Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maplin and Peats Robbing the Irish Public

• 23-11-2011 2:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭

What on earth is with these two stores, they should be reported to the NCA!

A cheap scart lead, not the one with the Iron filings in the cover 15euro in Maplins for a 1.5meter!

F-Connector 2.99!!

F-Connector joiner 2.99!!

Satellite Cable 2.50 a meter!!

Absolutely daylight robbery!

Compare it to current trade prices on these items:

F-Connector 8euro = bag of 100

F-Connector joiner 11euro bag of 100

Satellite Cable 12euro = 100 meters

Scart lead 2.50euro

My god, they should be shut down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,684 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Typical hardware seem to charge €1 for connectors. I thought that was a rip off. 2.50 is madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭elaverty

T hey can charge what the like,,why should they be reported,,if someone is a big enough Muppet to pay those prices its there tough,,,

YOU DONT HAVE TO BUY IT,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭asif2011

They sell computer components which are a rip off too. People that go there either don't know any better or need a part immediately and are willing to pay the price. I've gone in there out of convenience before but I choose to do that... not that I liked paying their prices...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭steveon

There 3 times the price here than the UK as per always and now with a 2% vat increase we can expect the shops to sneak in a further 1-2% hoping we wont notice...I personally stopped buying things in Maplins ages ago ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

steveon wrote: »
    There 3 times the price here than the UK as per always and now with a 2% vat increase we can expect the shops to sneak in a further 1-2% hoping we wont notice...I personally stopped buying things in Maplins ages ago ...

HA
    try 3 to 4%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

I have stopped buying in Maplin as they are now so expensive.

Also more and more gadget porn junk and AudioFool stuff.

Peats hasn't been useful for parts or accessories for maybe 5+ years. A niche High St shop trading on 1970s to 1990s reputation.

No wonder more people are shopping online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I buy components in Maplin - as in transistors, resistors, capacitors and the likes for electronics project. They're handy as I can walk in the door and pick something up. Prices for everything else in there (Bar 100 AA batterys rated at 1500 mAh for 19 euro) are madness.

Peats aren't the worst though, when I wanted the Logitech Screenplay Director media drive, they were 150 Euro when every other bricks and mortar store in Ireland wanted 199.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭muincav

elaverty wrote: »
    T hey can charge what the like,,why should they be reported,,if someone is a big enough Muppet to pay those prices its there tough,,,

YOU DONT HAVE TO BUY IT,,,

Think the OP was just highlighting a fact and well done to him, at least he is doing something about it instead of name calling...;)

You can buy 10 to 50 transistors for similar money, 1 week to 10 days delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭steveon

watty wrote: »
    You can buy 10 to 50 transistors for similar money, 1 week to 10 days delivery.

Totally agree as i said unless Im seriously stuck i now bypass them, even there website is the UK one and prices they are never what you see in their stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭JRH

Maplin are pretty much a convenience store ... expect to pay for what you want right now ... if you only buy the special offers though they can reasonable value ... a lot of items seem to rotate between full price and special eg here in galway the 43 element trifold aerial is reduced from 82 to 35 every couple of weeks ...
    as for connections ,cables etc all are on e-bay for a fraction of maplin price ...
    many of their gadgets are also on e-bay.. eg maplin were selling this for about 55 a while back :rolleyes:
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/2-4G-Wireless-Keyboard-Mouse-Touchpad-2-4GHz-iPazzPort-/280758987117?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_KeyboardsMice&hash=item415e8a296d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Jackasaurus rex

shops like peats have large margin on components like fuses and resisters and all that to try make up for the shoddy margin on higher price items like tvs and mp3. the reason that lots of shops like peats try push accessories with laptops and cameras and all is because they often make better money off a case and card than off the camera itself.

They don't have a shoddy margin on anything unless they are being ripped of by Wholesalers. Which is actually very common in Ireland.

It's not uncommon for Irish wholesale to even be on a poor margin too by stupidly buying from UK Wholesale. Often manufacturers appoint a UK wholesaler as sole distributor for Ireland & UK.

