Man told he can stay in ghost estate home

this thread has basically became a bitch about anyone on social welfare
    the majority of people on this thread have had comfortable lives and never experienced life at the bottom

I like many others in this thread are suffering due to the times we live in. I finished college this past summer, I got no grant or back to education but rather I had to work for years beforehand in order to be able to afford college. No with my degree in hand I find myself in a jobs market where jobs are few and far between.

At the minute I'm on jobseekers and am eternally grateful for it. I however do not abuse the system, once rent and bills ate paid out of the 188 there is very little left over to live a comfortable life on and there is no way that I could save anything close to 2,000 euro. If I find myself unemployed 9 months from now then I'm emigrating in search of work and a better life.

That he has access to so much disposable income and yet couldn't rent a house or apartment shows just how dishonest he is. Was he the salt of th earth, hero of the ordinary working class hero that many are branding him then he would not have broke into a house and taken it as his own. He is a parasite who has contributed nothing to society yet expects society to provide everything for him. That an unemployed drug addict had seven children, not one of whom he could afford says it all really.

He is a scrounger, he's never worked yet the state gives him a fixed weekly wage to live off, additional money each weeks for his kids, rent allowance, a medical card, fuel allowence and I bet they even paid for his representation in court. I wonder how many of his kids over tje age of 18 are working or if another generation of a family is playing the system fir everything they can get. Hell maybe his 29 year old can move in next-door and have his own garden to play in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

EI_Flyboy wrote: »
    listermint wrote: »
    +100

The whole thing should be demolished along with many others. Leaving them standing as a open house for antisocial activity benefits no one.

There are many estates such as this across the country that should never have been built.

And all those on the housing list...? Demolish those houses and then build more... That makes sense on what level besides begrudgery?

Those houses aren't up to the required standard so can't be used for social housing so should be demolishef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

And all those on the housing list...? Demolish those houses and then build more... That makes sense on what level besides begrudgery?

These estates are not in areas where there is any major need for social housing. Its pointless creating ghettos in the middle of nowwhere. Demolish and use the ones that are in areas of required housing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

listermint wrote: »
    These estates are not in areas where there is any major need for social housing.

Only if one accepts the proposition that ALL applicants for social housing need or are entitled to be housed in their area of first choice.

Unless there is a compelling reason why an applicant needs to live in/near a particular area they should be willing to accept an offer from any part of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

smash wrote: »
    Ok I'll try your logic:
    Banks lost billions and broke a nation for decades, make tax payer fork out.
    Steal a house, make tax payer fork out.

He's a scumbag of the worst kind.

bitter? No it's just that I fcuking work my ass off for what I have. He's a drain on society.

A scumbag of the worst kind? Do you also think he and his ilk are the biggest drains on Irish society?

Which one of the following do you think has drained us most?

house3_973393t.jpg

BertieAhernLOLcatcaption.jpg

450x366-alg_resize_pm_brian-cowen.jpg

1224242848726_1.jpg

Sean-Fitzpatrick-007.jpg

4532-xlarge.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

I like many others in this thread are suffering due to the times we live in. I finished college this past summer, I got no grant or back to education but rather I had to work for years beforehand in order to be able to afford college. No with my degree in hand I find myself in a jobs market where jobs are few and far between.

At the minute I'm on jobseekers and am eternally grateful for it. I however do not abuse the system, once rent and bills ate paid out of the 188 there is very little left over to live a comfortable life on and there is no way that I could save anything close to 2,000 euro. If I find myself unemployed 9 months from now then I'm emigrating in search of work and a better life.

That he has access to so much disposable income and yet couldn't rent a house or apartment shows just how dishonest he is. Was he the salt of th earth, hero of the ordinary working class hero that many are branding him then he would not have broke into a house and taken it as his own. He is a parasite who has contributed nothing to society yet expects society to provide everything for him. That an unemployed drug addict had seven children, not one of whom he could afford says it all really.

