Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Kerry will be there or thereabouts next year,the hurt of the defeat to the Dubs will spur the team on next year to put right the wrongs of this year,dont write off this current Kerry team yet,anytime we have lost an All Ireland we have come back stronger.

I agree, nothing will drive a Kerry team to win, more than the thoughts of having lost to Dublin. W could see a repeat of the 70's with Dublin and Kerry going toe to toe.
    I hope we do there is always great craic in the City when Kerry play Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Might take them a couple of years to rebuild but I wouldn't bet against them winning an All-Ireland again in the next 3 or 4 years. With the great Tyrone team finished and this great Kerry team coming to an end aswell next year's championship looks wide open. Good chance for the likes of Mayo or Kildare to make a breakthrough.[/QUOTE]

tyrone have the best supply of talent coming through at the moment,you can see serious players in their recent minor teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Fitzerb wrote: »
    I agree, nothing will drive a Kerry team to win, more than the thoughts of having lost to Dublin. W could see a repeat of the 70's with Dublin and Kerry going toe to toe.
    I hope we do there is always great craic in the City when Kerry play Dublin.

I doubt it really
    The Kerry team that lost the 76 final to Dublin were at the very beginning of a great run.

This Kerry team is a very much at the end of a great run.

It will take a few years for Kerry to regroup at by which time Dublin may have faded, plus the Tyrone underage teams may have matured and become a factor by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I doubt it really
    The Kerry team that lost the 76 final to Dublin were at the very beginning of a great run.

This Kerry team is a very much at the end of a great run.

It will take a few years for Kerry to regroup at by which time Dublin may have faded, plus the Tyrone underage teams may have matured and become a factor by then.

I'd agree with this. Very few underage star players coming through. The fact they have done so little at underage in recent years doesn't bode well for the future. And they lost a few players to Aussie Rules.

It's more likely that Tipperary could surpass Kerry at senior level in a few years the way things are shaping up.

It's never a good sign when you see the same players togging out for a team year in year out, as well as players coming out of retirement. Eventually it all catches up with them. I think that's also the reason Kerry had the famine of 87-96. They relied much too heavily on the same players in the late 70s and early 80s and when they retired or got too old, they were fecked. Could be the same this time around.

A lot of these Kerry players looked past it even though they aren't that old.

plasmaguy wrote: »
    I'd agree with this. Very few underage star players coming through. The fact they have done so little at underage in recent years doesn't bode well for the future. And they lost a few players to Aussie Rules.

It's more likely that Tipperary could surpass Kerry at senior level in a few years the way things are shaping up.

It's never a good sign when you see the same players togging out for a team year in year out, as well as players coming out of retirement. Eventually it all catches up with them. I think that's also the reason Kerry had the famine of 87-96. They relied much too heavily on the same players in the late 70s and early 80s and when they retired or got too old, they were fecked. Could be the same this time around.

A lot of these Kerry players looked past it even though they aren't that old.

I have been saying that since before the Mayo game yet people were ridiculing the idea that Kerry were in some way ageing before our eyes, others suggested that they had a bench full of outstanding players

Now that they failed to win the All Ireland people seem to realise that it may be the case that this team, especially the backs are at the end of the line, and the squad is woefully thin.

Others suggested that a lack of under-age success was not a big deal, true that you may never be guranteed a good number of seniors to progress from minor ot u21 but Kerry are now 19 yaers without a minor success. That failure has been masked somewhat over the past 10 years by the senior success but now it may become a real problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

They still only lost the final by a point to a younger Dublin team,as for underage talent,there is plenty of talent in Kerry even though they we havent won a minor since 94,the likes of Peter Crowley,Johnny Buckley,JB Spillane,Daithi Casey and Paul Geaney are all on the UCC panel that are in the Cork SC final then you have James Walsh and Pa Kilkenny who were the stars of the minor team 2 seasons ago coming through,Mike Moloney who played for London this year due to working over there is another huge talent he is probably the best out and out full back in Kerry football,I expect him to be on the panel next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

,Mike Moloney who played for London this year due to working over there is another huge talent he is probably the best out and out full back in Kerry football,I expect him to be on the panel next year.

