aaaaaarrrrrrrggggghhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

My brother is not enjoying college. I reassured him for the last year that he'd like it, and yes its big and scary, but after a few months he'd be settled in, but he's not. I knew he missed his friends from home, but he's also not keen on the city, and now he's not entirely sure about his course. I feel so bad for him. I feel awful that I had it so easy, when he's really struggling to adjust :(

College is definitely not for all people, however I'd say give it a year personally to know if its the right choice or not. I knew a lot of people from outside of Dublin took a while to find their feet up here.

You should tell him to join a load of clubs/socs and stuff and hopefully he'll find one enjoyable and stick with it. I was the same, 1st year was a pain in the hole, it was felt like school without uniforms with added stress. Now I'm a regular in a society that I was interested and now I'm headed to I am going on snowboarding trip with them in the Alps :)

Making new friends certainly me through 1st year of college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

1st Arrrrrgggghhhhh. Because i couldnt finds this bleedin fourm for ages.
    2nd Im Jealous of ................ Justin Bieber WTF? this popped up on my screen and im still listening to it. WHY?
    3rd I want nice teeth.
    4th I realise why im still single im too fu king fussy. I want the perfect girl(to my standard)
    5th Why is it not snowing. i want it to snow while im still in the mood so i can walk around Dublin city and finally experience that christmassy feeling in Templebar, Grafton Street and All the small streets off it. and bring my GF out and have romantic nights. I love it when its so cold and walking through the streets late in the evening
    6th I have to stay up late so i wake up late cause i have no internet no money no college and nothing to do but eat and watch sh t tv

Someday someday
    Fuzz you Bieber. putting me in this mood :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

So much work due...starting to panic :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

My brother is not enjoying college. I reassured him for the last year that he'd like it, and yes its big and scary, but after a few months he'd be settled in, but he's not. I knew he missed his friends from home, but he's also not keen on the city, and now he's not entirely sure about his course. I feel so bad for him. I feel awful that I had it so easy, when he's really struggling to adjust :(
    Still not sure what I feel about college tbh. I enjoy being somewhere new and the people I've met but I feel like there are parts of my course that I have zero interest in and recently have started going down the slippery slope of skipping lectures. At the same time I'd feel kind of useless without college though. Go figure...

Also there's a sort of feeling that if I dropped out I'd see myself as a complete failure, which is not cool. Would just be nice to have a break to gain some perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭IHeartChemistry

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Still not sure what I feel about college tbh. I enjoy being somewhere new and the people I've met but I feel like there are parts of my course that I have zero interest in and recently have started going down the slippery slope of skipping lectures. At the same time I'd feel kind of useless without college though. Go figure...

Also there's a sort of feeling that if I dropped out I'd see myself as a complete failure, which is not cool. Would just be nice to have a break to gain some perspective.

Dropping outta college isnt a failure. It shows more strength cos you actually know whats right for you.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh tonsils at me...so so sore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Jhax

Spent a months wages on a new gaming pc but it's yet to arrive even though I set the arrival date to monday. It's kinda good that I while it's not here I can get my assignments for reading week done but still... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Dropping outta college isnt a failure. It shows more strength cos you actually know whats right for you.

Not according to my family. :(
    Cydoniac wrote: »

Could not relate any stronger to this post. I loved first year, but now I don't know if this is the right course for me... I mean, I'm really interested in the material, it's just I'm sh*t at it. And I'm pretty much at the bottom of that slope now because I made the mistake of thinking "Oh What's the point of going, I'm not gonna understand it anyway."
    SarahBeep! wrote: »
    So much work due...starting to panic :(

I'm beyond panic at this stage. The phrase "rabbit in the headlights" could be applied to me right now. So overwhelmed by the workload that I don't even know where to start. *sigh* looks like it's gonna be a looong six weeks until the holidays. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I'm beyond panic at this stage. The phrase "rabbit in the headlights" could be applied to me right now. So overwhelmed by the workload that I don't even know where to start. *sigh* looks like it's gonna be a looong six weeks until the holidays. :(

I'm really struggling to balance work and college tbh. I'm gonna point blank refuse to work any monday - friday hours next semester...ugh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭kellogscoffey

Anatomy spot exam... SOMEHOW mistook trapezius muscle for rhomboid major, consequently butchering the accompanying nerve question. I could've used those 2 marks :(

My head is spinning! Not good :( Now off to write a 1,500 word essay and study for two exams. Blaaaaaaah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I could have started all the work earlier but I was stupid and didn't. Now since I'm sick I'm gonna have 6 days to do 8 observations, and that's just not gonna work :/ it's all my own fault too so I have no one to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

