Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jesus appears on the Cliffs of Moher

• 14-11-2011 7:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭

An Irish-American tourist has captured photos of an apparent apparition of Jesus Christ at the Cliffs of Moher.

Sandra Clifford, a pilot from San Francisco, captured the image on her digital camnrea when she visited the famous Co. Clare tourist attraction on November 4 last.

Clifford (42) and her friend Fiona Fay from Drogheda Co. Louth were spellbound by what they saw and immediately Clifford snapped the shot of what they said appeared to be the face of Jesus Christ. Fay first spotted what appeared to be an image of a man before pointing it out to Clifford.

“To me it was Jesus Christ straight away,” added Clifford, who is a practicing Catholic.
    “I am a pilot, so I am always skeptical of what I see, that is why I started grabbing people and asking them what they saw,” Clifford told IrishCentral.

Clifford proceeded to ask a group of German men if they could see the outline, they nodded their heads in agreement, she says, and began taking photos. She also asked a young Asian girl if she could see the outline before she responded, “Oh yeah, that's cool”.

“It was amazing,” Clifford added, who was enjoying a two-week vacation in Ireland with her mother when she captured the shot.
    “I really wanted to go to the cliffs, I love the ocean.
    “I always have my camera and I love taking pictures,” said the American pilot, who took over 800 shots during her trip to Ireland.

It had been raining prior to the sighting and the pilot recalls, “it was a day of rainbows”.

Later that night when she showed the image on her camera to locals in Gus O'Connors Pub in Doolin, they were also in awe.

Teresa O’Flaherty, who owns the bar with her husband Patric, told IrishCentral that they couldn’t believe their eyes.
    “I was like, wow, I actually thought it was a picture of a picture, I was shocked,” she said.

“It’s very definitely an image of Christ,” she said.

The image stirred the bar owner’s curiosity so much that she went to the famous cliffs to have a look for herself.
    “I actually went there the following day to see if I could see it,” said O’Flaherty.

“They weren’t they kind of people to make it up,” she said, adding, “they didn’t come in to show it to us and they weren’t making a big deal about it”.
    “We have five or six bus tours a day coming into the town but I have never seen anything like that.
    “I was delighted to have seen it, because if someone had told me, I would have said ‘no way’,” O’Flaherty concluded.

Clifford maintains the images are 100 percent legitimate and points out the original photograph is still in the camera, which she passed around in the Co. Clare pub that evening. When a friend offered to touch up the photograph back in the US she refused, insisting she wanted to maintain its originality.

Link to article with pictures

It's himself alright, no two ways about it.
    I bet those Seven Natural Wonders losers who haven't included the cliffs are regretting it now.

Miracle? 192 votes

It's a miracle.
    0%
    It's not a miracle.
    11%
    D-GenerateChad ghostalelefantFreddie59stovelidPaparazzoJesus WeptChairmanCowDanteliamygunner29Celly Smuntvampire of kilmainhamOnesimussaintsaltynutsBEASTERLYrainyrunyuttaPrincess PeachmackgMartyn1989 22 votes
    Careful now.
    40%
    HobbesDocTomStarkgurramokondaflyMike 1972[Deleted User]dlofneptoxofpwwilliaRichieCsmokingmanaidan24326BlowfishRented MuleEGARjoe_dunneEvilMonkeyLiam Byrne 78 votes
    Option 4.
    47%
    SimiKingp35R0otT17cHDublinstiofánDiageio_ManPlugyoucancallmealRhymexzantiup for anythingGigiwaggasdanseoyoyoMorporkCacoShenshenSnake PliiskenBigDuffmanbarbiegirl 92 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

Option 4.
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's himself alright, no two ways about it.
    I bet those Seven Natural Wonders losers who haven't included the cliffs are regretting it now.

that would be an ecumenical matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Option 4.
    I'm seeing Bobby Sands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I saw myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Oh no! It's moving statues time again, just like in 1985.:rolleyes: This proves the country is really in the sh1t.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's not a miracle.
    Rhyme wrote: »
    I'm seeing Bobby Sands.

Sure what would he be doing on the Cliffs of Moher?!

Option 4.
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Sure what would he be doing on the Cliffs of Moher?!

fishing for a bite?

(i hate myself for that one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

Eff Off! Jesus, Mehole! Just 'appeared' on the cliff? Just like that?

These people need to look closer...

It's Rory Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

How the f*ck does anyone living today know what Jaysus looks like?

There are no photos of him or any painting done of him while he was alive.

Mongs. :rolleyes:

It's not a miracle.
    Zebra3 wrote: »

He's on the Cliffs of Moher. You can't explain that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Option 4.
    Sure that's nothing. I actually met the santa claus in a shopping center when I was a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Option 4.
    That's jesus looking out across the Atlantic ok, I bet he is thinking of emigrating to the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

That's pretty sound Jesus showed up in Ireland. If I was around I would have invited him out on the tear with me. It'd be a cheap night out with his aul water into wine trick :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Careful now.
    Does that make the Cliffs of Moher a class one relic? I heard some guy was cured there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

captured the image on her digital camnrea when she visited the famous Co. Clare tourist attraction

Well there's your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Looks a bit like Kirsty Alley to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Option 4.

Away with you and your "facts", they have no place here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Clifford proceeded to ask a group of German men if they could see the outline, they nodded their heads in agreement, she says, and began taking photos. She also asked a young Asian girl if she could see the outline before she responded, “Oh yeah, that's cool”.

Jesus - uniting Germans, Asians & Americans for the first time since pre-WW2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

It's not a miracle.
    endabob1 wrote: »
    Away with you and your "facts", they have no place here

Here here.
    Hobbes wrote: »
    Does that make the Cliffs of Moher a class one relic? I heard some guy was cured there.

