Assaulted by a Gard - what should I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Alwayson wrote: »
    If I was that "hammered" last night I don't think I'd be capable of being so articulate at 10.30am this morning. Just be thankful this didn't happen in a country where the police are a bit tougher and you would have been pepper sprayed / maced / shot / or never seen again.

There you go, I mustn't have been that hammered if I'm fresh as a daisy now.

And I agree with this - I got off lucky, very lucky. Anywhere else and I would have been fucked up.

Still not right though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

I was hammered

But I went up to Kildare St. when I was hammered to stage a stupid drunken protest.

As admitted already, I was hammered, no denying it.

Define "stupid drunken protest" please...don't think I've seen one of those before...:)

CJC999 wrote: »
    You were drunk in apublic place which is an offence and you can be arrested for it. You were told to leave the area by the guard and refused, which again is an offence. The guard attempted to arrest you and you resisted which is another offence, you then ran away like a coward.

I say ring pearse st station and report it, give them your name/address details and then wait for your summonses.

You weren't assaulted...although you sound like you deserved to be.

Well you're a jolly old lad, aren't ye?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I am not an After Hours moderator, however, when AH moderators come online and read this thread, they will deal with any charter breaches as they see fit. It is clear there are no AH mods online at the moment, but that does not mean that no action will be taken if the charter has been breached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I wasn't aggressive at all, whatsoever. He told me to "**** off" and leave, but I said no.

I have a question, and I'm actually looking for an answer and not trying to be smart - did he have a right to say this to me, and by law should I have gone? (genuine question, I'd like to know).

It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to engage in offensive conduct—
    (a) between the hours of 12 o'clock midnight and 7 o'clock in the morning next following, or
    (b) at any other time, after having been requested by a member of the Garda Síochána to desist.
    (2) A person who is guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500.
    (3) In this section “offensive conduct” means any unreasonable behaviour which, having regard to all the circumstances, is likely to cause serious offence or serious annoyance to any person who is, or might reasonably be expected to be, aware of such behaviour.

Cicero wrote: »
    Define "stupid drunken protest" please...don't think I've seen one of those before...:)

It went like this:

I happened to pass Dame St. with those lads protesting. I said to them "why protest here, when you should be protesting outside Govt. buildings to make your voice heard" but they of course were having none of that.

It was then that I drunkenly had the idea of going up to Kildare St. and staging a silent protest outside the Govt. buildings. That was it - completely silent; I was just standing there and exercising my democratic right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Oranage2 wrote: »
    It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to engage in offensive conduct—
    (a) between the hours of 12 o'clock midnight and 7 o'clock in the morning next following, or
    (b) at any other time, after having been requested by a member of the Garda Síochána to desist.
    (2) A person who is guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500.
    (3) In this section “offensive conduct” means any unreasonable behaviour which, having regard to all the circumstances, is likely to cause serious offence or serious annoyance to any person who is, or might reasonably be expected to be, aware of such behaviour.

if is story is true there was no offensive conduct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Sure you can't just go around protesting against the status quo. I'd say you broke several "laws". Standing around, that's against the law. Refusing to do exactly what a guard tells you, even when what he tells you makes no sense/is stupid, that too is definitely against the law.

Not a chance the chap will ever be punished for it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

m.j.w wrote: »
    if is story is true there was no offensive conduct

Slagging off other protesters and getting in the face of Gardai -

It's laws like this that make me wonder what will happen if everyone suddenly stopped being a sheep in this country. That law could technically be used to arrest any person, at any time as it's so open to a loose interpretation.

Slagging off other protesters and getting in the face of Gardai -

if a guard comes up to you and tells you to **** off and you say no thats not getting in his face. and the other protesters were not even on the same street so I doubt the guards seen him interacting with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

you were drunk in a public place last night asked to leave for "no" reason and refused (putting it up to a guard)

again i'll ask did you get arrested? did the guard take your name and address? or did the guard eventually give you the benefit of the doubt and think you were just a drunken fool and send you on your way.

You've come onto Afterhours looking for sympathy.....one of a string of mistakes in the last few hours you've made, you've gotten your advice if you feel the guard assaulted you call the ombudsman here you go we're only short of picking up the phone or typing the thing for you http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/ LoCall 1890 600 800 or info@gsoc.ie Call into our headquarters at 150 Abbey Street Upper, Dublin 1 or by fax to 01 814 70 23 Office: 9:30 to 16:30, Monday to Friday (unless by prior arrangement)

Phone: 9:30 to 13:00 and 14:00 to 16:30, Monday to Friday

It sounds to me like your looking for justification for what you did wrong.....and in my opinion you were wrong but that's just my opinion you could've gotten worse than a headlock like arrested (were you?) and charges or fines or if you'd kicked off properly O.C. spray or baton use on you for resisting arrest. Man up take the fact that you've probably gotten of scott free with something that gardai deal with way too much because people cant take responsibility for their own actions

OP, you should start a thread on the emergency services forum. Those chaps are very welcoming and open minded. You'd get some lovely responses like, "I'm a guard from Two Mile Borris, I would have beaten you to death for standing in the street like that" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Again mods, personal abuse.

Cool? If you think that's cool then you need to cop onto yourself.