Moloney could be huge for us. any chance of him coming back home this year?

was MOM for london against Mayo and was super in their other games also. was expecting him to be on the senior panel for the year, but he emigrated.

They still only lost the final by a point to a younger Dublin team,as for underage talent,there is plenty of talent in Kerry even though they we havent won a minor since 94,the likes of Peter Crowley,Johnny Buckley,JB Spillane,Daithi Casey and Paul Geaney are all on the UCC panel that are in the Cork SC final then you have James Walsh and Pa Kilkenny who were the stars of the minor team 2 seasons ago coming through,Mike Moloney who played for London this year due to working over there is another huge talent he is probably the best out and out full back in Kerry football,I expect him to be on the panel next year.

Jack, or whoever will be in charge, needs to start trotting them out in meaningful games next year, another season relying on the O' Se's, Gavin, Tom O Sullivan will do no one any good.

Moloney could be huge for us. any chance of him coming back home this year?

was MOM for london against Mayo and was super in their other games also. was expecting him to be on the senior panel for the year, but he emigrated.

Ya he would be plus to the team,his year with London has given him championship experience,hopefully he can get a job here for next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Huge difference between underage teams and Senior teams. I woudln't doubt that there is young talent there in Kerry. They probably don't need the vast amount of underage success that other teams can have. Just a few more players year in year out to keep things ticking over. The mental aspect of things is one of the biggest obstacles to overcome when players attempt to make the grade at Senior level and for this reason teams like Kerry in football and Tipp, Kilkenny and Cork never stray to far from the top. Young players coming through have an ingrained self confidence which can be attributed to the fact that they hail from such successful counties. It's a hugely important side to things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Kerry had a fairly easy route to the final this year imo.

Apart from a good win against Down, Cork were dire this year.

Limerick were never going to provide a stiff challenge, they always fade in the second half.

Mayo have a mental block about Kerry teams, and it happened again this year, when the game was in the balance. Mayo just seemed to lose confidence or belief when they went ahead. Put out a poor Kerry team against a good Mayo team, and I'd still expect Kerry to win and win well. Mayo have proved in the past they can beat any team in the country, except Kerry (apart from 1996) and I reckon they would have done well against Dublin if they met in the championship.

So the argument that Kerry still almost won an AI and everything is fine doesn't hold up imo. 2010 and 2011 were poor years by Kerry standards and it's possible next year will be the same unless they make drastic root and branch changes.

They probably have a choice, make a fresh start, drop a load of older lads and bring in young guys and maybe in 4 or 5 years start winning AIs again. Or else just go into a long decline lasting maybe 10 years with no AI wins although coming close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

2010 and 2011 were poor years by Kerry standards

2011 was a poor year??

That's about as retarded as it gets folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Kerry had a fairly easy route to the final this year imo.

Apart from a good win against Down, Cork were dire this year.

Limerick were never going to provide a stiff challenge, they always fade in the second half.

Mayo have a mental block about Kerry teams, and it happened again this year, when the game was in the balance. Mayo just seemed to lose confidence or belief when they went ahead. Put out a poor Kerry team against a good Mayo team, and I'd still expect Kerry to win and win well. Mayo have proved in the past they can beat any team in the country, except Kerry (apart from 1996) and I reckon they would have done well against Dublin if they met in the championship.

So the argument that Kerry still almost won an AI and everything is fine doesn't hold up imo. 2010 and 2011 were poor years by Kerry standards and it's possible next year will be the same unless they make drastic root and branch changes.

They probably have a choice, make a fresh start, drop a load of older lads and bring in young guys and maybe in 4 or 5 years start winning AIs again. Or else just go into a long decline lasting maybe 10 years with no AI wins although coming close.

Dublin are good enough, Cork are good enough, Kerry are good enough.

Kildare are average/poor, Donegal are average/poor.

Mayo are hopeless, Down are hopeless, Limerick are hopeless.

What am I missing?

Kerry will be in a semi final at the minimum again next year, and I'd be surprised if they weren't at least semi-finalists for four out of the next five years.

