Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An open letter to all Twilight fans

Mickeroo wrote: »
    True that, can't imagine myself going "Look at the arse on yer one" to my dad. :D

Having said that, where did you/anyone see the women and their children cheering at the shirtless scenes?

I saw it both in Galway cinema and then a year later in Ballina. I've also rad about it happening and from a number of friends, its especially prevalent in the US.

One friend of mine had to review it and as such had to attend the midnight opening of the last one, said that much of the dialogue was drowned out by women screaming and cheering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭foodie66

Chi Force wrote: »
    Please don't throw about silly generalisations about Twilight fans being idiots. Or that they're either aged 10-16 or 40+. I'm a fan. I'd like to think I have some understanding of the genre. Given that a number of posters have neither seen the movies nor read the books, the level of vitriol reeks of bandwagon jumping.

I'm 29, I work full time and I study full time. In the small amount of time I have left at the end of the day, I love to watch Twilight. If people have an issue with that, or with the fact that other people also really enjoy it, then I'm sorry. I just know I've never had the time or the inclination to write a letter to anyone over Star Wars...

yup, pretty much. I saw the new film and i enjoyed it for what it was. Nobody, not even the biggest Twihard thinks it is amazing literature or oscar worthy. It's funny seeing people get so worked up about it's success :D

foodie66 wrote: »
    yup, pretty much. I saw the new film and i enjoyed it for what it was. Nobody, not even the biggest Twihard thinks it is amazing literature or oscar worthy. It's funny seeing people get so worked up about it's success :D

Considering that the only book that most Twilght fans read is Twilight says all you need to know about them. I know many 20 something women who read the series over and over again and wouldn't even consider picking up another book. These are women who during the day work as dentists, as a legal aid and nurses.

Obviously they do think that the series is literary genius.

Considering that the only book that most Twilght fans read is Twilight says all you need to know about them. I know many 20 something women who read the series over and over again and wouldn't even consider picking up another book. These are women who during the day work as dentists, as a legal aid and nurses.

You could say the same about the legions who read the DaVinci code. Us genre fans are very quick to savage anything we consider beneath us while bemoaning mainstream culture for doing the same to the things WE love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Chi Force

Well there's certainly more than a hint of gothic romance so I'm going to go with that.

I'm not blind to the flaws in the films or the books, (which, as a grammar nazi, were quite painful for me to read), but the underlying story is age-old for the most part. People respond to that because some part of them can identify with some part of it.
    It's like reading something that a 12 year old girl wrote.

It's worth mentioning that the books are written in the first-person and that the characters are teenagers.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,813 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I should also take this juncture to apologise to my co-mods for this thread. Everything about it, really.

Has a mod ever been infracted for trolling their own forum before? :pac:

Darko, I spend my life reading. You're just being insulting for no real reason. It's quite unbecoming of you.

Obviously they do think that the series is literary genius.

no, they do not. Just because they like it and read it over and over doesn't mean they can't recognise it's cheesiness. Say what you want about Meyers, but she tapped into something in the female psyche. As you say, it is intelligent women reading this. There is nothing wrong with reading fluff. I don't see why people have to get so angry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Well there's certainly more than a hint of gothic romance so I'm going to go with that.

I'm not blind to the flaws in the films or the books, (which, as a grammar nazi, were quite painful for me to read), but the underlying story is age-old for the most part. People respond to that because some part of them can identify with some part of it.

It's worth mentioning that the books are written in the first-person and that the characters are teenagers.

I think it was one of the Bronte sisters who had a topless werewolf falling for a newborn baby first alright. there was a leaving cert question on it.

Way to scratch beneath the surface...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Twilight bashers doing a pretty terrible and embarrassing job here.

columok wrote: »
    You could say the same about the legions who read the DaVinci code. Us genre fans are very quick to savage anything we consider beneath us while bemoaning mainstream culture for doing the same to the things WE love.

At least those who read the DaVinci Code read books by other autors. I have a great anecdote about Dan Brown.

A very famous Irish author was in a book shop in Maine when one of the clerk working there asked him what he thought of Dan Brown's book. He responded that he wasn't a big fan of it and the clerk told him that Mr Brown was a friend of the store. When an author hears that he can pretty much start taking his books off of their shelves. The Irish author started apologising, it wasn't his kind of book but obviously people like it. The clerk then said, Mr Brown was in a few weeks back and told them that had he know the book would have been so popular he'd have spent a bit more time working on making it a better book.

