Is Sean Gallagher telling lies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Yes CDfm - Michael D Higgins was in Fianna Fail in the mid 1960s - for less then 6 months. Let's put this in a historical context shall we as it seems to upset you. Higgins joined the Fianna Fail of Lemass - not the Fianna Fail of Aherne, Cowan, McCreevey - you know - Post-Haughey FF.

However, Lemass did bring Haughey into the Cabinet so perhaps we can blame a certain individual who was a member of the UCG Cuman for that...:p

(I'm getting great practice for correcting essays here...;) )

Just saw a piece in everbody's favourite rag for links (the Indo http://www.independent.ie/national-news/presidential-election/gallagher-spoke-of-30-years-work-for-ff-party-2914673.html ) that Gallagher as part of a list of bullet points bigging up himself and his connections, boasted that he worked directly with Haughey for two years as part of his almost 30 years work on behalf of FF :
    NEC twice
    Leader of OgraFF
    FF HQ money raiser
    campaign manager for Kirk
    political secretary to O'Hanlon
    cheerleader for various FF candidates Feb 2011 - not at all 'deeply' involved in FF at all, at all sure begorrah wink nod etc

"I have a long record of involvement and commitment to Fianna Fail over the past 30 years", said the man who says out the other side of his mouth that he 'drifted' in and out of FF and really wasn't involved at all and he was only the same as the poor grassroots eejits who pound the boreens and main streets dropping in leaflets every 5 years.
    Sure every canvasser gets a spot on the FF NEC twice, has the ear of three FF taoisigh on the NEC and in the corridors, leads the youth wing of that party, is fulltime political secretary to a senior FF minister and raises money fulltime at the FF HQ.
    He's not connected at all!, only to the 'grassroots' - not to those big bad senior hurlers, no way - he's Sean Gallagher, self-styled serial entrepreNAYer with a 'can-do' encyclopaedic knowledge of every shytespeak business buzzword in the English language, you know those mouth vomits you hear from your underachieving middle manager who has a firm grip on the slippery pole but knows fck all of which he/she speaks? Yeah, those buzzwords.
    He'll get us jobs, YES! to Gallagher for jobs! - ring a bell??

But, to be fair - he's a man of the people is Sean, living on 212pw last year sure wouldn't he be better off on a govt Jobbridge Internship by 26 notes pw? Not to be sniffed at in these times and sure he has no experience at all in politics according to himself - Jobbridge is perfect for such a man who finds himself in hard times.
    Maybe if he'd do the Prez's job for 50 quid above the dole he could show some actual leadership and some of that buzzy and fuzzy can-do attitude to the people of Ireland?
    Just like he did with that poster plank of his campaign that so many lapped up - oh wait, his face is plastered all over rubbish bins across the country. Don't forget he had to pay to rent those thousands of spaces instead of 3quid a pop for a poster up a lamppost and so his campaign expenses will be very high but no bother, he's on course to get 200k of it back through your wallet!

Now that's an entrepraynayr for ya bhoy! And don't you forget it come Thursday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

All these TD'S get too much in pensions
    Most people can't even put money to get a standard pension,same with norris and mitchell
    what's even more shocking is they don't have to be retired to claim pension.

jmayo wrote: »
    So you take pride in liars.
    Interesting. :(

And Irish people laugh at idiot voters in America lauding sarah palin. :rolleyes:

Higgins appeals to people who actually like someone with a bit of honesty and integrity.
    If you want to call that elitism then it says more about you than the Higgins supporters.

Sorry if some of us look down on liars as people of low integrity.
    I guest we just have higher standards than you.

Again another person with this uniquely Irish perspective on what honesty means.

I just came back to check on this thread on the oft chance that one of the gallagher apologists/supporters would have come back with somethiing to prove he is not as big a liar as we thought.
    But what the heck it turns out there is another one to add to the long litany.
    He never bought a farm atall so he wasn't really a farmer.
    It was his daddy who bought some land, and it wasn't the publicised 20 acres but 7 or 8.