You can often get the same thing 30% cheaper from Dutch or German retailer inc Courier (often less than UK parcelforce) than Irish Discount prices.

steveon wrote: »
    Totally agree as i said unless Im seriously stuck i now bypass them, even there website is the UK one and prices they are never what you see in their stores.

If you are seriously stuck, I'm in Limerick too Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,037 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

A cheap scart lead, not the one with the Iron filings in the cover 15euro in Maplins for a 1.5meter!

F-Connector 2.99!!

F-Connector joiner 2.99!!

Satellite Cable 2.50 a meter!!

Absolutely daylight robbery!

Compare it to current trade prices on these items:

F-Connector 8euro = bag of 100

F-Connector joiner 11euro bag of 100

Satellite Cable 12euro = 100 meters

Scart lead 2.50euro

My god, they should be shut down!

I work for Peats. We certainly don't charge €15 for a cheap Scart lead, nor is satellite cable €2.50 per metre. F-connectors and joiners aren't the prices you've quoted either.
    They don't have a shoddy margin on anything unless they are being ripped of by Wholesalers. Which is actually very common in Ireland.

It's not uncommon for Irish wholesale to even be on a poor margin too by stupidly buying from UK Wholesale. Often manufacturers appoint a UK wholesaler as sole distributor for Ireland & UK.

You can often get the same thing 30% cheaper from Dutch or German retailer inc Courier (often less than UK parcelforce) than Irish Discount prices.

There are plenty of products which do in fact carry 'shoddy margin'. Apple products are notorious for this. Apple set the prices and you as a retailer can do nothing about it. You can only hope to sell some accessories to make up for the lack of any worthwhile margin on an Apple product.

Laptops, hard drives and other products don't carry nearly as much margin as people like to think. There's been plenty of times where it's been technically dearer for me to buy something at staff price than the retail price.

I'm not going to go all out here and outline our pricing on various different things. Suffice to say I felt I had to comment as I believe ALL of the prices quoted by the OP in the first part of his post are from Maplin and not Peats.

They don't have a shoddy margin on anything unless they are being ripped of by Wholesalers.

I dont think its always the case. I think the likes of peats cant afford buy as much stock as a multinational and as such they wont get as good a price on it. but they still have to try compete with the harvey normans and currys and such.

So Peats ARE getting ripped of by the suppliers.

In some cases yes Irish suppliers do charge more than they should. I recall one time being asked for a specific NAS (network attached storage) unit for a customer. I priced it with a continental supplier and it was x price. I rang a big Irish supplier and they were just over €100 more. When I asked why there was such a huge price difference for exactly the same item they were unable to give me a satisfactory answer. Situations such as this weren't isolated.
    I also think it's not fair to compare a trade business to one which deals with the public- it's not the same.

Also as I've already stated I believe ALL of the prices quoted by the OP in the first part of his post are from Maplin and not Peats.

I've mentioned on various forums here on Boards over the years why some shops are more expensive than others and I don't feel like repeating myself again. If you wanted to search you'll see plenty of long posts from me on the subject.

Edit: I thought your username was familiar to me and it seems you just don't like us:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=922667
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=1448963
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=52858725
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54362510
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=59679711
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=60753961

Nothing Personal. I think the ENTIRE Irish Retail sector has a problem now with Online ordering so much simpler than 1960s Mail Order. I think a lot of it is an extra layer of Irish "so called" wholesalers and also some UK distributors charging Irish Trade almost the UK Retail price.

It's crazy how much stuff is Priced in Euros and goes through UK to Ireland and suffers currency hedging twice.

Tesco and Lidl charge far more here on many products (than other markets) than the extra Irish operating costs justify (Obscene Property rents and higher VAT, electricity, phone etc).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I was in Maplins recently looking for a 3 Phono to SCART. They had them €18.00. I went to Tesco and picked one up for €7.00.

Harvey Normans, the sales assistant never heard of them and said they only stocked standard cables. :rolleyes:

What has annoyed me about this thread is that it's misleading, plain and simple. The OP stated:

A plain 1.5M scart cable was €15... here we have one for €4.99.

An F connector was €2.99, here we have it for €1.

An F connector coupler was €2.99 yet here we have it for €1.50.

