Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

did you ever leave a job on your first day

• 21-11-2011 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I did, when i was in my early 20s (and still a bit sensitive)

It was in a factory, absolute dismal kip with big f*ck off machinery, my heart sank when i entered the place i remember saying to myself "oh no":(

The job was a machine operator, never forget it ..started at 8.00 in the morning on a dark winters day, introduced to my fellow workers who were fully grown men in their 30s & 40s and rough lookin.

The foreman told me the ins and outs of the job which sounded very repetitive, basically i was a monkey standing next to a machine (cnc lathe) loading it and pressing go.

Then it came to the tea break in which everyone sat in their own spot in the canteen, nobody spoke to me nobody looked at me> cliquey as hell.:(

Then out of the blue..I just got a rush of blood to head and said to myself "f&ck it this place ain't for me" got up and headed straight for the car park and home..where i got an earful from my old man..but i didn't care cause i knew in my heart and soul i'd only be miserable there.

so am i the only sap to leave on his first day? or are there similar stories out there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Sounded like the perfect job to me!

You could've been the "loner" and just brought in a book to read every day. Sure why would you want to mix with guys twice your age when they'd be talking absolute b*llocks anyway?

In before "sure you were lucky to get a job........money is money is money......etc".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've often left job's in the first hour before I'd throttle some prick.

you left cos it was repetitive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Yes I have. Granted it was because it was time for everyone to go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

bluewolf wrote: »

Don't have him repeat himself ffs!.

He left cos it was repetitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

not exactly..more gut feeling, bad vibe:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

fryup wrote: »
    I did, when i was in my early 20s (and still a bit sensitive)

It was in a factory, absolute dismal kip with big f*ck off machinery, my heart sank when i entered the place i remember saying to myself "oh no":(

The job was a machine operator, never forget it ..started at 8.00 in the morning on a dark winters day, introduced to my fellow workers who were fully grown men in their 30s & 40s and rough lookin.

The foreman told me the ins and outs of the job which sounded very repetitive, basically i was a monkey standing next to a machine (cnc lathe) loading it and pressing go.

Then it came to the tea break in which everyone sat in their own spot in the canteen, nobody spoke to me nobody looked at me> cliquey as hell.:(

Then out of the blue..I just got a rush of blood to head and said to myself "f&ck it this place ain't for me" got up and headed straight for the car park and home..where i got an earful from my old man..but i didn't care cause i knew in my heart and soul i'd only be miserable there.

so am i the only sap to leave on his first day? or are there similar stories out there??
    I presume that was the Celtic tiger period.

I once got offered a great Summer job in the IFSC when I was a college student, back around 2004. I turned it down to do a J1 in Hawaii.

Times were different back then, I think many of us once had very blase attitudes to finding work or giving up a job; times have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

No. Dont think any job is bad enough to quit that soon-you know roughly what you're getting into before you accept a position and to not even give it a chance is a total waste imo.
    Although my friend did go out the night before a new job to celebrate getting a job...one drink turned into 12 and then woke up at 2pm the next day (his first day) to about 10 angry voicemails from the boss telling him not to bother showing up ever. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

A few years ago while in college i got a job in homestore more... Went in for my orientation day(an hour) was shown around introduced to staff given the rules etc. All going well! But then i was handed my uniform.. Blue shirt and an apron... :P

I popped all the things into the locker i was given and say see you tomorrow and never went back!

not exactly..more gut feeling, bad vibe:cool:

Oul fellas eyeing you up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Babby's first job eh?

That is so childish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Yes I have. Granted it was because it was time for everyone to go home.

Id have stuck it out until the end of the first day anyway. Then maybe fecked off home with some office supplies :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Nodin_

phasers wrote: »
    Babby's first job eh?

That is so childish.

....says the college drop-out on the dole. You've never worked a day in your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Azureus wrote: »
    No. Dont think any job is bad enough to quit that soon-you know roughly what you're getting into before you accept a position and to not even give it a chance is a total waste imo.
    Although my friend did go out the night before a new job to celebrate getting a job...one drink turned into 12 and then woke up at 2pm the next day (his first day) to about 10 angry voicemails from the boss telling him not to bother showing up ever. :D

You never had a job picking raspberries and finding out you're getting 60p an hour then :mad:
    And before you say it, we were told you could get "up to" a fiver an hour. Never accept a job that has the words "up to" just before the salary. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Yeah it is pretty tedious and soul destroying work.

