Is Sean Gallagher telling lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Considering how FF got themselves elected, publicising his ties with them might do his bid for presidency some good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 BlackrockBeach

well it wont fill the tank of the 2011 Merc so what does that tell us...
    a real common man in touch with the farmers, youth workers, unemployed, disabled...???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

later10 wrote: »

The good news for Fianna Fail is that the name is not necessarily toxic, as seen by Gallagher's popularity to date. .

By pretending he is not FF, and many people may well still believe that, and possibly that he had really left the party like the voters? How is that good news for FF, who could not even put a FF candidate upfront without having to resort to underhand low tactics, that they are hated and despised for. FF are toxic alright, do not delude yourself otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

This was a legitimate and legal fundraiser. No banks were robbed and no members of the Gardaí were killed during it.

Says it all for me. McGuinness is the one who didn't tell the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Quite apart from the cheque and other nonsense, the whole donation thing in return for a personal meeting with Biffo is disgusting - one rule for the golden circle another for the rest of us. FF/FG/Labour they are all at it.

realies wrote: »
    Just on the human to human level That's all, not that I be voting for him.

well sympathy is something he knows little about given his outrageous use of his ex wife ( annulled NOT divorced) by isuing a detailed account of their initial meeting etc and never consulting her at any time ...uses people all the time if he see any advantage to himself.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

mcguinness was blasting FF of cronyism pretty funny considering he is Mr.IRA
    (I am not a FF supporter and never was)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Quite apart from the cheque and other nonsense, the whole donation thing in return for a personal meeting with Biffo is disgusting - one rule for the golden circle another for the rest of us. FF/FG/Labour they are all at it.

Exactly .... wonder how many negative equity homes have a photo of Biffo proudly displayed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I <3 all our new posters!

Says it all for me. McGuinness is the one who didn't tell the truth.
    this is not about McGuinness who is unelectable..this is about the half truths, lies and unanswered issues which suround Sean Gallagher. He cannot answer any issue raised without adding some other tangent. Just look at the "amicale settlement with Louth CEB"...what did it cost the tax payer via Louth CEB to get him to the court steps before he made a settlement...before setting up a newly named entity SMART....HOMES with same directors and same business = :mad:real SMART ass FF trick ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 EamonM

this is not about McGuinness who is unelectable..this is about the half truths, lies and unanswered issues which suround Sean Gallagher. He cannot answer any issue raised without adding some other tangent. Just look at the "amicale settlement with Louth CEB"...what did it cost the tax payer via Louth CEB to get him to the court steps before he made a settlement...before setting up a newly named entity SMART....HOMES with same directors and same business = :mad:real SMART ass FF trick ....

Again Sean was being tricked and confused over the events.

Sean Never called to any1s house to collect anything, he was singled out and attacked and it was planned down to the last detail. sinn fein knew they were losing badly and said they would wait until the final debate to try and discredit Sean so badly and so close to polling day that he would not get or indeed have the time to address the allegations and recover his great name.

However the Irish people are and have been wise to sinn feins backstabbing, dark and menacing cloak and dagger tactics for years and years and it gets right up my skin but we wont fall for that kind of negative propaganda end of.

I would call upon all of Sean's supporters to post and repost positive comments like mine and yours to EVERYBODY both on facebook, twitter, boards,ie irish journal.ie etc etc etc, and debate with keep promoting the positive themes that Sean has been promoting himself from the beginning, and lets make this happen...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭jprender

EamonM wrote: »

Sean Never called to any1s house to collect anything, he was singled out and attacked and it was planned down to the last detail. sinn fein knew they were losing badly and said they would wait until the final debate to try and discredit Sean so badly and so close to polling day that he would not get or indeed have the time to address the allegations and recover his great name.

However the Irish people are and have been wise to sinn feins backstabbing, dark and menacing cloak and dagger tactics for years and years and it gets right up my skin but we wont fall for that kind of negative propaganda end of.

I would call upon all of Sean's supporters to post and repost positive comments like mine and yours to EVERYBODY both on facebook, twitter, boards,ie irish journal.ie etc etc etc, and debate with keep promoting the positive themes that Sean has been promoting himself from the beginning, and lets make this happen...:)

He's toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,687 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Go Sean Go

cheerleaderm.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Sorry mate not tonight, come back in 7 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Seriously though, can somebody who is so easily 'tricked and confused' be entrusted with the codes for our nuclear deterrent? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

well sympathy is something he knows little about given his outrageous use of his ex wife ( annulled NOT divorced) by isuing a detailed account of their initial meeting etc and never consulting her at any time ...uses people all the time if he see any advantage to himself.:mad:

Whatever about his political life posters shouldn't make personal and not coroborated claims like that about their personal life, any candidate.