Pictures from the Rathmore - Crokes game at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Lads,hows yer intermediate club championship going?

maybe someone might let me know what the Kerry representatives are like this year.The kerry winners will play at home to a very strong clare side;)

Gneenaguila were The kerry reps in the club championship last year,was a little surprised they didnt make the club final........ even more surprised that they found themselves in a relegation match last weekend.

Lads,hows yer intermediate club championship going?

maybe someone might let me know what the Kerry representatives are like this year.The kerry winners will play at home to a very strong clare side;)

Gneenaguila were The kerry reps in the club championship last year,was a little surprised they didnt make the club final........ even more surprised that they found themselves in a relegation match last weekend.

Miltown/Castlemaine v Waterville in the final,semi finals were played yesterday,Miltown/Castlemaine beat An Ghaeltacht 1-9 to 11 points and Waterville beat Currow 3-9 to 1-7.

Thanks for that....

An Ghaeltacht intermediate:eek: how the mighty have fallen!

thanks again

Thanks for that....

thanks again

No problem,An Ghaeltacht are in relegation trouble in Division 1 of the county league as well but should stay up by the skin of their teeth,Who is in the Clare intermediate final?

Clondegad (pronounced Clon the gad )beat Kilmurry IBricken's second team in the intermediate final yesterday by 4 points.they were red hot favourites to win this championship all year.

This is a very strong side and they have contested 3 intermediate finals in the last 5 years in Clare,were beaten in last years final.
    They play in the cusack cup,which is where all the big teams play in in the league and more than hold their own there.

Everyone here in Clare would agree that they are a well worthy of senior status and whoever they play in this intermediate club championship will have to be good to beat them,thats my opinion anyway. the other thing is,they will be on the piss now all week so they have plenty time to recover before their clash with the Kerry representatives,i know Clare have a terrible record in this competition but i think a lot of this team......... and i am not a supporter of Clondegad:)

Thanks for that....

thanks again

they got one exceptional bunch of players at the same time and it was a legacy that saw that team together for about 25 years from u-10s up. emigration has also taken its toll on them.

some win for ballyduff over the weekend, winning in cork in the munster club.

playing eire og ennis now next sunday, at home.

gooch also to have an op in the spring on the ankle injury that has hampered his season.

Wasn't aware he was having trouble this season with his ankle - he had a good season so considering!

PaulieC wrote: »
    Wasn't aware he was having trouble this season with his ankle - he had a good season so considering!

it was kept very quiet. he played the final through the pain barrier.

Completely forgot about the game the other day and missed it on TG4

Who played well? Heard the first half was abysmal

Completely forgot about the game the other day and missed it on TG4

Who played well? Heard the first half was abysmal

conditions were cat, first half was brutal, but second half much better. was 1-4 to a point at half time, but mid kerry then got i think 5 without reply and crokes looked in trouble. a soft soft goal, put crokes back in charge and they brought it home from there.

casey was decent for crokes, as was gooch, but MOM for me was brosnan. darran and donnacha played ok for MK, but nothing special. MK left it behind them i feel, 2 mistakes for 2 goals decided the game.

conditions were cat, first half was brutal, but second half much better. was 1-4 to a point at half time, but mid kerry then got i think 5 without reply and crokes looked in trouble. a soft soft goal, put crokes back in charge and they brought it home from there.

casey was decent for crokes, as was gooch, but MOM for me was brosnan. darran and donnacha played ok for MK, but nothing special. MK left it behind them i feel, 2 mistakes for 2 goals decided the game.
    That's the thing about Crokes - if you make a mistake at the back they're ruthless with regard to punishing you with goals - always been the way for them.

Can't say I feel too bad for Mid Kerry leaving one after them after the manner of their win in 2008.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Can't say I feel too bad for Mid Kerry leaving one after them after the manner of their win in 2008.
    Bitter Norry :pac:

You don't know what it was like (being from Spa you never will :p)

keane2097 wrote: »
    You don't know what it was like (being from Spa you never will :p)
    Nearly a division one team again alright we're a work in progress!