If I lived near it I'd knock up a bunch of tshirts and head for the cliffs to flog them.

Option 4.
    realies wrote: »
    That's jesus looking out across the Atlantic ok, I bet he is thinking of emigrating to the US.

to that den of avarice and vice....no chance

I'd say he prefers the company of the dolphins to us humans.....probably had a soft spot for us recently until we started constructing semi d's and apartments like there was no tomorrow and reading property glossy property supplements instead of the bible while complaining about what everybody has instead of getting on with it ourselves

its only a matter of time until some cataclysmic event wipes us out and the dolphins rise up to be a more advanced enlightened technological society

they shall have inverse aquariums (oxygenariums if you will) where they can swim in and view primitive humans mating and throwing excrement at each other and research the possibility of strapping explosives to us so they can use us to blow up enemy dolphin nations land ships

for such is progress......sigh

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Option 4.
    Oh yeah, I can totally see it

16432988.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Theres much worse lurking at the Cliffs then an image of Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Isn't this just a bit...convenient?

What with the whole "Not being one of the new 7 Wonders" lark!?

And appearing in a rock? At least he was edible when he appeared on a taco in Mexico.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Option 4.
    Sure he loves them oul cliffs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

God. He was fantastic wasn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Clearly this person is too stupid to be flying a plane, their pilot's license should be revoked.

It's not a miracle.
    God. He was fantastic wasn't he?

Ah, He was brilliant. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Jesus must be so fed up with the way the church have conducted themselves that he's organised his very own "Occupy the Cliffs of Moher".

I suppose he does have the cut of a crusty.

Option 4.
    Jesus - uniting Germans, Asians & Americans for the first time since pre-WW2

Do we have to seek the Germans approval for everything?

I bet that group of German men were key members of some Troika sub-committee looking yet more things that have to gain their approval

(yes little pixie-paddy go on ahead there if you do manage to fool your fat american cousins into spending their money here you can give that back to us too - smiling indulgently and patting us on the head)

don't they realize without our ability to be reckless and feckless a stronger euro would have destroyed their exports long ago, they need us to balance out their excesses of sensibleness with stupidity and short sighted greed...we are the yin to their yang.....instead they treat us like gombeens........having to seek their approval for a class 3 relic...what next?

It's not a miracle.
    kraggy wrote: »
    Jesus must be so fed up with the way the church have conducted themselves that he's organised his very own "Occupy the Cliffs of Moher".

I suppose he does have the cut of a crusty.

He's the 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Option 4.
    I don't know about you people, but i'm seeing the image of a Decepticons symbol on the cliff. Does that mean Transformers are real and are coming to Ireland, or are possibly already here:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Rhyme wrote: »
    I'm seeing Bobby Sands.

My first reaction too, but then someoen on the article said Bjorn borg and that's now who I'm seeing.

EDIT - seeing in the image.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That could be any Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

That could be any Jesus

Or possibly Je-Sus. His non-union mexican equivalent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Option 4.
    amacca wrote: »
    Do we have to seek the Germans approval for everything?

I bet that group of German men were key members of some Troika sub-committee looking yet more things that have to gain their approval

(yes little pixie-paddy go on ahead there if you do manage to fool your fat american cousins into spending their money here you can give that back to us too - smiling indulgently and patting us on the head)

don't they realize without our ability to be reckless and feckless a stronger euro would have destroyed their exports long ago, they need us to balance out their excesses of sensibleness with stupidity and short sighted greed...we are the yin to their yang.....instead they treat us like gombeens........having to seek their approval for a class 3 relic...what next?

Two words for ya.

Chill.

Pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Careful now.
    Well im convinced, lets kill dawkins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

No, someone was lured there. It was Paddy Short, then those fellas started to beat him with the sticks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Almost as impressive as the time my dog lifted his tail only to reveal the face of Jesus on his bullet hole ;

http://www.jonco48.com/blog/dogbuttjesus.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

It makes sense. Shur everybody knows that Catholicism is on the rocks in Ireland. If jesus is here can we have the Vatican and all it's artworks moved here too???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

That's Himself alright.

Why he's sitting playing an accordian though is anyones guess?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Careful now.

Not only that, but most of the holy pictures portray him - for some reason - as a white bloke.

And lo-and-behold : the "apparition" in the photo shows ? The standard holy-picture representation of the white bloke.

I agree that it looks more like Rory Gallagher though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Careful now.
    Why doesn't the article say what happened AFTER she took the picture ?

I need to know!

It's not fair to end it on a cliffhanger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

They should charge people to take pictures, make a big prophet for the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

No, someone was lured there, do you remember that fella Paddy Shirt. Then those fellas started beating him with sticks!

EDIT: beaten to it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Careful now.

No, someone was lured there. It was Paddy Short, then those fellas started to beat him with the sticks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Option 4.
    "Crilly, it is just an indistinct squiggle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭vex

looks a bit like the autobots symbol from transformers to me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

All we know is that based on genetic research from the time period, Jesus must have been a good looking white man. It's a certainty he had long hair and a beard too. In the gospels of Paul we can follow his daily hair care routine.

Option 4.
    Good job it wasn't Mohammed or we would have never found out wha! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Option 4.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    All we know is that based on genetic research from the time period, Jesus must have been a good looking white man. It's a certainty he had long hair and a beard too. In the gospels of Paul we can follow his daily hair care routine.

Jesus was a pioneer in the use of Wash & Go. None of that 2 bottles in the shower crap.

So I believe.