Naas mayor refuses to represent black Africans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Working in customer service i have found ALL african nigerians to be rude and very hard to deal with, both the men and the women being obnoxious , loud and difficult. I understand this politicians frustration but he should have done it discreetly, not publicly cause the PC brigade will have him for this.
    And I agree here. Especially with that he should have just done it discreetly.

Discrimination occurs every day folks, just under another name.Like a group of young lads that a bouncer feels look troublesome or like travellers, will tell them "not tonight - locals only" and wouldnt ever say "no travellers" because you cant say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

Email: dpscully@hotmail.com

Address: 3 Kerdiff Park, Naas, Co. Kildare

Contact Numbers: Mobile: 086-3860955

Obtained from

http://kildare.ie/NaasTowncouncil/OurCouncil/Councillors/NaasTownCouncil/index.html#scully

Some strongly worded letters and phone calls are in order - both to him and to Enda Kenny. Tell him he's right.

But he's gonna get hammered for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

headmaster wrote: »
    I agree with this man 100% and he gave his reasons which are in no way racist. More people should stand up to this type of agressiveness. Teachers, nurses, publicans, shopkeepers, doctors have all got their reasons for not dealing with this type of behaviour and fair play to them. Bravo Sir, well done and you have plenty of support.

Well said. I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Morlar wrote: »
    What a twat.

Does anyone legitimately believe that this is intended to provoke Incitement to Hatred ? This is commonplace in my estimation. I have known school teachers who no longer directly deal with Nigerian parents due to outright beligerence & threats, they are referred to the Principal. This case seems basically similar to that.

I don't. I believe it's intended to provoke a lot of attention for Darren Scully, and probably some populist support, but thankfully his childhood little stunt has backfired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I thought Ireland had dragged its arse out of the middle ages, looks like I was wrong judging by some of the comments on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I thought Ireland had dragged its arse out of the middle ages, looks like I was wrong judging by some of the comments on here.

You're just meeting ridiculous generalisations head-on with more ridiculous generalisations, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Nigeria is a big country lads. Saying they're all the same is like saying all Irish people are tight after meeting people from Cavan.*

*scientific fact people from Cavan are tight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

Eh, generalise much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I don't. I believe it's intended to provoke a lot of attention for Darren Scully, and probably some populist support, but thankfully his childhood little stunt has backfired.

I think the political stunt in this case is by labour reporting the mayor under incitement to Hatred legislation.

With regard to the issue of Nigerian people coming across as aggressive and rude: I don't know many Nigerian people personally, but can totally understand how a certain country's culture can come across badly when transplanted.

Many people from Nigeria might indeed come across that way due to cultural differences. Even nationalities closer to home like the Italians can come across as rude due to usually speaking louder and faster and gesticulating.
    And the Swiss-Germans can come across as rude due to being very direct.

But obviously this isn't due to racial differences.

If Naas has a sizable Nigerian population, the mayor of the town should have been aware of any potential cultural differences.
    If he felt these differences were a problem, he should have attempted to deal with them behind the scenes, by engaging in dialogue with prominent members of the community, not by seeking publicity.

And even if it were true that all Nigerians are aggressive, it's idiotic of him to tar all black Africans with the same brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I think the political stunt in this case is by labour reporting the mayor under incitement to Hatred legislation.

You don't think publicly announcing you aren't going to deal with black Africans as mayor any more comes under the heading of stunt?

There were several non stunt options:
    1: Quietly resign
    2: Do your job for all your constituents
    3: Announce you won't take insulting\threatening behaviour from your constitutents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I think I'll report him for wasting police time.

It's not a great stunt for them to cause a potential rift with their coalition partners.

Scully has created an imaginary problem then gone to the media with it to make an name for himself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Some of my best constituents are black people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

St.Spodo wrote: »
    You're just meeting ridiculous generalisations head-on with more ridiculous generalisations, really.

That was the idea, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

MagicSean wrote: »
    It's not illegal to be racist and I can't see how this would be incitement in any way.

Ok so its not "illegal" to be racist, but he's still an ignorant bollox.

If he doesn't have the tact and skill to deal with agressive people, wherever they're from, then he shouldn't be in the job he's in. He only has himself to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

mecanoman wrote: »
    Agree with the Mayor of Naas. Been self employed i stopped taking phone

calls from Nigerians. After a few customers i realised its not worth it,

They just don't get the privce is the price. having to put up with the

shouting, rudness and bad manners off most of them i've dealt with.

Found that the women were by far, more aggressive than the men. Scary race of people.

