If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RIP Gary Speed - Mod Note 292

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Was watching Sky Sports News about an hour ago with the reporter outside Elland Road, and he broke down in front of the camera.

It must be very difficult for the likes of sports reporters who would have known him personally. I don't know why they had him working on the story if he was such a close friend to Gary. It must have been tough for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,290 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

VnA2i.jpg

Bit of a faux pas at the guardian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,515 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Nice to see Hugo remembering him even though he's long gone from Newcastle...

article-2066812-0EF818E500000578-837_306x423.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

retalivity wrote: »

Honestly that is just hunting for something to complain about. The newspapers hiding in the bushes taking photos of his family home are the ones to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

Honestly that is just hunting for something to complain about. The newspapers hiding in the bushes taking photos of his family home are the ones to worry about.

It's not the actual papers in the bushes. If you look at the copyrights and captions, they're from agencies. So just to put the record straight there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Was watching Sky Sports News about an hour ago with the reporter outside Elland Road, and he broke down in front of the camera.

here it is :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

kensutz wrote: »
    It's not the actual papers in the bushes. If you look at the copyrights and captions, they're from agencies. So just to put the record straight there!

Those agencies don't do it for the craic. They do it because the likes of the Daily Mail and the Sun will buy the pictures off them. Without them, and by extension, the reader, these pictures and these gutter journalists wouldn't exist.

Anyone who buys the Sun or the Daily Mail, as well as ****ting on the memory of the Bloody Sunday and Hillsborough victims, is also condoning this behaviour

I believe in a free press, but like democracy, idiots ruin it for the rest

Have you a link to prove this as I would have thought that After a high profile suicide it increases awareness and some people would actually go out and seek help.

You cannot brush suicide under the carpet and think that if its not reported on in the media that it will cease to exist.

In a side note, I do not get people reactions to his death and its surrounding circumstances being reported on in the media, social networking sites ect.

I would find it much more strange had his death been reported and there being no one asking any questions as to why or how.

There is plenty of research into this area. For the sake of brevity, I'll just link to the Samaritans Guidelines for reporting suicide.
    Over 60 research articles have looked at the issue of media reporting of suicide and found that it can lead to imitative behaviours

• An episode of a popular TV drama contained a storyline about a deliberate self-poisoning with paracetamol. Researchers interviewed patients who attended accident and emergency departments and psychiatric services and found that 20% said the programme had influenced their decision to take an overdose. Self-poisoning increased by 17% in the week following the broadcast and by 9% in the second week

• A newspaper report in Hong Kong included a detailed description of a person who died by suicide involving the method of burning charcoal in a confined space. Within three years there was a dramatic increase in suicides using this method, with the number of deaths rising from 0% to 10%

• There has been an increase in the number of intentional antifreeze poisonings reported to the British National Poisons Information Service on two separate occasions, both of which followed reports on this method in the national media. The expected rate of selfpoisoning by this method is between one and three per month. After the report of an inquest into a suicide using this method appeared in the national media, this rose to six cases in one month and on a separate occasion when the method was portrayed in a popular hospital drama, the rate for that month leapt to nine

• A German television series, ‘Death of a student’, depicted the railway suicide of a young man at the start of each episode. A 175% rise in railway suicides occurred in young people aged 15-19 years old both during and after the series. This effect was repeated when the series was shown again some years later

Positive examples
    • Studies in Vienna and Toronto found that voluntary restrictions on newspaper reporting of subway suicides resulted in a 75% decrease in suicides by this method.
    • A study following the death of singer Kurt Cobain by suicide found that there was not an overall increase in suicides rates in his home town of Seattle, believed to be because reporting differentiated strongly between the brilliance of his life achievements and the wastefulness of his death. It may have also helped that media coverage discussed risk factors and identified sources of help for people experiencing suicidal feelings.