Sat cable was €2.50 pm, yet here we have it for €1.

Now I am not by any means saying that we are the cheapest around. Our prices however are very far removed from those claimed in the original post. That is what irks me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

the op would be shocked at the prices some manufacturers charge for a scart lead that will do much the same job as the maplins /peats one, im talking hundreds ,they claim brilliant speed gold plated connections ...much snake oil i think

What has annoyed me about this thread is that it's misleading, plain and simple. The OP stated:

Now I am not by any means saying that we are the cheapest around. Our prices however are very far removed from those claimed in the original post. That is what irks me.

I agree you can't put Peats and Maplin in the same Bracket. Maplin are pricing themselves out of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭stanley1

priced a roberts wm201 at peats, they were looking for €299, got it on ebay for €152 including postage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

completely agree, went to Maplin looking for 15 meter of Twin /Shotgun cable for a PVR and 6 F Connectors, they told me tht the cable could not be got unless you work for Sky and offered me 30 meters of single cable and the connectors for €43.

I got my cable and the connectors in a local electrical parts store in Galway for €6.90, they even gave me a little bit extra free cable too.

That's just one example, have plenty more. Ill never be gracing their stores with my presence again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

dharn wrote: »
    the op would be shocked at the prices some manufacturers charge for a scart lead that will do much the same job as the maplins /peats one, im talking hundreds ,they claim brilliant speed gold plated connections ...much snake oil i think

Brilliant speed scart cable eh? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭MrSneeg

GOOD GOD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Reported for what? A private company can sell the goods they own for any price they want. If they want to sell a 10c f connector for €100,000 its their choice.

They are hardly alone. http://www.powercity.ie/?par=30-70-19015&pages=1&prod=19015&brands=FLEMMING &image=
    http://www.powercity.ie/?par=30-70-FCONN&pages=1&prod=FCONN&brands=FLEMMING&image=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Markdub2000

Sorry but -

2 phono to headphone jack 1.5m lead

Maplin 10euro
    Peats 15euro
    Power City 3.99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

dropped into Peats looking for a sata to molex power adaptor - none in stock but priced at 1.49 each
    Maplins around the corner had them - at 8.49 - I was actually sickened! ;-)

I walked out (as you would)

Is there anywhere in Dublin that does this small item and actually has it in stock at a reasonable price??????

Sorry but -

Maplin 10euro
    Peats 15euro
    Power City 3.99

Sigh:

Here, albeit a little shorter at 1.2M for €5.90, a 5M for €11.90 and a 10M for €15.99.

A better quality 3M for €5.90.

Sorry but -

Maplin 10euro
    Peats 15euro
    Power City 3.99

There is cheaper ones in peats too, most hifi shops will have budget cables and then more expensive ones.

Same way as you can get a pair of headphones for a couple of quid or you can buy something more expensive if thats more to your taste.

gambiaman wrote: »
    dropped into Peats looking for a sata to molex power adaptor - none in stock but priced at 1.49 each
    Maplins around the corner had them - at 8.49 - I was actually sickened! ;-)

I walked out (as you would)

Is there anywhere in Dublin that does this small item and actually has it in stock at a reasonable price??????

Peats in college green have them. I just called and checked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Brian P

It's a few years since I've been to Peats but the last time I was there I bought a dvd player (approx. €300). I asked for a few bob off the price and was immediately given a reduction of about 10%. I was impressed with them but as I say that was quite a no. of years ago.

Peats in college green have them. I just called and checked

I was in Parnell st.
    Yer man checked the stock levels, I should have asked about their other stores or been offered the info I suppose. ( i'm assuming it's linked up)

gambiaman wrote: »
    I was in Parnell st.
    Yer man checked the stock levels, I should have asked about their other stores or been offered the info I suppose. ( i'm assuming it's linked up)

To be honest its unusual that they have it there. they have limited stock levels compared to the main store. Its probably an order that was never collected.

Ill get one of the lads over there to hang onto one for you if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Can't stomach buying anything maplins, its just too much of a rip off, even if you need something in a hurry. Its not even the money, its the idea of it.

Ill get one of the lads over there to hang onto one for you if you want.

