Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we put a naval blockade on Germany?

• 13-12-2011 7:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭

The Germans are trying to take our sovereignty and force us into a fiscal union where we would be no more than a mere province. I think this is intolerable, and think we should play hardball. Ireland is an Island, and as such we are a naval power and alot more prepared for a naval war than Germany. Accordingly, I hereby call on Enda Kenny to order the Irish Navy and Air Corps to impose a naval blockade on Germany and her ports, until the Germans back down and agree to write off all our debts and pay reparations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You'll scare the Germans talking like that....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

According to wikipedia:

Irish Navy = 8 ships

Meanwhile the Germans have 47 surface ships, 4 submarines, and 55 aircraft.

Another well thought out plan is doomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Can we not wait til the Euros are on in June. The weather will be nicer and we can reverse invade Germany from Poland - the irony will not be lost on our European friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    The Germans are trying to take our sovereignty and force us into a fiscal union where we would be no more than a mere province. I think this is intolerable, and think we should play hardball. Ireland is an Island, and as such we are a naval power and alot more prepared for a naval war than Germany. Accordingly, I hereby call on Enda Kenny to order the Irish Navy and Air Corps to impose a naval blockade on Germany and her ports, until the Germans back down and agree to write off all our debts and pay reparations.

Yes, let's show that elephant that this mouse is not to be fucked with!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

According to wikipedia:

Irish Navy = 8 ships

I said the Navy and Air Corps. We can put the government jet to good use for a change by using it to enforce the blockade.

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Yes, let's show that elephant that this mouse is not to be fucked with!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Ever hear of the Fighting Irish? We may have lost that reputation recently, but this is the perfect way to win it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

How many miles of coastline do Germany have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

According to wikipedia:

Irish Navy = 8 ships

Sure we could just enlist the help of the Swiss Navy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Just as long as I can still get a cheap flight back to Ireland see me mates every now then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Irish Navy and Air Corps to impose a naval blockade on Germany QUOTE]

We should do this for sure, but which street do we blockade thats the real question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Might aswell, I can only see this ending well if we do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Can we not wait til the Euros are on in June. The weather will be nicer and we can reverse invade Germany from Poland - the irony will not be lost on our European friends.

You sir are a tactical genius, who will be put up front, I suggest the army of camper vans that will be trundling their way across Europe, anything is better than Kevin Doyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

According to wikipedia:

Irish Navy = 8 ships

errrr, if youre blockading germany on home soil then the Luftwaffe comes into the equation too which have :
    35,559 personnel, 427 aircraft

vs .
    the 8 piddly little Irish ships?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...I hereby call on Enda Kenny to order the Irish Navy and Air Corps to impose a naval blockade on Germany and her ports...

Yea, that will work! :pac:
    Thanks for giving me a good morning laugh hoorsmelt! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Might as well just hop on a plane to Germany and start hitting their buildings with our hurleys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

padd b1975 wrote: »

about three fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

We could always not take their money and go completely bankrupt instead. That'll show them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

errrr, if youre blockading germany on home soil then the Luftwaffe comes into the equation too which have :

vs .

9 piddly ships. We are just about to launch the L.E. Negative Equity. That will cause mass chaos amongst the krauts

The frontal camper vans will batter the Huns with dutch gold cans pinning them back. Our Airforce will then bombard them with armour piercing sliotars, leaving the Rangers a clear route to Berlin

What could possibly go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,035 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

padd b1975 wrote: »

According to the sainted Wiki - 2389 (Ger) vs 1448 (Irl). Hmmmm.
    Who knew???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Don't make me take sides!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You might just find a few (around 60 million) allies on the island to the east. They have a few boats as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

We'll just send all of our ships. Position them just off their coast. And stare at them. Naval gazing they call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    According to the sainted Wiki - 2389 (Ger) vs 1448 (Irl). Hmmmm.
    Who knew???

thats km, 1484 miles vs 900 miles,
    but yeah...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Ever hear of the Fighting Irish? We may have lost that reputation recently, but this is the perfect way to win it back.
    Isn't that just the nickname of an American football team? Or else it refers to fighting for hundreds of years and not really achieving much. Then pissing away what little was achieved. Not really a phrase to be regarded well.

