Irrational hatred of Jedward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Couldn't have said it better. They're the kind of lads you'd never get tired of punching!! They are NOT talented! They are NOT American. They are NOT normal - they can't be!!! :mad:
    Don't need to be talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

stovelid wrote: »
    I do find it amusing when people adopt a massively indignant 'more power to them' stance basically because they're Irish. If it was two hyperactive little twats from America or, especially, England up there, I sense that the sanguine views would be in shorter supply.

But, they're not American. They're ours. They represented us at the Eurovision. They can be annoying gitbags, but they're our annoying gitbags. There are already a million of them in American form - why should we adopt a "more power to them" stance if they were American??? They're our Irish little loopers with too much energy and zero cop on - and they're enjoyable! If they were American, they would have a vast number of American followers. Why should we not be proud of our own!?!

Takes all sorts to make a world interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I don't have any issue with them at all. They get such a strong level of hate thrown at them, and they just get on with it and don't let it get to them. I don't know if I'd be able to be that laid back about it if I was being treated the way they have been. They're very young, and yes they're silly and more lucky than talented, but they're not hurting anyone and they can be very amusing at times. They're just a couple of kids who are making the best of an opportunity and they don't let anyone bring them down, they seem like very happy, positive people. Fair play to them.
    They don't really. I'm sure they don't much care, they have plenty of teenie fans to entertain. The rest of us don't go as far as attacking them personally. It's perfectly reasonable to state that they make ya want to stab yourself in the ear. I'm sure they'll sleep soundly. ;)

xoxyx wrote: »
    But, they're not American. They're ours. They represented us at the Eurovision. They can be annoying gitbags, but they're our annoying gitbags. There are already a million of them in American form - why should we adopt a "more power to them" stance if they were American??? They're our Irish little loopers with too much energy and zero cop on - and they're enjoyable! If they were American, they would have a vast number of American followers. Why should we not be proud of our own!?!

Takes all sorts to make a world interesting.
    No no no. They are to you. And that's fine. I, on the other hand, don't have to like 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Nothing irrational about disliking Jedward. I honestly think they are extremely odd and not in a good way. They haven't even the ability to hold a normal conversation. Also how can any Irish person born and bred here speak with an American accent? Don't get the appeal of them at all

Johro wrote: »
    No no no. They are to you. And that's fine. I, on the other hand, don't have to like 'em.

Ok - "enjoyable" is subjective. But their sales figures would go towards proving my point - and nobody asked you to like them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Ok - "enjoyable" is subjective. But their sales figures would go towards proving my point - and nobody asked you to like them!
    Are you Jedwankers Mammy or something?

Good retort retar...

Nah - kidding. I wish. I bet they're very good to their mammy and I could do with the money!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

They haven't even the ability to hold a normal conversation. Also how can any Irish person born and bred here speak with an American accent?

On a phone so can't split the quote.

I'm sure they have the ability to hold a normal conversation offscreen. When they get up on a pedestal, they're actors, not normal people. To expect prancy, surreal characters to act normally in front of an audience is just absurd. They do what they do for a living, and they're clearly good at it.

If you think it's odd to hear Irish people talking in American accents, you should listen about next time you're in a large shopping centre or around Trinity (Not a dig at Trinners, it's the truth!), you'll hear a few American sounding voices.

This is true, nobody asked me to like them.

However, nobody asked me did I want their smug stupid little heads on TV 24/7, their absolutely god awful "music" on the heavy rotation on the radio, their assasination of the remaining shreds of Ireland's credibility when they represented us in Eurovision etc. etc.

In short, I'll stop giving out about them when they get the fuck out of my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

They don't really. I'm sure they don't much care, they have plenty of teenie fans to entertain. The rest of us don't go as far as attacking them personally. It's perfectly reasonable to state that they make ya want to stab yourself in the ear. I'm sure they'll sleep soundly. ;)

I know they don't care, and that's actually one thing I think is pretty commendable about them - they just get on with it, it's water off a duck's back. They know who their audience is, and it isn't adults.

And plenty of people do go as far as attacking them personally - all the "incestuous", "homosexual" (why would that even matter?), "retard" stuff. Like I already said, it's fine if you find them annoying, you don't have to like everything that's out there. However, people going out of their way to spew hatred about them seems a little stupid. Listen to what you like, watch what you like. Nobody is forcing you to listen to them or watch them. There are far more distasteful things happening in the world that are worthy of people's vitriol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I've started liking them more since I bough a phone with a Three network.. their excellent service (ahem), excellent coverage (snark), cheap web browsing (snicker) and really fast and never ever down credit checking website is amazing....

I'd say mostly because Jedward are their front men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Thread cleaned of Libelous posts.
    Anymore posting of that nature will receive a ban.

I really disliked them on the X-Factor,I dunno they just made me cringe because I thought it was a big act.

