did you ever leave a job on your first day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Yep, was doing induction for Dunnes Stores when I got a phone call offering me an alternative job, better pay, better hours, permanent full time position, pension etc everything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Done that for about nine months. Worst job ever.

At least with cold calling you didn't have to appearance the anger in person :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

shaaane wrote: »
    Yup, walked out in the middle of the induction for a well known electronics store just over 4 years ago. My brother came in and said the company I had applied to for an apprenticeship a month or so beforehand had rang the house and said I was starting the following Monday. This was a Friday afternoon so I just said to your man doing the induction that I finally got my apprenticeship. He wasn't happy at all and said "whatever, just leave". This was responded with a "go fvck yourself" and off I went.

Haha, that's mad, I was in that induction with you I think, can remember you leaving!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

Some serious candymen and women on this thread, I've often dreamed about walking out of a job (with dramatic "go **** yourself" connotations) but never carried through with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

I worked for PAWS animal charity, lasted one day.

Never went back in after that, could never do it again. Money was pure ****e and the entire organisation is a bunch of chancers ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

ya, i did

it was with a company called seafresh near mallow, selling frozen fish and deserts

got lumdered with a guy to show me the ropes for the day..he was really enthusiastic i was the total opposite after about two hours i wanted to go home, every house we called to said "no thanks":o

"ah you got to stick it out phil" said the guy and i would have come in the second day only that i found out that i had to fork out €7 a day to pay for the bags of ice as the vans weren't refrigerated...get stuffed!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

i never even got to the first day.:pac: It was one of those 'what the fuk did i just sign up for there?' moment's when i got outside. It was going to be **** pay too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

weemcd wrote: »
    Some serious candymen and women on this thread, I've often dreamed about walking out of a job (with dramatic "go **** yourself" connotations) but never carried through with it.

TBH I suspect that most of these stories were from a few years ago and people find themselves putting up with a lot more shyte these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    TBH I suspect that most of these stories were from a few years ago and people find themselves putting up with a lot more shyte these days.

+1, I know I do:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Shortest job I had was 3 hours - in a well known fast food chain.
    Started off grand, learnt how to use the till, timing of the chips etc and all that... Was getting on fine until the toilets were 'due attention' ... Oh my god, worst dose of pebble-dashing I have EVER seen! :eek: I bid my farewell there and then. Wouldn't have minded but I spent about £20 at the time for a mank pair of navy trousers, which were binned when I got home! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

worked in a really busy warehouse but eventually left because i had a huge row with the boss, so naturally enough i applied for jobs in the same industry and got an offer within a couple of days. It was in this toy warehouse and there was only one other guy working there, a very quiet man that seemed to be on life autopilot, grey and gaunt looking.
    Now i was used to being on top of my head trying to organise/check over 100 pallets of all sorts of items, so you can imagine the shock when i realised that this toy warehouse i was in got a delivery of one half pallet every 2 days :eek:. As my new coworker was explaining to me in great detail about the history of airplane and truck toys for over two hours i immediately got a gut wrenching feeling of 'what the fck am i doing here', the man had no soul left after working in the place for over 25 years. I left shortly after lunch time and went home and curled under my blanket terrified that such an existence was out there.

JoseJones wrote: »
    Yup, walked out in the middle of the induction for a well known electronics store just over 4 years ago. My brother came in and said the company I had applied to for an apprenticeship a month or so beforehand had rang the house and said I was starting the following Monday. This was a Friday afternoon so I just said to your man doing the induction that I finally got my apprenticeship. He wasn't happy at all and said "whatever, just leave". This was responded with a "go fvck yourself" and off I went.

Haha, that's mad, I was in that induction with you I think, can remember you leaving!!!
    In Limerick? There was only the 2 of us doing the induction. If its true that is mad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

It's like I said in my story, had the door to door come with a minimum wage like it said in the interview I would of stuck it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I took up that "chugging" job once over summer... left it after a couple of hours at it. Really not my thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I worked for PAWS animal charity, lasted one day.

Never went back in after that, could never do it again. Money was pure ****e and the entire organisation is a bunch of chancers ...

I bought a little fluffy whale thing off them one. It still remains on my car's dashboard...

In Limerick? There was only the 2 of us doing the induction. If its true that is mad!!

Yup, the name of the shop starts with M and ends with aplin! That baldy manager dude was sacked soon afterwards, was an awful twat haha.

That's gas! He was an ignorant prik alright. Doesn't surprise me that he got the bullet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Yup, the name of the shop starts with M.

Back in the day they were a great place (from a customers perspective anyway) but gradually they went down the pan :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Leaving on the first day was quite popular with Kamikazi pilots.:(

That's gas! He was an ignorant prik alright. Doesn't surprise me that he got the bullet.

