Worst Injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭pjmn

As a result of receiving a sliding tackle in a soccer match, I broke leg, broke & dislocated ankle and tore all tendons and ligaments going down the back of my leg in to ankle - ended up with a plate and 5 screws in same... it hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

I tried to wrestle an articulated truck once and lost, spent three months in hospital am semi-bionic (which is not as much fun as it sounds).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I could say coming off a bike in Thailand and having 11 stitches in my foot but I think I'll go with when I sat on a pair of scissors. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Eye smashed and cut open above and below (stamped in the head playing rugby). 30 odd stitches external, another 40 or 50 internal. Lucky to keep the eye.

Also smashed in two of my knuckles again playing rugby - probably more painful but less serious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭chris139ryan

3 slipped discs in my back and 2 cracks in my skull from rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Dislocated knee cap in rugby and destroyed the ligaments, worst thing was it going back in it got caught at the actual knee bone itself. 2 bones grinding against each other....still gritting my teeth even typing that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Not an injury as such but when i was 13 months i tipped over a tea pot of tea over myself. Got 3rd degree burns over about 25% of my body. Spent months in hosp the first time and probably operations every year up to the age of 12 or 13. Have to be careful now in the sun cos my legs come out in squares all over where the skin grafts were taken.

Made a good recovery though oh and also broke my back in 2 places in 07 now that was painful work doc thought it was a pulled muscle and referred me for physio for a month didn't get an xray till 6 weeks after accident and brace for 6 months after that, i was very lucky there cos fractures were stable. Had to give up on physical work after that, currently retraining and upskilling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

got a burn off 180 degree pure animal fat in work last year. it took the skin on my wrist clean off and i still have a scar from it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Snapped achilles tendon followed by surgery and a damn awkward plastic boot thingy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

shot through the hip in the leb blood everywhere and a lot of torn flesh where the bullet exited still have the scare and a lot of pain when walking as a nerve was damaged near my hip the joys of army life:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

galwayrush wrote: »
    Seriously, i can count over 50 woodworking machinery related scars on my body, mostly on my hands, still have all fingers .( just about... touch wood)

perhaps you should stop touching wood?

Yeah, I had a nasty injury with my penis as well a few years ago. Last time I'm going to France I can tell you.
    ya must of been jacking off too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭chickenbutt

I had a freak accident in May which ended up with me in the hospital with bad burns all over my feet, legs and my right hip. F*cking horrible pain, and the bandages I was given were awful, walking was a nightmare. Longest 2 weeks ever. In the same instance I separated my right shoulder - couldn't move at all without crying! Still hurts, but was told surgery would be more trouble than it's worth.

iv also broken both legs in moterbike accidents fractured my skull and broke my arm and some ribs when i fell from a tree i have a small plate attached where i fractured my skull pins in one leg and my arm and iv even been shot in the leb but iam holding together ok great craic going through airports do:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Fractured skull. Dropped on my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Fractured ankle in a few places-fell off a wall, friend tried to catch me, only managed to grab my ankle and it went snap with the weight of my body. Was 6 weeks in a cast etc-not so bad,although it was the middle of summer and I was suposed to be going to London for a ballet summercamp the week after it happened. Bad buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Broke my leg in two places (shin and ankle), had to have an operation to have it fixed and had a plate put in. Was in hospital for about 10 days, was in a few casts for about 3 months. It was absolute agony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭volvoman480

Dislocated and broke my ankle, severed ligaments, torn tendon and broke my fibula in two places. Had two screws through my ankle to immobilise it, and got a plate with five screws in the leg. Recently had the two in my ankle taken out thank God and can now walk again. I've a nice limp for my troubles though and a few cool scars. Amazing what you can do when you slip on a manhole cover. That was last May and I'm still off work.

As a young fella, I broke both ankles and tore ligaments in consecutive years. When I was fourteen, I had my right hip repaired, the ball joint separated and had to be screwed back in to place. Missed most of a year at school and didn't put my right foot on the ground for nine months.

Other than that I'm grand, not a mark on me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Not an injury as such, but by far it was the cutting of my gum, yanking out of two wisdom teeth and the gum being stitched up again. The most horrrific pain of my life and all I was given for the pain was nurofen.

I ended up going to me dentist begging for serious painkillers.

Utter agony.

Have been pretty lucky, really. Other than that, just appendix out and a broken foot that wasn't too bad if I didn't put any pressure on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Went over the handlebars on my bike when I was 10. Skidded on the right side of my face for a few metres and bike came up on top of me. Face looked like 2 face for a few months and I smashed the nerve in my front teeth and made a fair few of them crooked. Only other mark on me was a little scrape on my knee so I literally skidded on just my face.

No pictures aywhere :(.