I say we need a new phrase: The Irish Ninja Pirates! Nobody f*cks with ninjas except pirates. And nobody f*cks with pirates except ninjas. So who's going to **** with ninja pirates? No one, that's who!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Scarlet42

why don't we just invade them ... slowly .. by building "Irish Pubs" on every street corner ...oh .. wait a minute ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

humanji wrote: »
    Isn't that just the nickname of an American football team? Or else it refers to fighting for hundreds of years and not really achieving much.

Refers to the Irish Brigade in the Union Army during the American Civil War. Irish made up a sizeable chunk of the Confederate Army too. So your second explanation fits nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The Germans are trying to take our sovereignty and force us into a fiscal union where we would be no more than a mere province.

It's a case of trying to close the stable door after the horse has bolted I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 paul the great

We could wait until we get another bailout and spend the money on warships instead of the banking black hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

humanji wrote: »
    Isn't that just the nickname of an American football team? Or else it refers to fighting for hundreds of years and not really achieving much. Then pissing away what little was achieved. Not really a phrase to be regarded well.

I say we need a new phrase: The Irish Ninja Pirates! Nobody f*cks with ninjas except pirates. And nobody f*cks with pirates except ninjas. So who's going to **** with ninja pirates? No one, that's who!
    Lumberjacks. COMMANDO lumberjacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

seriously lads, germany have a population of 80 million or so, ireland is tiny....

where would we keep all the POW's??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,035 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

neil_hosey wrote: »
    seriously lads, germany have a population of 80 million or so, ireland is tiny....

There's all those ghost estates and NAMAd hotel rooms....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Refuse entry to all west of Ireland campsites to all Germans - lets see how long they survive without their yearly trip to Doolan.

The feckers bring most of their own food and drink with them as well so the local economy will barely notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 paul the great

Give it another 6 months and Australia will be ours. The population must be at least 50% Irish by now. We can just drop them in camps in the desert.

Inisboffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

You know thats because you have a reputation for being violent drunks right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Jumpy wrote: »
    You know thats because you have a reputation for being violent drunks right? :D

Wha'd yew say bout me mudder?

I'll cut you up.

Mmmmm, whiskey. No wait, poitin. Mmmmm poitin. Begorrah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Naval blockade, me bum!

What we have to do is put a blockade on Enda giving our money to the Germans in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

vs .

Hang on, your forgetting the 4 batteries of the Air Defence Regiment who will come into play surely. Better lube up the Bofors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Tazz T wrote: »
    Naval blockade, me bum!
    What we have to do is put a blockade on Enda giving our money to the Germans in the first place.

A cavity blockade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

You might just find a few (around 60 million) allies on the island to the east. They have a few boats as well.

I would LOVE to see that happen, purely to piss off all the Sinn Fein anti-Europe trolls.

"Ok lads, we're gonna invade Germany!", cue tremendous applause, "But... eh, we're gettign help from England to do it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Enda, Baldy & Co. have already started to infiltrate the enemy in advance. We have sent Kevin Cardiff over as chief sabotage agent. I'll give him 6 months max to bring the Euro and the Germans to their knees.

*rubs hands and cackles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

We can easily bankrupt Germany by sending the boys over to tarmac all their driveways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Deeno37

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I've seen the two opposing forces together. Salthill airshow, one of our glorious warships, anchored in the bay...

...German Tornado jet would turn it into a very nice reef for local divers :D

When do we set sail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

We also all forgot how to play American Football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Hey clearly the Irish can't. Run ireland mayb the Germans can do a better job public transport health roads peop de snowing Garda having a swift kick up the ass I'm all for germany sorting out the mess we cal Sovrenty because it's not it's a giant toy box these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Snowie wrote: »
    Hey clearly the Irish can't. Run ireland mayb the Germans can do a better job public transport health roads peop de snowing Garda having a swift kick up the ass I'm all for germany sorting out the mess we cal Sovrenty because it's not it's a giant toy box these days

eh...what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Why don't we get on a boat sail to a German harbour and dress up like some near eastern fellows and dump some booze in the sea.we can call it Beerfest .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

SeaFields wrote: »
    eh...what? :confused:

Frau Merkels english isn't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Why don't we get on a boat sail to a German harbour and dress up like some near eastern fellows and dump some booze in the sea.we can call it Beerfest .

Aah, the old Baltic tea party trick.

Seriously though, dumping beer in the sea is going a bit far isn't it?