He is a scrounger, he's never worked yet the state gives him a fixed weekly wage to live off, additional money each weeks for his kids, rent allowance, a medical card, fuel allowence and I bet they even paid for his representation in court. I wonder how many of his kids over tje age of 18 are working or if another generation of a family is playing the system fir everything they can get. Hell maybe his 29 year old can move in next-door and have his own garden to play in.

So bitter for one so young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

He gave himself permission and now he has the permission of the courts. The law is on his side no matter how much resentment others show him. If he lasts 12 years there without someone exerting provable ownership, the house is his, end of story as the law currently stands. Whine about it all you like but that's how it is and for good reason. Ask yourself how anyone ever gained title to land or property since day dot...? By possession or exerting ownership, simple as that. All those properties are rotting away because whoever is supposed to be responsible for them obviously isn't very responsible at all. So whoever is supposed to own that house, turns out that that ex-junkie on disability is a feck lot more responsible than them.

Our money is tied up in those ghost estates and that investment is going to rot away as surely as the houses. That man is ensuring that at least one of those houses is still going to be worth something in a few years down the line and as such is protecting our investment. NAMA will no doubt auction off that house at a later date so seeing as they're not doing anything about it I guess it's up to whoever buys it to deal with him. Maybe this will make NAMA take care of our investment properly from now on or else it'll just prove how poorly thought out it was after all, what a surprise that will be. Now I'm sorely tempted to claim the two empty and falling apart NAMA properties beside me.

What I'd like to know is what happened to the people NAMA paid to take care of those estates to make sure they're safe and don't fall apart...

:rolleyes:Sweet Jesus. I give up. There is no hope for this country. At all.

So bitter REALISTIC for one so young.

So bitter for one so young.

I'm not bitter merely I don't like to see a system which is there to benefit those who find themselves unemployed being abused by people who never have and never will work a day in their lives. How often do you hear stories of people being made unemployed and being made wait months before a decision is made on their claim. How often do we hear of families unable to feed their kids as the system that should be there to support them is ignoring them while bending over backwards to accommodate people who abuse it every chance they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭pete_mcs

Tazz T wrote: »
    This thread stinks of prejudice, bigotry and begrugery.

Not one of you wouldn't do the same thing if you were in his circumstances. No wonder we're in the ****.
    Ok Tazz, lets all go on the dole or on disability, the entire working population. How long will this society last. A "hippie" view just does not cut it. Some people have to work, its not prejuduice, bigotry or begrugery, its just fact!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Sundy wrote: »
    In a admitting that he wants to pay rent and arrears he basically rules out any chance he has of gaining adverse position.

He has no chance of gaining adverse possession nor is he attempting to.

How often do you hear stories of people being made unemployed and being made wait months before a decision is made on their claim.

I knew of three young men in that position in the past two years. Honest, hard workers. Treated like dirt. And this guy can get a house for free if he stays for 12 years? What a farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Me? Indignant? Indignant about some con artist who is a career drainer of the social social welfare system which I and the othe tax payers fund, who sees an empty gaf and goes "yoink!" and then uses tax payers cash to do it up (despite his inability to work) and then is allowed keep said gaf? while I work like a dog and rent in a houseshare? Me? Indignant? YOURE DAMN RIGHT I'M ****IN' INDIGNANT.

I didn't see anything in that article about him being a "career drainer of the social welfare system". He receives a disability pension for depression. That he was capable of decorating the house does not automatically mean that he's employable and therefore a con artist.

By walking into the house, making it habitable and living in it, what harm is he doing to anybody? Can anybody answer that question, thus perhaps justifying the ridiculous levels of right-wing hot-air being spouted on this thread? :)

RayM wrote: »
    He receives a disability pension for depression.

He doesn't appear very depressed now. Does that mean the can cancel his payment?? I lived near a 'depression' sufferer for years. This particular guy did everything he could to make everyone's life around him a misery. Makes you think.

I didn't see anything in that article about him being a "career drainer of the social welfare system". He receives a disability pension for depression. That he was capable of decorating the house does not automatically mean that he's employable and therefore a con artist.

