Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Where is nice to live in Kildare??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Had to travel through Kildare before for work.

Found Newbridge to be the nicest town of all, there seemed to be lots of amenities and facilities in the area, place was well kept too and traffic was reasonable considering the time I was travelling through it. The other towns I passed through seemed to be very rural and quiet. Just my two cents worth anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭maxer68

Whispered wrote: »
    I say I had been involved in a incident in Athy. I then further clarify and shame on me?

I said if you DIDN'T report it, then shame. Its only by reporting incidents that allows for the gardai to do things about it such as licence objections, tradign objections etc.

I don't live in Athy, but I do go there as they have decent Chinese restaurant with Ngai and great Indian food in Ashouka and a great pub in Clancys.
    The town tries very hard despite huge job losses over the years and for that the various interested bodies have to be commended not ostracised for a few small incidents that happen in most towns (2 months ago there was a mega gang fight in Maynooth and about 6 innocent bystanders got hurt, 2 very seriously - but the gardai have dealt with it.) Incidents like what you had simply happen everywhere and thankfully are no where near the rate that they happen in many UK towns.

Still I say Newbridge for newbie south dublin person, due to facilites, shopping, leisure and ease of transport links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Seeing as how I have no contact with maynooth at all I didn't comment on maynooth. I commented on the towns which I know, them being Kilcullen, Naas, Newbridge and Athy. However I don't think maynooth is generally known as a rough area. (Correct me if I'm wrong, as I said I know very little about the place)
    maxer68 wrote: »
    various interested bodies have to be commended not ostracised for a few small incidents that happen in most towns

As I said in my last post, you seem to be taking my opinion on Athy as a reflection of me as opposed to a reflection of the area. I have said twice now
    the efforts of a town should not be ruined by a few
    How is that ostracising anybody beyond the thugs involved?

Fortunately the OP simply asked for opinions. Which I gave, and following a few posts detailing why I feel no need to further justify my opinion on Athy and the fact that in my experience it's not a pleasant place to be. At all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

I'd advise Newbridge OP. Its a big town with no shortage of amenities, its relatively close to Dublin, and aesthetically its a nice town.
    I wouldn't really recommend any of the North Kildare commuter towns like Leixlip, Cellbridge etc (even tbh). They're really just sattelite towns, and not really towns in their own right (apart from Naas of course).
    In Newbridge you get the best of both worlds. Its a nice big, busy town, close to Dublin, yet at the same time, more autonomous of Dublin than the commuter towns.
    I would recommend Athy and Kildare too.They are both nice towns, despite what some other posters may say, but as your coming from the capital you might find these a bit quite for your liking as they're both relatively small towns( Athy: 10,000, Kildare; 7,500, compared to Newbridge which has almost 20,000). However, both of them (esp Kildare) have very good transport links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

Fi_J wrote: »
    Hi Everyone

Looking to relocate from South Co Dublin to Kildare but dont know what areas are nice, and which arent.

Can anyone recommend where is good to live for a family with young children, stay at home Mum (so I would need Mum & Baby group etc), safe, good facilities etc etc?

Sallins looks nice? Monasterevin houses are so reasonably priced, is there a reason?? If it looks too good, it is???

Thanks a mil.

Having re-located from Dublin to Kilcullen 5yrs ago I can't find a bad thing to say about it. I was not a stay-at-home mom then but I am now.
    We have a carer and toddler group (kilcullentoddlergroup.com), community playgroup, (kilcullencommunityplaygroup.com), community action (flowers, christmas lights etc) kilcullencommunityaction.ie, playground (kilcullenplayground.com), plenty of creches, a good primary - and a nearby educate together and gealscoil, good secondary. Lots of sports facilities, good shops and near to newbridge and naas for the bigs ones, beside the curragh. some more info on guide.kilcullentoddlergroup.com but it is not complete.

Friendly too ;-)
    There is a festival on sunday, the river festival - see the other thread - and it is worth checking out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

Being a resident of North Kildare, let me share a few anecdotes about the various towns in North Kildare.

I am sorry if I offend anyone, but Athy and Kildare town are commonly believed to be the two of the worst towns in the county. It is mainly because of the high level of unemployment which inevitably leads to anti-social behaviour and crime. I don't think it is the crime that is as much a worry as the anti-social behaviour that is the thing that grates most people.

