If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Advantages/ Disadvantages of Joining The Reserves before Full Time AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭unattendedbag

itsallgood wrote: »

Im sorry but this will not happen, it beats the whole purpose as having reserves there as a RESERVE to full time members.
    Why pay to train and recruit twice.
    It will help you but bu no means will you be turned away for not being a reserve. Its just wishful thinking of some looking for easier access. Up till 4 years ago some people were being rejected at interview stage for being in the reserves.

I'm not saying that anybody will be turned away just because they are not a reserve.

At the end of the day, There will be more applicants than places and it is a distinct advantage to have shown interest and operational knowledge of how the job works. Competencies that relate to the job shown to an interview panel of current serving officers will be an advantage too. The next competition will b very unique and extremely competitive because of the moratorium and anyone who doesn't give themselves the best opportunity of getting through only has themselves to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Im sorry but this will not happen, it beats the whole purpose as having reserves there as a RESERVE to full time members.
    It will help you but bu no means will you be turned away for not being a reserve. Its just wishful thinking of some looking for easier access. Up till 4 years ago some people were being rejected at interview stage for being in the reserves.

In all fairness, do you actually have a source for this information? If not then maybe it's best not to make some generalisations based on hearsay.

As for your other point, maybe you should have a read of this extract from the Met's website.
    The MPS has changed the way that it recruits police constables. The majority of police officer recruits will now come from serving MPS special constables and PCSOs. Currently the only route for external applicants to become a police officer is by joining the MPS as a Special Constable. MPS special constables are able to apply for the role of police officer when internal vacancies arise if they have attained Independent Patrol Status (IPS) and have a current satisfactory appraisal. Independent Patrol Status is the term given when a special constable has reached a satisfactory standard of competence to enable them to patrol independently.

Special constables will be required to complete an internal application form (when internal vacancies arise) and undertake the Police National Recruitment Standard (NRS) assessment process, which is often called Day 1 (assessment centre) and Day 2 (medical and fitness). All special constable candidates, who achieve the MPS standard at Day 1 NRS, will undertake training which recognises their previous learning and operational experience before being appointed as a police constable. In future when external recruitment reopens, it is likely to be for a very limited number of vacancies.

The MPS has just launched it first internal selection campaign based on the new approach to police constable selection and training. The internal selection campaign is aimed at selecting from currently serving MPS special constables and PCSOs. To find out more and to apply to become a special constable, please visit www.metpolicecareers.co.uk/specials

Included in the new process for the recruitment is the proposal of a "third pathway" for external applicants. That would include applicants precluded from being special constables by virtue of their profession or personal circumstances (including graduates). At this stage this external route is not currently developed and will not be activated for 2011-12 recruitment. Plans in respect of 2012-13 MPS police recruitment are also currently not developed. Any new information or development will be posted to our careers website.
    http://www.metpolicecareers.co.uk/faq.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Me again!

eroo wrote: »

In all fairness, do you actually have a source for this information? If not then maybe it's best not to make some generalisations based on hearsay.

As for your other point, maybe you should have a read of this extract from the Met's website.
    The MPS has changed the way that it recruits police constables. The majority of police officer recruits will now come from serving MPS special constables and PCSOs. Currently the only route for external applicants to become a police officer is by joining the MPS as a Special Constable. MPS special constables are able to apply for the role of police officer when internal vacancies arise if they have attained Independent Patrol Status (IPS) and have a current satisfactory appraisal. Independent Patrol Status is the term given when a special constable has reached a satisfactory standard of competence to enable them to patrol independently.

Special constables will be required to complete an internal application form (when internal vacancies arise) and undertake the Police National Recruitment Standard (NRS) assessment process, which is often called Day 1 (assessment centre) and Day 2 (medical and fitness). All special constable candidates, who achieve the MPS standard at Day 1 NRS, will undertake training which recognises their previous learning and operational experience before being appointed as a police constable. In future when external recruitment reopens, it is likely to be for a very limited number of vacancies.

