What do you get for being a Mod?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I knew a few Mods in my day. One was a sound chap, one was a petty scrote and another is a dish.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

How do you get made a moderator. Genuine question. Are you recruited? Do you request?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

cocoshovel wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056407590

I nearly spat my drink out laughing at this.

Probably the greatest reward for being a mod. Hilarious posts.

My favourite Prison thread.

God that dude must've smoked serious stuff !

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056302264?page=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Just wondering are there any benefits in it.

Free money, free houses, free doctors, free cars.

oh no wait, thats not it..

I mean you get give a dig out on a site you like using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

^^^ I knew there was a secret Mod handshake. Probably get free into clubs and gigs and can throw kittens at old people with impunity.

Enter Susan Boyle Mode : "I dreamed a dream I was a Mod.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I assume they all hang out in on IRC? Must be some craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

A gracious public

A moderator slows down the reactions in the core, if we didn't have it we would get a runaway reaction known as the china syndrome. Now I am sure you wouldn't want that to happen to boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

You get to know that your working for the greater good of men and it looks good on your CV :rolleyes:

You also get to have your name highlited :rolleyes:

You get to ban people :rolleyes:

You get to give yellow cards :rolleyes:

Come to think of it....Its crap really....:D

This is what I said :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

I heard they get to wear a cool pink cape and get a free 12month supply of barry's tea?

1_05_05_07_7_44_57.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

4leto wrote: »
    A gracious public

A moderator slows down the reactions in the core, if we didn't have it we would get a runaway reaction known as the china syndrome. Now I am sure you wouldn't want that to happen to boards.

does that mean we'd all be chinese? :eek:

Irish Boards would over heat in a runaway chain reaction, melt through the Earth and merge with Chinese boards.

Moderators are this boards heavy water, essential for our safety.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Yes but we're not talking abouts mods are we ;) :pac:
    we are talking about the employment of guys who maintain the site from technical aspect. Not the mod aspect.

There is the guys who maintain and develop the site from a tech aspect, but there is also others, the Community Manager and Community Services Representative for example.

As has been said, there are more than 400 of us on the Mod Team, and we're all happy to do it, mainly just to give back to a site that we enjoy posting on and reading.
    cocoshovel wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056407590

I nearly spat my drink out laughing at this.

Probably the greatest reward for being a mod. Hilarious posts.

We really should be allowed to thank Prison Posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

A headache I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Your pick of the Boards wimminz.

I got my mod :D

I'm sorry to hear that:D

But we all have our crosses to bare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Adoration threads like this.

Damn. Must have missed that memo.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Bout three fiddy.

:(:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Being a mod is good craic, but there'll always be a handful of dicks to ruin the fun. It's a thankless job for the most part and it takes up a lot of time if you're modding one of the busier fora.

irish-stew wrote: »

Damn. Must have missed that memo.

:(

Now you know! Get on that quick before the good ones are taken!

As a girlfriend of a mod I get to know everyone's secrets, and his forums are getting left to me when he dies.

A lot less perks than I thought when I got into this :( Hoping to use his connections to get in with an Admin or above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

How do you get made a moderator. Genuine question. Are you recruited? Do you request?

Yes , essentially mods are regular users with a record of positive contributions to the forum , they are asked if they wish to become mods if a need arises.
    There is a school of thought that asking to be a mod is one way of ensuring you will never be one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Look a rabbit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My most favourite thing about being a mod by a mile is the ability to access peoples PM's inbox.

Yez are all durty feckers, keep up the good work. :P

You can do wut now? :eek:

Forget I said anything. That may have been a secret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Now you know! Get on that quick before the good ones are taken!

As a girlfriend of a mod I get to know everyone's secrets, and his forums are getting left to me when he dies.

A lot less perks than I thought when I got into this :( Hoping to use his connections to get in with an Admin or above.

Does he know this is the reason you're with him?
    My most favourite thing about being a mod by a mile is the ability to access peoples PM's inbox.

pssssh, you wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

prove it, I dare you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Ah mod, great bunch of lads.

Just normal blokes and gals doing their best so everybody can enjoy the site and then they also have to deal with d!cks and spammers.

God bless you mods.

Yeah, nearly had ye going for a second.

*whistles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Lol, he's stirring it ffs!! :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Yeah, nearly had ye going for a second.

*whistles*

Chicken ****. :p

Does he know this is the reason you're with him?

Oh yes, he knows full well. He's just enjoying the time he has with me.

Going to a party with a founder of the site soon, must get my game plan together.