See this thread for an example of the views of people of Athy.

Maynooth is generally cheaper than many similar sized towns in the area because it is still somewhat of a student town. You can get more bang for your buck because of this.

Clane appears to be nice. I know people who live there and I have never really heard anything bad about the place.

Newbridge. Well, it depends where in Newbridge you are talking about. I remember the first time I thought Newbridge was not the nice place I always thought it was. I was on the train, getting off in Naas and there were two lads talking. One had cuts and bruises and was boasting about how he was in a fight at the weekend in a pub and thats what caused his injuries. Looking at the pair of them, they "looked the sort". I mentioned this to someone I knew from Newbridge and they said that happens often and it can be a very rough town at times, depending on where you go. This was about 5 years ago. I do know others who live there and from my visits to the town, it does seem decent enough. Decent amenities.

Naas - I do like this town. Pretty quiet and getting quieter in comparison to what it was. Shops closing down and the mainstreet is struggling. Not rough, and some older estates with decent sized houses and long time residents. Very rare to hear anything bad about it (apart from it struggling economically).

EDIT: I should just also add that I expect a number of replies from people disagreeing with my opinion because everyone is naturally defensive about where they live and don't want to hear people say bad things about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 smurfet2

Whispered, im sorry to hear about your experiences in Athy but i think the point maxer was making (correct me if im mistaken) was that every town has their fair share of thuggish behaviour. For example a few months ago remember the news story about the man in newbridge made to eat his own ear?

I live equal distance to Kilcullen as I do to athy, but i choose to shop, go out and socialise in Athy (before anyone comments on this, i like Kilcullen too, i have nothing against Kilcullen :D). I have never had the misfortune of being a victim to the incidents you described, or similiar, in Athy.

the reason i originally posted on this topic, and it wasnt directed at you solely, was because i have seen the amount of effort people have put into restoring the town's image. In no way do i mean to discredit your awful experiences, they are unforgivable and it is 100% understandable why you do not like the town. However as i stated above, all towns have such incidents. Whether you agree or not, the point is Athy gets an unfair representation in the media. it is very easy to tarnish a town's reputation but it is extremely difficult to restore its good reputation. Whispered this is not aimed at you, this is my observation. I was trying to give the OP a balanced view of Athy.

And of course im passionate about my hometown. Everyone should be.. Otherwise nobody would be bothered to tidy up after themselves, organise or take part in community activities..
    No passion = no pride = no community spirit = no nice town!

Hopefully we can call quits on this subtopic of the thread, by agreeing that every town has its fair share of good and bad. Although some will say more bad than good in athy's case, but im going to stick with more good than bad :rolleyes:

UP ATHY! :cool:

OP apologies for going so far off topic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

MaceFace wrote: »

Views of people of Athy?
    That a bit disingenuous Mace Face. You linked a thread whos specific purpose it is to disparage the town. The thread is callled 'Athy. The biggest kip in Kildare' FFS.
    Hardly providing a balanced view is it?
    In any case, the majority of posters strongly disagree with the sentiments of the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

airmax87 wrote: »
    The three bad ones..

Are you for real? I dont know much about Celbridge, but Maynooth and Leixlip are fine places. Absolutely nothing wrong with these towns. In fact, if I were to recommend a place in Kildare to live it would be Leixlip. Its a stones throw from Dublin, so shopping etc isn't a problem whatsoever. If your a college student, you are close to NUIM and all colleges in Dublin. Traffic isn't a problem in the town, everything moves smoothly. From being in the area quite a bit, the only problem is parking in the village.
    As hard as it is to say, I would put it ahead of Naas!
    I lol'd at an Athy person saying these were bad towns. The only good thing about Athy is their GAA team, and they're not even that good! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Shreddingblood

dog rough in comparison to the other ones

I could not stop laughing at this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Nhead

Personally, I find that people from north Kildare have a tendency to ignore the problems of their own towns and paint south Kildare as anti-social and full of unemployed people, always makes me laugh. Every place has crime I was in Naas once and there was a murder scene at the main bus stop where a mother of three was stabbed, does this make Naas a kip? The place is full of robberies:
    http://www.kildare-nationalist.ie/tabId/201/itemId/9482/Homes-targeted-in-latest-spate-of-Naas-burglaries.aspx
    http://www.kildare-nationalist.ie/tabId/201/itemId/8029/Crime-in-Naas.aspx