The MPS has just launched it first internal selection campaign based on the new approach to police constable selection and training. The internal selection campaign is aimed at selecting from currently serving MPS special constables and PCSOs. To find out more and to apply to become a special constable, please visit www.metpolicecareers.co.uk/specials

Included in the new process for the recruitment is the proposal of a "third pathway" for external applicants. That would include applicants precluded from being special constables by virtue of their profession or personal circumstances (including graduates). At this stage this external route is not currently developed and will not be activated for 2011-12 recruitment. Plans in respect of 2012-13 MPS police recruitment are also currently not developed. Any new information or development will be posted to our careers website.
    http://www.metpolicecareers.co.uk/faq.html

In the early 1990's there were at least 20,000 applicants for 1500 places. The next recruitment drive will result in similar numbers if not larger. Reserves will have to sit the aptitude test and put their exam number on the paper, there will be no getting around this. If they get to interview stage they can push their reserve experience but it might be an advantage or a disadvantage, if a reserve has not preformed well or fitted in as a team member it might follow them to interview and actually go against them. It should be an open fair process with the best applicants getting through in the end Wheather they are a reserve or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭gardapa

In my interview for full-time, I was If I was so interested in joining why didn't I join the reserves... Honestly, in my own head I laughed at that idea and simply said, well i knew I wanted to join full-time so why bother because I didn't want to waste money in trying the reserves first.

Anyway my point is back then my thoughts on the reserve were different because times were different with recruitment ongoing every year.

If others were asked, what answers would they give?? Having a family, in college or in full-time employment won't suffice because there is so many out there who manage to do it.

Nobody know what is going to happen when recruitment starts again but I cant understand how people can say it makes no sense to recruit from reserves because why waste money by training people twice but you can say that about people who aren't reserves...why buy more uniforms, radios or pepper spray? I know eventually they will have to buy more but it gives them more time not to.

You have to look at the cost of the whole recruitment process as well from holding apt tests to interviews. It can be done a lot cheaper if reserves were recommended by their super or brought in to their local district to sit exam.

Atm the reserve, has no purpose and is a waste of money but through time, the purpose of the reserve is going to expand or disband and so far the minister and commissioner has said the reserve is here to stay... So ask yourself why??

That is my opinion on it and I can understand why some people would disagree but look at it in a different perspective instead of how it affects 'me'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

gardapa wrote: »
    I cant understand how people can say it makes no sense to recruit from reserves because why waste money by training people twice but you can say that about people who aren't reserves...why buy more uniforms, radios or pepper spray? I know eventually they will have to buy more but it gives them more time not to.

i doubt the cost of supplying new recruits with kit is going to out weigh all the millions spent on the reserves. spend millions on reserves for couple years 'free' service(if they costs millions and the free service only lasts for a few years then it is not infact a free service) then load them into full time and and think its cheaper than new recruits because they will already have a uniform??????
    You have to look at the cost of the whole recruitment process as well from holding apt tests to interviews. It can be done a lot cheaper if reserves were recommended by their super or brought in to their local district to sit exam.
    there is alot of aspects to this from the other perspective. cost of changing the whole training process(which has only just been done and not to accommodate reserves only). holding the tests i would imagine is fare cheaper and easier in bulk rather than 2 or 3 reserves doing it in half the stations around the country, so that will be no cheaper than civilians doing tests or interviews.

im just going to put it the way i see it.

the reserves were established at a time when garda recruitment was rampant.
    the idea was that it was a cost effective method to assist full members at busy times, people who wanted to do their bit or who did it as an alternative because they could not get into full for one reason or another joined,also a small minority wanted to join to see if they wanted to become a gard, but most that wanted to be a gard at the time just went straight for it.

then came the embargo, alot of people who wanted to join the gards joined reserves in meantime, now there is a situation where we'll say 90% of the reserve want to join full time. this situation was not expected when reserves began as people went straight for full. it was not the plan that the reserves would be established,cost millions and then go into full time.the idea was that it might cost millions but it would provide free service for years and pay for itself(sure a percentage would always have gone into full time and have to be replaced but no where near the percent that want to leave for full now).

if it happens when recruitment commences that majority get full time( or in some peoples minds all of them)this will effectively render pointless the establishment of the reserves. the principle of the reserves was never to be a pre-entry course into an garda siochana, nor will it ever be. if this is what the reserves turns into i believe that it will be scrapped and its purposes null en void. unless the most of reserves stay reserves for a good few years it cannot be justified. its all about saving money now, if the reserves turns into unnecessary/expensive work experience for future gardai it will not last.