Also broke my 5th metacarpal (pinky) in June when I mis-hit a punching bad arcade game on holidays but I don't really remember that one so it doesn't count right? Was funny the next day walking down the strip and everyone asking how my hand was and all I was thinking was "who the hell are you?". My knuckle where it meets my hand is now pushed back and a little twisted which makes my pinky rest on my ring finger when I make a fist. Ah Jager, we have such a love/hate relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Compression fracture of T5 vertebra in 2000 in a crash, as well as various cuts and bruises from same event. Lots of physio thereafter.Lost top joint of left middle finger to infection following cuts from glass when I was 18 months old. Walked into a brand new sliding door once and got a collection of scars for my pains on forehead, nose, both hands and both knees. Also managed to forcibly remove my left big toenail when moving a big cot.Spent ten minutes going thru my collection of swear words whilst running cold water onto my toe, before I managed to stop shaking.I got absolutely zero sympathy from her indoors for that one.
    Apart from that lot, I'm still devilishly handsome;)

regards
    Stovepipe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Nothing too serious, sprained my ankle, wrecked my knee and cracked my skull off a wall when I slipped in the snow last year.

And All becuase I thought it would look cool to strut past the RTE news camera in the snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I sat on a glass table when I was 5. It broke. I fell in. A big chunk of broken glass went into my back. It missed my spine by about half a centimetre. I was very lucky. Still have a 5 inch scar down the length of my back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Kick in the jaw whilst playing football. Split a tooth straight up the middle. Multiple root canals needed, surgery on gum to remove bone so dentist could get into base of the root. And finally false tooth fitted. Took over 6 months (and cost in excess of €5k - thank fook the GAA were paying), and most of it in considerable pain.

Broke a finger in training once, hit the ground and it twisted around 180 degrees so that it was pointing back down the arm. One of the lads (who plays a lot of rugby) confidently declared it was only dislocated, and tried to twist it back into place. A pain that was only surpassed by the doctor in hospital who actually did twist it back into place before splinting it.

Worst one I've seen thankfully didn't happen to myself.
    Was playing a soccer match about 8/9 years ago. Two lads slid in for a loose ball, and legs got tangled up. One of the two lads (who has since played inter-county GAA) let a blood-curdling sceam, and as the scene cleared it was obvious that major damage had been done to his "personal area." White shorts had turned bright red.
    Turns out that a stud had caught on his sack, and caused a split. Eventual outcome (so I've heard) is that said player is now minus one ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

This thread makes me want to wrap up in cotton wool and sit in a padded room eating soft food off paper plates... but what about paper cuts :eek:. I'm gonna die!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Nead21

Broke L2 vertebrae while snowboarding in January.

Two operations, an internal fixation, a replaced disc and a missing rib later, I'm mostly better :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

God, where to start....

Broke both bones in my arm and dislocated the elbow all in one go. Pain was actually bearable until they had to pop the elbow back into place. Two broken bones being manhandled about the place.... not pleasant! Bones in arm then reset with pins.

Broke my wrist rock-climbing - tore the bones/ligaments out of place so had to be set and plastered.

Have broken all my fingers climbing. Have also dislocated countless knuckles. Just pop them back in myself at this stage.

Skiing once, fell over, top of ski stuck straight into the ground. Boot should have popped out but it didn't so my knee twisted to the point that the ligaments tore completely. Luckily enough, I was in Italy so quite a few hot nurses fussing over me with that one :)

Skiing again - parallel stop, hit a rut. Flipped upside down, landed on the back of my head. Concussion this time - but no hospital visit so no nurses :(

When I was a kid, I tried climbing up on the counter. Unfortunately I picked the cooker to climb - put my hand up on top of it where the hob was on. Seriously burned my palm. Treatment consisted of a saucepan of cold water!

I could stay going but they're probably the major ones. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Trying to be a bad ass a good many years ago and pull an awesome slide on my bike, I fared pretty badly and ended up sliding along the ground minus the bike and split my knee open. Was pretty painful. Couldn't walk on it for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Tried playing football when I was only a little thing and managed to trip over the ball and managed to tear my philtrum, it was literally hanging on by a piece of skin. Had to get a few stitches and I still have a scar.

I was in school one day and was about to throw my heavy school bag onto my back just had it on the swing when it caught in my thumb and bent it right back. I tore ligaments in my thumb.

Another time I was in Dublin playing the drums in Mr. Quirkey's and managed to fracture my wrist on the side of the drum. I couldn't be put into a cast so I was left in a splint for 9 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭0066ad

Took a few acid tabs, was going on to another party thought it would be to long to walk, so took my motorbike bad idea i know, but seemed good at the time. Didn't get to far till i crashed. Hit a curb, caught my finger under the handle bar, the bone was showing just below the first knuckle. Went to st james's hospital still tripping and told it had to amputated