By walking into the house, making it habitable and living in it, what harm is he doing to anybody? Can anybody answer that question, thus perhaps justifying the ridiculous levels of right-wing hot-air being spouted on this thread? :)

For hot air write rightful indignation. Society expects people to pull their weight and pay their way. End of story. Amazingly, anyone I've spoken to is outraged by this carry-on, but, as usual, the silent majority will be ignored because of the pressure groups and back-slappers who incredibly encourage this type of action.

I think that a lot of people have to make teh distinction between those who play the system for everything they can get and those who due to the times find themselves dependant on it.

I like many others would love to be working full time, every week I'm applying for any job I see, don't care if it's mopping floors in a fast food restaurant or working in the area in which I studied. There are literally thousands in similar circumstances who would love to be earning a weekly wage. Being on the dole is not the exciting lifestyle some imagine, you spent your days scouring the ad section for jobs and for hours on end find yourself struggling to fill your time. It's no wonder so many people get depressed when on it.

Then there are those serial scroungers, entire families who see the dole as long term employment. In college there were a few on back to education, all but one were single, living alone and genuinely wanted to work. The one lad was in his late 30s, married with 3 kids and had no intention of ever working again. He would boast to us about how much better off he is on the dole than if he was working. They had two cars, each week he'd be spending at least 60 euro on week, out drinking two nights a week at least yet when the bonus payment was taken way at Christmas he wanted to march on the dail as his "kids would have no presents" that year because of it. The state gave him a house, he gets a fuel allowance, he gets the dole each week as well as the full grant each month, when he needed money for petrol he'd be down at St. Vincent De Paul or in at the community welfare officer begging. Now he's back doing another course as he gets some extra money each week for doing so.

Nearly forgot, but his eldest turned 18 lat year. She went into the social welfare office the Monday after and signed on, she's now on the housing list too.

Freddie59 wrote:
    He doesn't appear very depressed now. Does that mean the can cancel his payment??

I think that's usually a matter for a doctor to decide. Are you a doctor?
    Freddie59 wrote:
    For hot air write rightful indignation. Society expects people to pull their weight and pay their way. End of story. Amazingly, anyone I've spoken to is outraged by this carry-on, but, as usual, the silent majority will be ignored because of the pressure groups and back-slappers who incredibly encourage this type of action.

By walking into an unoccupied, uninhabitable house in a ghost estate, making it habitable and living in it, what harm is he doing to anybody? People seem to be having great difficulty answering this question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Well one thing this man has done is bring to the forefront once again the derelict estates all over the country! How many of these houses are there?

Personally, I think a large chunk of them should be flattened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

He spent 2 grand in four months doing up the house ! 500 euro a month thats almost the cost of renting a house, :confused:
    drdeadlift wrote: »
    No its not

Yes it is. 3 Bedroom houses, Co. Offaly, rent €500 or less. 15 Results from daft.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ok, he is unemployed, started producing 7 kids he couldnt afford starting at age 17, was a drug addict, is the kind of person who thinks it is acceptable to take something which is not his (ie: a house) and presumably didnt tell the social he had found free accomodation and therefore didnt need his rent suppliment - he is a bloodsucker.
    what harm is he doing? he is setting an example that it is ok for someone to occupy a home they dont own. what do you think would happen if this became common practice? what if i did it? i pay tax and rent but i could easily just squat in an un occupied gaf for free. are you telling me that would be ok>? he is in fact so deluded that, once caught, he offered to pay arrears and rent to be allowed stay in the house....he offered to pay NAMA, a state body, rent and arrears using his state provided disability payments! And how does he have savings enough to do up the gaf and offer to pay arrears?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

By walking into an unoccupied, uninhabitable house in a ghost estate, making it habitable and living in it, what harm is he doing to anybody? People seem to be having great difficulty answering this question.

Yeah. Nobody has been able to give an answer. All you'll get back is some response about pulling his weight. One person did suggest his neighbour might be unhappy.