i am in no way against the reserves it must be great to be involved in and there is no doubt that you will have vast experience ahead of normal recruits, but its not as simple as all of ye jumping ship and not looking back. the reserve is a good idea but it was designed in a time where regular recruitment existed and no sign of embargo/money shortages lay ahead, and this embargo i feel may just cause a problem with the cost effectiveness and point of the reserves. iv a feeling that they will try something to prevent the reserves from just disappearing or they will let them off and not replace them.

sorry for the long post but boards is all about peoples thoughts and opinions /ideas and thats my 2 cents(more like a euro) and its not a biased opinion, and i mean that.

In fairness, the Special Constables in UK were never designed to be a source of recruitment but they now are. This doesn't they will take every single SC. Likewise if they did it here, they could choose from Reserves with maybe 3/4 years experience as opposed to all being allowed to apply. Numbers could be easily replaced.

As for why recruit from Reserves directly, I've covered before: tetra, asp, pepper spray done; uniforms issued, only difference being shoulder numbers. But most important of all... they know what the role of a Garda entails, what working in a station is like, what other Gardai are like and they know if the job suits them or not. Aptitude tests would not be necessary if the Reserves unit Sgt, Cig and local Super all gave a written refernce as to their suitability i.e. if they have the aptitude to do the job.

In fairness, the Special Constables in UK were never designed to be a source of recruitment but they now are. This doesn't they will take every single SC. Likewise if they did it here, they could choose from Reserves with maybe 3/4 years experience as opposed to all being allowed to apply. Numbers could be easily replaced.

As for why recruit from Reserves directly, I've covered before: tetra, asp, pepper spray done; uniforms issued, only difference being shoulder numbers. But most important of all... they know what the role of a Garda entails, what working in a station is like, what other Gardai are like and they know if the job suits them or not. Aptitude tests would not be necessary if the Reserves unit Sgt, Cig and local Super all gave a written refernce as to their suitability i.e. if they have the aptitude to do the job.

Then the same unit sgt, cigre and super will probally have to approve every reserve as they will be probally subject to legal proceeding of they don't by some aggrieved reserve. If a reserve is accepted they will have to go to the garda college and all those.courses will be done again as refreshers with new members, theres a hell of alot more difference between a full time member and a reserve other than shoulder numbers. I think to say this shows a lack of knowledge of the vastness of the job.

Me again! wrote: »
    Then the same unit sgt, cigre and super will probally have to approve every reserve as they will be probally subject to legal proceeding of they don't by some aggrieved reserve. If a reserve is accepted they will have to go to the garda college and all those.courses will be done again as refreshers with new members, theres a hell of alot more difference between a full time member and a reserve other than shoulder numbers. I think to say this shows a lack of knowledge of the vastness of the job.
    Well going on your logic in the above post, every SC in the Metropolitan Police Service that didn't have a satisfactory appraisal should be pursuing legal cases right now. They are not. If you're not good enough you wont get in, simple really.

For all of you saying internal recruitment will never or could not happen, the London Metropolitan Police Service's most recent campaign puts pay to that as they have successfully recruited internally. It's not guaranteed to happen here, but I think it should.

@Me again, I said nowhere that a Reserve Garda and a Garda are similiar bar shoulder numbers. I actually said the only difference in the uniform is the shoulder numbers. If you re read my post you will see I said a Reserve has a much better understanding of the job than a member of the public applying. That is a fact.

Please don't misrepresent my posts again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Dan1994

In my opinion if the recruitment process stays the same and if a reserve gets through to interview stage they'd want to have a very good knowledge of the job because they'll look pretty stupid if they can't give a good answer to any questions their asked about the job that they should know from being a reserve, and they'll prob get a few curve balls thrown at them by the interviewing panel to try catch people out.

Well going on your logic in the above post, every SC in the Metropolitan Police Service that didn't have a satisfactory appraisal should be pursuing legal cases right now. They are not. If you're not good enough you wont get in, simple really.

For all of you saying internal recruitment will never or could not happen, the London Metropolitan Police Service's most recent campaign puts pay to that as they have successfully recruited internally. It's not guaranteed to happen here, but I think it should.

