Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

iregk wrote: »
    Amazing stuff there cambo. Please allow me to "knock myself out" if you'd be so kind. At the time it was Evra who made the completely bogus allegation. When it got big heat and the possibility of Evra facing a lenghty ban all of a sudden it was Phelan who made the allegation, who apparently wasn't even on the pitch at the time. But I suppose ban a coach or a player? Coach please.

Also I'm being a dick about it, I just said I wasn't arsed reading 17 pages. It's amazing these race allegations that come out every now and again always centered around Patrice Evra. What an embarrassment it must be for Salford United having him as your captain of all things.

To be fair, that was my initial recollection of events too, but i haven't found anything online about it. Haven't looked either, mind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I was just thinking to myself there, that if Evra did make it up, why on earth would he act so certain that the camera has caught it?

If I was to make a false allegation like that, I would know there would be no video proof, because it obviously wouldn't have happened.

If Evra was to have made it up, wouldn't it make way more sense on Evra's part to leave the camera bit out of his statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Anything to back that claim up with???

Probably about as much as Evra has to back up any of his claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

This will never be proved either way. No mic is gonna pick up a quietly delivered racial slur in a tiny stadium full of screaming scouse on their big day out :P. And no camera will pick up the alleged word that was used, simply because you don't have to move your lips to say it. If you were so inclined you could say it with a completely straight face and get away with it all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

Blatter wrote: »
    I was just thinking to myself there, that if Evra did make it up, why on earth would he act so certain that the camera has caught it?

If I was to make a false allegation like that, I would know there would be no video proof, because it obviously wouldn't have happened.

If Evra was to have made it up, wouldn't it make way more sense on Evra's part to leave the camera bit out of his statement?

Was thinking something similar, he must have thought it was captured. He could easily have said he didn't think it wouls be seen as was subtely done. I suppose it also could have been done in Spanish or even French, doesn't have to have been English.

What would the pusnishment be if found guilty? Is there a precedent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

I totally agree, but we have to remember that this is a player who has attacked a French coach in support of a player who was not performing.

This guy has form, from a number of perspectives, and it looks like that this latest chapter, while potentially damaging for Suarez, will backfire (at least given my information).

The more I read and hear about Evra and this incident, the more I think that he will regret his utterances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Anything to back that claim up with???

Probably about as much as Evra has to back up any of his claims.
    Great so can I just make up any old story now???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Great so can I just make up any old story now???

Ignore him. The stupidity of his posts and his reasoning is showing him up for what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Amazing stuff there cambo. Please allow me to "knock myself out" if you'd be so kind. At the time it was Evra who made the completely bogus allegation. When it got big heat and the possibility of Evra facing a lenghty ban all of a sudden it was Phelan who made the allegation, who apparently wasn't even on the pitch at the time. But I suppose ban a coach or a player? Coach please.

Also I'm being a dick about it, I just said I wasn't arsed reading 17 pages. It's amazing these race allegations that come out every now and again always centered around Patrice Evra. What an embarrassment it must be for Salford United having him as your captain of all things.

Man you are really trying hard to look like an idiot.

Read this:
    www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74966040&postcount=20

You have no evidence that Evra made the initial claim of racism in the Chelsea case because he didn't.

He did once say that he got abuse (it sounded racist the way he described it) from his home, Senegal, for turning out for France, but that is not the same as what you are trying to portray him as - a race card player.

Now get back in your box and STFU.

Was thinking something similar, he must have thought it was captured. He could easily have said he didn't think it wouls be seen as was subtely done. I suppose it also could have been done in Spanish or even French, doesn't have to have been English.

What would the pusnishment be if found guilty? Is there a precedent?

He wouldn't have had to mention video evidense at all if he was lying. As you said yourself earlier, you can call someone a n***** without moving your lips. It is obvious you do not need video evidense to make an allegation of racism. You may need it to prove the allegation(or a witness account), but you definitely do not need it to make the accusation in the first place.

To me, it makes zero sense for Evra to have fabricated the accusation of racism and then come out hours after the game and claim it's on camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

I dont think you'll ever stamp racism outa the game..

