If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Advantages/ Disadvantages of Joining The Reserves before Full Time AGS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

This process takes far too long. I am still waiting for a medical since last summer. I have called HQ twice and got the same response that only 1 of my papers needs to be signed and that department is under staffed. 1 paper is holding me back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Abed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Abed wrote: »

"Consideration is being given to changing the upper age limit, in limited circumstances, in a way which would be beneficial to An Garda Síochána. The Deputy will also be aware that the Garda Síochána (Admissions and Appointments) (Amendment) Regulations 2006, allow the Public Appointments Service to give due recognition to any satisfactory service by a person as a reserve member of the Garda Síochána."

very interesting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

How does everyone else feel about this??? I totally disagree for one with Alan Shatter's, in my opinion the cut off should stay at 35, and garda reserve members should not be given perference over anyone else!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

They wont be given any preference over anybody, they still need to pass all tests and interview to make the gardai.
    They will be given due recognition for their services f they get as far as interview, but it will not be enough to pass the interview, or if they are slightly over 35 and have proven that they will be of benefit to the force they will be allowed to apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

Mark37 wrote: »
    How does everyone else feel about this??? I totally disagree for one with Alan Shatter's, in my opinion the cut off should stay at 35, and garda reserve members should not be given perference over anyone else!!

My understanding of Alan Shatters sentiments, is that the power does exist to allow an applicant who has joined the Garda reseve before the age of 35 to apply for the full-time force.

He does not commit to doing this. He only states that the option is there.

Personally, I don't see why there should be an age limit. Obviously any garda who joins after this date will not have the full pension contributions (30 years) paid at the end of their career. and so will not receive a full pension.

The argument that the cost of training these applicants needs to be repaid, is weak. I don't think it would take 30 years to repay this training. (maybe 5)

Other than this, provided they are fit enough and healthy enough, I don't see why they should not be allowed apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Goonerdee

I think the age limit should be raised to 45 or even 50 if there has to be one at all. Anyone of that age now will more than likely have to work to the age of 70 or more anyway so they will get twenty years out of them, and a 70 year old who looks after his health and fitness would be fitter than your average street drinking and fighting yob.

As for the Garda Reserve. They should be given a percentage of all places available as they have shown commitment to the job rather than the wage packet by giving up their free time to do the work for no financial benefits whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Goonerdee wrote: »
    I think the age limit should be raised to 45 or even 50 if there has to be one at all. Anyone of that age now will more than likely have to work to the age of 70 or more anyway so they will get twenty years out of them, and a 70 year old who looks after his health and fitness would be fitter than your average street drinking and fighting yob.

As for the Garda Reserve. They should be given a percentage of all places available as they have shown commitment to the job rather than the wage packet by giving up their free time to do the work for no financial benefits whatsoever.

I have to disagree with your point re the age limit. At 35, AGS is just getting a good return on people brought in. If the age limit was increased to 50, it would be a negative move imo. By the time a 50 year old recruit would have completed their training and probation they would be near the 53/54 mark, and would only be beginning their career.

I also believe someone who joins at 22 for example, has the potential to be a vastly more experienced Garda as by the time they have their 30 years done, they will be 52. This means a vastly more experienced police force in the long run.

I could not agree more with your second point, and I believe this will happen sooner than later. The Met have taken this line as their MO for recruitment in the future, except entirely as opposed to a percentage.

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

Interesting view would you like to elaborate considering that a GR would have a better understanding of the job and had recieved both training and would have a level of experience which a new recruit would not

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

Geansai wrote: »
    My understanding of Alan Shatters sentiments, is that the power does exist to allow an applicant who has joined the Garda reseve before the age of 35 to apply for the full-time force.

He does not commit to doing this. He only states that the option is there.

Personally, I don't see why there should be an age limit. Obviously any garda who joins after this date will not have the full pension contributions (30 years) paid at the end of their career. and so will not receive a full pension.

The argument that the cost of training these applicants needs to be repaid, is weak. I don't think it would take 30 years to repay this training. (maybe 5)

Other than this, provided they are fit enough and healthy enough, I don't see why they should not be allowed apply.

Max imum age for PNSI and The Met is 55. Now if such professional and well know police forces do it surely there must be an advantage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Raider190 wrote: »
    Interesting view would you like to elaborate considering that a GR would have a better understanding of the job and had recieved both training and would have a level of experience which a new recruit would not

Yes I'm with Raider190 on that one! Why shouldn't Garda Reserves get first preference when it comes to recruitment for the full-time positions? Haven't we shown initiative in joining AGS (full-time) by joining the Garda Reserve. Raider190 is spot on with his point in that Garda Reserves opting to join the force full-time bring both experience and knowledge and that alone should give them first preference.

