I'm on a train motherfcuker

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I wouldn't say it to anyone regardless of condition if they were sitting in my pre booked seat.

What if you'd paid for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Best thread title ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

Biggins wrote: »
    Where exactly are they on a train?

On the new trains, they tend to be at the end of the carriage, near the toilets. I think there are single seats and smaller tables, making more space for wheelchairs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Its Iarnroid Eireann, there's a girl with a food trolley and that's about it :D

And she so just saw me type that.

Did she tell him he is in someone else seat?
    Does he now know we are discussing him ? is he laughing his ass off?

Full.Duck wrote: »
    In the seats that have the sticker on the window that says please give this seat up to old and disabled people.

But still dont get the wrong being blind is a horrible horrible thing, but if his legs still work why cant he stand?

Well, I imagine walking/standing is a lot more intimidating if you're blind and can't see obstacles. You need to get your balance as the train slows down/speeds up/stops and can't see where you're stepping/what you've got to hold on to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

No he's reading a newspaper with a gigantic magnifying glass pushed right up to his eye.

Presumably he's only partially blind so.

I'm gonna be honest, the whole reason I started this thread is because I'm eating a chicken fillet burger from supermacs and the dog is begging and its driving me nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Tell the man to shift it, the dog can stay

No he's reading a newspaper with a gigantic magnifying glass pushed right up to his eye.

Presumably he's only partially blind so.

I'm gonna be honest, the whole reason I started this thread is because I'm eating a chicken fillet burger from supermacs and the dog is begging and its driving me nuts!

Boom, give the dog some food, he is not blind at all, I knew it. he knows well who's seat he is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Why give up a seat for a blind person? Do his legs not work anymore or something? There are seats designated for disabled people.

Because they're more in need of it than I am. I have all my senses, they dont,

mikemac wrote: »
    Tell the man to shift the dog

:eek: scandalous!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...if his legs still work why cant he stand?

Well in honesty, if a blind person is standing and a train is that full, he/she cannot see whats coming/going around them, cannot see any suspicious characters that might be approaching them that might be wishing to pickpocket them in the fumble of a squashed train, etc - but the main concern would generally be safety.

Just from a safety perspective, I'd prefer if a blind person sat on a moving vehicle. Given their condition, they are further safe from possible injury due to their greater limitation and the other sighted passengers are safer from he/she falling upon them, if for example someone bumped into them and he/she didn't see them coming.

As Irish-stew honourably said, I too would have given up my pre-booked seat anyway. It would have been no loss to me.
    End of the day its no big hardship and a decent thing to do.
    One can step off a train knowing that a bit of decency is still alive and a further appreciation for the better health the rest of us have.

hondasam wrote: »
    Boom, give the dog some food, he is not blind at all, I knew it. he knows well who's seat he is in.

He looks well fed and I'm feckin starving! :P

You are a little devil, what colour is the dog? He would not take food anyway, trained not too.

Biggins wrote: »
    Well in honesty, if a blind person is standing and a train is that full, he/she cannot see whats coming/going around them, cannot see any suspicious characters that might be approaching them that might be wishing to pickpocket them in the fumble of a squashed train, etc - but the main concern would generally be safety.

Just from a safety perspective, I'd prefer if a blind person sat on a moving vehicle. Given their condition, they are further safe from possible injury due to their greater limitation and the other sighted passengers are safer from he/she falling upon them, if for example someone bumped into them and he/she didn't see them coming.

As Irish-stew honourably said, I too would have given up my pre-booked seat anyway. It would have been no loss to me.
    End of the day its no big hardship and a decent thing to do.
    One can step off a train knowing that a bit of decency is still alive and a further appreciation for the better health the rest of us have.

Could not have said it better my self Biggins.

But isn't it only the first three carraiges that have pre-booking and all the rest of the train is a free for all

It's not Friday evening or Sunday night, office hours are long past so I doubt the train is packed

I suppose the blind man got on the first carriage as it was easiest but there are lots of free seats further down.

This correct OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Full.Duck

Well, I imagine walking/standing is a lot more intimidating if you're blind and can't see obstacles. You need to get your balance as the train slows down/speeds up/stops and can't see where you're stepping/what you've got to hold on to.

When going to college i took the train everyday for 4 years. This blind guy always got on with his dog, he would always stand. I have never once seen him sit in a seat. People gave up their seat for him but he would tell them "no im fine, ill stand". You could see in his face that he would get pissed off every time someone gave up their seat for him.

If he is perfectly able to get around and live his life then let him do so. Why should he get special treatment?

But isn't it only the first three carraiges that have pre-booking and all the rest of the train is a free for all

It's not Friday evening or Sunday night, office hours are long past so I doubt the train is packed

I suppose the blind man got on the first carriage as it was easiest but there are lots of free seats further down.

This correct OP?

This is carriage, which was the first one as you come out the gate. Don't know how many are pre-booked or not though but this one is jammers.