Ah grand so. I was in the middle of looking online! I'll be taking a couple along with a few sata cables. Not the biggest purchase but annoying enough.
    PS Wasn't moaning about yer man in Peats btw, he was helpful. ;-)

Grand, Ask for Pat when you go in. He will have 3 of the molex and 3 sata cables put aside. Tell him you were talking to Darran so he will know its you.

Cheers Jack!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Back in the day Maplin were great until they started taking the proverbial with their pricing (particularly in their RoI stores).

There is nothing on their websites* to indicate which (if any) of their products are Saorview compatible. Their .ie URL just redirects to the .co.uk site which just contains vague references to "Freeview" or "Digital".

Wish we had the likes of Media Markt or Saturn over here.

* Or labeling in their stores -Even RoI branches.

Jaycar and Conrad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭FRIENDO

I remember my parents renting our tv from Peats up till the mid 80s, I remember if we had problems with the tv, the repair man would be out to replace the tv with another newely repaired one and the smell which I now associate with soldering.

The good old days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 daveiw

Guys

I work at Maplin in the UK and I understand your point. I hope that you understand all costs are much higher such as distribution and labour is still more expensive compared to the UK. That said I take your point about prices, it's a really tough one because compared to trade prices you are paying for individual components to be packed and then kept in stock until you decide you need one. Of course you might say at that price I will never buy and that's fine, the result of that is there is less choice on the high street and everyone will go to the web which may well happen. For what it is worth Maplin decided not to increase prices because of VAT rises although this is a small amount. I guess it all comes down to the cost of convenience as some people have said, as for 'we should be shut down', all I can say to that is if that happened you would have no convenience and no choice so I am not sure how that helps.

No, I'm comparing with Retail prices. Not trade or Bulk. And even including postage from Germany, UK, USA, China, Turkey, Greece, Singapore Retailers.

€30 for a phone patch cord?
    You've dropped the good nickel cables and plugs at only mildly inflated prices and replaced them with inferior "gold" flashed cables at Astronomic prices.

More and more "boys toys" products the Electronic equivalent of Woolworths Hong Kong toys for kids in 1960s, but for "grown ups".

Continue the change of stock profile and prices and either you will only be a "an electronic tat bazaar" or closed due to alienating all the existing customers with poorer quality and high prices. There isn't even convenience as much as increasingly they say they can order it. Well I can order it just as fast.
    Rolston tools? I can get better tools at same or cheaper prices in the local shops.

I can get as good or better cables in Dunnes at 1/2 to 1/10th of price.

daveiw wrote: »
    Guys

I work at Maplin in the UK and I understand your point. I hope that you understand all costs are much higher such as distribution and labour is still more expensive compared to the UK. That said I take your point about prices, it's a really tough one because compared to trade prices you are paying for individual components to be packed and then kept in stock until you decide you need one. Of course you might say at that price I will never buy and that's fine, the result of that is there is less choice on the high street and everyone will go to the web which may well happen. For what it is worth Maplin decided not to increase prices because of VAT rises although this is a small amount. I guess it all comes down to the cost of convenience as some people have said, as for 'we should be shut down', all I can say to that is if that happened you would have no convenience and no choice so I am not sure how that helps.

8.49 vs 1.49 for a molex-to-sata connector.
    Yeah, huge storage and packing costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 daveiw

Well As I said we all have a world of choice, I guess that's what this forum is about so I won't argue with you, let's hope that in the search for the lowest prices for all things that we don't lose the divergence, convenience and service that we see in retail right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭huggs2

I remember some months ago i found myself needing an f-connector.In Maplins
    they were about €3 or €4 Euro in a plastic bag hanging on a display stand.I didn't like the price so i went to a nearby electrical Trade/Retail counter and was handed one for €0.30. yes that's thirty cent. and no plastic bag :rolleyes:
    I worked out the price later to be 11 times cheaper than Maplins.Needless to say i have not been there since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

I would comment on Peats, but I'd get infracted again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Spacedog wrote: »
    I would comment on Peats, but I'd get infracted again.

LOL what did you expect, from a rant like that. Funny though.