of an insult, it quickly becomes a racial insult. The accusation is that Suarez abused Evra and made reference to his
    ethnic origin and/or colour and/or race. If Evra abused Suarez and made the above reference, he could surely be guilty of a similar charge

I'm not saying Evra should be charged now, obviously the facts are yet to emerge so any opinion is hearsay
    ASOT wrote: »
    Balotelli: The FA are willing to ban someone based on one persons claim, with no video evidence? In that case, the whole ManU squad racially abused me.

Is that an actual quote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Liverpool should have suspended him when it was 1st announced, ban would nearly be up.

Not suspending them, makes them look like eejits.

suspending him means the club admit he's guilty. What hope would he have at the FA if the club said we think he's guilty maybe you guys dont so maybe we can replay the 8 games we sat him if ye find him innocent.

How to be insulting without getting an infraction?????

Stupid post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

flahavaj wrote: »
    Credit to Evra for stating "I do not think Suarez is racist." A better man than many gave him credit for in heree when he was being called a liar and all sorts.

The ban is longer than I ever thought they'd dish out, but it is unacceptable to bring skin colour into a heated argument in a game already full of bad feeling.

Delighted Liverpool will be missing their best player for so long tbh, no point in pretending otherwise. Throw in a likely two game ban for the Fulham incident and its a lovely early Christmas present for the Flah.:pac: His stupidity and ignorance is costing his club dear. Not sure why more liverpool fans aren't raging with him to be perfectly honest, their season could be in tatters.

Very true. Their already slim hopes of finishing in the top 4 are well and truly under threat.

The only player on their team with a bit of spark is gone. I suppose Andy will get a run now which could also reap more woe to their aspiration of finishing top four.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

bohsman wrote: »
    This sets a massive precedence for the Terry case. But hey, feel free to accuse to FA of being racist instead.

Will the FA be handing Terry a ban in addition to whatever actions he receives from the police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Credit to Evra for stating "I do not think Suarez is racist." A better man than many gave him credit for in heree when he was being called a liar and all sorts.

The ban is longer than I ever thought they'd dish out, but it is unacceptable to bring skin colour into a heated argument in a game already full of bad feeling.

Delighted Liverpool will be missing their best player for so long tbh, no point in pretending otherwise. Throw in a likely two game ban for the Fulham incident and its a lovely early Christmas present for the Flah.:pac: His stupidity and ignorance is costing his club dear. Not sure why more liverpool fans aren't raging with him to be perfectly honest, their season could be in tatters.

Very true. Their already slim hopes of finishing in the top 4 are well and truly under threat.

The only player on their team with a bit of spark is gone. I suppose Andy will get a run now which could also reap more woe to their aspiration of finishing top four.

ah, now your motives become clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

suarez didn't get off the bench against chelsea at the bridge only a few weeks ago and liverpool were very comfortable, liverpool will still create a ton of chances with or without suarez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Can't believe they let someone from RAWK write that LFC Club Statement. ****in' hell. :pac:

paddy978 wrote: »
    Cant stop laughing at the hyocripsity of Liverpool and its fans tonight. Fans on here ****e talking about innocent until proven guilty, but yet a Club Statement going on about previous false accusations by Evra. Does he not deserve the right to be innocent until proven gulity also?

why should he? Suarez wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Why would you suspend someone for something you believe them to be innocent of?
    Iang87 wrote: »
    suspending him means the club admit he's guilty. What hope would he have at the FA if the club said we think he's guilty maybe you guys dont so maybe we can replay the 8 games we sat him if ye find him innocent.

How to be insulting without getting an infraction?????

Stupid post

He was guilty the minute he said "i said little negrito" didnt take a genius to figure that out. If pool had of acted they wouldnt have to miss him for the next 8 games. By not acting they look like a club that accepts "little negrito" ....ah sures its fine.....

The stupid posts are the "racist liverpool fans" as thats what every other clubs fans are going to call you now. Well not you lot here but the ones in Liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Iang87 wrote: »
    why should he? Suarez wasn't.
    Have you all the info the FA has?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Will the FA be handing Terry a ban in addition to whatever actions he receives from the police?

The FA have to await the outcome of the police investigation , if he is charged they will then have to wait for the court case ,

If he isnt charged by the CPS its more than likely the FA wont be able to charge him either

He was guilty the minute he said "i said little negrito" didnt take a genius to figure that out. If pool had of acted they wouldnt have to miss him for the next 8 games. By not acting they look like a club that accepts "little negrito" ....ah sures its fine.....

The stupid posts are the "racist liverpool fans" as thats what every other clubs fans are going to call you now. Well not you lot here but the ones in Liverpool.

I personally felt that a man who's lived in an english speaking country for 10 months of his life at the time of the incident may have been given the benefit of the doubt and maybe liverpool thought the same I dont know.

also i couldn't give a balls what other fans call liverpool fans. Everyone else calls united fans wánkers, doesn't seem to bother them too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I'd say the ban will get reduced. 4 of the games will most likely be domestic cup games. Might only miss 2 Prem games.

Added to that is the fact he is looking very tired lately. His self imposed winter break might do him good!

Plus so long as the club protest his innocence the fans will remain with him. The clubs protects its asset. Everyone is a winner. Including Evra, who finally gets one to stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

The 2008 racism accusations between Evra and Chelsea's groundstaff when this same FA said about that case - "we find Mr. Evra's account exaggerated and unreliable".