@Me again, I said nowhere that a Reserve Garda and a Garda are similiar bar shoulder numbers. I actually said the only difference in the uniform is the shoulder numbers. If you re read my post you will see I said a Reserve has a much better understanding of the job than a member of the public applying. That is a fact.

Please don't misrepresent my posts again.

I'm glad to here that because otherwise it would have been pretty insulting to full time gardai. There's more to a job than putting on a uniform and doing a few one day courses as I believe the tetra, asp and pepper spray are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

I'm glad to here that because otherwise it would have been pretty insulting to full time gardai. There's more to a job than putting on a uniform and doing a few one day courses as I believe the tetra, asp and pepper spray are.

Sorry, are you a reserve or serving Garda?

Hooch wrote: »

Sorry, are you a reserve or serving Garda?

Potential applicant who has friends in the gardai, why?

Well then you don't know much about the workings of the gardai except what your mates tell you down in the local , half the country have friends in the gardai it's a small country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Then please don't bother commenting on the reserve training when you obviously don't understand them. The training for that equipment is the same for all ranks of AGS. I have a friend who is a Surgeon and talks about his job all the time as I have an interest in it......but I wouldn't attempt to pretend I know the first thing about his training or the differences between him and another surgeon.......

No reserve has (including eroo), in my knowledge, ever on this forum stated they were the same training as a full time member. Please don't twist posts.

Hooch wrote: »

Then please don't bother commenting on the reserve training when you obviously don't understand them. The training for that equipment is the same for all ranks of AGS. I have a friend who is a Surgeon and talks about his job all the time as I have an interest in it......but I wouldn't attempt to pretend I know the first thing about his training or the differences between him and another surgeon.......

No reserve has (including eroo), in my knowledge, ever on this forum stated they were the same training as a full time member. Please don't twist posts.

I think I'm entitled to have an opinion, I didn't think you had to be a reserve or a serving garda to post here. The title of the thread suggests it relates to non reserves who may also be applicants. While reserves get the same training for equipment I believe I'm correct in that most the courses are a day or two long.

just like to point out this is the gardai not the MET, we proudly do things or own way in this country.

well thats what im saying, i think that it is in fact more expensive to hire reserves. take a reserve with 3/4 years experience and a normal recruit entering the college. the reserve has more experience entering the college and knows if its for him whatever. they will both be given exact same training which will give the normal recruit as much training experience in tetra asp ect as any reserve(to say otherwise is undermining the training of full time garda).

the fact is that both will be just as good a garda as each other leaving the college and in some cases the normal recruit might make a better garda than the former reserve,visa versa.the final product is what matters, it may be a big difference entering college to be a reserve but after training the only big difference i see is the fact that one has cost alot more than the other. so internal recruitment only is unnecessary.mix of both will do just grand imo. the gardai have been trained in this way since its establishment and it is proven to be more than satisfactory. internal recruitment only is like paying for your shopping twice.

thekopend wrote: »
    just like to point out this is the gardai not the MET, we proudly do things or own way in this country.

well thats what im saying, i think that it is in fact more expensive to hire reserves. take a reserve with 3/4 years experience and a normal recruit entering the college. the reserve has more experience entering the college and knows if its for him whatever. they will both be given exact same training which will give the normal recruit as much training experience in tetra asp ect as any reserve(to say otherwise is undermining the training of full time garda).

the fact is that both will be just as good a garda as each other leaving the college and in some cases the normal recruit might make a better garda than the former reserve,visa versa.the final product is what matters, it may be a big difference entering college to be a reserve but after training the only big difference i see is the fact that one has cost alot more than the other. so internal recruitment only is unnecessary.mix of both will do just grand imo. the gardai have been trained in this way since its establishment and it is proven to be more than satisfactory. internal recruitment only is like paying for your shopping twice.

To be honest, I've said all I have to say on this subject. My posts are starting to sound repititive. Unfortunately, some people waiting to apply/on the panel seem to have an underlying grudge against the reserve. Regardless, reserves who are waiting to apply shouldn't be ridiculed as they are clearly being here at times.

