Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Samsung Galaxy S II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

BopNiblets wrote: »
    Still nothing to do with the GPS not getting a lock, besides I pre-cached the area I'm in so it is on the device, and I have wifi enabled too but the geolocation still times out, for example on the GPS Test app I mentioned, with all data connections off, that app sees around 5-7 satellites in the sky, but doesn't connect to any of them.

Hmmm. I had a similar problem with my Hero, back in the day. Only way I fixed it was with changing my ROM.

Stock Rom, or custom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Still nothing to do with the GPS not getting a lock, besides I pre-cached the area I'm in so it is on the device, and I have wifi enabled too but the geolocation still times out, for example on the GPS Test app I mentioned, with all data connections off, that app sees around 5-7 satellites in the sky, but doesn't connect to any of them.

Hmmm. I had a similar problem with my Hero, back in the day. Only way I fixed it was with changing my ROM.

Stock Rom, or custom?
    Stock 2.3.4, I assume Ireland and Spain would share some satellites, it's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ciaran75

ShaneU wrote: »
    Anyone tried the new hotmail app? any better than the standard email app?

i think it is ok but only shows you the last 30 days of emails.
    also, you have to press 3 buttons to get into your
    subfolders.

still am using both until i decide which i prefer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

Stock 2.3.4, I assume Ireland and Spain would share some satellites, it's weird.
    http://androidforums.com/2918122-post88.html

might help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭acurno

Having a problem accessing my photo's on the phone. When I click Gallery it can sometimes take up to a minute for the gallery to load up. It's not like I've many photos at all. Their all on the SD card though, would it speed it up quicker if they were saved on the internal or has anyone had a problem with this?

the gallery can be quite slow until it caches all the images.
    you could try quickpic as an alternative

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.alensw.PicFolder&feature=search_result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

subway wrote: »
    the gallery can be quite slow until it caches all the images.
    you could try quickpic as an alternative

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.alensw.PicFolder&feature=search_result

Could also be the speed of the SD card. What class is it?

On that note, did anyone get an SD card included with their S2? I got one with my Hero, herself got one with her Galaxy Ace, but I didn't with the S2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Could also be the speed of the SD card. What class is it?

On that note, did anyone get an SD card included with their S2? I got one with my Hero, herself got one with her Galaxy Ace, but I didn't with the S2.

You dont get 1 with the S2 since theres 16gb onboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Does anyone know how to stop a website from auto rerouting to it's mobile equivilant if there is one available? The phone is well capable of displaying full webpages, I don't need to look at something designed for a **** nokia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Hi all- looking at amazon to purchase SIM free- can i ask-
    (1) Do I just get a SIM from mobile supplier then and away I go?
    (2) Buying this from .co.uk- will the phone work straight from the box with SIM from Irish mobile supplier?
    (3) Is there a better place in Ireland to buy the S2?

Many thanks.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-I9100-Galaxy-Free-Smartphone/dp/B004QTBQ2C/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1318876680&sr=1-1

Does anyone know how to stop a website from auto rerouting to it's mobile equivilant if there is one available? The phone is well capable of displaying full webpages, I don't need to look at something designed for a **** nokia.
    Change browser, i use dolphin hd. It has an option to set the user agent to desktop. The stock browser needs messing with configuration files and not as simple to switch between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

In browser press menu >> settings >> select user agent >> take your pick

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

subway wrote: »
    Change browser, i use dolphin hd. It has an option to set the user agent to desktop. The stock browser needs messing with configuration files and not as simple to switch between

Did you get that on the android market?

Cicero wrote: »
    (2) Buying this from .co.uk- will the phone work straight from the box with SIM from Irish mobile supplier?

Many thanks.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-I9100-Galaxy-Free-Smartphone/dp/B004QTBQ2C/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1318876680&sr=1-1

I too would like to know the answers to those questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Many thanks.

Answers to 1 + 2 are yes, I couldn't tell you for sure whether you'll get a better deal somewhere else or not

Did you get that on the android market?
    ns.

Yes, but try what zagato said, I don't have the stock browser and am going off second hand info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

is the next android version ice-cream sandwich coming to the S2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Zagato wrote: »
    Answers to 1 + 2 are yes, I couldn't tell you for sure whether you'll get a better deal somewhere else or not

Cheers for that...in fairness their the only 2 questions relevant to this thread/forum (question 3 is not) so thanks for the reply...I just wanted to make sure buying in the UK was an option & that the phone would work...many thanks...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Many thanks.