I spent hours in sixth year working on CNC lathes (And manual lathes) for a project. Very enjoyable when you're working on a new part you yourself designed and you're trying to perfect the machining but something of a hellish experience when it gets to the stage where you're just preparing stock and pushing "Enter" ad nauseum.

Babby's first job eh?

That is so childish.
    Nodin_ wrote: »
    ....says the college drop-out on the dole. You've never worked a day in your life.

FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Welruc

Abrakebabra in sligo during my college days, was flat broke but couldnt make myself go back, went to tesco instead which was an awful lof better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If you knew yourself that the job wasn't for you and that it would have made you miserable then fair play for leaving so readily. Too many saps stick at jobs they despise for years and years until it sucks the life out of them. I've never done it myself but then again I wouldn't apply for a job that I didn't think I'd even slightly enjoy doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

1. Do you stalk me? Out of the thousands of users on this board you remember my details which I've posted about a total of 3-5 times?

2. I have worked and currently have a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

Lots of college dropouts on the dole never worked a day in their lives. Not always a lifestyle choice for them.

Welcome to Ireland in 2011, with almost 50% youth unemployment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Nodin_

1. Do you stalk me? Out of the thousands of users on this board you remember my details which I've posted about a total of 3-5 times?

2. I have worked and currently have a job. Fuck you.

You made a smart-ass condescending dig at the OP and I called you out on your hypocrisy in front of everyone. At least he was trying to find work and not content to sit on his ass all day long posting on boards.

The fact that you post here 24/7 not only proves you're on the dole, but that you also have no friends. I'm leaving the thread now as I'm not interested in arguing with you. I'm just glad I called you out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have seen a couple of people do this over the years. Remember a guy who was given the desk next to me a few years ago. He seemed lovely, very happy with his new job. Went home and was never heard of again. Didn't even bother with a PFO phone call.

Of course everyone blamed me!

You made a smart-ass condescending dig at the OP and I called you out on your hypocrisy in front of everyone. At least he was trying to find work and not content to sit on his ass all day long posting on boards.

The fact that you post here 24/7 not only proves you're on the dole, but that you also have no friends. I'm leaving the thread now as I'm not interested in arguing with you. I'm just glad I called you out :)

*click*
    *click*
    <hip>
    <power walks out>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

When I was 17 I got a job waitressing in a hotel in town. It was hell, I managed to stick out the 1st day but never went back. Never got paid for the day either:mad: so you were right to leave early.

chin_grin wrote: »
    Oul fellas eyeing you up?

well i did have a pretty boy face back then, so maybe one of them would have a made a move on me....so best i got out:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Went for interview as chugger (put down the pitchforks there lads)

Did well in interview, but I still was uneasy with the concept of chugging.
    But also depserate for a wage, so I just threw my back into it.

The guy in charge of recruiting was a real prick though. Kept at you and at you about sales sales sales. That's alright then, part of the job.

Im doing well there in temple bar, then a few junkies come along, pull the teddies I'm selling off me and start acting the maggot throwing them around. For some stupid reason I was having none of it, and tripped one of them while pushing two others off (could have ended quite badly).

Anyway, I had to get out of there after that. Rang yer man, told him what happened, he told me he'd meet me back at 'hq'. So I get there, he strides straight past my nose saying nothing opens the door and grunts 'in'. I head in, he starts counting the teddies from the box I had to make sure I havent 'lost' any. I stand there in disbelief. Next thing he says 'Im dissapointed' er what? 'Im dissapointed you left, you could have had more sales'.

Fair enough then you f***ing c**t, I'm fine, thanks for asking. He asks me to stay there while he recheck the teddies. Yeah right good luck.

Went on to get a call from a real job that same night. Ended up working for him for 6 months, and will be back again as soon as I am finished studying for the summer. Fantastic job, probably appreciate it more because of the chugger crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i was in college a few years ago, and got it into my head that i needed a part-time job, so printed up a few CVs, and went around a few places in town handing them out. i think my second or third day i went into some country style pub, small, only locals drank there, they did food, but had no chef, i'd be boiling bacon and cabbage and mashing spuds aswell as serving pints if i took the job.