At this stage is there anything truthful about his history, his great entrepreneurial skills, his non association with the ff party or any of his other so called achievements.

so what if he was a member of ff,what of it
    did he kill anyone?
    did he bomb people ?

none of these candidates are clean ,one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

All these TD'S get too much in pensions
    Most people can't even put money to get a standard pension,same with norris and mitchell
    what's even more shocking is they don't have to be retired to claim pension.

I agree. I was responding to your post aimed specifically at Higgin's pensions . Personally I get far more incensed by the pensions of Ahern (don't even get me started on his 'phonebill' :mad:) , Cowan, Harney, McCreevy etc - the ones who actually got us in this mess and then galloped off into the sunset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Is it true that Sean Gallagher lives on €212 /week. Where does this money come from

so what if he was a member of ff,what of it
    did he kill anyone?
    did he bomb people ?

none of these candidates are clean ,one way or another.

So - what is unclean about Higgins?

Pensions he has stopped claiming?
    The odd Anti-American rant?
    Being a bit lefty?
    Writes poetry?
    Actually knows the duties and limitations of the office he is running for?
    Speaks his native language fluently?

Did he receive grants from enterprise boards he was a director of?
    Did he engage in questionable business practices?
    Did he deny the extent of his relationship to a particular political party?
    Was he a 'successful' business man who appears to have been rather unsuccessful in business?

He may look like the love child of Yoda and Nobby the house elf - but that beats Benito Mussolini any day! http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/10/24/one-is-a-dangerously-delusional-egomaniac/

(MODS- I know - that's 'naughty' but I just couldn't resist! My Bad :o)

Is it true that Sean Gallagher lives on €212 /week. Where does this money come from

Savings? Perhaps he managed to put a few quid aside...
    However, by 2008, as the impact of the property slump was starting to bite, the company suffered significant losses.

But despite this, the firm's accounts for that year show that Mr Gallagher and Mr Roddy drew €542,500 from the company, which was equal to about 80pc of the €652,000 Smarthomes lost in 2008.

That year they also paid themselves €195,000, the highest salary since the company began trading in 2003.

Separately in 2009, the pair also drew down almost €316,000 in a year that the firm lost more than €540,000.

Both years the payments, which totalled almost €860,000, included rent owed to them by the company for the use of the premises and royalty payments for patents they held.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gallagher-shared-in-payout-of-euro860000-2913915.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

SG did not put up expensive posters but he does influence the electorate in subtle and cunning ways.For instance, he referred to negative criticisms from fellow candidates as not adding an "INCH" to the critic's stature.MDH had questioned the ethics of the "celtic tiger" style of entrepreneurship.MDH is not tall and is the oldest candidate.A sly negative dig at an opponent. SG poses the macho dynamic image{and he's a nice guy to boot!} to counter what he may lack in wisdom and experience. He knows how to sell,how to influence but his debating skills are open to question and I'm sure his past business dealings will be too.

Being a bit lefty?
    Writes poetry?

Was he a 'successful' business man who appears to have been rather unsuccessful in business?

He may look like the love child of Yoda and Nobby the house elf - but that beats Benito Mussolini any day! http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/10/24/one-is-a-dangerously-delusional-egomaniac/

I'm sure there's something on Michael d ,someone on another thread something but i wasn't interested ,too me
    all these candidates are poor,none are really president material

SG did not put up expensive posters but he does influence the electorate in subtle and cunning ways.For instance, he referred to negative criticisms from fellow candidates as not adding an "INCH" to the critic's stature.MDH had questioned the ethics of the "celtic tiger" style of entrepreneurship.MDH is not tall and is the oldest candidate.A sly negative dig at an opponent. SG poses the macho dynamic image{and he's a nice guy to boot!} to counter what he may lack in wisdom and experience. He knows how to sell,how to influence but his debating skills are open to question and I'm sure his past business dealings will be too.

Haven't seen any posters on esb or eircom poles
    doesn't seem to need them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 AnneBQ

The President may not have a lot of power but the appointment is a good litmus test of where we're at, please let's not vote in a FF apologist and spinner of yarns, have we learnt nothing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

If he gave me one of them I wouldn't tell cos I can keep a secret.