That doesn't excuse the poor prose. Plenty of authors write books from the perspective of kids and teenagers, the difference between them and Meyer's is that they make the character engaging, believable and the books are well written.
    Darko, I spend my life reading. You're just being insulting for no real reason. It's quite unbecoming of you.

How is it insulting to express my opinion. If the books were well written and engaging then I would admit as much but they are not.

Considering that the only book that most Twilght fans read is Twilight says all you need to know about them.
    At least those who read the DaVinci Code read books by other autors

Can't wait to see the references for those "opinions". As a learned reviewer, surely you know the importance of the difference between statement of fact and opinion...?

How is it insulting to express my opinion. If the books were well written and engaging then I would admit as much but they are not.

thats exactly what the op was talking about, twilight fans getting so defensive about it, the books are TERRIBLY written from what little I've read of them (read a few chapters, dont bash stuff without being informed of it first).

I'm a big star wars fan, doesnt mean I dont think the prequels are badly written crap or that the series doesnt have flaws, and I dont accuse people of bashing or hating on it because they point that out. mention it to a Twilight fan and the claws come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,038 ✭✭✭✭adox

Crikey what a bizzare thread! I've never seen or read Twighlight and have no interest in it, but seriously, how is this series being singled out for special attention? There's plenty of drivel out there that is hugely popular and really, I don't see anything wrong with that in the grand scheme of things.

This thread reads like something from the 50s!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,654 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

krudler wrote: »
    thats exactly what the op was talking about, twilight fans getting so defensive about it

I was more annoyed I couldn't go see Snowtown.

I believe it was the OPs claws which looked for the first blood.

At least those who read the DaVinci Code read books by other autors. I have a great anecdote about Dan Brown.

That's an absolutely ridiculous thing to say. I know a rake of people who don't read but read the DaVinci Code. Some snobbish part of me turns my nose up at that when really people should be free to get there entertainment in whatever way they like without being judged.

I actually saw Breaking Dawn the other day and while it wouldn't be my cup of tea it deserves nowhere near the level of vitriol that it is attracting here and elsewhere. It was reasonably entertaining and well made. The people in the cinema were no more exciteable than a fan crowd at Iron Man, The Dark Knight or any other fan film. I don't doubt that there are tools who like the series. That's the same for every film series that captures the imagination of a large populace of people.

This thread is a bunch of (presumably largely) guys ragging on a fan film for no good reason. We don't like it when Martyrs or Suspiria is derided as vacuous exploitative trash so maybe we should be a little bit more measured in our outrage!

thats exactly what the op was talking about, twilight fans getting so defensive about it, the books are TERRIBLY written from what little I've read of them (read a few chapters, dont bash stuff without being informed of it first).

I'm a big star wars fan, doesnt mean I dont think the prequels are badly written crap or that the series doesnt have flaws, and I dont accuse people of bashing or hating on it because they point that out. mention it to a Twilight fan and the claws come out.

I don't see anybody's claws out except the Twilight haters, to be fair

Wonder would your feelings be so strong against Star Wars that you write an open letter against them :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,654 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I believe it was the OPs claws which looked for the first blood.

In my defense, I stated quite clearly a few lines in that I have no problem with people who watch it as the fluff that it is. Sure, personally I feel there's better fluff out there, but that's not my call.

Can't wait to see the references for those "opinions". As a learned reviewer, surely you know the importance of the difference between statement of fact and opinion...?

This is a video a Twilight fan made

Try as I might I really can't find anyone react in such a manner to the trailer for any film based on Dan Brown's book or in fact over the trailer for the adaptation for any other book. Yet there are loads for the Twilight films.

Most Twilight fans I know only read Twilight. They wouldn't pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

From an old thread where people said why they didn't like Twilight, the answer I originally wrote:

It teaches highly impressionable preteens that if your boyfriend ever loses control and hurts you, it's YOUR FAULT. It teaches them that they'll only ever fulfil themselves by getting married. It shamelessly harnesses the confusion that puberty produces and shovels money by doing so. It teaches them that your identity and personality have to be completely subsumed by your boyfriend's. It teaches them that an aggressive control freak who watches someone sleep is being "romantic" rather than "unhinged". It's a thinly-veiled attempt to terrorise teenagers into abstinence and marriage. And it's being targeted at people who are too young to see what's being done.

We don't like it when Martyrs or Suspiria is derided as vacuous exploitative trash so maybe we should be a little bit more measured in our outrage!

But Martyrs is a satirical commentary on vacuous exploitative trash :confused:

And yeah, I'd have no problem with anyone giving out about it. Opinion and all that.