Maynooth is a nice place but is always congested during the day due to college and schools like any area it has rough spots just type in Old Greenfield and you'll see what I mean. Also a lot of people complain about students behaviour and the university and the Gardai had to stop RAG week because of this anti-social behaviour. The shopping in Maynooth is an absolute joke as well, there is no cinema and a few of the pubs are run down. Oh and Maynooth is very expensive and not good value for money compared to other towns in Kildare. I lol'd at the poster that said Maynooth had no problems whatsoever how naive can you get.

Celbridge has a terrible atmosphere in my experience and a friend of mine that lives there said that there is a heroin problem in a few of the estates. Of all the towns I have been in Kildare this was the most unfriendly. Actually if you type in robberies in Celbridge into google you can see how rough the place actually is!! And the train station is really far from the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭The Mulk

So to sum up for the OP,

DON'T MOVE TO KILDARE

we are all heroin addled, murderous thieves down here.:eek:

All joking aside, all the towns mentioned have anti-social problems, directly proportional to their size.
    I'm living in Celbridge and find it great, in 8 years here i've seen the same amount of junkies as i've seen in Baggot St. in a day.

A lot of these problems are compounded by turning a blind eye, but I don't thimk this is just a Kildare problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I have lived in Celbridge 10 years ( still a blow in :-) ) , I find it a nice place to live.

The connections with Dublin are good , you have a night bus , and the train . There is a shuttle service to the train station at peak hrs.

The facilities such as Castletown House are fantastic .

There are some anti social behaviour problems , like any town , for example the playground is a real problem spot for some reason.

I love the village feel to the place .

I come from / lived in London for 30 odd years before moving here , I know where I would rather bring up kids , and it isn't London for sure !

The Mulk wrote: »
    So to sum up for the OP,

DON'T MOVE TO KILDARE

we are all heroin addled, murderous thieves down here.:eek:

All joking aside, all the towns mentioned have anti-social problems, directly proportional to their size.
    I'm living in Celbridge and find it great, in 8 years here i've seen the same amount of junkies as i've seen in Baggot St. in a day.

A lot of these problems are compounded by turning a blind eye, but I don't thimk this is just a Kildare problem

That about sums it up!!;) Ah my post is tongue in cheek. If you look hard enough at any place you'll find problems. I don't judge Naas just because I happened in there once and there was a murder scene or the fact that Maynooth and Celbridge have a few problems here and there. Every place has its problems/good points regardless of social composition.

Nhead wrote: »
    That about sums it up!!;) Ah my post is tongue in cheek. If you look hard enough at any place you'll find problems. I don't judge Naas just because I happened in there once and there was a murder scene or the fact that Maynooth and Celbridge have a few problems here and there. Every place has its problems/good points regardless of social composition.

Agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

Personally, I find that people from north Kildare have a tendency to ignore the problems of their own towns and paint south Kildare as anti-social and full of unemployed people, always makes me laugh.

Maynooth is a nice place but is always congested during the day due to college and schools like any area it has rough spots just type in Old Greenfield and you'll see what I mean. Also a lot of people complain about students behaviour and the university and the Gardai had to stop RAG week because of this anti-social behaviour. The shopping in Maynooth is an absolute joke as well, there is no cinema and a few of the pubs are run down. Oh and Maynooth is very expensive and not good value for money compared to other towns in Kildare. I lol'd at the poster that said Maynooth had no problems whatsoever how naive can you get.

Well yeah most people would look at the south of the county like that because its true.
    As regards Maynooth, 1 housing estate that doesn't really bother anyone. Go hang around inside yeah you might be in a spot of bother then, but it does not affect the town. They stopped RAG week because the town couldn't cope with the numbers on main street at around half 2 in the morning. Cars couldn't get by as the crowd was that big. Their night life is by far the best in this county, Mantra is probably seen as one of the best night clubs in Ireland. Shoppings a joke in the town? They have a Tesco, Dunnes Stores, Elverys, Easons and a load of other shops in Manor Mills, so its clear you haven't been in Maynooth in a long time! Why would any town in North Kildare need a cinema? Liffey Valley is about a 10min drive from Maynooth.
    I'm not too up to date on house prices in the area, but I would imagine they are more expensive than towns in the South as they are located near Dublin.

kildare9 wrote: »
    Well yeah most people would look at the south of the county like that because its true.
    As regards Maynooth, 1 housing estate that doesn't really bother anyone. Go hang around inside yeah you might be in a spot of bother then, but it does not affect the town. They stopped RAG week because the town couldn't cope with the numbers on main street at around half 2 in the morning. Cars couldn't get by as the crowd was that big. Their night life is by far the best in this county, Mantra is probably seen as one of the best night clubs in Ireland. Shoppings a joke in the town? They have a Tesco, Dunnes Stores, Elverys, Easons and a load of other shops in Manor Mills, so its clear you haven't been in Maynooth in a long time! Why would any town in North Kildare need a cinema? Liffey Valley is about a 10min drive from Maynooth.
    I'm not too up to date on house prices in the area, but I would imagine they are more expensive than towns in the South as they are located near Dublin.

Spoken like a true Naas man. Everything is subjective was the point of my post. I was in Maynooth last month I love giving lectures in the college and the new English Dept.is a joy to behold although it is not the same without the bridge but the new library is long overdue. I (here is the subjective part of the post)was never that impressed with manor mills a bit generic IMO and took away from the character of the town and hasn't aged well even though it is not that old. Well, again whilst I was working in the university the problem with RAG week was a little more complicated than what you are saying(yes I worked and from South Kildare God it would probably blow your mind if you found out where I was from!!!) Mantra yeah if that is your thing fair enough. As for the cinema (and again this is just my opinion I stress) not everyone has a car and they might like one in their area. The old cinema in Naas had character, the new one not so much but hey that is only my opinion but then you know us South Kildare people we eat our own young!! Seriously though read post 65 t'is all in jest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭airmax87

I could not stop laughing at this.

Laughing at yourself then ?, oh the lower class..

Ah culchies!:rolleyes: I'm middle class.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭Moon Indigo

From Dublin lived in a few places and have lived in Newbridge and have been living in rural North Kildare 6 years now.
    Newbridge is grand just keep an eye on what estate you end up in as some are on the fairly rough side. I suppose this can be said of anywhere but still if your going to live there full time it has to be a serious consideration.
    Newbridge has excellent transport, decent schools etc etc.
    Naas is nice never lived there but live close enough and it seems grand.
    Clane is nice and again good for schools, transport, amenities etc.
    Prosperous is nice not busy and probably a bit small but has schools etc and again close enough to everything. It is also somewhat cheaper house price wise than Clane.

The list could go on but your really best to come down and cheak out the feel of the place in general. Best of luck.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

MaceFace wrote: »
    Being a resident of North Kildare, let me share a few anecdotes about the various towns in North Kildare.

I am sorry if I offend anyone, but Athy and Kildare town are commonly believed to be the two of the worst towns in the county. It is mainly because of the high level of unemployment which inevitably leads to anti-social behaviour and crime. I don't think it is the crime that is as much a worry as the anti-social behaviour that is the thing that grates most people.

Maynooth is generally cheaper than many similar sized towns in the area because it is still somewhat of a student town. You can get more bang for your buck because of this.

Clane appears to be nice. I know people who live there and I have never really heard anything bad about the place.

Newbridge. Well, it depends where in Newbridge you are talking about. I remember the first time I thought Newbridge was not the nice place I always thought it was. I was on the train, getting off in Naas and there were two lads talking. One had cuts and bruises and was boasting about how he was in a fight at the weekend in a pub and thats what caused his injuries. Looking at the pair of them, they "looked the sort". I mentioned this to someone I knew from Newbridge and they said that happens often and it can be a very rough town at times, depending on where you go. This was about 5 years ago. I do know others who live there and from my visits to the town, it does seem decent enough. Decent amenities.

Naas - I do like this town. Pretty quiet and getting quieter in comparison to what it was. Shops closing down and the mainstreet is struggling. Not rough, and some older estates with decent sized houses and long time residents. Very rare to hear anything bad about it (apart from it struggling economically).

EDIT: I should just also add that I expect a number of replies from people disagreeing with my opinion because everyone is naturally defensive about where they live and don't want to hear people say bad things about it.

We found Maynooth to be one of the most expensive towns in North Kildare but we needed to be on the train line.
    I am still always surprised at how small Maynooth is population wise.

Ah culchies!:rolleyes: I'm middle class.

But because you mentioned your class you are lower middle class:D

Yes I'm part of the struggling tennis playing, pesto eating, university going demographic. That being said I am pretty broke.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 clairey2

I would love to know OP have u made any further decisions based on this thread.lots of conflicting arguments!

PSTC wrote: »
    County Kildare as a whole is nice place to life we have everything that dublin has we have great road systems, all the shopping, nightlife you could want, adaquate schooling facilities. I personally was born in Loais but lifed in different parts of Kildare I.e Browstown, Newbridge, Coill-dubh, kill & back to coill-dubh. I love living in Kildare and like dublin and every county it has its bad sides too but i would recommend living in Kildare its a nice place to live regardless off where in the County
    Ah, in fairness the nightlife is pretty sh1te. Proximity to Dublin is a help though.

PSTC wrote: »
    how is it that bad? what is there in Dublin except pubs alot more pubs & clubs then down here in Kildare?
    This. Also proper concert venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭pad199207

Well if you want to leave Dublin Culture and the general idea of Dublin I wouldn't recommend Naas.

• Nearly all of the population of Naas is practically from Dublin so ye have the Dublin accents and all that.
    • House Prices - Naas always had the highest house prices in County Kildare, obviously reduced now.
    • Traffic.... you probably already know :eek:
    • Retail... consists mainly of huge retail parks and ind estates and large shops eg Tesco Hyper
    • Suburbia.... especially the Monread district, Naas has been swamped with Urban Sprawl.
    The North East towns , Naas , Leixlip , Maynooth, Celbridge etc are really not Kildare anymore,

If ye want Kildare try Kildare Town , Monasterevin , Newbridge etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭TonyM.

Is nobody going to speak up for Dunlavin,Killcock,Ballitore,Castledermot,Kildangan.

pad199207 wrote: »
    Well if you want to leave Dublin Culture and the general idea of Dublin I wouldn't recommend Naas.

• House Prices - Naas always had the highest house prices in County Kildare, obviously reduced now.

The North East towns , Naas , Leixlip , Maynooth, Celbridge etc are really not Kildare anymore,

Maynooth was and is still the dearest.
    I'd say Naas was third or fourth in price due to lack of transport and distance from Dublin.
    It's a great town though and i'd be happy to live there.
    I've always found Kildare town and Newbridge too clannish,although that was about 5 years ago when we had friends living in both

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Gingko

I would not rate Newbridge as a place to live either! I'm stuck here at the moment although leaving next month. One long flat characterless street. It is not a friendly town and there is little to do. It does have the Curragh for walks etc. And yes it does have plenty of shops if that's what you want? In fact it feels like living in one big shopping centre! The traffic in Newbridge can be a nightmare at times too!

For me Naas is a nicer town both aesthetically and to live in. Far more character, friendlier, better nightlife and food. Plus there is the canal for lovely family walks. No comparison! I will not miss anything about Newbridge and I have lived and worked in all 4 provinces.

• Nearly all of the population of Naas is practically from Dublin so ye have the Dublin accents and all that.
    • Traffic.... you probably already know :eek:
    • Retail... consists mainly of huge retail parks and ind estates and large shops eg Tesco Hyper
    • Suburbia.... especially the Monread district, Naas has been swamped with Urban Sprawl.

Half of Newbridge is now from Dublin???

The Mulk wrote: »
    Maynooth was and is still the dearest.
    I'd say Naas was third or fourth in price due to lack of transport and distance from Dublin.
    It's a great town though and i'd be happy to live there.
    I've always found Kildare town and Newbridge too clannish,although that was about 5 years ago when we had friends living in both

Oh is it?:)

When we moved house in Naas, we were told by the realtors that if ye got a house in Newbridge and put it in Naas, yed have to add another 200-300,000 onto the price back in the boom times. When we bought back in 2006, full housing estates in Naas where going over 1.3m for each house in them particularly for Tipper Road area

Gingko wrote: »
    Half of Newbridge is now from Dublin???

ah no Newbridge , is full on culchie :D

It's full on boredom! :D

Oh is it?:)

When we moved house in Naas, we were told by the realtors that if ye got a house in Newbridge and put it in Naas, yed have to add another 200-300,000 onto the price back in the boom times. When we bought back in 2006, full housing estates in Naas where going over 1.3m for each house in them particularly for Tipper Road area

Naas was/is always dearer than Newbridge, but comparing like for like in Naas to say Maynooth or Leixlip, Naas house prices were 30-40K cheaper.
    Although these houses were 4 beds with garages/play rooms.circa 450k to 500k
    Admittedly we weren't looking at the 1m plus houses:)

Ah Newbridge does have things to do, but the Whitewater had destroyed the feel of town. I saw a fantastic English company do a production of Macbeth in the Riverbank and Jape and Lisa Hannigan were there last month. They also have comedians, films, photography exhibitions and theatre for kids. Sports are fairly well served with Moorefield and Sarsfield, Newbridge Town FC and Newbridge Rugby oh and the Boxing Club at the Ryston (which also does bowls). Obviously there is the county ground and a very good library. I like the walk on the Liffey it is a lot better than it used to be. Flanagans pub in the backstreet has some good bands and they are all free to see. A friend of mine is running a music night getting some great local acts i.e. We are Losers, Appo and Band on an Island with bands from all over the country such as Mighty Stef and Neon Wolf. There is a nice pool place for teens but a local group is getting a place together called Culture Factory which will be run by young people for young people and will include arts, music and other cultural facilities. I am not from Newbridge but the vast
    majority of people I have met there are usually friendly. I suppose any place is what you make of it.

Ah Newbridge does have things to do, but the Whitewater had destroyed the feel of town. I saw a fantastic English company do a production of Macbeth in the Riverbank and Jape and Lisa Hannigan were there last month. They also have comedians, films, photography exhibitions and theatre for kids. Sports are fairly well served with Moorefield and Sarsfield, Newbridge Town FC and Newbridge Rugby oh and the Boxing Club at the Ryston (which also does bowls). Obviously there is the county ground and a very good library. I like the walk on the Liffey it is a lot better than it used to be. Flanagans pub in the backstreet has some good bands and they are all free to see. A friend of mine is running a music night getting some great local acts i.e. We are Losers, Appo and Band on an Island with bands from all over the country such as Mighty Stef and Neon Wolf. There is a nice pool place for teens but a local group is getting a place together called Culture Factory which will be run by young people for young people and will include arts, music and other cultural facilities. I am not from Newbridge but the vast
    majority of people I have met there are usually friendly. I suppose any place is what you make of it.

Nice to hear of the "Culture Factory". Badly needed and hope it works out. Yea the Riverbank are doing their best and not a bad daytime café either.

Some places have more geographical advantages and heritage then others surely? Coastline, mountains, architecture etc. I just think that Newbridge has a dull, flat, grim feel to it. Sorry! I've lived in Galway, Cork, Dingle, Westport, Sligo, Dublin and Drogheda, this is the first town I've disliked. But fair enough, different courses for different horses. :)

Gingko wrote: »
    [/B]

Nice to hear of the "Culture Factory". Badly needed and hope it works out. Yea the Riverbank are doing their best and not a bad daytime café either.

Some places have more geographical advantages and heritage then others surely? Coastline, mountains, architecture etc. I just think that Newbridge has a dull, flat, grim feel to it. Sorry! I've lived in Galway, Cork, Dingle, Westport, Sligo, Dublin and Drogheda, this is the first town I've disliked. But fair enough, different courses for different horses. :)

No need to apologise, there are always places that people just don't take too. Kildare has a very rich heritage if ya know where to look:)

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭KenSwee

Crookstown, Ballitore.
    I live there and I really think it's great. Halfway between Kilcullen and Castledermot.
    15 minutes from Carlow on the motorway. It's also got it's own slip road off the motorway.
    New link road to Athy.

Local amenities
    Spar
    Petrol station
    4 Pubs
    2 take away in local area.
    Primary school
    Secondary school about 5km away.
    Church
    Hardware
    Fashion outlet
    tyre repairs
    surgery
    post office
    Average price for house in the Paddocks is 180k or rent at about 700-800 pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭airmax87

KenSwee wrote: »
    Crookstown, Ballitore.
    I live there and I really think it's great. Halfway between Kilcullen and Castledermot.
    15 minutes from Carlow on the motorway. It's also got it's own slip road off the motorway.
    New link road to Athy.