Not going that far, but the debate and the belief that they should be ahead of those of us on the panel is a non runner. At the end of the day everyone has to sit same tests and go through same procedure to become a garda and its only fair that those who do better in the tests are higher up on the order of merit due to the fact that their results have made it clear they're more suited to the job regardless of being a reserve or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

On the pension thing, you can buy back any outstanding dues to bring your pension up to date so an older joiner can have enough of a pension at retirement age.Regarding fitness,I know lots of 40 somethings who are and would be much fitter and in better shape than most 20 somethings I have met.Yes your service in the reserves should be taken into account when you apply for full time but it shouldn't guarantee you a fulltime place.Just a question regarding Garda Reserve,what is the reason for the Reserve???Why were they formed in the first place????Are they civilians in a Police uniform??????This is an honest question,I'm just curious.thanks.

tweedledee wrote: »
    On the pension thing, you can buy back any outstanding dues to bring your pension up to date so an older joiner can have enough of a pension at retirement age.Regarding fitness,I know lots of 40 somethings who are and would be much fitter and in better shape than most 20 somethings I have met.Yes your service in the reserves should be taken into account when you apply for full time but it shouldn't guarantee you a fulltime place.Just a question regarding Garda Reserve,what is the reason for the Reserve???Why were they formed in the first place????Are they civilians in a Police uniform??????This is an honest question,I'm just curious.thanks.

You can contribute more to bring your pension up but the government wont match your payments to bring them up so you'd be investing a lot of money to retire, probably more than you''ll earn in 10 years.
    Was talking to a retired prison guard at the weekend, to buy his pension it would have cost 1.5million. no-one in private sector could pay into that nor could you buy back to bring your pension up to the average garda.

itsallgood wrote: »
    Not going that far, but the debate and the belief that they should be ahead of those of us on the panel is a non runner. At the end of the day everyone has to sit same tests and go through same procedure to become a garda and its only fair that those who do better in the tests are higher up on the order of merit due to the fact that their results have made it clear they're more suited to the job regardless of being a reserve or not.

Sorry but disagree with this sentiment. The tests undertaken are suitability tests. Just that. They don't mean you will be suited to the job when you actually get out into a station. The reserve goes that one step further than suitability tests.

The reserves gives you experience of being in the frontline and watching full time gardai in action. It does not make you suitable to the job nor does it make you a better candidate then others. It is a good cheap alternative to recruiting at the moment and also for giving people an inside view of whether they're suited to the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

itsallgood wrote: »
    The reserves gives you experience of being in the frontline and watching full time gardai in action. It does not make you suitable to the job nor does it make you a better candidate then others. It is a good cheap alternative to recruiting at the moment and also for giving people an inside view of whether they're suited to the job.

hey itsallgood,

I don't think you'll find many who would disagree with your post here. Actually, the part I have highlighted in bold is what really should be emphasised <sp> though.
    I think if a survey were done you would find most saying they would've joined (outside of the community aspect, that can't be emphasised enough) to find out first-hand for themselves if they were actually suitable for full-time as not everyone would be and only time would tell on that aspect.

It might make some a better candidate but I doubt that to be the case for everyone who joins though.

I say fair play and well done to everyone who has joined; those currently in training and to the hopefulls. Experience will be gained; lessons will be learnt (some the hard way) but above all the reserves are assisting the full-time guards on the ground where the resources and uniformed personnel are needed more than ever.

GRA calling for the abolition on reserves again at annual delegation conference. you can see the agenda on the website. www.gra.ie
    GARDA RESERVE
    22. “That the Association seeks the abolition of the Garda Reserve and that funds thereby saved be used in the provision of an adequate in-service training programme for members of An Garda Síochána.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Sorry Eroo but you are a bit off there.The pre interview tests are standard for most jobs advertised on Publicjobs.There is only one or two sections which vary depending on the specific application.These tests are used worldwide by thousands of employers to generally gauge Intelligence and Language abilities.I agree that Reservists should get some kind of recognition,after they have passed the pre-interview tests but they shouldn't be exempt either.Personally I dont actually get the whole Reserve thing,it looks like a cheap way out for the Government to make it look like we have more Gardai than they actually have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

eroo wrote: »
    Sorry but disagree with this sentiment. The tests undertaken are suitability tests. Just that. They don't mean you will be suited to the job when you actually get out into a station. The reserve goes that one step further than suitability tests.