Go figure, eh? And now it appears they've convicted Suarez on his word alone. :pac:

The FA are a right bunch of you know whats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Because as of yet, its unclear whether or not his guilt has been determined on the basis of Evra's word alone

If its a case that the negrito story is true, then I would blame Suarez for the ban and not the FA. Even if at best it was a genuine mistake, it was his mistake. He lives in a country where those type of word's in the context of an insult are unacceptable. It may have been a misunderstanding, but the fact is that whether intentionally or not, he crossed a line and though it may seem severe if it were unintentional, the law has to be upheld

Hopefully the publication of the report will clear up these details

Tried to google 'balotelli tweet'

Got a link to fb, where upon clicking am greeted with 'This content is currently unavailable'

Nice one big brother, any chance we can get a bit of free speech for the new year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Was anything mentioned about Evra's alleged comments to the ref in the statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭anirishlad

So what did suarez say?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

brilliant club statement, agree with every word of it

not too bothered by this, it's a great chance for Liverpool to go to the courts and humiliate the FA as the incompetent bunch of agenda-driven tossers they are

I have little doubt the FA will squirm and squeal and offer to reduce the ban on appeal in the hope that Liverpool won't expose their waferthin case at a high profile international court, if I was Liverpool I'd tell them to go eff themselves and take the case to the CAS unless the full 8 games are retracted and Suarez gets an apology for the damage done to his reputation

8 game ban for "insulting" language (their words) based on the evidence of one man who has been previously discredited and who himself indulged in insulting language

lol i could prosecute this case myself with my Arts degree

go on liverpool, tear the FA to tatters - it'll be like shooting ducks in a barrel and there'll be no woodwork hit this time, just lots of reddened squirming FA faces as their flimsy agenda-driven wafer-thin ill-conceived case is exposed and obliterated - i look forward to it

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Was anything mentioned about Evra's alleged comments to the ref in the statement?

no not in either statement. I think its just idle paper talk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

donfers wrote: »
    brilliant club statement, agree with every word of it

not too bothered by this, it's a great chance for Liverpool to go to the courts and humiliate the FA as the incompetent bunch of agenda-driven tossers they are

I have little doubt the FA will squirm and squeal and offer to reduce the ban on appeal in the hope that Liverpool won't expose their waferthin case at a high profile international court, if I was Liverpool I'd tell them to go eff themselves and take the case to the CAS unless the full 8 games are retracted and Suarez gets an apology for the damage done to his reputation

8 game ban for "insulting" language (their words) based on the evidence of one man who has been previously discredited and who himself indulged in insulting language

lol i could prosecute this case myself with my Arts degree

go on liverpool, tear the FA to tatters - it'll be like shooting ducks in a barrel and there'll be no woodwork hit this time, just lots of reddened squirming FA faces as their flimsy agenda-driven wafer-thin ill-conceived case is exposed and obliterated - i look forward to it

It is become ever clearer to me that evolution is a gradual process and one which i am unlikely to see the fruits of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

noodler wrote: »
    It doesn't matter if Kenny, the club or Evra do not feel he is an actual racist.

All that matters is whether or not he made a racist remark.

I'll want to read the report of the commission.

I have been sent off for a physical altercation in a football game before - and the fact I am not an aggressive person shouldn't mean I am not punished for it.

I agree with that. My posts were at people calling him racist, in fairness it was only a couple and the usual suspects.

If Evra did call him "you South American" he should be up for personal abuse, if not racist remarks. He hardly meant it in a nice way. The personal abuse charge is stupid.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Even after suarez was found guilty, people are still trying to defend him. The committee deliberated long and hard and took their time but still decided he is guilty. As the great rafa would say "FACT";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

manual_man wrote: »

Got a link to fb, where upon clicking am greeted with 'This content is currently unavailable'

Nice one big brother, any chance we can get a bit of free speech for the new year?

Here's the link to his Twitter. Now, pay very close attention and read what it says at the top of the page....

Mario

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Very proud of the club tonight with regards the statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

anirishlad wrote: »
    So what did suarez say?

Said he didnt like you

Even after suarez was found guilty, people are still trying to defend him. The committee deliberated long and hard and took their time but still decided he is guilty. As the great rafa would say "FACT";)

I will defend him until the evidence is out then I will stop as it stands all that came out tonight was that "he done it we agree with evra". Well thats the way i'm seeing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭anirishlad

Good thing the world isn't full of sheep then who just believe whatever authorities come out with :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

#15 wrote: »
    There is no chance that I am going searching for all the old articles. If you missed the articles in the papers, the LFC statement on their website after the game, the Suarez interview, the quotes from Dalglish on the case, etc., then fair enough.

The Suarez interview was in the S. American press, nothing to do with Liverpool. Any Kenny interviews were just Liverpool defending the player when asked about it he didn't drip feed information and said no comment a couple of times. If you want to interpret that as drip feeding, well you can, its bull though. Thats 2 posters making these type of claims and no back up, I call bull****.

Apparently Kenny backing the players appeal is disgraceful. Jaysus, I wouldn't want to be in court on a serious charge with some of ye commenting on it!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

J. Marston wrote: »
    manual_man wrote: »

Here's the link to his Twitter. Now, pay very close attention and read what it says at the top of the page....

Mario

Ok. Well thats weird. As is 'whoever it is' havin 25000+ followers

Ah the internet