I mean, here you have a man on a housing list for five years being told there is no home available, when there is NAMA owned properties abandoned in the same town. It's madness. We should put all people claiming rent allowance in the NAMA properties and completely wipe out our expenditure in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

MagicSean wrote: »
    Yeah. Nobody has been able to give an answer. All you'll get back is some response about pulling his weight. One person did suggest his neighbour might be unhappy.

I mean, here you have a man on a housing list for five years being told there is no home available, when there is NAMA owned properties abandoned in the same town. It's madness. We should put all people claiming rent allowance in the NAMA properties and completely wipe out our expenditure in that area.

So what you are essentially saying is that everyone paying a mortgage should default and move into a NAMA house and then the country will be back on track?

eh and where was he living those 5 years he's been on the housing list? in free accomodation paid for by the state! but sure why do that when he can just squat somewhere and keep his rent allowance in his back pocket?
    there is certainly an arguement for using nama property as social housing but no by individuals sneaking into gafs and setting up shop

farna_boy wrote: »
    So what you are essentially saying is that everyone paying a mortgage should default and move into a NAMA house and then the country will be back on track?
    no no no, coz ye see people paying mortgages are the greedy feckers who got us into this mess. you see its honest hardworking irish patriots like this guy that will get us back in business.

QUOTE=suicide_circus;74986054]eh and where was he living those 5 years he's been on the housing list? in free accomodation paid for by the state! but sure why do that when he can just squat somewhere and keep his rent allowance in his back pocket?
    there is certainly an arguement for using nama property as social housing but no by individuals sneaking into gafs and setting up shop[/QUOTE]

MagicSean is the same lad that said he should get money from the government for socialising so i would take anything he says with a pinch of salt.

He has consistently been told how Mr. Tuohy is doing harm but continues to ignore these posts and maintain he should be allowed live rent free in the house get 188 from the state for doing nothing while living rent free and being allowed stay there because he could never possibly afford to pay rent of 90 per week as this would leave him no money to socialise.

These houses cant and never will be used for social housing end of story so its just not an option unfortunately the best thing is for these houses to be bulldozed with Mr. Tuohy inside if he still refuses to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

donalg1 wrote: »
    MagicSean is the same lad that said he should get money from the government for socialising so i would take anything he says with a pinch of salt.

He has consistently been told how Mr. Tuohy is doing harm but continues to ignore these posts and maintain he should be allowed live rent free in the house get 188 from the state for doing nothing while living rent free and being allowed stay there because he could never possibly afford to pay rent of 90 per week as this would leave him no money to socialise.

These houses cant and never will be used for social housing end of story so its just not an option unfortunately the best thing is for these houses to be bulldozed with Mr. Tuohy inside if he still refuses to leave.

Seriously? Bulldoze them rather than let people who have no homes live in them? There's no reason at all they couldn't be used as social housing. Your attitude is one of "If i can't have it nobody can". Sad really.

FFS why dont you read my previous posts outlining just exactly why they cant be used for Social Housing.

There are plenty of reasons they cant be used for Social Housing Sean as I have explained on more than one occasion so maybe you should go and read those reasons then tell me there are no reasons they cant be used as social houses

Ok, he is unemployed, started producing 7 kids he couldnt afford starting at age 17, was a drug addict, is the kind of person who thinks it is acceptable to take something which is not his (ie: a house) and presumably didnt tell the social he had found free accomodation and therefore didnt need his rent suppliment - he is a bloodsucker.

Presumably indeed.
    what harm is he doing? he is setting an example that it is ok for someone to occupy a home they dont own. what do you think would happen if this became common practice? what if i did it? i pay tax and rent but i could easily just squat in an un occupied gaf for free. are you telling me that would be ok>?

This is laughable. Unless you can provide evidence of this becoming common practice, I'm afraid your argument is dead. Hypothetical harm does not constitute harm. By walking into an unoccupied, uninhabitable house in a ghost estate, making it habitable and living in it, what harm is he doing to anybody? You know, actual tangible harm.

From a legal standpoint I'm curious to know if he injures himself while living in the property could he take a case against the developer?