This was at maybe half ten, 11 o'clock in the morning that i went in. i said i'd take the job anyway, and asked the owner when he wanted me to start, and he says "well, as soon as possible. right now if you can" and me just after walking in off the street, so I said fair enough, and he stook me in behind the bar.

i cant remember it being anything too hectic, at all, but i was working away all day, getting texts from a friend wondering was i going out that night. twelve hours after starting i was let out of there, with the boss telling me to be in at 1 tomorrow, and off to the local club to meet up with my mates.

after a few pints, and vodkas, we get invited to a house party, a good bit outside the town, off we head, stopping off for 'supplies' along the way. and the party continues untill...

...i come to, lying on something hard, with the wind on my face, i look around and i seem to be on a roof, with a football pitch down to my right, out in the middle of the country, not a sign of anyone around, i stand up, look around, and i can't even see another house, just the dressing-rooms/ pavillion i'm on top of, with no visible way of getting down without a 12 foot jump onto concrete.

well, i didnt make into work the next day anyway, never collected the wages from the 12 hours i worked either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

Yep, once. It was a cold-calling sales job. Unbelievlably horrible. I don't know how people do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

Yep when I was on a j1 summer I got a job in a Irish bar as a waiter for 2 bucks an hour, that same day I got a call from a painter who knew one of my friends and he offered to higher me for 15 dollars an hour working from 6am to 5pm working 6 day weeks so I jumped straight on it and told the management sorry but I got a better offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

lcrcboy wrote: »
    Yep when I was on a j1 summer I got a job in a Irish bar as a waiter for 2 bucks an hour, that same day I got a call from a painter who knew one of my friends and he offered to higher me for 15 dollars an hour working from 6am to 5pm working 6 day weeks so I jumped straight on it and told the management sorry but I got a better offer.

Would you not have made a good bit extra in tips as the waiter ? being america and there whole tipping thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

You probably couldve made way more with tips working in that Irish bar....as stated above

Yup, walked out in the middle of the induction for a well known electronics store just over 4 years ago. My brother came in and said the company I had applied to for an apprenticeship a month or so beforehand had rang the house and said I was starting the following Monday. This was a Friday afternoon so I just said to your man doing the induction that I finally got my apprenticeship. He wasn't happy at all and said "whatever, just leave". This was responded with a "go fvck yourself" and off I went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

maxfresh wrote: »
    Would you not have made a good bit extra in tips as the waiter ? being america and there whole tipping thing.

the bar was outside the town I was staying in with not many people heading out there, one of my mates got a job in that bar and would often only bring home about 20 dollars, he had the odd occasion where he would make about 200 I think it may have happened only twice, but he was scraping by most of the time. Problem with that job is that it was to inconsistent he never knew when he was going to make a nice bit again and would end up saving it just to stay safe.

Plus I was working for cash in hand so tax free (dont tell US immigration :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

why does your name have an underscore?

Are you pretending to be this poster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

why does your name have an underscore?

Are you pretending to be this poster?

Detective Panda to the rescue :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

My brother left a maintenance job because he didn't like the smell in the canteen... 1st or 2nd day...
    Jammy sod walked into a better job 2 weeks later :rolleyes:

Then out of the blue..I just got a rush of blood to head and said to myself "f&ck it this place ain't for me" got up and headed straight for the car park and home..

I see your rush of blood to the head and raise you ten.

I walked out of a job interview onetime.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

A friend of mine while we were travelling was told on his first day in one job that if he felt like walking off to just let someone know. They seemingly had a problem with employees just having enough and walking out.

He was putting bread into a machine to make breadcrumbs on the night shift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Left quite a few jobs on my first day in the US, never here though. Usually down to the state of the place and chatting to other workers about conditions etc.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I see your rush of blood to the head and raise you ten.

