Maplin and Peats Robbing the Irish Public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Sorry but -

2 phono to headphone jack 1.5m lead

Maplin 10euro
    Peats 15euro
    Power City 3.99

Sigh:

Here, albeit a little shorter at 1.2M for €5.90, a 5M for €11.90 and a 10M for €15.99.

A better quality 3M for €5.90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Jackasaurus rex

Sorry but -

2 phono to headphone jack 1.5m lead

Maplin 10euro
    Peats 15euro
    Power City 3.99

There is cheaper ones in peats too, most hifi shops will have budget cables and then more expensive ones.

Same way as you can get a pair of headphones for a couple of quid or you can buy something more expensive if thats more to your taste.

gambiaman wrote: »
    dropped into Peats looking for a sata to molex power adaptor - none in stock but priced at 1.49 each
    Maplins around the corner had them - at 8.49 - I was actually sickened! ;-)

I walked out (as you would)

Is there anywhere in Dublin that does this small item and actually has it in stock at a reasonable price??????

Peats in college green have them. I just called and checked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Brian P

It's a few years since I've been to Peats but the last time I was there I bought a dvd player (approx. €300). I asked for a few bob off the price and was immediately given a reduction of about 10%. I was impressed with them but as I say that was quite a no. of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Peats in college green have them. I just called and checked

I was in Parnell st.
    Yer man checked the stock levels, I should have asked about their other stores or been offered the info I suppose. ( i'm assuming it's linked up)

gambiaman wrote: »
    I was in Parnell st.
    Yer man checked the stock levels, I should have asked about their other stores or been offered the info I suppose. ( i'm assuming it's linked up)

To be honest its unusual that they have it there. they have limited stock levels compared to the main store. Its probably an order that was never collected.

Ill get one of the lads over there to hang onto one for you if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Can't stomach buying anything maplins, its just too much of a rip off, even if you need something in a hurry. Its not even the money, its the idea of it.

Ill get one of the lads over there to hang onto one for you if you want.

Ah grand so. I was in the middle of looking online! I'll be taking a couple along with a few sata cables. Not the biggest purchase but annoying enough.
    PS Wasn't moaning about yer man in Peats btw, he was helpful. ;-)

Grand, Ask for Pat when you go in. He will have 3 of the molex and 3 sata cables put aside. Tell him you were talking to Darran so he will know its you.

Cheers Jack!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Back in the day Maplin were great until they started taking the proverbial with their pricing (particularly in their RoI stores).

There is nothing on their websites* to indicate which (if any) of their products are Saorview compatible. Their .ie URL just redirects to the .co.uk site which just contains vague references to "Freeview" or "Digital".

Wish we had the likes of Media Markt or Saturn over here.

* Or labeling in their stores -Even RoI branches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,460 ✭✭✭✭watty

Jaycar and Conrad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭FRIENDO

I remember my parents renting our tv from Peats up till the mid 80s, I remember if we had problems with the tv, the repair man would be out to replace the tv with another newely repaired one and the smell which I now associate with soldering.

The good old days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 daveiw

Guys

I work at Maplin in the UK and I understand your point. I hope that you understand all costs are much higher such as distribution and labour is still more expensive compared to the UK. That said I take your point about prices, it's a really tough one because compared to trade prices you are paying for individual components to be packed and then kept in stock until you decide you need one. Of course you might say at that price I will never buy and that's fine, the result of that is there is less choice on the high street and everyone will go to the web which may well happen. For what it is worth Maplin decided not to increase prices because of VAT rises although this is a small amount. I guess it all comes down to the cost of convenience as some people have said, as for 'we should be shut down', all I can say to that is if that happened you would have no convenience and no choice so I am not sure how that helps.

No, I'm comparing with Retail prices. Not trade or Bulk. And even including postage from Germany, UK, USA, China, Turkey, Greece, Singapore Retailers.

€30 for a phone patch cord?
    You've dropped the good nickel cables and plugs at only mildly inflated prices and replaced them with inferior "gold" flashed cables at Astronomic prices.

More and more "boys toys" products the Electronic equivalent of Woolworths Hong Kong toys for kids in 1960s, but for "grown ups".

Continue the change of stock profile and prices and either you will only be a "an electronic tat bazaar" or closed due to alienating all the existing customers with poorer quality and high prices. There isn't even convenience as much as increasingly they say they can order it. Well I can order it just as fast.
    Rolston tools? I can get better tools at same or cheaper prices in the local shops.

I can get as good or better cables in Dunnes at 1/2 to 1/10th of price.

daveiw wrote: »
    Guys

I work at Maplin in the UK and I understand your point. I hope that you understand all costs are much higher such as distribution and labour is still more expensive compared to the UK. That said I take your point about prices, it's a really tough one because compared to trade prices you are paying for individual components to be packed and then kept in stock until you decide you need one. Of course you might say at that price I will never buy and that's fine, the result of that is there is less choice on the high street and everyone will go to the web which may well happen. For what it is worth Maplin decided not to increase prices because of VAT rises although this is a small amount. I guess it all comes down to the cost of convenience as some people have said, as for 'we should be shut down', all I can say to that is if that happened you would have no convenience and no choice so I am not sure how that helps.

8.49 vs 1.49 for a molex-to-sata connector.
    Yeah, huge storage and packing costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 daveiw

Well As I said we all have a world of choice, I guess that's what this forum is about so I won't argue with you, let's hope that in the search for the lowest prices for all things that we don't lose the divergence, convenience and service that we see in retail right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭huggs2

I remember some months ago i found myself needing an f-connector.In Maplins
    they were about €3 or €4 Euro in a plastic bag hanging on a display stand.I didn't like the price so i went to a nearby electrical Trade/Retail counter and was handed one for €0.30. yes that's thirty cent. and no plastic bag :rolleyes:
    I worked out the price later to be 11 times cheaper than Maplins.Needless to say i have not been there since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

I would comment on Peats, but I'd get infracted again.

