Inappropriate "lady" in work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

Dublin chick, you really do sound like a dry sh!te, or someone who believes they live in something like "The hills" or one of these mind poison shows that make young women who work in offices believe they can carry on like this.

leave the gas oul wan alone. she's probably better banter than most of these young office dwellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I assure u I am no square .....

....Dadidio

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Right so I work with one other lady (well form your own opinion ) in a small office. She works part time only so I don't have to deal with her all the time thank goodness.

She is 60 years old and she is one of the most vulgar people I have ever come across. She constantly swears all day long. Now I am not ageist but there is something so much worse about an older woman using bad language. Everything is "Oh fcuk" "Shyte" etc..

She is also really inappropriate when it comes to openly discussing sex (one day she told me she was going to try a vibrator) or how she wouldn't mind a bit of him when ever any male comes to the office. It actually makes me feel ill.

This morning Colm Hayes was discussing a singles night that happened last night on the radio and people were calling in who attended. One guy called in and basically said he had met a girl and they had got together last night and it was great craic, from what I heard he spent the night with her. Then she looks at me and says in a leery way (puke) "He had a bit of craic.....literally".

She is also not great to look at years of drinking and smoking have taken their toll!! Yet she insists on wearing the lowest cut tops so everyone is subjected to her wrinkly cleavage!!!

This is just an example of what she goes on like and I really think that I am going to say something. She reminds me of a pervy leery old man and it is disgusting.

To those that say this woman sounds like "a bit of fun"
    ...What if this was a man saying similar things? ...Aaa... but that would be different of course, wouldn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

it could be worse she could spend all day bitching about her work colleague on the internet

no it wouldnt be any different. it's this attitude taken by the OP that has this country the way it is. sensitive gobsh!tes who are too PC for their own and everyone elses good.

AAARGH! just deal with it, its only a bit of craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

OP..It's probably her patethic way of trying to fit in with a younger crowd..she thinks this is the way... Don't encourage her, she probably spends her nights crying and drinking red wine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Biggins wrote: »
    ...What if this was a man saying similar things? ...Aaa... but that would be different of course, wouldn't it!

It would be somewhat odd when he shares his intentions to try a vibrating dildo

You know what I mean.
    What if a man was making open sexual reference's to masturbating himself off at work, to male/female work staff?

Different attitudes just because its a woman and its all a joke of course then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Sounds headwrecking. Especially if she's making comments to clients/guests in the office, I'd be getting on to management tbh. Sounds like she has issues with boundaries... professional versus having a laugh with your friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

Dublin chick, you really do sound like a dry sh!te, or someone who believes they live in something like "The hills" or one of these mind poison shows that make young women who work in offices believe they can carry on like this..

OMG I like TOTALLY LOVE The Hills, Brody was sooo my favourite I cannot BELIEVE he like ended up with Avril Lavigne......it's like WTF!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Imagine workin' with these two...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

A few minutes is ok but it would do my head in if it was constant. It'd be like working with the old female character from naked camera every day. I'd hate it.

I have kinda portrayed her as some kind of barrel of laughs! I assure you this is far from it. I love a bit of office banter but there is more to it than that. She is pervy and it creeps me out :eek:

do you watch the hills/made in chelsea/essex ??? i bet you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Sounds rotten. It's fine if other people here like to hear that sort of **** from male or female colleagues at work but one should have the choice not to.

That said, a simple but stern TMI might do the trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

You will be old too some day OP

OMG I like TOTALLY LOVE The Hills, Brody was sooo my favourite I cannot BELIEVE he like ended up with Avril Lavigne......it's like WTF!!!

maybe you see a bit of yourself in her and that's why you make such an issue of it?

or you're jealous that she is able to be so open about life. ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭anndub

I used to work with a woman like that. She always brightened up my day. She also recognized the people who were offended by her personality and used to up her game a notch when they were around.

In the canteen, she would regularly discuss the quality of the ass of whatever male happened to be making a cup of tea, without making any attempt to keep her voice down. How I laughed.

maybe you see a bit of yourself in her and that's why you make such an issue of it?

There is nothing wrong in being open.
    There is also however a time and a place - and at a right level.
    Anyone with a bit of kop-on should realise that.

Somewhere in between being too closeted in life and being too open, is an appropriate area of honesty while done with a modicum of decency and in the right appropriate environment, taking into account those around at the time and their feelings on such matters.

...Or one can be a total prick, adopt a selfish attitude of "stuff the lot of ye" and behave like an asshole with a foul mouth at un-appropriate times and to people.

I have fired people in the latter category for not heeding warnings about inappropriate behaviour or behaviour extending too far into the area of creating an uncomfortable work environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I wouldn't mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

do you watch the hills/made in chelsea/essex ??? i bet you do.

How does anything that someone watches on TV have anything to do with inappropriate conduct in the workplace?

It sounds like a horrible situation to have to deal with every day to be honest. If it was a guy doing it I bet people would be sickened and telling her to go to HR about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

You know what I mean.
    What if a man was making open sexual reference's to masturbating himself off at work, to male/female work staff?

Different attitudes just because its a woman and its all a joke of course then?

You know Biggins I've worked with lads like that over the years...plenty of them old enough to know better. Thing is you just let them think they're funny or you're a dry sh*te...I'll admit it's inappropriate in a mixed workplace but in single sex workplaces it's somewhat accepted...unless you're the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

maybe you (want to) see a bit of yourself in her and that's why you make such an issue of it?

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

She seems like a good laugh - women like that are my kindred spirit usually :pac: but I suppose you'd have to experience her company to make the call. Sometimes people who try too hard to be raunchy and vulgar etc can be embarrassing (no matter what age) - and her behaviour would be tolerated far less if she were a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,341 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

You will be old too some day OP

Of course she will. It doesn't mean she has to act like a knacker, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Angeles

Ahh Jasus, 60 you say?
    Sure she's only a few years off retirement, I'm sure the women couldn't give a flying pigs arse about how "inappropriate" she comes across to yourself and by the sounds of it is trying to get a laugh out of ye.

Take it with a pinch of sugar op and lighten up, i think your own perception of how she "should be" needs a little re-programming! It nothing more then a bit of banter.

I mean its not like she's blasting the work place with piss all the time.. just say'n could be worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

So, is this lady......seeing anyone right now? ;)

Young footballing type, name of Rooney, likes a duurrty oul wan now and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Musiconomist

This reminds me of a guy I used to deliver leaflets for when I as about 11 or 12. We were all in the back of his car, driving home from wherever it was, and he pulled up to two girls in their 20s. He rolled down his window, and said to them,"How's your gee?" and then drove off. I think they were foreign, because one started laughing, and the other one didnt understand. We all laughed, but looking back on it, it was a bit much.

Actually, I'm still laughing a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

So she is completely different to your stereotypical view of old people and this is not to be tolerated?

"He had a bit of craic.....literally".

Quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

ah come on, we all know if she were male there'd be uproar (and rightly so)!

she sounds like a manky aul cow, just ignore her OP, she prob does it for the attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

He'd be sacked in a nanosecond.

I love the idea of a female version of 'Roger Mellie the man on the telly' working away at an office like that.