Then they should make it a compulsory part of the training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭2wsxcde3

Has anyone on the panel considered joining the reserves to try it out? to see just what it is like. I know it might seem a bit odd applying to join the reserves if you were already accepted into the full-time but it might save a bit of bother for 2 or 3% of the panel that will wait around for a few years waiting to get into templemore and then when they're inside realize it's not what they expected and leave. There are always a few that leave once they get into templemore cos it's not what they expected.
    From the moment you apply to the moment you get on the streets, it's say maybe 6-8 months. But you'll see the inside of templemore from a working point of view in the meantime.
    I don't know if members of the panel are legally allowed join the reserves or what but it seems like an idea considering an intake of the panel may not take place until as late as 2014. You'd have 2 or 3 years down in the reserves by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

2wsxcde3 wrote: »
    Has anyone on the panel considered joining the reserves to try it out? to see just what it is like. I know it might seem a bit odd applying to join the reserves if you were already accepted into the full-time but it might save a bit of bother for 2 or 3% of the panel that will wait around for a few years waiting to get into templemore and then when they're inside realize it's not what they expected and leave. There are always a few that leave once they get into templemore cos it's not what they expected.
    From the moment you apply to the moment you get on the streets, it's say maybe 6-8 months. But you'll see the inside of templemore from a working point of view in the meantime.
    I don't know if members of the panel are legally allowed join the reserves or what but it seems like an idea considering an intake of the panel may not take place until as late as 2014. You'd have 2 or 3 years down in the reserves by then.

I applied a few months back and after a few weeks had my interview, passed the written part no bother , but got failed on the interview part mad because im waiting on the last two stages for the guards.. dont know if i would go for it again , i had two interviewing me and i even made the effort of driving two hours from where i live to where the interview was and plus took day off work.. the lady from public jobs was lovely but the ex retired sargent was not so nice.. so got my thanks but no thanks.. mad really because he only spoke too me for about ten mins where as where i had my interview for the guards it was about an hour.. but sure ya win some and ya loose some ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

rugby wrote: »
    I applied a few months back and after a few weeks had my interview, passed the written part no bother , but got failed on the interview part mad because im waiting on the last two stages for the guards.. dont know if i would go for it again , i had two interviewing me and i even made the effort of driving two hours from where i live to where the interview was and plus took day off work.. the lady from public jobs was lovely but the ex retired sargent was not so nice.. so got my thanks but no thanks.. mad really because he only spoke too me for about ten mins where as where i had my interview for the guards it was about an hour.. but sure ya win some and ya loose some ;)

so you got the fulltime garda interview but not the reserve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

WilcoOut wrote: »
    so you got the fulltime garda interview but not the reserve?

Yup after been grilled for about an hour, the reserves just didnt wanna know me well thats what ive taking from it anyhows :eek:

@Bluebelle: While you are waiting for an in-take for the full-time since you have everything complete, did you ever consider the reserves? or would you consider the reserves while you are still waiting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

kerry4sam wrote: »
    @Bluebelle: While you are waiting for an in-take for the full-time since you have everything complete, did you ever consider the reserves? or would you consider the reserves while you are still waiting?

I have considered it, but decided against it. I work weekends and have very little spare time as it is so I personally don't think it would work out for me. Which is a pity because I think the experience would be invaluable. But such is life.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Blue Belle wrote: »
    I have considered it, but decided against it. I work weekends and have very little spare time as it is so I personally don't think it would work out for me. Which is a pity because I think the experience would be invaluable. But such is life.

Okay fair enough. The Garda Reserves are an invaluable insight that I think would benefit everybody interested in full-time and is not limited to week-ends either, you could put the hours in when you are available. Anyway, thanks for your reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Jaeger_Jen

Eroo you're very correct, I'm 26 and have always wanted to join AGS, I failed maths in my leaving cert and figured that was my dream done and over with, I went from Job to Job, office to office, never happy, then I joined as a Garda Civilian and absolutley love my job, but it's also brought back my drive to become a sworn member. I resat my leaving cert maths in June this year and PASSED!!! so while I'm waiting for the garda recruitment to come back, I've also registered for interest on publicjobs.ie for the Garda Reserve,I'm one of the lucky ones. I have a full time job in the Gardai as a civilian while Im waiting, and I can carry over my service from here into the Garda Siochana, so I have already started serving my 30 years.

Here's hoping some recruitment campagns start up in 2012!!

Welld done on the maths; that's great! :)