Thats fair enough mecanoman, you've your own business and you can decide to take or refuse a customer as you wish, its a free country and you are responsible for your bills at the end of the day. I'm self employed as well and I've turned down the odd offer of work too because I didn't like the customer.

However, Scully is a paid public representative who is refusing to do his job properly and as such he should resign. Anyone remember FFs Ned O'Keefe refusing to push for a school extension in Rathcormac because not enough people there voted for him? A public rep cannot pick and choose, they must represent all. Don't like it? Then get out.

The bigger problem with this is that the story now runs the risk of going viral and could damage Naas's chance of some inward investment. He said the comments as Mayor of Naas and he is doing damage to Naas, the wider area and the country as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

MagicSean wrote: »
    It's not illegal to be racist and I can't see how this would be incitement in any way.

Its illegal to discriminate on basis of race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Tell me this , what would have been said if Cllr Scully had said he would not deal with travellers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

What a twat.

Does anyone legitimately believe that this is intended to provoke Incitement to Hatred ? This is commonplace in my estimation. I have known school teachers who no longer directly deal with Nigerian parents due to outright beligerence & threats, they are referred to the Principal. This case seems basically similar to that.

Scully, as a public representative, should have the cop on and the backbone to deal with belligerent members of the public. There'll be plenty more of them after the budget.

I have experience of dealing with agressive people of all races colours and creeds, and I find you've just got to be firm, fair and professional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

MetalDog wrote: »
    Ok so its not "illegal" to be racist, but he's still an ignorant bollox.

If he doesn't have the tact and skill to deal with agressive people, wherever they're from, then he shouldn't be in the job he's in. He only has himself to blame.

Does anyone think that this whole story could be the wrong way round ?

Maybe africans coming here from africa need to be levelset as to the basic minimum level of manners & behaviour expected in a european country when dealing with state emlpoyees ? This could be part of some sort of citizenship course for acclimatisation or something along those lines.

We always hear about respecting cultural differences and there are cultural differences. This is not Nigeria. So maybe (Just Maybe . . .hear me out) . . . . Maybe it is culturally more common there than it is here to deal in an aggressive and beligerent manner with state employees ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It's not a great stunt for them to cause a potential rift with their coalition partners.

But why would FG back Scully rather than their coalition partners?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Whenever I get homesick, I read threads like this which soon fill me with common sense again.

Nothing changes. Nothing at all. Or do they?

I remember when we were leaving our flat; I recommended a friend to the landlord (a fairly well know Dublin landlord) as the perfect tenant. He asked where she was from; I said Malawi and his reply

"Dunno about that - have had problems with Nigerians before"

Me: "She's from Malawi & even if she was from Nigeria - you can't judge an entire people by one or two problem tenants".

" I'll think about it".

Several years later, when my friend was moving out of our old flat - the landlord didn't want her to go.

"Best tenant I've ever had" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

"I have also been met with the race card, (with people saying) 'Oh yeah, you will help white people, but you don't help black people'.

Well this new policy proves them wrong :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

should be read 'i've just refused helping ignorant people' - problem here is they just happen to be black and sure you can't tell the truth if it happens to be about a grouping of black people - obviously that's racist.

i think he's dead right. the more the media now call for his head the more these people think their rude, obnoxious, entitlement focused behaviour is acceptable in this society.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    But why would FG back Scully rather than their coalition partners?

I don't think they'll support him either, but at the same time if Labour were trying to get publicity out of this, I don't think they'd be happy with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Most of the white Africans I've dealt with in the past were no great shakes in the manners department either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Not to come across as contraversial (controversial) but there is an elephant in the room.

The africans (Africans) that come here due to poor education and enviourment (environment) may lack intelligence; and anger is associated with low intelligence.

I'm not saying black people are stupid; far from it, and its (it's) not about race. It's about people coming here from poor backrounds (backgrounds) and violant (violent) enviourments (environments) and these people just so happen to be African.

The mayor may have a point.

If you're gonna go on about people being unintelligent, at least learn simple rules and spellings of the English language. People coming from a poor background (which is an assumption, by the way) may be less well educated than people with more access to schooling but this does not automatically make them unintelligent, nor does that in turn make them 'angry'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

should be read 'i've just refused helping ignorant people' - problem here is they just happen to be black and sure you can't tell the truth if it happens to be about a grouping of black people - obviously that's racist.

i think he's dead right. the more the media now call for his head the more these people think their rude, obnoxious, entitlement focused behaviour is acceptable in this society.

I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that he's probably had white people be aggressive with him before and he's probably had black people be courteous with him before in his professional life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

So I think we have had enough. It's about time we stood up for ourselves and called it like it is.

We see incidents everywhere, and the taxi threads on several forums on boards is just one testimony to various problems.