I walked out of a job interview onetime.

oh ya?? what happened??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Yes, picking apples in Western Australia. We were so bad at at, we quit at lunch time. At morning break, your man told us we had bruised 11% of the apples, it was actually 12% but I hadn't the heart to tell him. We decided to call it a day at lunch and strike on to a new town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

shaaane wrote: »
    Yup, walked out in the middle of the induction for a well known electronics store just over 4 years ago. My brother came in and said the company I had applied to for an apprenticeship a month or so beforehand had rang the house and said I was starting the following Monday. This was a Friday afternoon so I just said to your man doing the induction that I finally got my apprenticeship. He wasn't happy at all and said "whatever, just leave". This was responded with a "go fvck yourself" and off I went.

Classy.

oh ya?? what happened??

From early on during the interview it became clear they were not a company I would want to work for. A penny pinching shytehole who wanted to hire an engineer but only pay them operators wages. Wasnt particularly desperate for a job at the time (was already employed but only on temporary contract) so didnt see much point continuing with the bullshyte. Just stood up told them I didnt think it was what I was after (and more or less why) and walked out.

In retrospect it was based in one of those large swamps industrial estates down in Shannon which from the outset should have indicated that things didnt look promising.
    I have seen a couple of people do this over the years. Remember a guy who was given the desk next to me a few years ago. He seemed lovely, very happy with his new job. Went home and was never heard of again. Didn't even bother with a PFO phone call.

Its happened a few times now in our place. Oddly it seems to be the ones that seem nicest/happiest who do it.

The ones who whine, moan and bitch stay for twenty years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He told me he works on your mother every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I once got offered a great Summer job in the IFSC when I was a college student, back around 2004. I turned it down to do a J1 in Hawaii.

Times were different back then, I think many of us once had very blase attitudes to finding work or giving up a job; times have changed.

I'm not so sure, myself and 2 of my friends have worked in a factory for the last 6 years. It paid us through college and ow we want to go travelling, they packed in their jobs and are gone in 2 weeks. I hope to leave next summer. I'll apply for leave, but won't be too disappointed if I don't get it.

Back on topic, I turned up to my first day at Compustore to be met by the manager and told that they had gone bust, wouldn't have been as bad if I hadn't walked out of another job to take it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

that was me at that desk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I once left a job beacuse I fancied a bottle of cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Got an interview for PAWS once. Told I started the next day except it was commission only.

So I never turned up. I'm not standing out on the street all day harrassing people when there's no guarantee I'll get paid.

When I moved back to Germany I got a part time job as a chef to help out with the bills until I got more classes teaching English. Quite enjoyed the job, everyone was nice etc. But there was one absolute C*NT who spoke incredibly fast German. Now my German's not bad and I always spoke the language when I was working there, but I couldn't understand a word he said. Neither could everyone else. And he didn't even have the courtesy to speak a bit slower when it was clear I didn't understand him in his normal speed. Whenever I worked with foreigners who didn't speak much English, I always made sure that they understood what I was saying. There were also people there whose German was far worse than mine.

Anyway, one fateful night I was put on the dessert stand for the first time. I was still learning so everyone told me not to get stressed. But I ended up working closing with this guy. He kept barking orders at me. There were recipes up on the wall so I would go by them and do them as fast as I could without getting them wrong. Took a bit of time, especially when there were 5 plus orders coming in.

My lovely colleague kept yelling and becoming abusive to the point where he started throwing things.

I was so close to losing my temper. Normally I'm pretty tolerant of assh0les that I work with, but I was so close to getting an ice cream, dumping it on his head and just walking out. I didn't though...

Anyway I was disgusted at the way I was treated when the guy CLEARLY knew it was my first time doing that particular stand. I ended up ranting to one of my co-workers, telling them I was going to speak to the head chef because I refuse to be treated like that. My co worker kindly told me that if he did it again, threaten to give him a thump across the face because that's what the kitchen porter did and he left him alone ever since.

Looking back I still wish I'd just stormed off. But I've never worked with such an ignorant f*ck like that before. I thought it was just me at first but apparently most people had had run ins with him like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Got a job in a stationary/school book shop just after finishing/flunking my Leaving Cert years ago.

Went in at 9am and I was told to individually price all the loose rubbers and pens/pencils etc.Did this for a good hour or so and then the owner arrived in said I was doing it wrong and to start again,much to the amusement of the other staff and customers.

Everyone else who worked in the place were the sons/daughters of the owner and they were right little snotty pricks too.

Went home for lunch and never came back.I reckon I would've killed someone if I had!