I've noticed a few new reg posters posting stuff like that about Gallagher, it's a very low thing to do.

I assume you must know his ex wife well to know those type of details?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Sorry mate not tonight, come back in 7 years.

I would call upon all of Sean's supporters to post and repost positive comments like mine and yours to EVERYBODY both on facebook, twitter, boards,ie irish journal.ie etc etc etc, and debate with keep promoting the positive themes that Sean has been promoting himself from the beginning, and lets make this happen... And we can all rejoice in a few days time and look forward to a not just good but great leader in Mr Gallagher for hopfully the next 14 years here in Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

jmayo wrote: »

So you are going to vote for Norris or Dana then ? ;)

I dont think Dana was ever on my list of hopefuls - musical differences.:p

I have sympathy for Norris who should have been well aware of what happened Adi Roach in 1997.

I am disappointed he has not commented on the referenda.

There is a precedent for a presidential candidate actively campaigning against a referendum with the FG candidate Sean McEoin in 1959 asking voters in Cork City not to vote for him if it meant voting no on the proposal by FF to get rid of the PR electoral system.

So it is a pity he will not make a stand.

That sounds like typical ff claptrap that was doing the rounds excusing the fact they made a huge cock up with the economy.
    Sure the buck never stops with a ffer.
    Are you as independent of ff as gallagher is ?

One of the people who is known for putting this point of view forward is John Bruton who declined to put his name forward as FG candidate.

So the idea is neither original to me nor is it an FF idea.

Maybe its time to abolish the three line whip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭raymon

I just checked Sean Gallaghers Facebook page .

His cheerleaders are turning on him

Funny stuff

Seriously though, can somebody who is so easily 'tricked and confused' be entrusted with the codes for our nuclear deterrent? :D

Very mature lol good job youre not running for president anyway we would defo all be in merky waters:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I would call upon all of Sean's supporters to post and repost positive comments like mine and yours to EVERYBODY both on facebook, twitter, boards,ie irish journal.ie etc etc etc, and debate with keep promoting the positive themes that Sean has been promoting himself from the beginning, and lets make this happen... And we can all rejoice in a few days time and look forward to a not just good but great leader in Mr Gallagher for hopfully the next 14 years here in Ireland...

Are you a bot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The problem is he is quoted in the Indo from a few days ago saying he didn't collect cheques and down playing his involvement.

So while the Morgan statement seems better for him when comparing ot to the debate, it really isn't as it contradicts DG from a few days ago!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Taken from:
    http://www.politics.ie/forum/irish-presidential-election-2011/174235-comparing-what-gallagher-told-dobbo-tonight-rachael-english-5-days-ago.html

Dobson: You say and indeed Mr Morgan says he never met you before he didn't know you when he made

Gallagher: nor since

Dobson: it was a cold call if you like to see if he'd come along to this event

Gallagher: somebody had given me his name...

Dobson: presumably you phoned him up and he asked about this and you told him that there would be a donation of €5,000 expected to attend this

Gallagher: what I was asked to say was that there was a level of up to €5,000, I have no idea, until I saw this

Dobson: that's what you told him

Gallagher: correct

Dobson: that he would pay €5,000 for this

Gallagher: make a donation up to

Dobson: but previously your spokesperson said that you had not solicited a donation for Fianna Fail. That's not true is it?

Gallagher: no, that's not true, what I said was that there was a fundraising event happening and if he liked to come along he could make a donation

Dobson: right, and that doesn't count as soliciting, no?

Gallagher: I'm saying that that's what I said

Dobson: was that not soliciting a donation?

Gallagher: well it could be

Dobson: why did your spokesperson say you did not solicit a donation

Gallagher: I'm not sure what my spokesman said but I'm telling you now exactly what I said

Dobson: Well I'll give you now that quote. Your spokesman said that "at no point did he actively solicit any donation, he would have been in touch with a number of people he knew to tell them it was on". To discover you didn't actually know Mr Morgan.

Gallagher: Correct

Dobson: But that's not true either.

Gallagher: Well no no let me clarify. I asked a number of business people in the area did they want to attend and one of them obviously recommended Mr. Morgan as somebody who might like to attend.

