When is it acceptable/unacceptable to hire a woman/man for their looks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Would you really hire her for her looks though either??
    She's gross imo.

She is now. In her younger days she was an extremely good-looking girl IMO. Natural tits and beautiful eyes. Just my opinion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

We all love a hot colleague but to be honest it's too distracting.

It's the way of the world.

Of course men will go to a pub where there's attractive barstaff, that are single & they think they'll get off with.

Good God, who want's to be served by some retard who can pull the best pint in the world?:rolleyes:

Class Law!

1 You're fortune is in your face.

2 Your attitude determines your altitude.

End of story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No No No! It's because they can chat up a ludicrously attractive member of the opposite sex and not feel in any way rejected. They can laugh about it for the very reason that it's not serious.

And Btw, being able to pull a decent pint does not automatically make one a retard.

You just got lucky.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

... Modeling ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

It still is a meritocracy. People just act like looks aren't a criteria on par with education/experience, being born beautiful (not that id know directly) is equivalent to getting a free masters degree in many situations.

anyway ..... that airline, the middle eastern one, can't think of the name... they seem pretty up front about using women with natural talent as hostesses as they (airline) consider themselves as a distinguished quality airline.
    Shareholders would probably be happy with this policy...so i'd guess they'd consider it one of the times when firmness of ass and symmetry of face is a requirement.

Emirates.

mickrock wrote: »
    In supermarkets I prefer the most attractive checkout girls handling my goods.

If anyone has seen the show "Stacked" with Pamela Anderson, they will know that the premise of the show, and the script, couldn't work unless she is an absolute little belter. Similarly, with Brad Pitt in Thelma and Louise.

I worked in my brother's bar in London and we needed a new barperson. He interviewed a few people with good experience and good references, who, in a meritocracy, should have got the job.

Instead, he gave the job to an absolute little peeler with no experience. Why? Because, lonely gents are more likely to stay longer if there is some eye-candy serving them.

Now don't get me wrong, a good-looking girl with a personality is the grail, (over a much better-looking girl who is stand-offish) , but, when is it acceptable to hire someone for their looks/youth?

Choco

That's the first time I have heard a good looking girl called a Peeler.
    I thought a Peeler was a Policeman (or Policewoman).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

which poses an interesting question, would males be less likely to resist arrest if the arresting officer was a hot female?

mickrock wrote: »
    In supermarkets I prefer the most attractive checkout girls handling my goods.

Have you ever been in the barber's and there are two absolute little peelers, one middle-aged woman (who was obviously a little peeler in her youth, and the only reason you keep going back there, because by the laws of averages,she'll have to do your hair once), and a fat lad.

Who do you get when it's your turn to get your hair cropped?

Take a wild fcuking guess.

There is no God.:mad:

It still is a meritocracy. People just act like looks aren't a criteria on par with education/experience, being born beautiful (not that id know directly) is equivalent to getting a free masters degree in many situations.

anyway ..... that airline, the middle eastern one, can't think of the name... they seem pretty up front about using women with natural talent as hostesses as they (airline) consider themselves as a distinguished quality airline.
    Shareholders would probably be happy with this policy...so i'd guess they'd consider it one of the times when firmness of ass and symmetry of face is a requirement.

Would that not be a crapitalocracy/mediaocracy? Not saying it's wrong, it's just something that I find abhorrent.

Nothing to do with the fact that I'm ugly btw. I love firmness of ass.

Cool username btw chief, I see the good in you father.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

For models, actresses, singers, dancers, sex industry workers etc - it goes with the territory.

For any other roles it's as disgraceful as it is commonplace - with women anyway. There are two sides to it also. Plenty of women fawn and flirt to look for preferential treatment. Plenty of men let a tiny bit of power go to their heads (both of them).

Looks are a factor but there's more to it. Plenty of women are stunning but are respectable enough that they'd never start this kind of dynamic; wouldn't tolerate it if a man tried to start it with them. On the other hand, some women are mediocre-looking or below average but are shameless and fawning enough to manage preferential treatment from susceptible males.

You, sir, are a wordsmith.

I'm renowned for my wordsmithery. You'd want to see me whittle.:pac:

krudler wrote: »
    to be fair Brown Thomas make a point of hiring Oompa Loompas to work on the makeup counters, so its nice a big company has equality like that.

In fairness, I went into BT a couple of years ago, looking for a bottle of perfume for my mam; I asked the "young pretty things" had they any Arpege? They looked at me like I had two heads. The "Oompa Loompa" as you call it, came over, and explained to me that they didn't stock it anymore.

She then asked me, who it was for? Before I had a chance to answer, she asked," Is it for your mother/grandmother/auntie, a classy elderly lady?"

She knew her trade backwards.

She knew it wasn't for my girlfriend, and that I wasn't going to be buying anything if they didn't have it, but she still directed me to the couple of shops who she thought might still stock it. A real classy lady, "OOmpa Loompa" or not.

