Should we put a naval blockade on Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

neil_hosey wrote: »
    seriously lads, germany have a population of 80 million or so, ireland is tiny....

where would we keep all the POW's??

There's all those ghost estates and NAMAd hotel rooms....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Refuse entry to all west of Ireland campsites to all Germans - lets see how long they survive without their yearly trip to Doolan.

The feckers bring most of their own food and drink with them as well so the local economy will barely notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 paul the great

seriously lads, germany have a population of 80 million or so, ireland is tiny....

Give it another 6 months and Australia will be ours. The population must be at least 50% Irish by now. We can just drop them in camps in the desert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

Inisboffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    Ever hear of the Fighting Irish? We may have lost that reputation recently, but this is the perfect way to win it back.

You know thats because you have a reputation for being violent drunks right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Jumpy wrote: »
    You know thats because you have a reputation for being violent drunks right? :D

Wha'd yew say bout me mudder?

I'll cut you up.

Mmmmm, whiskey. No wait, poitin. Mmmmm poitin. Begorrah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Naval blockade, me bum!

What we have to do is put a blockade on Enda giving our money to the Germans in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

errrr, if youre blockading germany on home soil then the Luftwaffe comes into the equation too which have :
    35,559 personnel, 427 aircraft

vs .
    the 8 piddly little Irish ships?

Hang on, your forgetting the 4 batteries of the Air Defence Regiment who will come into play surely. Better lube up the Bofors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Tazz T wrote: »
    Naval blockade, me bum!
    What we have to do is put a blockade on Enda giving our money to the Germans in the first place.

A cavity blockade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

You might just find a few (around 60 million) allies on the island to the east. They have a few boats as well.

I would LOVE to see that happen, purely to piss off all the Sinn Fein anti-Europe trolls.

"Ok lads, we're gonna invade Germany!", cue tremendous applause, "But... eh, we're gettign help from England to do it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

Enda, Baldy & Co. have already started to infiltrate the enemy in advance. We have sent Kevin Cardiff over as chief sabotage agent. I'll give him 6 months max to bring the Euro and the Germans to their knees.

*rubs hands and cackles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

We can easily bankrupt Germany by sending the boys over to tarmac all their driveways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Deeno37

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I've seen the two opposing forces together. Salthill airshow, one of our glorious warships, anchored in the bay...

...German Tornado jet would turn it into a very nice reef for local divers :D

When do we set sail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Ever hear of the Fighting Irish? We may have lost that reputation recently, but this is the perfect way to win it back.

We also all forgot how to play American Football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Hey clearly the Irish can't. Run ireland mayb the Germans can do a better job public transport health roads peop de snowing Garda having a swift kick up the ass I'm all for germany sorting out the mess we cal Sovrenty because it's not it's a giant toy box these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Snowie wrote: »
    Hey clearly the Irish can't. Run ireland mayb the Germans can do a better job public transport health roads peop de snowing Garda having a swift kick up the ass I'm all for germany sorting out the mess we cal Sovrenty because it's not it's a giant toy box these days

eh...what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Why don't we get on a boat sail to a German harbour and dress up like some near eastern fellows and dump some booze in the sea.we can call it Beerfest .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

SeaFields wrote: »
    eh...what? :confused:

Frau Merkels english isn't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Why don't we get on a boat sail to a German harbour and dress up like some near eastern fellows and dump some booze in the sea.we can call it Beerfest .

Aah, the old Baltic tea party trick.

Seriously though, dumping beer in the sea is going a bit far isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Nodin wrote: »
    Frau Merkels english isn't great.

Her French must be good though, Sarkozy has his head so far up her arse she probably has his accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Tazz T wrote: »
    Naval blockade, me bum!

Cooee, sailor. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The Germans are trying to take our sovereignty and force us into a fiscal union where we would be no more than a mere province. I think this is intolerable, and think we should play hardball. Ireland is an Island, and as such we are a naval power and alot more prepared for a naval war than Germany. Accordingly, I hereby call on Enda Kenny to order the Irish Navy and Air Corps to impose a naval blockade on Germany and her ports, until the Germans back down and agree to write off all our debts and pay reparations.

I have just shown this to a roomful of Germans. Lets just say the old stereotype of Germans being unable to laugh is now dead.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

All I ask is that you please don't ask the Army to help enforce the blockade.

I can't swim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Who do we need to talk to in Army HQ about procurement?
    http://www.colgansports.com/images/ucspeedo%20arm%20bands.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Aah, the old Bavarian tea party trick.

Seriously though, dumping beer in the sea is going a bit far isn't it?

Given your post a more local flavor. on the beer note sacrifices must be made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

Poccington wrote: »

I can't swim.
    Well you better learn. The Navy will need a Marine Corps type of unit to repel German boarders, so we will have to convert part of the Army into Marines. That way you too can play your part in restoring our international reputation. We can also use you for Commano raids, for instance we could send a squad to Berlin to pave the way for a landing of our ground forces once we have broken the German economy with the blockade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

since were locking hoorsmelt threads an al..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

I think some German stuck their knackwurst up your sphincter thats why your starting all these German bashing threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

humanji wrote: »
    Isn't that just the nickname of an American football team? Or else it refers to fighting for hundreds of years and not really achieving much. Then pissing away what little was achieved. Not really a phrase to be regarded well.

I say we need a new phrase: The Irish Ninja Pirates! Nobody f*cks with ninjas except pirates. And nobody f*cks with pirates except ninjas. So who's going to **** with ninja pirates? No one, that's who!

Pirate ninjas?