I can only speak for myself, but I count my blessings for getting into the reserve as every shift I learn something new; I've made some great friends. Also I come across a variety of incidents and people and learn how to deal with them, as well getting an insight into the rich culture of An Garda Siochana. The experience gained in the reserve is invaluable imo. Every Garda I've ever met on duty has said the same. I'll be proud to join this great organisation as a Garda someday soon, and follow in the footsteps of the many who have served before. Until then, I'm proud to have the chance to learn and get experience under my belt. I advise those waiting to apply to do the same! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭gardapa

@thekopend- I’m not just talking about the uniform. There are other factors that have to be considered.

I know the training process has been looked at but I wouldn’t say much money went into it as it is not in operation yet. It is simply a recommendation from a review carried out and not 100% so who’s to say they won’t change their mind. If it was 100% then it would be updated on the Garda website.

Yes the reserves were set up when the country had money to burn but times have changed and it is still in operation. Why do you think the government at present still fund it? Surely if it wasn’t going anywhere it would be disbanded? There is something planned for it but who knows what it is at this stage.

Yes the gardai and the met are different. We are about 10 years behind them. Look at everything the gardai have atm and look at what the met have had for some time. So how can you say we do things differently over here when we are playing catch up with different police forces not just the met. Eroo was simply saying that the mets recruitment process is internal now so why are people saying it can never happen here when it can be done elsewhere. If this style of recruiting is seen as successful I can see other police forces in the UK adopting this style as well as over here. If it is unsuccessful then yes you are right it won’t be brought in over here.

Paying for your shopping twice?? Someone should tell the met they are paying for their shopping twice. Let’s say it comes about that you must spend a certain amount of time in the reserves( 5years) before applying to full time well then that’s 5 years free service as opposed to someone who just finishes school and walks straight into the job.

@me again- I thought like you in my interview for full time and it did me no good. As a potential applicant you should be giving yourself every chance to pass interview and turning your nose up at the reserve in this economic climate will be like telling AGS you are too good to give up your free time to do so something you really enjoy. It makes no sense. We all learn the hard way.

Everyone is going to have different views here but I think the bottom line is everyone should be giving themselves every chance at passing full-time interview when it arises again and joining the reserves is ONE way of doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

thekopend wrote: »
    I wouldn't wholly agree with that.

@thekopend- I’m not just talking about the uniform. There are other factors that have to be considered.

I know the training process has been looked at but I wouldn’t say much money went into it as it is not in operation yet. It is simply a recommendation from a review carried out and not 100% so who’s to say they won’t change their mind. If it was 100% then it would be updated on the Garda website.

Yes the reserves were set up when the country had money to burn but times have changed and it is still in operation. Why do you think the government at present still fund it? Surely if it wasn’t going anywhere it would be disbanded? There is something planned for it but who knows what it is at this stage.

Yes the gardai and the met are different. We are about 10 years behind them. Look at everything the gardai have atm and look at what the met have had for some time. So how can you say we do things differently over here when we are playing catch up with different police forces not just the met. Eroo was simply saying that the mets recruitment process is internal now so why are people saying it can never happen here when it can be done elsewhere. If this style of recruiting is seen as successful I can see other police forces in the UK adopting this style as well as over here. If it is unsuccessful then yes you are right it won’t be brought in over here.

Paying for your shopping twice?? Someone should tell the met they are paying for their shopping twice. Let’s say it comes about that you must spend a certain amount of time in the reserves( 5years) before applying to full time well then that’s 5 years free service as opposed to someone who just finishes school and walks straight into the job.

@me again- I thought like you in my interview for full time and it did me no good. As a potential applicant you should be giving yourself every chance to pass interview and turning your nose up at the reserve in this economic climate will be like telling AGS you are too good to give up your free time to do so something you really enjoy. It makes no sense. We all learn the hard way.

Everyone is going to have different views here but I think the bottom line is everyone should be giving themselves every chance at passing full-time interview when it arises again and joining the reserves is ONE way of doing this.