Dobson: So you did ask people who you didn't know as it turns out

Gallagher: I asked people I did know and if they recommended someone else that they knew

Dobson: right

Gallagher: and so I was not aware of this

Dobson: so you did invite people who you didn't know and you did solicit a donation from at least one fo those people

Gallagher: this was a fundraising event and I informed anyone that I rang there was a level up to which they could nominate or donate and that they would make that payable to Fianna Fáil Headquarters

Dobson: Just finally, none of this is remotely remarkable at all, it's what you would expect someone who's involved in a political party to do after an election to try to rebuild

Gallagher: absolutely correct

Dobson: to ring around and ask people to come along and support us and you were doing whatever any other senior Fianna Fail figure

Gallagher: Well I wasn't a senior Fianna Fail figure

Dobson: Well you were a campaign director for a TD at the time

Gallagher: well I had been in 2007 and I was quite happy to assist the event by inviting local businesspeople. Now, the allegation is made that there is something corrupt, the cheque was made out to Fianna Fail Headquarters and I did not collect

Dobson: you have not been telling the truth

Gallagher: no not at all

Dobson: that's the allegation, there's no allegation of corruption here at all

Gallagher: one of the first things, I always tell the truth, anyone's who's watched my campaign knows two things, one I do not get involved in negative campaigning and two I always tell the truth, always.

Dobson: Sean Gallagher we'll leave it there, thanks for talking to us.

And can we (again) point out what he told Rachael English on Morning Ireland?

English: So you rang people up and invited them?

Gallagher: No, people that I met, I explained that there was this event coming up. I have to make it very clear, I sought no money, I received no money from anybody, that was dealt with by Headquarters Fianna Fail Headquarters. I also want to make it very clear that while I attended the event I was not asked for money, I made no contribution myself in either a personal capacity or as a corporate donation either before the event, during the event, or after the event.

English: How many people did you invite?

Gallagher: I think I mentioned to possibly three or four people, and I have no idea to this day whether or not they made a donation whatsoever.

Sean Gallagher is a liar, and not fit for the role of President of our Nation. He represents the worst, slimy, sneaky, brown envelope cheating brand of politician. To vote for him is to approve of that brand of politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Sean Never called to any1s house to collect anything

Really? So the fact that the date of the cheque is BEFORE the event, and the fact that that exposes as false his claim that he may have collected a cheque when delivering a photo, completely goes over your head ?

If he delivered the photo afterwards, why was he there before the event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭brownswiss

Quote from EamonM "I would call upon all of Sean's supporters to post and repost positive comments like mine and yours to EVERYBODY both on facebook, twitter, boards,ie irish journal.ie etc etc etc, and debate with keep promoting the positive themes that Sean has been promoting himself from the beginning, and lets make this happen...smile.gif"...

Well im positive Gallagher will be hounded out of office by the media if we are foolish enough to vote for him...

Sinn Fein and Gallagher seem to share mutual friends who will be very willing to share delicate info on Gallagher over the next few months.

What is Gallagher's attraction to non FFers ? Do they believe the rubbish about him creating jobs?..... I'd say he might create a few for his ff friends........ and maybe change the law on fuel laundering.....that would certainly help get some of mmg's retired friends off the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

bad2dabone wrote: »

Sean Gallagher is a liar, and not fit for the role of President of our Nation. He represents the worst, slimy, sneaky, brown envelope cheating brand of politician. To vote for him is to approve of that brand of politics.

Nail. Head. Hit. Right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭flatbackfour

bad2dabone wrote: »

He's just the kind of cute hoor we need to bring in jobs from the multi nationals and get the economy going again. He'll do great work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Was he tricked and confused into being FF's bag man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭raymon

He's just the kind of cute hoor we need to bring in jobs from the multi nationals and get the economy going again. He'll do great work.

Welcome to boards , Seanog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭flatbackfour

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Really? So the fact that the date of the cheque is BEFORE the event, and the fact that that exposes as false his claim that he may have collected a cheque when delivering a photo, completely goes over your head ?

If he delivered the photo afterwards, why was he there before the event?

Meaningless point. He took the cheque. He solicited money for a grubby fianna fail fund raiser. He took the cheque before and dilivered the photo after.

He still took the cheque.

I just cannot believe that I have people living beside, working alongside me, walking by me in the street, sipping coffee in fourcourts, etc etc who are actually voting for this guy. I dont want to look at people anymore. Are you voting for Sean Gallagher? It would turn me into travis bickle.