Local amenities
    Spar
    Petrol station
    4 Pubs
    2 take away in local area.
    Primary school
    Secondary school about 5km away.
    Church
    Hardware
    Fashion outlet
    tyre repairs
    surgery
    post office
    Average price for house in the Paddocks is 180k or rent at about 700-800 pm.

What makes it better then all the other towns mentioned though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

No reviews for Kilcock?

I moved to Kilcock from Dublin about 2yrs ago. It's a sleepy town but still has a bit of a country feel to it, the people & shop owners are very friendly. There is a good community spirit with clean-up's, fundraisers - this is something that was important to us to be able to join in on and contribute to the area. They are sport mad between canoe club on the canal, GAA, athletics club etc.

There ain't much night life or restaurants nearby but that doesn't bother me as I don't go out much. If I do it'd be in Dublin anyway & then get a night link to Maynooth & either get picked up from there or taxi. We go further afield for live music gigs etc.

Maynooth is only 10 mins drive & has 24hr Tescos, Lidls, Aldi, Dunnes, Super Value, clubs, pubs, restaurants. I get the train to Dublin everyday, I drive to Maynooth & park the car.

People ask why we didn't move to Maynooth, well we wanted to be in a quieter town (some parts of Maynooth are student-digs areas & can be noisy) but also the rent & house prices in Kilcock are a lot cheaper.

Don't have kids but one on the way :D Schools seem nice here & I have to say that the kids & teens all seem really well behaved. I feel very safe walking around Kilcock in the evenings.

Clane is also a lovely little town, more upmarket than Kilcock but not much transport to speak of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Naas is probably the best all round town in the county.

However if access to Dublin is a priority it would be Leixlip, Maynooth, Celbridge in that order as all are on the Dublin Bus and Dublin Commuter rail service. The Dublin Commuter rail prices are far cheaper than the services is Newbridge etc.

Celbridge only really has the 67 bus. Hazelhatch station is a bit too far outside the town for regular use unless you drive to it, and to make it worse the train only goes to Heuston.

Maynooth has the 66 (and the 67, but it takes too long to get to the city centre to be usable), and a proper train service in to Connolly.

Leixlip has by far the most comprehensive bus service with the 66, 66A and 66B. It is also the only town in the county with a decent Nitelink service: every half hour on Fri/Sat nights, and the whole town is covered. Leixlip also has two train stations, again directly into Connolly.

A comparison of return rail fares:
    Maynooth to Connolly: €6.00 (Leap or IE smartcard)
    Sallins to Heuston: €14.40

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

If considering moving from S.Dublin to Kildare, the best area to consider would probably be somwhere in S.Dublin.
    1.Its irreversible, the move that is, unless you are very wealthy. Property values etc.
    2.You wont like it.
    3.You will wish you stayed where you are.
    Why do I say this? I'm from S.Dublin. I live in Kildare now. I like it.Most of the other Dublin people don't. Out of the other 7 houses in the estate beside us, 5 Dublin couples have split up. Why? Because he heads off to work and she is stuck at home all day, lonely and missing Dublin. Think long and hard OP. Oh, and if you must, Naas. Or Allenwood/Robertstown. I love Kildare, felt at home from the start, but it is a culture shock for a lot of Dublin People. I'm 20 years here now, and we are still "new to the area"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Pottler wrote: »
    If considering moving from S.Dublin to Kildare, the best area to consider would probably be somwhere in S.Dublin.
    1.Its irreversible, the move that is, unless you are very wealthy. Property values etc.
    2.You wont like it.
    Why do I say this? I'm from S.Dublin. I live in Kildare now. I like it.Most of the other Dublin people don't. Out of the other 7 houses in the estate beside us, 5 Dublin couples have split up. Why? Because he heads off to work and she is stuck at home all day, lonely and missing Dublin. Think long and hard OP. Oh, and if you must, Naas. Or Allenwood/Robertstown. I love Kildare, felt at home from the start, but it is a culture shock for a lot of Dublin People. I'm 20 years here now, and we are still "new to the area"!