I got mine from amazon two weeks ago, works fine. Couldn't find it cheaper sim-free anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭talla

I got mine from amazon two weeks ago, works fine. Couldn't find it cheaper sim-free anywhere else.
    Also bought mine sim free last week from amazon, significantly cheaper that everywhere else I looked.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

talla wrote: »
    Also bought mine sim free last week from amazon, significantly cheaper that everywhere else I looked.

what part of country are ye guys in?they wont ship to me at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hi! Anybody know when Android 2.3.4 is available for vodafone. I attempted to update and was told it was available. Phone downloaded the update via wifi. Rebooted. Then on start screen message appeared. 'Update not successful. Please update via kies' or something like that. What's the craic with that. Anybody help me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭talla

what part of country are ye guys in?they wont ship to me at all
    Dublin, ordered from amazon and not a re-seller. Price has gone up by about £20 from last week.

talla wrote: »
    Dublin, ordered from amazon and not a re-seller. Price has gone up by about £20 from last week.

ah ya,they'll deliver to me alright but the seller wouldn't.....strange
    cursai wrote: »
    Hi! Anybody know when Android 2.3.4 is available for vodafone. I attempted to update and was told it was available. Phone downloaded the update via wifi. Rebooted. Then on start screen message appeared. 'Update not successful. Please update via kies' or something like that. What's the craic with that. Anybody help me?

did you buy it direct from vodafone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

I have been debating between the Samsung Galaxy S2 and the HTC Sensation for a while now. Having done a bit of research online and after reading reviews, I am leaning towards the Samsung.

Buying on Amazon is an interesting one and a method I would be interested in.

When I buy an unlocked sim free phone, how am I charged for internet usage? I am currently a vodafone pay as you go customer. Is it per month or per time spent on the net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

djPSB wrote: »
    I have been debating between the Samsung Galaxy S2 and the HTC Sensation for a while now. Having done a bit of research online and after reading reviews, I am leaning towards the Samsung.

Buying on Amazon is an interesting one and a method I would be interested in.

When I buy an unlocked sim free phone, how am I charged for internet usage? I am currently a vodafone pay as you go customer. Is it per month or per time spent on the net?

Your network provider would charge you for internet usage, Vodafone in your case.

VF have 2 choices for internet on the mobile for PAYG customers: daily or monthly charge.

Daily charges 99c per day for up to 50mb usage. A day runs from midnight to midnight, so don't make the mistake i did before and start using it at 10 at night, and expect it to last until 10 the following night :D

Monthly charges are a €9.99 once off charge for 30 days usage with a 1gb (1000mb) usage limit.

All this means is that if you plan on using the net frequently, like every day for a little bit, then get the monthly add-on, but if you only wanna use it once or twice a week, you might wanna just use the daily pack, which is the one that applies by default when you start using the net on a phone.

There's also the 3rd option of using only wi-fi on your phone, and not paying for any internet usage!! :pac:

* you might wanna check prices on the VF website, i'm not 100% certain on them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Your network provider would charge you for internet usage, Vodafone in your case.

VF have 2 choices for internet on the mobile for PAYG customers: daily or monthly charge.

Daily charges 99c per day for up to 50mb usage. A day runs from midnight to midnight, so don't make the mistake i did before and start using it at 10 at night, and expect it to last until 10 the following night :D

Monthly charges are a €9.99 once off charge for 30 days usage with a 1gb (1000mb) usage limit.

All this means is that if you plan on using the net frequently, like every day for a little bit, then get the monthly add-on, but if you only wanna use it once or twice a week, you might wanna just use the daily pack, which is the one that applies by default when you start using the net on a phone.

There's also the 3rd option of using only wi-fi on your phone, and not paying for any internet usage!! :pac:

* you might wanna check prices on the VF website, i'm not 100% certain on them!!

Just checked both the 3 website and vodafone website for prices.

3 seems to be the cheaper of the two. €20 per month for unlimited internet use and free texts to any network. Vodafone is €30 per month. Fair usage policies apply.

So I'm thinking the best thing to do would be to transfer to a 3 sim card and just buy a sim free phone on Amazon.

My only concern now is whats the story with a warranty if anything happened to the phone after buying on Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Medu

irishgeo wrote: »
    is the next android version ice-cream sandwich coming to the S2?

Yes but it will take some time to rollout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

djPSB wrote: »
    Just checked both the 3 website and vodafone website for prices.

3 seems to be the cheaper of the two. €20 per month for unlimited internet use and free texts to any network. Vodafone is €30 per month. Fair usage policies apply.

So I'm thinking the best thing to do would be to transfer to a 3 sim card and just buy a sim free phone on Amazon.

My only concern now is whats the story with a warranty if anything happened to the phone after buying on Amazon.

Wow, that's a great offer 3! I'm seriously thinking about switching to that at the end of the month, when my o2 contract expires! Good spot!! :)

As for your warranty, it would lie directly with Samsung. You would need to contact them directly with any issues :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

How do you set the phone up to provide a wifi signal for other laptops? Like to make your phone a hotspot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Jilm

How do you set the phone up to provide a wifi signal for other laptops? Like to make your phone a hotspot?

Go into Settings>wireless & network>tethering & portable hotspots>portable wi-fi hotspots>Portable wi-fi hotspot (enable this). You can also configure the wi-fi settings there.