But I have since changed my mind as I have watched their TV show with the cameras following them,and they are Jedward...they really are unaffected by what people think of them.

They were no different on CBB, they were themselves and no playing up to the cameras.

Their bank balance is saying something, they somehow connect with the majority of the public.

Good luck to them!

This is true, nobody asked me to like them.

However, nobody asked me did I want their smug stupid little heads on TV 24/7, their absolutely god awful "music" on the heavy rotation on the radio, their assasination of the remaining shreds of Ireland's credibility when they represented us in Eurovision etc. etc.

In short, I'll stop giving out about them when they get the fuck out of my face.

Bro tip: change the channel.

You'd swear these guys were assaulting your mother on a regular basis - they're not, and they're not doing anything so bad. If it bugs you guys, stop listening to them, stop talking about them, and stop giving them head-space. As I said before, there's a lot more to be concentrating on than Jedward.

Fair enough, but sales figures? What do they prove? That they're popular? We know that. With a certain age group mostly, to be fair. I still can't stand them, but 'hate' is a bit strong. They make me cringe. I'm embarassed for them every time I see them on tv, which isn't too often, thank f#ck. So you like them. Grand.

Fair enough, but sales figures? What do they prove? That they're popular? We know that.

That's kind of my point...

I know they don't care, and that's actually one thing I think is pretty commendable about them - they just get on with it, it's water off a duck's back. They know who their audience is, and it isn't adults.

And plenty of people do go as far as attacking them personally - all the "incestuous", "homosexual" (why would that even matter?), "retard" stuff. Like I already said, it's fine if you find them annoying, you don't have to like everything that's out there. However, people going out of their way to spew hatred about them seems a little stupid. Listen to what you like, watch what you like. Nobody is forcing you to listen to them or watch them. There are far more distasteful things happening in the world that are worthy of people's vitriol.
    Fair enough. There's no need for that. But I'm sure the constant adoration of their fans cancels out most of the negative stuff, if that even filters through.

That's kind of my point...
    We can't hate the little feckers coz they're famous?

Now, what kind of a reason is that to hate somebody? I bet you don't hate Katy Perry or Rhianna*. :p

*Or maybe you do. I don't know you so am making assumptions.

Fair enough. There's no need for that. But I'm sure the constant adoration of their fans cancels out most of the negative stuff, if that even filters through.

I'm sure it does filter through. I highly doubt they just wander through life, never hearing a word of some awful things that a lot of people say about them. I'm sure they know well what people think of them.

They're fans tend to be the young, and if they adore them, then so what? Why does any full-grown adult care? It really puzzles me. Just let them off.

Bro tip: change the channel.

You'd swear these guys were assaulting your mother on a regular basis - they're not, and they're not doing anything so bad. If it bugs you guys, stop listening to them, stop talking about them, and stop giving them head-space. As I said before, there's a lot more to be concentrating on than Jedward.

I'd empty the batteries on my remote pretty quickly of I changed channel every time they came on.

It's not that they are the worst thing in the world and of course there are much bigger problems on the earth but they are a symbol, a representation, an embodiement of the celebration of mediocrity and empty celebrity that has slowly permeated our culture.

The airtime and publicity wasted on their complete absence of talent could be better used in so many different ways. hell I wouldn't mind if they were replaced by some other pair of pop singers aimed at teenage girls as long as they could actually sing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Believe me, I have seen what went wrong with this country for the likes of those who are Jedward's age post 2000, and it lives on the streets. Your statement is sensationalist and nonsensical.

Look at the figures for young people whose only ambition is "to be famous,"
    and, more disturbingly, the percentage who actually believe they'll become famous-not in any particular field or through any discernible talent, but just 'to be a celebrity.' This is a symptom of a sick, shallow society and another aspect of the damage caused by the asset bubble.

Taking a moron off the street and making them rich and famous doesn't entertain people, it makes the public hate themselves. People view themselves, their status, their success and their attractiveness as a function of this artificial window we've created and when their lives don't match up to these unrealistic expectations it creates a spiral of self-loathing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

The most annoying thing is that theres an audience for them. Apart from that I can live and let live.

The best reason to just let them get on with it is that they are probably bringing money into the country. Someone somewhere is paying for their gigs. With the destruction of Irish jobs and industry we need to give
    up the begrudgery and let them get on with emptying foreign currency from the pockets of teens and passing a slice to the taxman . We can give them sh1t later if they start lecturing us Bono-like and paying tax out of Holland while telling us how to spend our taxes here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Ok so don't get me wrong, I'm no fan but Jedward seem to be subject to a real amount of genuine hatred among Irish people.

Granted they make terrible bland run of the mill pop-music and they're are pretty annoying but is it right to hate two teenagers for being immature and annoying?

