Dublin voted 26th best city to live out of 221

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Yahew

charlemont wrote: »
    Dublin could be much higher up the list if a few things were sorted out...Traffic being the main one.

So, tell me. I am thinking of moving bak to Ireland in the next few years ( I know, against the flow but I left during the boom as the boomtown bugged me) - how can the traffic be the same with the recession?

It seems to have eased to me, but I am not there mid-week really, except Christmas which isn't much of a barometer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ah well, at least Dubs like Dublin, which is the main thing.

the poor misguided fools.:pac:

Zebra3 wrote: »
    You think Dublin is overpopulated?

Hilarious!!! :D:D:D

What hamlet are you from?

Big cities probably all have similar densities, although it depends on the type of housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

WHAT TOWN:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Cmon, town! If there's no place name in front of the word 'town', it is to be assumed the post refers to Dublin. It is the capital after all...

I vote to move this to the Dublin City forum, before the culchies come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Yahew wrote: »
    So, tell me. I am thinking of moving bak to Ireland in the next few years ( I know, against the flow but I left during the boom as the boomtown bugged me) - how can the traffic be the same with the recession?

It seems to have eased to me, but I am not there mid-week really, except Christmas which isn't much of a barometer.

Because with the cut backs on public transport and more parents off work, more school kids are being driven to school than before. Try getting through Clontarf at 8:30 Mon to Friday, traffic is at a standstill.

Early morning traffic from 7-8 has eased a lot but after 8 it's as bad as ever. When the schools are off I get to work in 6-8 mins driving, normally it takes 15-20 mins, shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I vote to move this to the Dublin City forum, before the culchies come in.

Like:rolleyes: the best solution is move the culchies to the culchie forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Someone said that Limerick was Number 2 but I can't see it on the list.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Traffic ? Well Dublin doesn't have a suitable public transport system for its size. The joke of having 4 different authorities makes joined up planning almost impossible too, County Fingal !! Like need I say more...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Nicer than paris eh, take that frenchies. Srsly, paris is nice. London 38 eh.

I love that in the americas... Honolulu (29) and San Francisco (30) are the top american cities. Canada just so much better than america eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

There are nice things about dub, we are not to far from the beach or the mountains and there are parks everywhere. But there is a scumbag problem and it can be a traffic mess. To spite that it is relatively safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

The city is unfeasibly ugly and filled with so so many twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Where's Waterford?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

John Doe1 wrote: »

It's not an ugly city imo. And many cities would be much better if you got rid of its inhabitants!

I'm genuinely surprised that Dublin ranks higher than San Fransisco in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Dublin ranks higher than new york , london and paris as best city to live while vienna gets top spot and baghdad hits rock bottom.

top 5 vienna, zurich, auckland, munich and dusseldof

I hear George Michael won't leave the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

It's not an ugly city imo. And many cities would be much better if you got rid of its inhabitants!

I'm genuinely surprised that Dublin ranks higher than San Fransisco in any case.

i was in san fran a few weeks ago, great spot and nice people but i have to say the amount of poor people on the streets and seen them looking for food in bins made me wonder, just how bad do they have it or just how good do we have it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

It's better than Cork :rolleyes:

It is though. I'm not biased. I'm from Cork.

its a poll about cities, not towns

i was in san fran a few weeks ago, great spot and nice people but i have to say the amount of poor people on the streets and seen them looking for food in bins made me wonder, just how bad do they have it or just how good do we have it?

its a bit unfair to blame San Francisco, its liberal attitude to homelessness, the fact thats its a walkable city and the weather attracts the homeless from all over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

John Doe1 wrote: »

So...it is a feasibly ugly city?
    its a bit unfair to blame San Francisco, its liberal attitude to homelessness, the fact thats its a walkable city and the weather attracts the homeless from all over the country.

Umm, not sure if this is serious...but if it is...how do the homeless get there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭EKClarke

Dublin is a kip. There's absolutely nothing to do except walk up O'Connell street. Any foreigner I ask whose been there as a tourist says the same. Nothing in the place and it's also ugly. Hate the people as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

This survey must have be carried out by the same people that said Ireland was the 4th richest country in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I wouldnt want to live anywhere else other than Dublin. Every time i go away, i always leave the place ive visited thinking "what a kip!".
    Funnily enough, I'd live anywhere in Ireland rather than Dublin. Everytime I go there, I always leave the place thinking "what a kip!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

ICE HOUSE wrote: »
    Spent a while in 4 of these top "top 5 cities" and there no great shakes either tbh.

What city would you consider "great shakes" as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭ASOT

so many jelly ******s in this thread

EKClarke wrote: »
    Dublin is a kip. There's absolutely nothing to do except walk up O'Connell street. Any foreigner I ask whose been there as a tourist says the same. Nothing in the place and it's also ugly. Hate the people as well.

London, New York and Paris can all suck on it.

cosanostra wrote: »
    This survey must have be carried out by the same people that said Ireland was the 4th richest country in the world

Surveys like this cant really settle what the best city is.

It still comes down to the individuals experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Yeah its a drop from previous years but its just cool to know we're better than the feckin French

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I like Dublin, I think it's a grand city. It's not really any worse than any other I have been in tbf.

But New York city was my favourite, extremely friendly city so it is.

I like Dublin, I think it's a grand city. It's not really any worse than any other I have been in tbf.

But New York city was my favourite, extremely friendly city so it is.

Really? I found Chicago to be a far friendlier and relaxed city while still giving the feeling that you are in a proper big city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Dusseldorf?? What the **** like? Really? Munich/Cologne/Freiberg are all far nicer.

I love that in the americas... Honolulu (29) and San Francisco (30) are the top american cities. Canada just so much better than america eh?

That's really strange, neither of those places usually come high up on US city "rankings". I would have thought places like Portland, Seattle, San Diego, Minneapolis, Boston and DC (favourite city so maybe a bit biased) would have come higher. San Francisco is only good if you're super wealthy and I mean super, super wealthy.