Full report here: http://www.samaritans.org/pdf/SamaritansMediaGuidelines-UK2008.pdf

Of course his death should be reported. But there are right ways and wrong ways to report it.

kensutz wrote: »

Who pays the agencies for the pictures? If newspapers did not pay for and print them, photographers would not be there. Ditto any paparazzi picture. 10 guys chase Sienna Miller at night because newspapers, magazines and websites will use them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

retalivity wrote: »
    VnA2i.jpg

Have The Guardian disabled comments on this story since the above gaff? I was reading comments earlier today, then went back to have a look just now (to see if any readers berated the above gaff) but all pages on this story are comment-less.
    Not a big thing but just noticed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Dunno if its been said on thread yet but there is a tribute show/review of Leeds last title win starting on ESPN classic - Sky 429 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Wow that SSN video was a tough watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

razorblunt wrote: »
    Wow that SSN video was a tough watch!

Was just about to post the exact same thing. Nearly had me in tears too. Feel a bit like a vulture watching someone break down like that.

RIP

fryup wrote: »

Very sad that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

There just seems to be something really strange about all of this. Depression has been thrown about but it really seems close friends and colleagues aren't suggesting it was the cause, there's just too much shock, NOBODY saw it coming. You'd have to feel if he was sick behind the scenes that it would have been whispered by now.

Very weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

fryup wrote: »

That was absolutely harrowing to watch.

Rest in Peace Speedo, why you done it we might never truly know but what we will know is that you brought happiness to millions of people over the years.

quarryman wrote: »
    There just seems to be something really strange about all of this. Depression has been thrown about but it really seems close friends and colleagues aren't suggesting it was the cause, there's just too much shock, NOBODY saw it coming. You'd have to feel if he was sick behind the scenes that it would have been whispered by now.

Very weird.
    The fact that there's no note or anything(released so far anyway) just adds to the mystery.

I had a cousin who committed suicide in similar circumstances. He was a very happy person and then one day his parents came home and found him dead, completely out of the blue as he was out socialising with the family just a day before. I was very angry at him for that as I seen the effect it had on the people he left behind and while I feel I should be angry at Speed for being so selfish, I just find it hard to feel anger at Speed for some reason. He just doesn't seem like the type of guy and seemed to not be depressed at all. It's a really strange thing and seemed to be without reason at all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

This one says it all, a friend has just posted it on facebook.

309864_10150984037855655_845975654_22079266_161360143_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

quarryman wrote: »

Very weird.
    Liam O wrote: »
    The fact that there's no note or anything(released so far anyway) just adds to the mystery.

I had a cousin who committed suicide in similar circumstances. He was a very happy person and then one day his parents came home and found him dead, completely out of the blue as he was out socialising with the family just a day before. I was very angry at him for that as I seen the effect it had on the people he left behind and while I feel I should be angry at Speed for being so selfish, I just find it hard to feel anger at Speed for some reason. He just doesn't seem like the type of guy and seemed to not be depressed at all. It's a really strange thing and seemed to be without reason at all.

You never know what's really going on inside somebody's head though. Often people who are clinically depressed perfect the art of putting on a front. That's the scary thing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Selfish is an awful thing to say about anyone in those circumstances, in my opinion, and a massive insult to those involved. We don't know what's going through the mind of someone in that instance, especially in the mind of someone who's depressed. It's a trait of depression to conceal it.

Nailz wrote: »
    Selfish is an awful thing to say about anyone in those circumstances, in my opinion, and a massive insult to those involved. We don't know what's going through the mind of someone in that instance, especially in the mind of someone who's depressed. It's a trait of depression to conceal it.
    I don't know tbh, someone killing themselves in that fashion is quite selfish imo when you think about the young family he is leaving behind now probably emotionally scarred for life, obviously I don't know what was going on behind closed doors and I don't like disrespecting the dead but suicide really just gets to me. I'm saying this out of my own family's experience because I found myself quite angry at my cousin's stupidy to the point where those feelings almost cancelled out my sadness. Depression is a horrible thing obviously but suicide is a terrible decision imo and even though I know it is a sensitive subject and affects many, I honestly can't imagine ever being in any type of situation bar maybe a terminal illness and be able to go through with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Who pays the agencies for the pictures? If newspapers did not pay for and print them, photographers would not be there. Ditto any paparazzi picture. 10 guys chase Sienna Miller at night because newspapers, magazines and websites will use them.

Well if you going that far you have to go the next step. They only buy and print them because the readers want them.