Well, ask a parent. What have these two got to teach your children bar 'something about mary' hair, and 's'up bull shit. They're purely a production of people wanting to make money from them, when they and their parents don't realize it makes them look like a pair of **** just to appeal to a particular age female market.

They were exploited by their parents I'd wager, and they don't know any different. I feel sorry for them, their parents, and more so for all of the parents that have to buy into this fucking stupid facade.

I'm sure it does filter through. I highly doubt they just wander through life, never hearing a word of some awful things that a lot of people say about them. I'm sure they know well what people think of them.

They're fans tend to be the young, and if they adore them, then so what? Why does any full-grown adult care? It really puzzles me. Just let them off.
    I dunno, when I've seen them on tv, and let's face it I wasn't looking for them, they just annoyed the hell out of me. I don't think they'll care much about my opinion on boards and I doubt they'd ever see it, but I agree the level if crap they'd get on twitter and the like is just stupid. I think their zeal to 'convert' the 'haters' makes them more annoying though. I wanna be them? But.. the lobotomy would hurt...;)
    They'll soon learn that you have to take the good with the bad when it comes to celebrity.

latenia wrote: »
    Look at the figures for young people whose only ambition is "to be famous,"
    and, more disturbingly, the percentage who actually believe they'll become famous-not in any particular field or through any discernible talent, but just 'to be a celebrity.' This is a symptom of a sick, shallow society and another aspect of the damage caused by the asset bubble.

Taking a moron off the street and making them rich and famous doesn't entertain people, it makes the public hate themselves. People view themselves, their status, their success and their attractiveness as a function of this artificial window we've created and when their lives don't match up to these unrealistic expectations it creates a spiral of self-loathing.

Oh please. Have a look at the problems we have in society due to the unrealistic expectations of physical perfection generated by almost every fashion magazine on the shelves. Look at the super-skinny popstars and reflect on the fact that Adele is held up again and again as being so brave for being a plus size singer, and out of the ordinary. The media consistently gives images of normality which in no way reflect upon real life.

Jedward come to fame and are demonised for coming across as immature and feckless. At least they're not sticking their fingers down their throats and powder up their noses.

I have to ask - what is so wrong with a couple of early 20 year olds being shown to act like kids and enjoy themselves and be successful. They're not the problem. The problem is the perception that 20 year olds should be grown up and serious and adult. We're grown up for long enough - and, despite how we may feel at the time, 20 is very young. Let Jedward be. We're growing up too fast as it is, and that's not a good thing.

I dunno, when I've seen them on tv, and let's face it I wasn't looking for them, they just annoyed the hell out of me. I don't think they'll care much about my opinion on boards and I doubt they'd ever see it, but I agree the level if crap they'd get on twitter and the like is just stupid. I think their zeal to 'convert' the 'haters' makes them more annoying though. I wanna be them? But.. the lobotomy would hurt...;)
    They'll soon learn that you have to take the good with the bad when it comes to celebrity.

I think they take the good with the bad pretty well. They're pretty good at letting things slide and don't seem to get upset by what people say about them. I've never heard anything about them 'converting haters', but whatever. Nobody has to be 'converted' if they don't want to be. I don't like their music or any show they appear on, and because of that they don't annoy me so much. I listen to and watch the music and shows that I like, and I let my six year old niece enjoy Jedward. There's plenty of room for everyone.

Now, what kind of a reason is that to hate somebody? I bet you don't hate Katy Perry or Rhianna*. :p

*Or maybe you do. I don't know you so am making assumptions.
    That was a question.
    I can't stand Katy Perry, same goes for Rhianna. Not my thing at all. No what I meant was are we not allowed to hate them? Should we like them just because they sell, because they're famous? It was in reply to your 'that's kinda my point' post. Never mind though. I can't stand Jedward. I don't 'hate' them.

I think they take the good with the bad pretty well. They're pretty good at letting things slide and don't seem to get upset by what people say about them. I've never heard anything about them 'converting haters', but whatever. Nobody has to be 'converted' if they don't want to be. I don't like their music or any show they appear on, and because of that they don't annoy me so much. I listen to and watch the music and shows that I like, and I let my six year old niece enjoy Jedward. There's plenty of room for everyone.
    They make music?? I've only heard them speak. That was enough. :D
    But point taken.

what I meant was are we not allowed to hate them? Should we like them just because they sell, because they're famous? It was in reply to your 'that's kinda my point' post. Never mind though. I can't stand Jedward. I don't 'hate' them.

And what I meant was that the fact that they sell well means that a lot of people do like them. Irrespective of whether you like them or not, my point is that enough people are Jedward fans to make them successful.

Not arguing with you - I respect that you don't like them - many don't (clearly! :pac:). Just saying that they're not bad - they have a lot of fans - and I don't see the point in being so against Jedward when it's easy to ignore them and leave them to people who think they're cool.