No no, they sacked him, didn't shoot him! :pac:

Back in the day they were a great place (from a customers perspective anyway) but gradually they went down the pan

Was actually a good place to work once they got a decent manager in. I think we had some really good staff in Limerick when I was there too so I think customers were generally happy. No idea what it's like now, haven't been there in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I've never left a job on the first day but have had a few jobs which were just depressing.

One job was in a major supermarket. It was an alright job, long hours and backbreaking work but it was well paid with steady money. A lot of my coworkers were soulless and had long since had the spirit crushed out of them.

I had a moment of utter futility when some of them were sitting in the miserable grey staff canteen, a poky and dingy little room. THey were all talking about the lottery winner and what they'd do if they won the lottery and had that kind of money. These were people who'd been working for decades in the supermarket and were all talking about their shattered hopes and dreams that had been eroded by lifting crates and stacking shelves.
    I was so bummed out by this I left my lunchbreak early and went straight back to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

Worked in the kylemore in stevens green sc, they share a basement with planet hollywood..
    I was bringing down the bins and bumped into a PH manager who said they were hiring kitchen porters. Offered IR£2.80 (20p increase on kylemore)
    So no notice or anything, walked out, and straight into PH...
    Turned out, when you weren't busy as a kitchen porter, you had to make side salads, then help clear tables..

I waited for your man to turn his back and legged it back to the kylemore, who took me back!

Yes, once when I was about 16. . Got a job as a waitress.

And of course, as waitressing goes in a hotel - I wasnt trained in.

Thrown into the deep end, knew no one, nor my way around or where anything was...

Manager man asked me to get something, so I responded that it was my first day and didnt know... His answer was so condescending, ignorant and just being a complete ass.. and it was in the kitchen.. in front of all the other staff.

I was just like, fúck this..

Told him where to go, and out I went.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Kasabian wrote: »
    I once left a job beacuse I fancied a bottle of cider.
    Kinky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

Yes, once when I was about 16. . Got a job as a waitress.

And of course, as waitressing goes in a hotel - I wasnt trained in.

Thrown into the deep end, knew no one, nor my way around or where anything was...

Manager man asked me to get something, so I responded that it was my first day and didnt know... His answer was so condescending, ignorant and just being a complete ass.. and it was in the kitchen.. in front of all the other staff.

I was just like, fúck this..

Told him where to go, and out I went.
    sounds like a guy I know. Was out of work for a while and managed to get some hours in hotel waiting at functions, was my first wedding and during a lull in service one of the other girls came over and asked me a question, manager came up and shoulder punched me told me to shut the fup and go find something to do. I told him to go **** himself and walked out, mid service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I once did an induction for a market research company in a call centre (even that sentence makes me shudder). They actually told us they wanted us to "think inside the box" at all times, and tried to get us to sign contracts without reading them. I left after the induction and never went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Didn't bother turning up for a job about 2 years ago. It was for a charity, basically selling scratch card things. Horrible job, but whatever.

Went for the interview, which was a GROUP interview. Was still catching my breath from having to walk up 6 flights of stairs to the bloody interview room when we were called in. Anyway, I was offered the job there and then, and accepted. Signed contract, which (like the advertisement online) said it was an 11am-7pm job, 35-40 hours pw, 9 euro per hour plus bonuses for reaching targets, grand job.

As I'm leaving, the interviewer tells me that actually, you only get the 9 euro per hour IF you reach your targets, if not you're fecked basically. Had to be there at 6.30am every morning to travel around the country, unpaid, only being paid from 11am-7pm, but would be out travelling with the job from 7am-10pm each night! Oh and was told I'd get a guaranteed 15 hours, nothing more.

With all the terms and conditions applied, it meant that even if I worked 40 hours, but didn't reach the (impossibly high) targets, I'd be earning less than the dole. Woke up at 8am the next morning to several angry voice mails, which I duly ignored.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Back when I was about 17 I went for this "Marketing Position" advertised in the paper.. Got there to be interviewed and was just handed a big black holdall..

Briefed quickly on the area we had to 'work' and just sent off with a small group on a bus to Clontarf Industrial Estate to flog a load of dodgy cheap-ass merchandise.

Led by a young guy in a badly fitting suit who harped the whole journey about how lucrative the venture "could be, if you had the right attitude" yadayadayada :rolleyes:

After about 2 soul destroying hours I handed the bag to the leader and got the Hell out of there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Yeah done it several times and never regreted it once. Once was when i was around 20 and got a job as a kitchen porter in that keilys bar in Donnybrook. Only in the place about 45 minutes and the head chef came in and did the usual bollox of making fun of the new guy for which he got a firm ""fck you from me. I was told i'd have to leave but refused to unless i got paid for the 45 minutes i'd worked. After about an hour of argueing they paid me just to get me out of the kitchen. :pac: