Dublin voted 26th best city to live out of 221

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

orourkeda wrote: »
    Really? I found Chicago to be a far friendlier and relaxed city while still giving the feeling that you are in a proper big city

Was never in Chicago so I can't comment but NY was friendly if a little bit busy I agree. All go it was but a few times when I looked like a culchie in a big city random people would stop to ask if I needed directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Funnily enough, I'd live anywhere in Ireland rather than Dublin. Everytime I go there, I always leave the place thinking "what a kip!".

Well stop going back all the time then. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Sl!mCharles

I love Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Funnily enough, I'd live anywhere in Ireland rather than Dublin. Everytime I go there, I always leave the place thinking "what a kip!".

lol 'South Wicklow'

You're just jealous cause we have more junkies in one square mile then Wicklow could ever have in their entire county

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

orourkeda wrote: »
    Really? I found Chicago to be a far friendlier and relaxed city while still giving the feeling that you are in a proper big city

I grew up on the edge (suburbs really) of Chicago. It's so weird to hear people say it's a friendly or relaxed city....I've always considered it the exact opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Dublin would be grand if it wasn't infested with dubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

26th place seems about right to me. I live in Wellington which is 13th on the list and has problems that Dublin doesn't e.g public transport is woeful, very expensive and unreliable. People in Wellington who have to get the train to work have given up on it and more and more people drive in now. The Dart may p*ss us all off now and again but it's a great service compared to what we have here. As for the bus, I pay the same amount here to get into the CBD as I do to get in to town from my parents house in Dublin. The journey here is ten minutes and can be walked in 20, in Dublin my parents live way out of the city - it's an hour bus ride. They're putting the prices up in the new year as well.

Auckland has a worse traffic problem than Dublin too. It's horrendous and one of the reasons I would never live there.

I agree that the scumbags do bring Dublin down but when I was home a few months ago I thought the place looked a lot cleaner than it used to. It was quite noticeable.

Dublin has a lot going for it, if you live away for a few years you realise no city is perfect and there are good and bad things about them all. It makes me really sad to see how negative people are about Dublin and Ireland in general. I'm moving back next year and I'm counting down the days at this stage! I think 26th place sounds about right to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

EKClarke wrote: »
    There's absolutely nothing to do except walk up O'Connell street

Is this the level of experience and ignorance that some people are at? They only think there is one thing to do in Dublin and that is to walk up a street of fast food joints?

The lack of knowledge certain people have of their own country is amazing. You should be ashamed as an Irish man EKClarke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I'd love to live in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Meh, couldn't wait to get out of it!

TBH it's the same as any capital city though, rough, over populated and stinking!

Good job you left them. May I ask where you went? As a well travelled person, I would consider Dublin to be an extremely safe and pleasant city to live in, by world city standards. There is so much to the city. People need to get out of the pubs and clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Dublin > New York poll fail.

I hereby declare this day to be named "Dublin 26th out of 221" Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

foxyboxer wrote: »

Lived in New York. Step outside the touristy bits and its a dump and a half. Plenty of no-go areas day and night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

foxyboxer wrote: »

Will we all get a bank holiday for Dublin 26th out of 221 day? Public holidays make cities better to live in :P

As for the Dublin/New York thing. I've never been to New York so I can't comment on that case partciularly but I think people forget when reading these polls that living in a city is very different to visiting is a tourist for a week. There's only one city I've ever visited and thought, yes, I could live here and that's Melbourne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭jackwigan

Dublin ranks higher than new york , london and paris as best city to live while vienna gets top spot and baghdad hits rock bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Dublin is a great place to live and I say this as a Kerryman living here for the last 7 years. I love the place.

The one problem thing that really gets to me is the way the beggers and drug addicts are allowed to hang around the city centre.

The amount of tourists i see around Talbot street/ O'Connell street everyday looking at what is going on up there, they must really take away such a bad image of the city which is a pity. And there are a lot of tourists staying up that side of the city.

If the powers that be got really tough on this stance you could end up making the northside of the city centre a far nicer area then it is now.

A zero tolerance policy is what is needed. I mean guys are openly dealing herion there everyday of the week. Would this be allowed to happen in many other city centre's? You don't see this when you go to London or NY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Dusseldorf?? What the **** like? Really? Munich/Cologne/Freiberg are all far nicer.

That's really strange, neither of those places usually come high up on US city "rankings". I would have thought places like Portland, Seattle, San Diego, Minneapolis, Boston and DC (favourite city so maybe a bit biased) would have come higher. San Francisco is only good if you're super wealthy and I mean super, super wealthy.

Dusseldorf is a cracking city.

Great spot to go on the beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i think dublin is a great place to live. thats it really. alot of places are kips, dublin aint one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

TOP CITIES HOW THEY RANK: QUALITY OF LIVING

1 Vienna Austria

2 Zurich Switzerland

3 Auckland New Zealand

4 Munich Germany

5 Dusseldorf Germany

= Vancouver Canada

26 Dublin Ireland

PERSONAL SAFETY

1 Luxembourg Luxembourg

2 Bern Switzerland

= Helsinki Finland

= Zurich Switzerland

5 Vienna Austria

16 Dublin Ireland

In a related list,In the personal safety rankings, which are based on internal stability, crime levels, law enforcement effectiveness and international relations, Luxembourg comes out on top. It is followed by Bern, Helsinki and Zurich, all sharing second place. Vienna ranks fifth, while Geneva and Stockholm both rank sixth. Dublin ranks as the 16th best city for personal safety, immediately ahead of Amsterdam.
    :):)

Source: Mercer Quality of Living Survey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Great news. There are posters on this site who never cmiss an opertunity to put down Ireland, say we have bolloxed it up and rejoin the UK. Its noce that officialdom occasionally comes up wih something to back up those of us who love the place.