Has he stopped claiming them yet
    Being a bit lefty?
    Writes poetry?

That bit seems autobiographical, ever consider running yourself

It may not be a huge business -but it has survived.

And he has not been involved in questionable practices setting up a quasi governmental structure which at least one former Taoiseach believes has undermined the Oireachtas

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75088784&utm_source=notification&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=notify#post75088784

That was a low blow, but then it would have to be :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

From what I read is this correct.

Sean Gallagher was a member of the Louth Enterprise Board.
    This board loaned his Company a substantial sum of money.
    The majority of this money was spent on rent.
    The rent went to a landloard.
    The landloard was Sean Gallagher.
    The original company therefore made a loss and was unable to pay back the Enterprise Board.

Is this correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

From what I read is this correct.

Sean Gallagher was a member of the Louth Enterprise Board.
    This board loaned his Company a substantial sum of money.
    The majority of this money was spent on rent.
    The rent went to a landloard.
    The landloard was Sean Gallagher.
    The original company therefore made a loss and was unable to pay back the Enterprise Board.

Is this correct?

Yup, that gets you votes apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Well I reckon if there was 2 more weeks to the election ......Gallagher would be found out for what he is, vacant and a spoofer, the new chancer on the block, Gallahern. Norris was top for a while, then we had Marty up there and Michael D and now this spoofer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Yup, that gets you votes apparently.

All the teachers in my son's secondary school had a vote and Gallagher came out top, Says a lot about our education system when even our teachers will vote for a con man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

charlemont wrote: »
    All the teachers in my son's secondary school had a vote and Gallagher came out top, Says a lot about our education system when even our teachers will vote for a con man.

Its so in your face that he is......yet there he is up there probably :( set to win and have a big laugh at us all.

Is it not interesting that all the political parties are on the SG attack.

MMG & Enda agree that they do not want an independent in the Aras.

Former FF voters and supporters should loose the franchise and (according to MMG ) NI residents should be allowed to vote.

A strong independent lobby challenging the political orthodoxy would be good for the country.

Political parties are far too complacent , is some people power going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭raymon

CDfm wrote: »
    Is it not interesting that all the political parties are on the SG attack.

MMG & Enda agree that they do not want an independent in the Aras.

Former FF voters and supporters should loose the franchise and (according to MMG ) NI residents should be allowed to vote.

A strong independent lobby challenging the political orthodoxy would be good for the country.

Political parties are far too complacent , is some people power going on here.

With regards to political parties on boards :

I know that most of these posters are not party hacks.

Look at the number of posts and the history . If there are less than 20 then they are probably part of Gallaghers team.

raymon wrote: »
    With regards to political parties on boards :

I know that most of these posters are not party hacks.

Look at the number of posts and the history . If there are less than 20 then they are probably part of Gallaghers team.

That works for me

post_old.gif Today, 13:39 #761 Wallflower
    blue_star_1.gif

Adverts | Friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Wow getting a grilling on Front Line now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,576 ✭✭✭✭phog

thebman wrote: »

Either M MG or SG is going to be in a spot of bother depending on what Martin said is true or false.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Damn, She has Big Brother on so I can't see it, I'm not at my own place so I can't lay the law down..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Had to say "Go Norris" - and even "Go MMcG" - for what they said......the only problem is that neither of them have a proper leg to stand on when it comes to issues related to decency or ethics.

Mc Guinness is blowing steam out his nose listening to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Mc Guinness is blowing steam out his nose listening to him.

Incendiary device ? ;)

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Incendiary device ? ;)

I notice Gallagher didn't call him a liar to his face, fair play to mc guinness, just hope he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fred Cohen

Judging by the grin on MMGs face when SG issued a flat denial of receiving a cheque for €5000, I'd bet there will be someone making a statement tomorrow,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Had to say "Go Norris" - and even "Go MMcG" - for what they said......the only problem is that neither of them have a proper leg to stand on when it comes to issues related to decency or ethics.

I was amused about MMcGs accusation about SG getting the cheque as I considered where Sinn Fein got their money from.