There is nothing to stop (not saying suarez did) a player whispering things to an opposition player to try get him to loose his head and get booked!!

Look at how Zidane got sent off in WC final, he was aggravated into doing it.. granted it wasnt racist but still..

To get one up on your opponent its a tactic to get them infuriated into making mistakes.. whisper a few racist comments and there is nothing he can do.. literally nothing!! So it'll never be stepped outa the game imo.. I do hope it can be quashed and removed but realistically, its a tactic some a$$holes will utilise!

If I was a PL manager I'd get all my defenders to constantly pinch opposition players when in the box waiting for corner or free-kick... you'd never spot it and it would bug the hell outa them!! :D they swing an elbow, Red card lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

There's a line somewhere, and racism crosses it. Racism is against the law so calling someone racial names in football is ok then? Simply because it's ''Getting the opposition unfocused?'' Yeh right. Ffs. Cop on.

No - I did not say that at all now....
    I will repeat it - if Evra let his game be affected by the words of an opposition player, he only has himself to blame. We have all played football where opposition players try to put us off our game any way they can (threats of violence against us or our family, sexual slurs etc etc). He would have dealt with being a victim of racism his entire life on the football field so I don't buy that his actions on Saturday were a result of a racist slur. That is just an excuse.

Pro. F wrote: »
    Cool yeah. Racism, no big deal.

At least we know where you stand.

Of course racism is totally unacceptable but I don't know about the whole get upset because someone slags me off about where I am from or the colour of my skin.
    Look - a lot of things get said and done on a football pitch by players to try and win a game. Most of them would never dream of doing it off the pitch but they do to try and get one up on their opponent. Not saying it is right but people are trying to make it out to be something it is not. I can see now - if Suarez is found guilty, people will call him a racist and go on about how he hates black people and make it out that he wants to be a member of the KKK. And most likely, the guy was winding up an opponent in any way he could.

If the ref hears it, he should punish the player (yellow, red?) but for any footballer playing at the top of his game to let the words of an opposition player affect your play is just amateurish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Has Evra/Manchester United/Sky Sports News/The FA released this damning footage where the constant racist abuse is clearly visible as per Evra's accusations?

I had a busy afternoon so may have missed it.............?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sky have no footage that evra speaks of!

What wolf???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Has Evra/Manchester United/Sky Sports News/The FA released this damning footage where the constant racist abuse is clearly visible as per Evra's accusations?

I had a busy afternoon so may have missed it.............?
    I'm sure it'll be PM'd to you by several people as posted previous :P

But in serious, it doesn't look like there is any evidence, surely it would have surfaced by now, not looking good for Evra, and if no evidence surfaces, I do feel action should be taken against him, labelling someone as a racist, if nothing happened, is absolutely horrible.

Ferguson says Evra is adamant he wants to follow up his complaint and feels very aggrieved, according to journalist for manutd.com

Probably said it in tonight's press conference for tomorrow's game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Ferguson says Evra is adamant he wants to follow up his complaint and feels very aggrieved, according to journalist for manutd.com

Probably said it in tonight's press conference for tomorrow's game.
    Taken from the Utd thread.

20:09 SAF: "There are very few examples of racism in England over the years. I don't think it's an issue for the game itself. There's just the odd example and this is what may have surprised Patrice Evra. We don't want to see it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    But in serious, it doesn't look like there is any evidence, surely it would have surfaced by now, not looking good for Evra, and if no evidence surfaces, I do feel action should be taken against him, labelling someone as a racist, if nothing happened, is absolutely horrible.

Proving that nothing happened will be next to impossible. If no video evidence can be found then it will end up being one guy's word against another and no more can be done about it. If somebody can prove that Evra was lying then something can be done about it, but him getting a punishment because people suspect that he is lying ain't going to happen.