Spacedog wrote: »
    I would comment on Peats, but I'd get infracted again.

LOL what did you expect, from a rant like that. Funny though.

daveiw wrote: »
    ...let's hope that in the search for the lowest prices for all things that we don't lose the divergence, convenience and service that we see in retail right now....

Personally I find it pretty inconvenient and no service at all, that I waste time going into a shop only to find ridiculous prices on so many items. You expect to pay a bit extra, but this is a whole different level of overpricing. Perhaps its not as bad in the UK, but in Ireland some of the prices are horrendous.

I bought about €20 worth from a Hong Kong retailer this morning, INCLUDING POSTAGE. Likely I'll have it in 10 days. Some stuff is identical to Maplin's and some better. Maplin price would be nearly €150. About 320 parts.

CR2032 Lithium Coin Cells are €2.50 each in Tesco. About 7c to 12c each INCLUDING POSTAGE from Asia. Typically 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,998 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

watty wrote: »
    I bought about €20 worth from a Hong Kong retailer this morning, INCLUDING POSTAGE. Likely I'll have it in 10 days. Some stuff is identical to Maplin's and some better. Maplin price would be nearly €150. About 320 parts.

CR2032 Lithium Coin Cells are €2.50 each in Tesco. About 7c to 12c each INCLUDING POSTAGE from Asia. Typically 10 days.
    I've not been in maplin for about 2 years but I found it useful. I understand, for people in the trade the prices are mad but there are many items on the shelf there that I simply wouldn't know where to looking for. I remember I bought a 9v battery connector and was very happy to see it sitting there individually packed. No doubt I paid a premium but I was happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

you can hardly really compare a chinese eBay shop to Tesco, really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭JRH

I shop on the net big time ...
    but i would still like Maplin to stay in business in Galway , I've often been in the middle of some wacky project or other and needed something that day so head to maplin . They still stock a range of items you wont get in electrical hardware , you might get f connectors but you wont get for eg. audio connectors etc , you break a connector on your guitar cab sat night you can nip in sun morning and be back on the road ..
    Also clueless people wander into Maplin holding a box or some device and ask what they need to connect to something else ... usually get excellent advice from the staff , they have employed local EE or IT students who could handle any query , also generally helpfull in galway , iv seen then for eg whip out a pen and paper and calculate the correct resistor value for LED set someone bought ...

I'd love Maplins to stay, but their current pricing policy has gone mad as has what they purchase to sell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭STB

I actually remember a time when shopping in Peats was enjoyable and also a time when the staff knew what they were talking about and more importantly knew what I was talking about. Whether it was buying components in Parnell Street or dropping around to the local one in Donnycarney for a gander, it was a better experience.

Of course times have moved on and some retailers unfortunately haven't. These days of internet trading have exposed the commercial realities of having an online shop with no overheads and running a walk in retail shop with high rents and too many sales people. More importantly it has exposed those demanding outrageous amounts in pricing.

The last 2 times I was in the shop I took a watching brief whilst the sales staff spoofed their way through Saorview compatible products (in fairness to Peats they weren't alone in this lack of knowledge, its seemed to be quite common). They did have a few combo dvb-t/dvb-s products however. One was a Technomate 6900HD overpiced by about €150 and likewise an Mvision Combo box about €120 over the retail price. I just couldn't fathom it. I hope they have got their act together as you just cant justify these prices in a free market as people will develop a reaction to overpricing and not return expecting more of the same.

Sorry if that upsets the Peats guys, but it has been my personal experiences the last few times I have set foot inside.

Maplin is a different kettle of fish altogether. Besides the very annoying pricing policy (especially small components!!!) and ridiculous currency exchange profiteering over UK, you would have to be a very patient person to wait to speak to someone. I gave up going into the store in Dublin city centre a long time ago. Even the shiny gadget catalogue couldnt entice me back.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

STB wrote: »
    The last 2 times I was in the shop I took a watching brief whilst the sales staff spoofed their way through Saorview compatible products (in fairness to Peats they weren't alone in this lack of knowledge, its seemed to be quite common). They did have a few combo dvb-t/dvb-s products however. One was a Technomate 6900HD overpiced by about €150 and likewise an Mvision Combo box about €120 over the retail price. I just couldn't fathom it. I hope they have got their act together as you just cant justify these prices in a free market as people will develop a reaction to overpricing and not return expecting more of the same.
    So, how much were they selling the aforementioned STB's at, if you don't mind my asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭STB

byte wrote: »
    So, how much were they selling the aforementioned STB's at, if you don't mind my asking?

The Technomate they had was a TM6900 (not super) was €400. Sept 2008 (not lying :) !!)

The next time I was in the shop was a year or two later. The Mvision HD Combo was €300. Infact I saw the Mvision under a 3d Tv and asked the guy how much they were as I hadnt seen one retail outside online shops at the time and the guy made some remark about them being the same as the Strong box (they didnt have a combo).

Some may have been mugged. I certainly wasnt. I was dissapointed though knowing that the price I could have one delivered to my door for including postage in both cases.

You still got your 6900 Super ? 7 day epg for sat patched ?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,122 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

watty wrote: »

Can you point us at the site.

I use dealextreme, but it can take a month for something to arrive.

It would be nice to have some other quicker options and indication of stock levels. One with 10 day delivery and maybe even an Irish/UK one with one to two day delivery.