If I was to commit to the reserve I would put my current job at risk as I could not facilitate both. I have a mortgage and cannot take that risk. If I applied for the full time force and was sucessful I would obviously be prepared to change career. I know in an interview situation I would have no issue explaining clearly why the reserve was not an option for me. There will be many in my situation next time around who will be highly qualified and motivated and they should not be discriminated against because they could not for valid reasons join the reserve. The gardai recruited directly from the public todate and it has served them well. In my opinion reserves don't want the risk of having to join the applicant process for fear of not making the cut. If they are good enough they should not be afraid of an open application process. In relation to the gardai being 10 years behind the met I disagree, maybe in equipment at times but the CAB is an example of where the gardai led other forces worldwide like the met who adopted the principle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭seedorf117

If I was to commit to the reserve I would put my current job at risk as I could not facilitate both. I have a mortgage and cannot take that risk. If I applied for the full time force and was sucessful I would obviously be prepared to change career. I know in an interview situation I would have no issue explaining clearly why the reserve was not an option for me. There will be many in my situation next time around who will be highly qualified and motivated and they should not be discriminated against because they could not for valid reasons join the reserve. The gardai recruited directly from the public todate and it has served them well. In my opinion reserves don't want the risk of having to join the applicant process for fear of not making the cut. If they are good enough they should not be afraid of an open application process. In relation to the gardai being 10 years behind the met I disagree, maybe in equipment at times but the CAB is an example of where the gardai led other forces worldwide like the met who adopted the principle!

You must work incredible long hours?? I mean the reserves is very flexible, a shift per week is the target?I work full time, studying for a degree at night time and currently starting an events business.im sure ud find the time if you really wanted it.

"In my opinion reserves don't want the risk of having to join the applicant process for fear of not making the cut" - speaking for myself, i joined firstly to see if id like that career path, secondly its being the best thing ive ever done.

seedorf117 wrote: »

You must work incredible long hours?? I mean the reserves is very flexible, a shift per week is the target?I work full time, studying for a degree at night time and currently starting an events business.im sure ud find the time if you really wanted it.

"In my opinion reserves don't want the risk of having to join the applicant process for fear of not making the cut" - speaking for myself, i joined firstly to see if id like that career path, secondly its being the best thing ive ever done.

I do work long hours and in order to pay the bills I need to continue to do that and out of respect I would not take on the role unless I could commit, people have chosen a career in the gardai before without having to have the reserve "experience". Why you joined the reserve isn't an answer to my statement about reserves fear of not making the cut. Get past the aptitude test and you will possibly have an advantage and good luck to you. But if you don't pass the aptitude you are not suitable for the job full time. Best of luck to everyone and let's hope recruitment starts sooner rather than later!

it is still in operation because it presently is a good system. if it happens that recruitment turns reserve only and everyone joins it just to get full time then we'll say the most(probably all) of reserves will only give 5 years and leave. i wonder is it worth spending money to train reserves for this length of time and then spend more money on training to replace reserves again and again then full training on top of that,which will be very costly, over an open system where both reserves and civilians can join and prevent the reserve from costing so much to run as there will be a balance of long/short time members, resulting in less reserve training.

i just dont think all reserve training will be any more beneficial than the mix. recruiting from public isnt going to be just someone who finishes school either, we all no the interview stage is more than capable of preventing this from happening.

i would have keen interest in joining but my dilemma is that i have work for 7 weeks every year at a local festival as a doorman(only time of year i do it, got psa license specifically for this). its just before i go to college at end of the summer and its allot of hours at a good rate of pay. if i did not have this i simply wouldn't get through the college year so i cant afford to drop it, i understand to be a reserve you cant do this work. so that is why i haven't joined even though i have wanted to.

In what field are you highly qualified

Dan1994 wrote: »

In what field are you highly qualified

I'll save that for the interview board if I manage to get that far, but thanks for the interest anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

I think its worth mentioning that if ags made being a reserve member compulsory for joining the full time force they would be ruling out all bar, hotel and nightclub staff and any one who works in any other kind licensed premises as working in that industry rules you out of the reserves.
    I really dont think they want to do that as they would be ruling out people with great experience in dealing with the public, which is exactly what ags do. it could also be looked at as discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

it could also be looked at as discrimination.

the gardai discriminate against age, fitness, medical history etc

they are allowed

as are the defence forces and other various bodies for obvious reasons.

the defence forces also give ´bonus´marks based on service and rank within the RDF and Naval Reserve. Its a fact of life, someone with previous experience is viewed as potentially better candidate. It shows pedigree

you will be at a disadvantage when compared to a reserve member or any member of a police force when this question is asked ´have you any previous policing experience?´prepare for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Galway Elvis

This thread has really shown how many on here know so little about how AGS works.