May I also add that we're sixth in the world for gender equality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

I've heard Paris is a complete dump so no surprise there. It's alright visiting it but outside the tourist spots I heard it's amazingly dirty. NYC, I've been a few times and seen a few of the boroughs outside of Manhatten and they're not great. I've been in Queen's, Brooklyn and the Bronx and Dublin residential areas are a lot nicer. Manhatten to lovely but again that's the tourist type area. The residential areas where people live are not nicer than Dublin.

Dublin is a grand spot, we just love to put down our own. A nation of begrudging c**ts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I've heard Paris is a complete dump so no surprise there. It's alright visiting it but outside the tourist spots I heard it's amazingly dirty. NYC, I've been a few times and seen a few of the boroughs outside of Manhatten and they're not great. I've been in Queen's, Brooklyn and the Bronx and Dublin residential areas are a lot nicer. Manhatten to lovely but again that's the tourist type area. The residential areas where people live are not nicer than Dublin.

Dublin is a grand spot, we just love to put down our own. A nation of begrudging c**ts.

Well you've just put down Paris, sight unseen. What's that make you?

markesmith wrote: »
    Well you've just put down Paris, sight unseen. What's that make you?

Unseen but not unseen for the French woman marrying my brother. She said it's a dump, maybe she's lying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Is this the level of experience and ignorance that some people are at? They only think there is one thing to do in Dublin and that is to walk up a street of fast food joints?

The lack of knowledge certain people have of their own country is amazing. You should be ashamed as an Irish man EKClarke.

+10

Anyone who thinks the only thing to do is walk up and down o'connell street is not only ignorant but feckin blind.

We have free museums (kildare street museum is the best Ive ever been in and i have been in a hell of a lot). Quirky spots like St Michans, iveagh gardens. Catch a dart out to Dalkey, malahide or some other nice suburb. Plenty of shops to browse in if thats your thing. At night there is world class music you can listen to, for free, in tonnes of pubs. And most will even let you join in if youre not a total cock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Unseen but not unseen for the French woman marrying my brother. She said it's a dump, maybe she's lying...

Maybe we're not the only nation of begrudgers in it so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Dublin ranks higher than new york , london and paris as best city to live while vienna gets top spot and baghdad hits rock bottom.

top 5 vienna, zurich, auckland, munich and dusseldof

So what happened to Vancouver who dropped 4 places ?
    Was it the riots over the ice hocket ?

Vienna is ok but I think Vancouver is nicer.
    Also less Austrians. ;)
    Auckland is so so.
    I think Chrischurch or Queenstown are far nicer.
    Maybe the earthquake scuppered Chrischurch's chances.

rasper wrote: »
    Whose last

Poor old Bagdad (221).
    It's down there with Khartoum (217), Port-au-Prince (218), N’Djamena (219), and Bangui(220).

Not sure if they bothered checking Mogadishu or Kabul ;)
    The poll takers would probably have been kidnapped.
    Einhard wrote: »
    Yeah, I have- Boston, Melbourne, Bordeaux, and Dublin.

Melbourne ???
    Flat featureless fecking grid.
    I wouldnt want to live anywhere else other than Dublin. Every time i go away, i always leave the place ive visited thinking "what a kip!".

You should really be more picky where you go visit. :D

I am not allowed discuss …

markesmith wrote: »
    Maybe we're not the only nation of begrudgers in it so :)

Nah heard it from loads of people including the saddo who took a girl in my work there as a surprise after only going out with her a month (where's the getting sick emoticon:D) and they said the actual city is a dive and the sewage system even stinks.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

hmmmmmmm looks like all that liberation the U.S put the Iraqis through is finally paying off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Proof that Dublin is one of the best cities in the world. A shot in the neck for boggers everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

Yahew wrote: »
    its a bit unfair to blame San Francisco, its liberal attitude to homelessness, the fact thats its a walkable city and the weather attracts the homeless from all over the country.

i blame san francisco on nothing only the things i saw over there that shocked me, i dont recall seeing them at home in such a open enviroment , i find Dublin has great culture and indentity , brendan behan, oscar wilde, luke kelly , jonathan swift to name but a few of the local lads , dublin GAA , the dubliners our own music :-) great pubs music and the arts, great buzz around the city, Dublin is a fine city ya we got problems what city doesnt?

ive lived in big cities around the world and thank god we have more to offer than designer shops running from one end of the street to the other , cities with no real culture or indentity only brand names, cold glass buildings and nobody even gives you a hello, they got scmbags and litter aswell fancy that , souless cities give me dublin ireland any day, theres to much history!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

realies wrote: »
    TOP CITIES HOW THEY RANK: QUALITY OF LIVING

1 Vienna Austria

2 Zurich Switzerland

3 Auckland New Zealand

4 Munich Germany

5 Dusseldorf Germany

= Vancouver Canada

26 Dublin Ireland

PERSONAL SAFETY

1 Luxembourg Luxembourg

2 Bern Switzerland

= Helsinki Finland

= Zurich Switzerland

5 Vienna Austria

16 Dublin Ireland

In a related list,In the personal safety rankings, which are based on internal stability, crime levels, law enforcement effectiveness and international relations, Luxembourg comes out on top. It is followed by Bern, Helsinki and Zurich, all sharing second place. Vienna ranks fifth, while Geneva and Stockholm both rank sixth. Dublin ranks as the 16th best city for personal safety, immediately ahead of Amsterdam.
    :):)

Source: Mercer Quality of Living Survey

we beat oz for safety. thats were all the irish are , come back lads madmax is on the rip! :)