We were told today that our portfolios for our pratical classes were meant to be in. Al the other groups were told before reading week. There is an unreal amount of work in them and I spent 2 full days doing one lat week and it still isn't finished. I have a whole other one to do before tomorrow. As well as working from 5-10 tonight. Guess I won't be sleeping so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

Have had the day from hell tbh. This morning, I forgot my laptop at home. Went to the bookshop to cancel an order for a book I don't need anymore, the girl asked my what my mobile number was, and I couldn't remember..as in full on, forgot my own mobile number which I've had since I was 12..morto like:(

I also fell on my way into college and made an idiot of myself..started crying and everything cos I'm so pathetic. Went to the library at 1 to start my psychology essay, realised all the books I needed were gone:eek: Cue more panicking and crying...IHeartChemistry found me bawling in the library...fml:(

_meehan_ wrote: »
    Have had the day from hell tbh. This morning, I forgot my laptop at home. Went to the bookshop to cancel an order for a book I don't need anymore, the girl asked my what my mobile number was, and I couldn't remember..as in full on, forgot my own mobile number which I've had since I was 12..morto like:(

I also fell on my way into college and made an idiot of myself..started crying and everything cos I'm so pathetic. Went to the library at 1 to start my psychology essay, realised all the books I needed were gone:eek: Cue more panicking and crying...IHeartChemistry found me bawling in the library...fml:(

Its true...We will get this essay done! No more procastination or going on boards :P We've chocolate to get us through the pain!

In other news...APA referencing sucks ass and I hate essays. And the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Im far too sick :(

Ive made 1/9 lectures the last 2 days, and Ive 7 tomorrow that I dont think Ill be going to either :/
    And all my housemates keep banging the doors while im asleep hence waking me up and not letting me get better :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

My mother is extremely annoying, I'd rather be at school than sitting here listening to her! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

To add further to my shít heap of a dart the ticket scanner thing in the dart station just swallowed and subsequently banjaxed my ticket for this month. Going to make it much more awkward getting in and out of stations now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

It's been a while since I've quite liked a girl, and now there are two! This is just too much pressure :o

And yes, this does belong here!

I HATE THIS ESSAY :mad::mad::mad::mad: Its due Thursday, I've a headache right now and I have to pull an all nighter to study for my politics exam tomorrow afternoon AND then after that pull an all nighter for my Philosphy exam on Thursday. I'm only 650 words in, cracking up!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Anatomy spot exam... SOMEHOW mistook trapezius muscle for rhomboid major, consequently butchering the accompanying nerve question. I could've used those 2 marks :(

If that's the only problem in your (first?) spot test that's not bad going! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭kellogscoffey

If that's the only problem in your (first?) spot test that's not bad going! :P

Haha ohhh, I could go on and ooonnn... :P that was just the most blatant :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Jay P wrote: »
    It's been a while since I've quite liked a girl, and now there are two! This is just too much pressure :o

And yes, this does belong here!

I would offer you advice on this, but it'd probably be better if I didn't! :D

Ah, memories...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Between now and tomorrow morning I have to:

-do an Irish Essay
    -start and finish studying for a pretty big Biology test that decides the higher and lower classes
    -research, start and finish a debate speech

Then by Thursday

-Do 2 weeks work of Applied Maths homework(30 questions at 15 minutes a question)
    -Study for a big Spanish test
    -Learn 53 quotes and their context from Macbeth

And by Friday

-Rote learn 3 A4 pages for an Irish test

All this coupled with the fact that since lunchtime Sunday, I've gotten the grand total of 7 hours sleep.

This could be a fun 3 days.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I hate being sick :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Wouldn't mind if some of my "friends" made an effort to talk to me instead of it always being me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Currently in Zombie mode but stuff needs to be done. >.< I think catching up on lost sleep is probably more important now though. I need more hours in the day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I have to get up at 5 to study 2 poets and a comparative essay for pre-mock exams starting tomorrow, fml :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Lads, this post: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056388849

wow :( It's so amazing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

I have to get up at 5 to study 2 poets and a comparative essay for pre-mock exams starting tomorrow, fml :(

Aren't the mocks in like...March? :P
    Yupik wrote: »

God, that's heartbreaking :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Yupik wrote: »

I cried reading it :o

I feel guilty for not turning up to society events, yet missing lectures doesn't bother me. This needs to change, quickly.