Also, I'm starting to think the man is just a little bit rude... He doesn't seem to give a **** that his dog is lying in the middle of the aisle now and its not that he doesn't know, because some woman already stood on his paw and he yelped so loudly the whole carraige jumped.

Edit: its a black dog honda, and well and all as they're trained, he certainly knows how to beg!

Well there you go, people are like water and flow to the easiest option and that was the closest carriage. And now has taken your pre-booked seat

If your pre-booked carriage was at the end of the platform, one man and his dog would not be there

Poor choice there in Supermacs also, next time get the smokey bacon burger, finger licking good

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

When going to college i took the train everyday for 4 years. This blind guy always got on with his dog, he would always stand. I have never once seen him sit in a seat. People gave up their seat for him but he would tell them "no im fine, ill stand". You could see in his face that he would get pissed off every time someone gave up their seat for him.

If he is perfectly able to get around and live his life then let him do so. Why should he get special treatment?

In fairness, that would be his choice.
    At least people had the decency to offer. Kindness offered - even if its then unwanted - should not just be reciprocated by rudeness.
    Whereas you say your blind person might not have wanted the seat offered, others however might and be very grateful for it.

...And a small bonus for those offering it, is that they get to feel a small bit good about themselves for being so good natured.
    Good for them!

Well there you go, people are like water and flow to the easiest option and that was the closest carriage. And now has taken your pre-booked seat

If your pre-booked carriage was at the end of the platform, one man and his dog would not be there

Pre Booked seats are still a new thing to Ireland. Most other countries, if he had all his sences he nearly would not have to be told to move. He would probably not even sit there in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭p

I wouldn't say it to anyone regardless of condition if they were sitting in my pre booked seat.
    Wow - I think you need to go to some assertiveness classes. The world will walk all over you if you let it.

Plus, lack of complaining in Ireland is one of the reasons we don't have great customer service.

So one blind person preferred to stand. I don't think that invalidates the point that standing is more challenging for a blind person. Incidentally, how long was the journey? Is it possible that sitting wasn't worth it for him? I would never let a blind person stand without offering a seat intercity.

They can't see luggage on the ground. They can't see what to hold on to to get their balance. They may have to move a lot to let people on/off, when the trolley thing goes past, when the ticket inspector goes past, people going to the bathroom. It must be horrible for them. I know I hate standing because of all the "excuse me's". I can't imagine what it's like for someone who is disabled.

Also, I'm starting to think the man is just a little bit rude... He doesn't seem to give a **** that his dog is lying in the middle of the aisle now and its not that he doesn't know, because some woman already stood on his paw and he yelped so loudly the whole carraige jumped.

Edit: its a black dog honda, and well and all as they're trained, he certainly knows how to beg!

He is rude, proved that by taking pre booked seats, he has to know this if he uses the train all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Really?
    I would and have. The reason I prebooked a specific seat was because I wanted that specific seat, otherwise I wouldn't bother with it. It's annoying if someone just goes ahead and takes it. I had to ask a woman to move before. I booked an inside seat in one of the two-seaters, because I wanted to have the inner wall of the train to lean against and go to sleep, and I didn't really want someone sitting across from me. She just moved to the outside seat and I didn't get to sleep anyway because she decided to try to make conversation with me. And when I finally got away from the conversation and took out my laptop and put headphones on (to look busy, mostly) I could see in my peripheral vision that she was constantly watching everything I was doing on the laptop. Jaysus wept.

p wrote: »
    Wow - I think you need to go to some assertiveness classes. The world will walk all over you if you let it.

No need to worry about that with storm, that will not happen:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

irish-stew wrote: »
    Pre Booked seats are still a new thing to Ireland. Most other countries, if he had all his sences he nearly would not have to be told to move. He would probably not even sit there in the first place.
    Exactly, so if somebody politely informs him of this error then he as a rational human being will understand and not be offended .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I'd always offer my seat to anyone who might need it more than me, but I'm always unsure of whether they're just being polite when they refuse (or have the typical Irish mentality of saying "no thanks" the first time and expect you to offer a second time to twist their arm or something).

Only today on my way home from work on the bus I offered my seat to a pregnant lady. She told me, "No thanks, I'm grand". She looked dead on her feet so I insisted she go ahead, mumbled something about my stop coming up. She seemed pretty grateful to have the seat when I moved. But on the flipside a couple of weeks ago I offered an elderly lady with a crutch my seat on the luas and was tartly informed that she was "well able" to stand like everyone else. Thought she was going to crack me on the head with her crutch for a split second.

Double-edged sword really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

p wrote: »

Plus, lack of complaining in Ireland is one of the reasons we don't have great customer service.
    Also the reason why some people will take liberties with you ... if you let them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What if he was sitting in a pregnant woman's pre-booked seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭binxeo

I'd leave him in the seat. Like someone else said I would prefer to have no seat then have his condition.