Anyway, a couple of pictures of a house from the road is harldy the end of the world. Likewise people givign out about the cause of death being printed. I doubt therees even one person that woudlnt be curious how he died if all that was realeased was "Gery Speed died". It's human nature to want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,055 ✭✭✭✭adox

It's quite easy to pontificate from the outside. I'm sure that those who take their own lives mostly feel they don't have a choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I don't know tbh, someone killing themselves in that fashion is quite selfish imo when you think about the young family he is leaving behind now probably emotionally scarred for life, obviously I don't know what was going on behind closed doors and I don't like disrespecting the dead but suicide really just gets to me. I'm saying this out of my own family's experience because I found myself quite angry at my cousin's stupidy to the point where those feelings almost cancelled out my sadness. Depression is a horrible thing obviously but suicide is a terrible decision imo and even though I know it is a sensitive subject and affects many, I honestly can't imagine ever being in any type of situation bar maybe a terminal illness and be able to go through with it.

I know exactly where your coming from and lots of people have those views. I heard a story before about a mother who hung herself in the family home only for her two children to find her lifeless body in the hallway. No child should ever have to see their Mother like that and one can't help but feel some degree of anger at the Mother in that situation.

The thing about depression is, it's a very complex issue and nobody fully understands it. You need to have it before you can fully understand what it's like for someone. From all accounts, it's can be one of the most horrible, darkest places to be in. Never feeling happy about things that you should, constant negative thoughts, headaches, muscle pains, loss of appetite(or overeating), constantly feeling tired and feeling hopeless about life in general are all symptoms of depression.

It must be a very dark place to be in, and for many of us who have been fortunate enough to never experience it, we must have compassion and understanding for those that have this terrible disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

efb wrote: »
    As for how, only the macabre would want to know that
    No offence but your post made my laugh a little. I can only imagine telling somebody that I was really upset because a loved one died and for that person not to eventually ask how it happened. It would be odd to say the least, like a sketch from a particularly dark Chris Morris show. Just like it would be very odd for the papers to mention peoples deaths but not go into even the slightest sort of detail.
    A few years ago a thread like this would be full of similar comments, about how it's a cowards way out etc... thankfully it seems we have largely moved on as a society. Often people who kill themselves honestly feel that their loved ones will be better off without them. Luckily for most of us such unimaginable thoughts remain unimaginable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

No offence but your post made my laugh a little. I can only imagine telling somebody that I was really upset because a loved one died and for that person not to eventually ask how it happened. It would be odd to say the least, like a sketch from a particularly dark Chris Morris show. Just like it would be very odd for the papers to mention peoples deaths but not go into even the slightest sort of detail.

A few years ago a thread like this would be full of similar comments, about how it's a cowards way out etc... thankfully it seems we have largely moved on as a society. Often people who kill themselves honestly feel that their loved ones will be better off without them. Luckily for most of us such unimaginable thoughts remain unimaginable.

if some told you someone in their family killed themselves, you's ask how???

Thats enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I think people using the word selfish here have never had some really close to them suffer with deep depression, they often appear the happiest people in the world but they are getting eaten up inside, they feel as if they have become a burden on their family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

Still in utter shock , Im a massive Leeds fan and loved Gary Speed , he was the king of player you just couldnt dislike , even when he moved to Everton I loved him , a model pro and always kept an eye on him .

Didnt think I would be so moved by this , but its just so sad , I feel so much for his loved ones .

There is only one name going on the back of my Leeds jersey , and that is SPEED 11 , a small tribute to a great man but I feel I should do something no matter how small .

Im sure he will be honoured in a special way by each and every football fan , player & club in the coming weeks .

RIP Gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

efb wrote: »
    if some told you someone in their family killed themselves, you's ask how???

Thats enough for me.

Nope you got the wrong end of the stick. we're talking about the idea that the papers shouldn't even have mentioned that it was suicide.

Now lets move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Nope you got the wrong end of the stick. we're talking about the idea that the papers shouldn't even have mentioned that it was suicide.

Now lets move on.

How and why was what he said, I explained why it shouldn't be reported as suicide- as it increases the rate of suicide and b how

the how is what you quoted- thats what i took exception to.