Choco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

My take on this is youll always find it easier to get work if your more attractive, Yesterday my sister and I went to this charity interview and we had to this sales pitch at the end I personally made a mess of my sale but didnt really give a **** cause I have a job i was there for keeping her company, She rocked hers, The thing is Im considered goodlooking and shes alot better looks wise than me, So while I was waiting to see who got it I was trying to guess whod get a call back there was 10 people in our group and 5 were getting called back so i figured that theyd pick the best ones, i had picked 3 lads and 2 girls one being my sister, Their was 2 girls who were worse than me but were realitvly good looking but i ruled them out cause they werent good at sales. To shorten the story, I got called back and so did the 4 girls even though the 3 lads were far better than me or the 2 girls

"Cabbie. 221b Baker Street! Mr. Sherlock Holmes!"

"And hurry, it's an emergency"

"Right Guv"

\wraps muffler round his neck and whips up the horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Captain McDuck

Happens all the time in the service industry and so it should... who wants to be served by a fat minger?? Male or female??

Proper order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Singapore Airlines also just happen to have preposterously attractive stewardesses. On an economic level, bias in favour of pretty people is understandable, but that doesn't make it okay. Hiring only white people because your clientele is a bit racist might make financial sense, but it's still morally wrong, so what makes looks different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

mackg wrote: »
    which poses an interesting question, would males be less likely to resist arrest if the arresting officer was a hot female?

Yes, we have a female Garda here in Waterford who I would happily break the law to get her handcuffs on me, and if there was a guaranteed way to be sure she was the arresting officer and was going to personally handcuff me and push herself up against me. I would

I may need help however

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Don't think sky sports news would enjoy the same number of viewers if mike and Molly were hosting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I got called for an interview for a job as a stripper once. I applied for a job as a PA to the chief executive of a company and got called for an interview. It turned out it was a company that owned brothels and strip clubs so I rang them back and said I was no longer available for work.

The next day I got a call from a woman saying she had my CV and would I come in for an interview, when I asked again where she was calling from it turns out it was a strip club where the women dressed as mermaids and swim around in tanks. They obviously just passed any female CVs from the parent copmany on to them. I was just really surprised that people put CVs in for a job as a stripper and I was getting a call for an interview with no idea what I looked like! I would have thought that was one job where it really does matter what people look like. I guess they wanted to know my qualifications first :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

watna wrote: »
    I got called for an interview for a job as a stripper once. I applied for a job as a PA to the chief executive of a company and got called for an interview. It turned out it was a company that owned brothels and strip clubs so I rang them back and said I was no longer available for work.

The next day I got a call from a woman saying she had my CV and would I come in for an interview, when I asked again where she was calling from it turns out it was a strip club where the women dressed as mermaids and swim around in tanks. They obviously just passed any female CVs from the parent copmany on to them. I was just really surprised that people put CVs in for a job as a stripper and I was getting a call for an interview with no idea what I looked like! I would have thought that was one job where it really does matter what people look like. I guess they wanted to know my qualifications first :pac:

Mermaids ... hmmm, where was this club?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

jester77 wrote: »
    Mermaids ... hmmm, where was this club?!

It's in Wellington. Funnily enough it's called Mermaids.:D I've never been in but it smells like chlorine when you walk past and there's always a van from a pool cleaning company outside so it looks like a good time is had by all!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...when is it acceptable to hire someone for their looks/youth?

Choco

When your hiring them for model fashion shoots and other related areas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

it's not what you know, it's who you blow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I applied to a very basic IT job years and years ago and didn't get it, despite thinking I had the experience and whatnot at the time.

Got with a girl about a week later who ended up getting the job despite her saying she had no idea how she got it and had no experience.

She was fired 2 weeks later. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Acceptable IMO - Model, stripper, promo staff, receptionist, bar staff, clothes shop, wait staff.

The above apply to male and female and much more so in very trendy / upmarket establishments.

Not acceptable (but is still rampant) - any profession requiring qualifications and specialist skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I have noticed the pretty girls seem to have it a bit easier. Especially when u have to speak to people like take an interview or such. The people are much more likely to give a proper interview to a pretty girl than to an ugly bloke...

Also pretty girls tend to get better references too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

I have noticed the pretty girls seem to have it a bit easier. Especially when u have to speak to people like take an interview or such. The people are much more likely to give a proper interview to a pretty girl than to an ugly bloke...

Also pretty girls tend to get better references too...
    It depends on the field a bit too - and on the level. High level technical position has a gorgeous woman and an awkward oddball of a man - who do you think has the better impression right off?

I think women who dont go in for this sort of crap probably suffer the most overall. It might explain the glass ceiling really. The women with the ability to go furthest get passed over early on for twats with limited ability who will stroke a manager's
    ego

watna wrote: »

Aaw that would be so cool. Did you snaggle the job? Or was your underwater shorthand not up to scratch? Bummer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Air Stewards. There was a complete roide on my last flight home, cut jaw great shoulders, I was hoping he was a trainee pilot- (I'm v shallow) I was looking at the twink mincing beside him thinking I bet he's rode him 6 ways from Sunday...