When recruitment statrs again there are only two certanties.
    1. Being a Reserve Member of AGS with a proven track record and positive reports from all ranks will be of enormous benifit to your recruitmant prospects.

2. Being a Reserve Member of AGS with no track record and any negative reportsfrom any rank will end your recruitment prospects without getting past the PAS.

A proven track record will include, but not be limited to, turning up for duty on a regular basis, being trusted by Regular mules of all ranks and willing to get stuck in when the need arises without having to be told to do so.

As of a year ago this famous panel of approximatly 160, with ALL stages of the recruitment process completed, included 36 Reserves.
    Does it matter how any of those 160 got on that panel?

The decision to keep or scrap this panel will only be made by the Minister of the day in conjunction with the Commissioner when they need to do so.
    They are also the only people that can decide and dictate the criteria for recruitment into AGS.

The Reserve Garda Rank within AGS is far from perfect but it still very young and is improving every day.

I have yet to meet a Reserve Garda that DID NOT have ANY of the following; dependents, work commitments (if they are lucky), financial commitments, family, friends, a social life,......I could go on.

It would be wise for some people on this forum to educate themselves with the facts about AGS and how it opperates before they ever use the excuse "i am too busy" and/or "i dont have the time" again.

I find it strange that these same people seem to have plenty of time to rubbish the whole Reserve concept without having any experience or actual knowledge of how it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

WilcoOut wrote: »
    the gardai discriminate against age, fitness, medical history etc

they are allowed

as are the defence forces and other various bodies for obvious reasons.

the defence forces also give ´bonus´marks based on service and rank within the RDF and Naval Reserve. Its a fact of life, someone with previous experience is viewed as potentially better candidate. It shows pedigree

you will be at a disadvantage when compared to a reserve member or any member of a police force when this question is asked ´have you any previous policing experience?´prepare for that

You have a point, but there is valid reasons for them.

The age thing is to do with the pension, which isnt really a valid reason imo, they could get rid of age limit and just give a reduced pension, but thats their excuse.

Your fitness and medical condition effect your ability to carry out your duties.

But you cant tell someone they cant join just because they work in a pub! In my opinion its probably one of the best experience to have joining ags, you deal with all sorts of people which is a huge part of the job in ags.

I agree your at a disadvantage when you have no experience in policing but its very easy to say in the interview that there is nothing id like more than to join the reserves but unfortunately im not allowed in because i work in a pub.

Im not saying that they shouldnt give bonus points or something like that for being in reserves, but if they do, then they have to be given to people who cant be in reserves.
    Take my case for example. theres nothing id love more than to be in the reserves but i work in a pub, i can afford to leave my job and other jobs aint to easily found at the minute. So why should i loose out because they wont let me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I think its worth mentioning that if ags made being a reserve member compulsory for joining the full time force they would be ruling out all bar, hotel and nightclub staff and any one who works in any other kind licensed premises as working in that industry rules you out of the reserves.
    I really dont think they want to do that as they would be ruling out people with great experience in dealing with the public, which is exactly what ags do. it could also be looked at as discrimination.
    You have a point, but there is valid reasons for them.

The age thing is to do with the pension, which isnt really a valid reason imo, they could get rid of age limit and just give a reduced pension, but thats their excuse.

Your fitness and medical condition effect your ability to carry out your duties.

But you cant tell someone they cant join just because they work in a pub! In my opinion its probably one of the best experience to have joining ags, you deal with all sorts of people which is a huge part of the job in ags.

I agree your at a disadvantage when you have no experience in policing but its very easy to say in the interview that there is nothing id like more than to join the reserves but unfortunately im not allowed in because i work in a pub.

Im not saying that they shouldnt give bonus points or something like that for being in reserves, but if they do, then they have to be given to people who cant be in reserves.
    Take my case for example. theres nothing id love more than to be in the reserves but i work in a pub, i can afford to leave my job and other jobs aint to easily found at the minute. So why should i loose out because they wont let me in.

Hang on for one second, Apply if that is all that is stopping you.

It states: You can't be the owner of the licensed premises/license-holder but working in the bar/hotel in general is okay once you are not the license holder :)

I kept reading your posts and thinking something is not right there. If that's all that was holding you back, then apply.