MaceFace wrote: »
    Of course racism is totally unacceptable but I don't know about the whole get upset because someone slags me off about where I am from or the colour of my skin.
    He didn't slag you off about the colour of your skin, he slagged Evra (allegedly). That's the difference. You haven't got any sort of authority, moral or otherwise, to pontificate about what Evra should and should not get upset about in this situation. You are just making yourself look like an absolute tool saying that a black guy shouldn't get pissed off when he gets racially abused.
    Look - a lot of things get said and done on a football pitch by players to try and win a game. Most of them would never dream of doing it off the pitch but they do to try and get one up on their opponent. Not saying it is right but people are trying to make it out to be something it is not. I can see now - if Suarez is found guilty, people will call him a racist and go on about how he hates black people and make it out that he wants to be a member of the KKK. And most likely, the guy was winding up an opponent in any way he could.

If the ref hears it, he should punish the player (yellow, red?) but for any footballer playing at the top of his game to let the words of an opposition player affect your play is just amateurish.

Winding up an opponent is not an excuse.

If the allegations that he racially abused Evra turn out to be true, it won't matter a bit whether he is or is not actually a believer in racist ideas. Using racial slurs is racist behaviour. Aacting racist and believing in racist shít is a minute differentiation that no sensible person is interested in.

''Oh he says racist things, but he's not really racist. He's a nice guy really.'' Fúck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Jesus this thread is FLOODED with ignorance. Between people accusing Evra at playing the race card on several occasions, to people saying it's not a big deal.

It's only a matter of time before someone accuses Evra/Suarez at taking their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

Look I am not defending what was supposedly said but it is one persons word against the other and I have no doubt that he will be branded a racist regardless of the outcome.

And no I don't understand why Evra would lose his head like that. Any professional footballer would have experienced racism and worse growing up going through the ranks. He was going mental and I doubt it was due to being called something nasty. Maybe it was convenient for him to overplay something or embellish.

And on the wider issue I think that Evra hasn't helped himself. if this is true, it had given opposition players a way of putting him off, not that most would do it but there are plenty of unlikeable people in the game.

As I said lots of much worse things are said on the pitch and players laugh it off or ignore it. By reacting you are playing right into the hands of the people saying these things. Its why players still do it and as I said why people say things that they would never say off it - cause they know the reaction they will get.

And before anyone goes on about how out doesn't matter whether you believe what you say, how many slag off thick culchies or Cavan men or Jackeens or those from Kerry or pardon my French pikies. Why is that not racism? I bet no one here ever done anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

And no I don't understand why Evra would lose his head like that. Any professional footballer would have experienced racism and worse growing up going through the ranks. He was going mental and I doubt it was due to being called something nasty.

And would you like to follow this to its logical conclusion, perhaps apply occams razor?

Why exactly do you think he was going mental? Is it not logical that it was caused by a something unusual and serious, such as a fellow pro racially abusing him? Its either that or...what exactly?

Jaysus, Sky are talking their time going through the footage from that match-48 hours at this stage! Come on! Get a move on :(

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Jaysus, Sky are talking their time going through the footage from that match-48 hours at this stage! Come on! Get a move on :(

Some guy on here reckons Suarez could have racially abused Evra without moving his mouth so Sky are probably trying to read throat movements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Why exactly do you think he was going mental? Is it not logical that it was caused by a something unusual and serious, such as a fellow pro racially abusing him? Its either that or...what exactly?

Oh that's completely logical. A footballer loses his cool, hence he must have been racially abused

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Some guy on here reckons Suarez could have racially abused Evra without moving his mouth so Sky are probably trying to read throat movements.

That makes sense I guess.

They're probably flying in their 'expert' in order to get to the bottom of this!

rod.gif

If the cameras caught it, Sky aren't going to show it before the FA have reached a verdict. They might not even show it at all, if one of their cameras caught it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

nonsense, if Sky had footage they'd have it on a bleedin non-stop loop with "lip reading experts" in the studio giving their expert opinion.

Des wrote: »
    nonsense, if Sky had footage they'd have it on a bleedin non-stop loop with "lip reading experts" in the studio giving their expert opinion.

So why don't they show every angle they have of it, get the lip readers on and clear Suarez? That in itself is a story.

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    So why don't they show every angle they have of it, get the lip readers on and clear Suarez? That in itself is a story.

Haven't they said they can't find any footage?