You opened the door for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Report it to the Garda Ombudsman, they are "supposed" (Look up the Garda Shane Waldron fiasco) to investigate their own. There may be CC footage outside Kildare street to help your case.

Regardless of whether you deserved it or not cops are supposed to be above provocation unless it is in the extreme or self defence requires it.

Oh, here we go again!!!! Sure, why not have a public enquiry at the expense of the tax payer, altogether!!!! It must be frustrating enough for the Garda dealing with these twits most weekends, on our streets, getting rat ars***d. It seems OK for these idiots to do whatever they want to do, and when they do, all of a sudden they have rights!!!!!

This guy acted the maggot and if I was his mother, I would kick his h****le into next week!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

funniest thing about all of this is if he was completely sober you'd all be commending him and marching with him to complain about the Gardaí.

bunch of hypocrites

SV wrote: »
    funniest thing about all of this is if he was completely sober you'd all be commending him and marching with him to complain about the Gardaí.

bunch of hypocrites

correct, everyone on this thread seems to think once your drunk you have no rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

m.j.w wrote: »
    correct, everyone on this thread seems to think once your drunk you have no rights.

Of course you've rights...the right to remain silent for one...unfortunately most people conducting a "stupid drunken protest" fail to do so...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I wasn't aggressive at all, whatsoever. He told me to "**** off" and leave, but I said no.

I have a question, and I'm actually looking for an answer and not trying to be smart - did he have a right to say this to me, and by law should I have gone? (genuine question, I'd like to know).

he gave you the chance to leave and you refused, this is an offence in itself.
    You left him no other option.

Cicero wrote: »
    Of course you've rights...the right to remain silent for one...unfortunately most people conducting a "stupid drunken protest" fail to do so...:p

I was actually completely silent. I can't stress that enough.

I may have been drunk, but I was a peaceful drunk.

hondasam wrote: »
    he gave you the chance to leave and you refused, this is an offence in itself.
    You left him no other option.

Except for the option were he didn't have no option? You're saying that if a Guard asks you to walk away and you refuse the only option he has is to put you in a headlock?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

...and of course, even if the Garda is reading this, he is forbidden to give his side of the story, so all we have to go on is the word of someone who openly admits they were hammered, and expects us to believe that he was simply standing there silently.

This thread is a great gauge to show who is willing to take everything the OP has written at face value and agree he was brutally assaulted, OR who is willing to evaluate what is likely to have happened given the admission that the OP was drunk in a public place, in a protest, given the opportunity to leave (being drunk in a public place, but refused), and subjected to reasonable force used in order to effect an arrest.

Aside from the obvious Garda-bashers, who salivate at this sort of vague story, I hope most of you have the intelligence to piece together what really happened.

I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Except for the option were he didn't have no option? You're saying that if a Guard asks you to walk away and you refuse the only option he has is to put you in a headlock?

well no I'm not saying that but I'm sure more word were exchanged between them.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

UGL BX FCE Serves you right shudda got binned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Well they can - being drunk in public is an offence -

Anyway OP i think you got lucky that you werent arrested -

And no point reporting it you havent a sigle chance of been taking serious

Um no.

The Gardai cannot physically attack you for being drunk, jaysus half of Cork alone would end up in jail/hospital if that was the case/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

LeixlipRed wrote: »

That's if you believe the Op's story, which I don't. He's now portraying himself as a drunken mahatma gandhi, set upon by the imperial forces of the stasi.
    Most likely he was being a drunken tool and the guards told him to get lost, he refused, and the guards felt the need to subdue him. He should be better able to hold his drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

I was actually completely silent. I can't stress that enough.

I may have been drunk, but I was a peaceful drunk.

Find it hard to believe that as well. How exactly was it a protest if you were silent? What is the point of such a protest? Yu are the only 1 who knows you are protesting! Talk about a pointless exercise - something a drunk person would do, who would be better off at home in bed!

You are also assuming that the guard wanted to get you on the ground to 'plummel into you'. How on earth can you know that was the case? It sounds to be me like he just wanted to get you off the streets for your own good.

However, I wasnt there and its hard to know exactly what happened. We need a sober persons perspective of what happened!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

"I was hammered last night wait till I tell you what I think probably happened to me"

[insert story]

"Jesus are you are sure - where did you get the black eye ?"

[eh I don't really know all I remember is the gardai grabbing me and trying to restrain me]

"Hmm. Listen man...for a while now me and your other friends and some of your family have been wanting to speak to you about how much you've been drinking..."

Shield wrote: »

Aside from the obvious Garda-bashers, who salivate at this sort of vague story, I hope most of you have the intelligence to piece together what really happened.

I'm out.

Most people have the intelligence to see that if the OP had video evidence and a million witnesses you'd still be on here saying the guard, "acted with restraint".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Shield wrote: »
    I am not an After Hours moderator, however, when AH moderators come online and read this thread, they will deal with any charter breaches as they see fit. It is clear there are no AH mods online at the moment, but that does not mean that no action will be taken if the charter has been breached.

http://images.mmosite.com/my/upload/a3/a4/dc6b0aa94421804836cc80e82de8c3e6/theme/f263187e435344e0969f1aab3ac3b3c9338.jpg