One girl, or even hundreds of girls are your reference for "most Twilight fans"? Really?

This is a video a Twilight fan made

Try as I might I really can't find anyone react in such a manner to the trailer for any film based on Dan Brown's book or in fact over the trailer for the adaptation for any other book. Yet there are loads for the Twilight films.

Most Twilight fans I know only read Twilight. They wouldn't pick

That is a teenage girl, i don't think Dan Brown has the same demographic as Meyers, so it is an irrelevant comparison.

foodie66 wrote: »
    I don't see anybody's claws out except the Twilight haters, to be fair

Wonder would your feelings be so strong against Star Wars that you write an open letter against them :rolleyes:

I didnt buy the blu-rays in protest :pac:

I regularly trash the star wars prequels for the pieces of sh1te they mostly are. doesnt mean I dont like the originals.

From an old thread where people said why they didn't like Twilight, the answer I originally wrote:

It teaches highly impressionable preteens that if your boyfriend ever loses control and hurts you, it's YOUR FAULT. It teaches them that they'll only ever fulfil themselves by getting married. It shamelessly harnesses the confusion that puberty produces and shovels money by doing so. It teaches them that your identity and personality have to be completely subsumed by your boyfriend's. It teaches them that an aggressive control freak who watches someone sleep is being "romantic" rather than "unhinged". It's a thinly-veiled attempt to terrorise teenagers into abstinence and marriage. And it's being targeted at people who are too young to see what's being done.

lmao - all this about a fandom who worships at the altar of Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner and their nakedness?? I think you are missing the point entirely

I didnt buy the blu-rays in protest :pac:

I regularly trash the star wars prequels for the pieces of sh1te they mostly are. doesnt mean I dont like the originals.

The original was filled with crap acting, terrible dialogue, shoddy characterisation and was a lift of The Hidden Fortress. Before the new trilogy sullied it, it held a special place in my heary in-spite of all of this. Star Wars has been ridiculed using pretty much all of the arguments leveled against Twilight. People should really have a little bit more perspective.

That's an absolutely ridiculous thing to say. I know a rake of people who don't read but read the DaVinci Code. Some snobbish part of me turns my nose up at that when really people should be free to get there entertainment in whatever way they like without being judged.

A lot of people read it simply because the book was attracting so much attention. Hey it's the sole reason that I did but the book as popular as it was did not become something that people would read over and over again and talk about how amazing it was. Sure it was entertaining trash, but it was badly written trash that was forgotten half an hour after you put it down.

People are free to find entertainment where ever they can but it's when people refuse to listen to any criticism and are constantly on the attack that it gets a little scary. Watch some of the fan reactions on youtube and comments made by die hard fans and it's creepy as hell.
    I actually saw Breaking Dawn the other day and while it wouldn't be my cup of tea it deserves nowhere near the level of vitriol that it is attracting here and elsewhere. It was reasonably entertaining and well made. The people in the cinema were no more exciteable than a fan crowd at Iron Man, The Dark Knight or any other fan film. I don't doubt that there are tools who like the series. That's the same for every film series that captures the imagination of a large populace of people.

Supposedly the latest films is the most competently made and while I have no interest in the series if people enjoy them let them go see it. As I said in my first post here, the film is going to make millions and as a result a lot of riskier projects are going to be green lit by the studio. I know of one major genre film from the past year that got half its 53 million dollar budget thanks to the success of the last Twilight.
    This thread is a bunch of (presumably largely) guys ragging on a fan film for no good reason. We don't like it when Martyrs or Suspiria is derided as vacuous exploitative trash so maybe we should be a little bit more measured in our outrage!

There is a world of difference between those films and twilight. First of all they are films made for and aimed squarely at adult audienecs and as such deal with adult themes and issues in a manner which is appropriate for the audience. Twilight is a series marketed to 13 year old girls and the content is quite simply inappropriate for such an audience. I would go so far as to say that many of the themes explored in Twilight are more adult than those in Suspiria and Martyrs.

The original was filled with crap acting, terrible dialogue, shoddy characterisation and was a lift of The Hidden Fortress. Before the new trilogy sullied it, it held a special place in my heary in-spite of all of this. Star Wars has been ridiculed using pretty much all of the arguments leveled against Twilight. People should really have a little bit more perspective.

I dont disagree with any of that, but it still changed cinema forever, that just cant be argued, some aspects for bad, but mostly good. no star wars= no pixar, think about it.