Jesus appears on the Cliffs of Moher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Funny how the mind works, she looks at that and sees Jesus, whereas I look at it and the first thought that sprang to my mind, despite the power of suggestion, is Planet of The Apes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

Careful now.
    Jesus? Rory Gallagher? Bobby Sands?

We all know who it is, and he's quite the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Careful now.
    Making the blind to see - miracle
    Making the lame to walk - miracle
    Raising the dead - miracle
    Some rocks looking vaguely like a person - not a miracle, and frankly I'd expect better from a deity. For shame, Jesus, you're letting it slip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

Looks like Alice Cooper with eye makeup to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Rhyme wrote: »
    I'm seeing Bobby Sands.

Interesting thread OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Zebra3 wrote: »
    How the f*ck does anyone living today know what Jaysus looks like?

There are no photos of him or any painting done of him while he was alive.

Mongs. :rolleyes:

Come on, everyone knows he was a white man of European extraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Careful now.
    A very italian looking christ it must be said...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

Careful now.
    Can't see the Jesus similarity, although I do see a face. Pretty cool, but nothing to get worked up about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

General Grievous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Everybody knows that Jesus would've had short hair, with dark skin. Not like the traditional long haired model type.

It's a crock of phoney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

He's obviously luring gullible idiots to their watery deaths. Good old Jesus :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Toni & Guy obviously :rolleyes:

Surely it would be Matthew Mark's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭amacca

Option 4.
    IrishZeus wrote: »
    Two words for ya.

Chill.

Pill.

although they do rhyme which is a plus I must say you could have chosen some more interesting words for me.......

poor show........poor poor show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

Careful now.
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Link to article with pictures

It's himself alright, no two ways about it.
    I bet those Seven Natural Wonders losers who haven't included the cliffs are regretting it now.

Does it ever occur to these muppets that the image (or general image) we have of Christ comes from European and Christian painters,and their perception of what a man who lived over a thousand years before them looked like? If anything, if a man such as Jesus had actually existed he would have resembled a Middle Eastern man, and not the image we see in paintings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

LordSutch wrote: »

I've known that name all my life but have never seen him. The last thing I expected in this thread was to find out what demis rousos looked like.
    Go Jebus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

It's amazing how so many people are convinced that they know what Jesus looked like. We might be better off if we cared more about what He said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

Careful now.
    If you ignore the suggestion that it is chrsitlike, the impression of a face is demonic. In the wider shot I also see an impression of a serpent neck connecting it to a nondescript body.

Also, the pilot is idolising a graven image and is therefore damned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Careful now.
    philologos wrote: »
    It's amazing how so many people are convinced that they know what Jesus looked like. We might be better off if we cared more about what He said.

We know he wasn't a renaissance era Italian.

more like this:

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cm/popularmechanics/images/nD/tb_jesuslead-lg-mdn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Hobbes wrote: »
    Does that make the Cliffs of Moher a class one relic? I heard some guy was cured there.

No no Class 1 relics would be for things like cloning dinosaurs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Irish American

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Option 4.
    He's going a bit too far now. That just showing off.

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t136/hogworth/general/jcup.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Careful now.
    philologos wrote: »
    It's amazing how so many people are convinced that they know what Jesus looked like.

Well they could certainly make some educated guesses. People claiming to know what he looks like however pales in comparison to those who claim to know he arose from being dead three days or that he had magical powers. Maybe if you are going to be amazed about the claims people make about the man, you need to look at yourself first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I have just been officially informed from on high that
    youse will all burn in hell, yis smart arsed heathen protestant ****ers.

Now! That will show yis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Wonders when Christy Moore will release this as his next single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

When I zoomed in really close this is what I got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Down through the years I can remember similar resemblances to Jesus on the Cliffs of Moher, like years ago there was supposed to be a picture of Jesus on somebody's cornflake, then there was Jesus's face in the stump of a tree trunk! Jesus's face in an upside down dried leaf, Jesus face in a wholegrain bun, and the face of Jesus on a freshly cut stone wall, (in a quarry somewhere) :cool:

Question: How do we know what Jesus looked like? and why does our imagery of Jesus (and Mary) portray them as Northern Europeans? blonde hair, blue eyes, and pale north european skin . . . .

The face of Jesus in a chunky Kit Kat > http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR3o3uxcPxjPSH5xQtmzFVXYXbB-c3l9jJnUMKKkd94vg-z49IY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

it wasn't him, He died nearly 2000 years ago.