Jaysus - that is a miserable outlook on life - I am here 7 years and think it is a great county and have many friends here.

I suppose the secret to my happiness is that even though I work in Dublin every day, my wife's live does not revolve around me and she does not need me to socialise in her own circles.

Apologies but the 5 couples who split because the husband went 25km to work everyday sound like they had underlying problems - either that or you are talking shi..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Joe Public

Pottler wrote: »
    2.You wont like it.

Re. 3. - That can happen if people don't try to integrate in the area in which they are living. I have come across couples moving from Dublin and end up doing all their socialising back in Dublin which is quite understandable but not a long term solution. Travelling back to Dublin can be too convenient from the closer counties and unless people make the effort to make friends in their new town or area it just won't happen for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

muletide wrote: »
    Jaysus - that is a miserable outlook on life - I am here 7 years and think it is a great county and have many friends here.

I suppose the secret to my happiness is that even though I work in Dublin every day, my wife's live does not revolve around me and she does not need me to socialise in her own circles.

Apologies but the 5 couples who split because the husband went 25km to work everyday sound like they had underlying problems - either that or you are talking shi..............
    Really don't think you read even one word I wrote.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Eire sun

It really hinges on what your needs/likes are. If commuting is an issue then Naas/Newbridge would be good options. Everyone will give opinions on their prefered areas as it may fill the needs that they have personally. I don't think areas like Allenwood or Kilmeague would be good options as it would be a major shock to the system and don't offer much outside of the home. It really would be best to spend a little time in a few areas and get a feel for them to see if they fit the bill for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭Patser

Anyone have anything to say about Kill?

Looking to move out of Clondalkin but wife works there and I'm based in Dublin City centre - so current areas we're lloking at are Maynooth, Celbridge and my preference Kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Have you thought about Leixlip and Kilcock as well? Leixlip has the best bus and train services out of all of them, it's also the closest and it has loads of facilities without having the studenty/noisy estates reputation that Maynooth does. Kilcock is quieter of course, really nice town and cheaper prices. I don't know much about Kill.

Celbridge would be one to look into- it doesn't have a university or HP/Intel to drive prices up but it's not suffering from being further out. Still has fairly poor public transport links though. Why don't you drive out to the area and drive through all of these towns during rush hour and see what you think of the commute? Rush hour into Maynooth can be really bad if you have to drive through the village. Leixlip can back up as well but it shifts quickly. I've lived in it all my life, I think it's a great place to live/grow up in etc.

Admittedly there is no supermarket, but there is a Lidl, Eurospar and Supervalu and several Spars etc. Lucan has a Superquinn, Tesco and probably an Aldi..not sure..Celbridge has a Tesco and an Aldi...Maynooth has a Dunnes and Tesco extra (huge one). So you still have a great selection close by. 5 primary schools- 4 national and one Gaelscoil, 2 secondary schools, NUIM a stone's throw away and an easy commute to all colleges in Dublin (in fact some 66X's go to UCD). Two GAA clubs, one sports club, loads of great walks. Manor Mills is not a bustling shopping centre by any stretch of the imagination but you are close to Liffey Valley on the N4 and Blanchardstown by a backroad. Very handy. It also has the head Garda station for Kildare..admittedly it used to have a tiny shed of a thing with very few opening hours but the new one is a great improvement. 4 busses an hour, not sure about the frequency of the trains. A normal journey is 40 minutes on either, off-peak busses can be as little as 25 minutes on a Sunday inbound- I used to get these a lot. The 66X's take about 50 minutes, a 66 at peak time will take considerably longer as it has to negotiate the horror that is Lucan. A taxi costs about €28-32. The bus fare is €2.65 (€2.40 on leap).

The train from Hazelhatch(Celbridge) stops in Clondalkin, although you would have to drive from Celbridge to Hazelhatch, it's a bit of a walk.
    I live in Celbridge so would have a bias to be in favour of it and I know people of all stages in life who have moved to the three areas you have listed and the majority of them love it.
    One thing about Kill is there are no secondary schools at the moment so it would be buses or lifts for the kids everyday. Don't no whether this is something you need to consider but it would be for me.
    I commute into the city center every day, 67X, it takes 50-60 mins. and costs €19 with a ten journe pass. I don't miss driving at all.