If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Well done to Brian Reade for donating a kidney to his son Link

Fair play to Brian. Hope all works out well.
    That reminds of the sketch where a guy is looking for credit for feeding his kids or having never been convicted of a crime.

jenno86 wrote: »
    Carroll's £150,000 Loyalty Bonus

So Andy is getting a £150,000 loyalty bonus next month.
    Andy Carroll will pick up a staggering £150,000 loyalty bonus from Liverpool next month despite making only 13 starts since his £35million move from Newcastle.
    Carroll negotiated the windfall, which will be paid in each year of his contract at Anfield, when he signed last January.
    The 22-year-old striker, who has scored only four times for his new club, has a deal worth £60,000 a week basic but he is also paid an additional £10,000 for his image rights and a further £5,000 for each appearance.

Who gives a **** like? If its in his contract, he is entitled to it. Irrespective of anything, it is scratch all in the context of what we paid for him or pay him monthly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

That reminds of the sketch where a guy is looking for credit for feeding his kids or having never been convicted of a crime.

Chris Rock? Better not expand for fear Evra could be reading :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Whose kidneys?

Yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭joe123

Carroll's £150,000 Loyalty Bonus

So Andy is getting a £150,000 loyalty bonus next month.

Jesus that is sickening. And we wouldnt give Meireles a pay increase from 30 grand?? Baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Yours.

I think you spent too long in Turkey after Istanbul '05 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Reserve team V United - Hansen, Flanagan, Wisdom, Sama, Wilson, Roberts, Coady, Suso, Eccleston, Adorjan, Sterling

Subs: Mendy, Belford, Roddan, Silva, Ngoo

Stream - http://www.firstrowsports.tv/watch/97887/1/watch-manchester-united-res-vs-liverpool-res.html

I think we are a good bet with b365 - 7/2. Strong team and reserves have won 5 out of the last six matches.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

joe123 wrote: »
    Jesus that is sickening. And we wouldnt give Meireles a pay increase from 30 grand?? Baffling.

Please stop saying this. Meireles has said its not true.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Please stop saying this. Meireles has said its not true.

Didn't he say that the reason he left wasn't money, as oppose to the club wouldn't give him extra money?

Whatever the truth, you can't honestly expect Meireles to come out and say he only signed for Chelsea because they offered him more then Liverpool would. He was always going to say it wasn't about money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

joe123 wrote: »

He's on a relatively low wage comparably.
    I'm not a big fan of these setups though because I don't like the idea that whether or not someone gets a game/s can be influenced on whether or not it triggers a loyalty payment, same with giving him £5k everytime he plays a game (is that starts or apps?).

But what would I know on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

Who gives a **** like? If its in his contract, he is entitled to it. Irrespective of anything, it is scratch all in the context of what we paid for him or pay him monthly.

Im sure lots of Liverpool fans give a **** actually. Its not enough that he gets paid **** loads for doing fcuk all, but now he gets a bonus for it.

Id rather the money was spent on other things.

Im sure lots of Liverpool fans give a **** actually. Its not enough that he gets paid **** loads for doing fcuk all, but now he gets a bonus for it.

You can't blame Carroll for that. It was the club that decided he was worth that money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Classic. :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Harsh red card for Suso there. Very harsh.

5starpool wrote: »

Disgraceful. When I watching it back the first time I actually thought Pogba could have done more to stop his leg landing on Suso and he was the one getting the red!

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭eigrod

The Manc no. 7 is one cheating bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

tommyhaas wrote: »
    You can't blame Carroll for that. It was the club that decided he was worth that money

Im not blaming him for getting it, Fair play to him. I'm just píssed off he is getting it.

Such a pity for Suso he had been in fantastic form the last few months and started this game really well.

Opr

opr wrote: »
    Such a pity for Suso he had been in fantastic form the last few months and started this game really well.

Opr

He's just turned 18, hasn't he? I know that's still very young, but I really hope it's not another case of Dani Pacheco with him not getting near the first team properly. I'd like to see him introduced as a squad player for some games, although not necessarily playing.

Disgraceful. When I watching it back the first time I actually thought Pogba could have done more to stop his leg landing on Suso and he was the one getting the red!

Opr

Disagree, I think there was intent there and hence he deserved to go. Suso looked up immediately prior to it, and knew what he was doing IMO. Wasn't vicious, nor would it have hurt as he only grazed him, but its still a red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,958 ✭✭✭✭noodler

mormank wrote: »
    No. The point is that you said that Rafa definitely had a grudge against Owen leading to us not signing him on a free. I have said we don't know that is true at all. You have gone on to say no your missing the point and then explain why you or someone else would hold a grudge against him but have zero proof that Rafa did or that it had anything to do with us not singing Owen. Just because you think there is reason to hold a grudge does not prove anything. You are missing the point.

The point was that managers are likely to feel slighted when a player decides to leave in a manner Owen or Torres did.

That is the point. The reason for the initial post.

You going on some rant about about whether or not Owen was worth signing for free on a short-term contract was beside the point.

Whether or not Kenny decides to re-sign Torres will be down to a number of factors. One of those, in my opinion of course, is the way they parted company in the first place.

I once again state it is naive to assume that such a motive would not play a part in the decision just because "its Kenny!"

He's just turned 18, hasn't he? I know that's still very young, but I really hope it's not another case of Dani Pacheco with him not getting near the first team properly. I'd like to see him introduced as a squad player for some games, although not necessarily playing.

Just turned 18 at the end of last month. I am hoping we can maybe persuade Blackpool to take himself or Adorjan to fill the gap left by Shelvey.

Opr

Disagree, I think there was intent there and hence he deserved to go. Suso looked up immediately prior to it, and knew what he was doing IMO. Wasn't vicious, nor would it have hurt as he only grazed him, but its still a red

No one knows apart from Suso whether there was intent. I have watched him for a very long time now and have never seen him lash out. For a guy who is so skillful and takes a serious amount of challenges he never complains and always gets up asap. Seems completely out of character.

Opr

Just turned 18 at the end of last month. I am hoping we can maybe persuade Blackpool to take himself or Adorjan to fill the gap left by Shelvey.

Opr

Sounds like you're handling negotiations personally :pac:

No one knows apart from Suso whether there was intent. I have watched him for a very long time now and have never seen him lash out. For a guy who is so skillful and takes a serious amount of challenges he never complains and always gets up asap. Seems completely out of character.

Opr

Refs, or in this case Linesmen don't know what Suso's form is in this regard is though. While I don't dispute what you say about him, I think it was a fair enough decision by the ref, though I could certainly see the argument either way

The thing that makes it even stranger is the Ref didn't give it. From the distance the linesman is from the incident how he is able to deem it a red card at full match speed is beyond me.

Opr

The thing that makes it even stranger is the Ref didn't give it. From the distance the linesman is from the incident how he is able to deem it a red card at full match speed is beyond me.

Opr

No idea, I had to watch it a few times to form any sort of opinion

Shocking from Wilson there, 3-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,930 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ended 4-0 to ManU.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

It is in his contract.

I bet that you are one of these people who think that bankers should give back their bonuses that the got 5 years ago too?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

It is in his contract.

I bet that you are one of these people who think that bankers should give back their bonuses that the got 5 years ago too?!?
    I'm one of those people.